Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Craic Assault Course 24th September 'We will muck you up'

• 26-07-2011 3:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭

The Craic Assault Course is on again on September 24th

Location is Palmerstown, dublin. Starting at 11am

Early bird is €30 until end of July then goes to €35
    Group entry discount of 20% for groups of 5 people.
    Following this is 'The Craic night out' that evening in DTwo with food platters laid on.

The video is very funny http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZ9bQYVklYo

Short course 5.5km 23 obstacles and longer 10km course with 44 obstacles. Run, walk or crawl...
    Great Craic with DJ and spectator area. www.thecraiceventsco.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Anyone else doing this ?????

Info on www.thecraiceventsco.com

Throwing this up as there is a special until the end of July on entry.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Might do it as Ive nothing else lined up and it would make a change from all the intense stuff this year. If ya like it Elvis Ill have to send you over to the big daddy of these events, Tough Guy :)

Oryx wrote: »
    Might do it as Ive nothing else lined up and it would make a change from all the intense stuff this year. If ya like it Elvis Ill have to send you over to the big daddy of these events, Tough Guy :)

Sounds interesting !!! PM said event !

Can't I'm using my phone. :) Google Tough Guy or theres a report on my log from the end of January :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭eoin ryan

Hi Oyrx

if you do enter maybe you might let me know how we compare in difficulty? It might be apples and oranges. Just curious...

We have the capability to turn it into a real bastard of a course and wait until winter to load on the pain with the cold but thats just a thought for now

E

Of course. Tho the main issue with TG is the cold. In summer its known as a 'girls' race and is a totally different and easier animal. Even tho you do it twice. Any electric shocks in your one?

yea, I saw that on the programme about it. All the shivering!
    The winner was a total dynamo btw.

We had an electric fence but someone got tangled up in it early on and panicked (as you would do) and pulled it apart. Should have lashed it on much much tighter.

So its really the cold. We could do cold :eek:

Not that it matters, but is there swimming in yours? The different options seem to indicate there is but it says the water depth is only 1m.

Hi -

(sorry for slow response I'm doing a bit of house painting...Window of opportunity!)

There is no swimming per say. It really comes down to how tall you are and based on that how comfortable you are in water. In short (excuse the punn) the smaller you are the more likely you will be treading water briefly.
    The way i worded it was to be uber careful and give a speal that makes people consider their options/ abilities.

For anyone not comfortable in water there are water opt outs so you don't have to go in at all.

In the areas where you transverse the Mill Race (where smaller folk might be paddling) you can nearly jump half way across it. The fella from Bootcamp does a good job of this in the video on website.
    In summary: No Smurfs :P

We are introducing some new obstacles for the next one in Sept

I must change the water dept on website - I was informed it would be that deep b4 the machines rolled in and began digging....

Just dusted down the cd single of cotton eyed joe............you have been warned:D

Just. Don't. Do. It. :p

The lyrics of this are much more appropriate. ;)

Just. Don't. Do. It. :p

The lyrics of this are much more appropriate. ;)

Is it a slow set ????

There will be worse than Cotton Eyed Joe.

Come on people lets get some real cheese for The Craic !

Is it a slow set ????

There will be worse than Cotton Eyed Joe.

Come on people lets get some real cheese for The Craic !
    It stuck in my head once during one of those awful races. Trust me, I was definitely going slow.

Are you mcing this event?

I have been roped in..............:cool:

Presume that means you can't compete. Boo hiss.

Nope..........

LSR before it i'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Diagonally

I'm half thinking of doing this but just want to check something - is the "electric wire scramble" just after the 3km mark an actual live electric fence? :eek::eek:

Diagonally wrote: »
    I'm half thinking of doing this but just want to check something - is the "electric wire scramble" just after the 3km mark an actual live electric fence? :eek::eek:

Yea, it was until someone got tangled up in it and ran about 10 metres with it around his foot.... Freaked him out but was hillarious according to his friends...

Thinking of going with barbed wire this time....
    Real low down. Above a bed of nettles beside a Badger set :D

Starting getting my music together for this last night.........it ain't gonna be my normal stuff;):cool:

It was a toss up between this and velvet strand tri. I think I fancy this more. All tried out right now. :) and sure I'd have to hear what ya got planned. :)

I got cheese, weird cheese:eek:

Signed up for this - I'm a bit scared now!:D

I paid for two of us and got a confirmation email from entertainment.ie. However, I never had to give any info about names of the runners, which course we were attempting etc. Just want to check this is right and I haven't missed a step or anything?

Signed up for this - I'm a bit scared now!:D

I paid for two of us and got a confirmation email from entertainment.ie. However, I never had to give any info about names of the runners, which course we were attempting etc. Just want to check this is right and I haven't missed a step or anything?

I get ya - it is a trip into the unknown - just give it welly!

A real Lady who I meet often at road races did it last time she's 60+
    I'm not sure if that helps you or puts you under more pressure... :p

You haven't missed a step. I'll have to follow up on those questions via email. I'll do a sweep shortly....

Put my name down too. Sure why not.

Just been added to the playlist

http://youtu.be/H5MT3x2K2js

*note to self: bring earplugs.

Bumping this to ask Eoin......

Can you answer the query about how to know what course you have entered? Your faq page is a bit misleading. Gives the impression that you choose your level when you enter, and that it can't be changed from one week before. (Also says you cant enter on the day. Which you can? :)

Sorry. Sorry. Sorry.
    I haven't been paying attention (and don't get alerts for this thread for some reason...)

Those FAQ's were based on us having a couple of thousand people entering.... I was being optimistic when i wrote those :o

As we didn't reach those dizzing heights this is the latest:

We will call people into their groups on the day.

Yes you can enter on the day

Did you get the electric fences working?

No - its barbed wire all the way baby...!!

When I bought it:
    He asked me 'was it for sheep?'.
    I said 'no humans..'

I wasn't telling any fibs... :D

Awww. I love that auld shocking thing. Tho barbed wire is fun too. Any other teasers for what I can expect?

Craic Assault course With Arrow.pdf

There are a few that you won't expect.. I've attached a Map of the course (at least i hope i did) if not I'll explain later

Gotta go and collect some bales of Hayledge (aka - Crap hay)

I cant quite figure out the 5k and 10k courses but Im sure it will make sense on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭ElectraX

So how was this event, messy...?

More wet than messy. :) Great dj there, giving everyone support via the pa. ;) Seemed to be lots of people there who had never done a race before and the race was nicely planned to suit varied levels of ability.

Though Eoin, for that money, you need goody bags. And more marshals. But a grand way to spend a sunny morning. Sure, what else would you be doing?

+1 on more marshals. I was doing the 10k plus water route and was one of around 20 people who ended up missing the turn back into the park on the first lap after the short stretch on the road due to a missing marshal. We ended up running nearly to the end of the old Lucan road before we realised our mistake.

Luckily, the guy in front of me went the right way so I didn't get lost. There was a marshal there but he wasn't directing anyone. There were other points that could have done with someone there so you didn't have to hesitate and wonder if you were on the right route.

I don't think he was there when we went past on the first lap. I didn't see him anyway. Although at this point we wouldn't have been on the lookout for a turn as there were loads of people strung out ahead of us who had already gone the wrong way and we just assumed they were on the route. If he was there he let us all run straight by him.

The course was great fun apart from that and I'd do it again. Knees are a bit bruised today from all the crawling. :)

Morning,

Oh boy.
    Yep - the Marshal was there and he didn't follow the instructions despite being put in position and explained what to do. As soon as i saw ppl coming into the park via the roadway I booted it up to him and we had a chat. It was human error and he was apologetic. And being responsible for the event I had to soak in some peoples frustration and explain

I've been to more races than i can care to remember and I thought the atmosphere from Mr Elvis Jones on PA, the screaming, the laughter and sense of achievement for some - was excellent. The Craic was indeed mighty

There was a big crowd who came to D2 later, all fed and a good bit of mingling too..... (thats as much as i can tell ye - I left early because i was falling asleep). Any single guys should defo have turned up!!! :p

Most ppl took the early bird offer or the group entry deal. I shouldn't be encouraging that as the event didn't break even finacially but maybe the next time we'll get more entries....

The goodie bag is the food platters in D2 and the unlimited red bull supply from the Red Bull Gals. I appreciate that not everyone can make the night out but sticking my neck out I'd say the folks had a great night out and its worth making arrangements perhaps

The weather was amazing which wasn't expected. Results and photos are being worked on. I will send out a survey to participants. We'll listen and learn

Thanks for the response. My only other comment on the day, as I told you yesterday - make it tougher. More barbed wire!

More barbed wire!

I bet you have the box set of all the SAW movies.... :D:D:D

Photos are up http://www.racepix.com/Craic-Event/Pictures/608/

results will be along shortly

I replied to the survey you sent but forgot to mention the announcer. He was great - funny without slagging people off too much. You could hear him around a good bit of the course - atmosphere was brilliant :D

As mentioned above that was our very own Elvis Jones. Knows how to work a crowd. ;) The music wasn't even as cheesy as he threatened. :)

Had a look at the results this morning, and cant make head nor tail of them. Whats with the 12hour thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Any plans for the next running of this? Missed the two this year.

Why thank you !

Actually credit where its due to Elvis Jones. I spotted him/ heard him a few years ago at another race and took his number. Not many can strike the balance of being witty without being condsending.

Mr Jones and i will have a chat to see what more we can do to liven it up further. I have ideas...

At a guess i'd say when he changed file from exel to Pdf the 00:01 changed to 12:01 . Thats how the 12 appreared - I'll ask him later.

Survey results are really helpful (keep em coming). Gonna work on this to make it a great show.

Not sure of next years date yet.... We will defo only do one in 2012. Need to pull a bigger crowd to cover costs. So if its on your radar - hope to see you there....