Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Style of Football

• 26-07-2011 1:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭

Was just reading something where Rory Gallagher is making no apologies for Donegals style of football. Fair enough its a results game and you get it by whatever means but a few weeks back Pat Spillane said the same thing but he also said will young people who watch this kind of football really want to play the game? Is this part of the reason more and more young people are leveing the GAA for other sports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

longpuck wrote: »
    Was just reading something where Rory Gallagher is making no apologies for Donegals style of football. Fair enough its a results game and you get it by whatever means but a few weeks back Pat Spillane said the same thing but he also said will young people who watch this kind of football really want to play the game? Is this part of the reason more and more young people are leveing the GAA for other sports?

Other sports pay if you're in the top echelon of your level, the GAA doesn't.
    As for Gallagher's refusal to apologise, I agree with him. Everybody loves a team who play romantic football but its the winners who are remembered.

Ah sure Mayo, they're a great wee county, everyone's favourite second team. Why? Because they are perennial bottlers.

I'm much prefer to be hated and win than to be adored and have nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Had to laugh @ TV3's analysis of the Donegal/Kildare draw ... 2 very "scientific teams" ..:rolleyes: ... I know it's a euphemism but not quite sure for what .. Joe Brolly would've told it as he seen it !! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Lemlin wrote: »
    Other sports pay if you're in the top echelon of your level, the GAA doesn't.
    As for Gallagher's refusal to apologise, I agree with him. Everybody loves a team who play romantic football but its the winners who are remembered.

Ah sure Mayo, they're a great wee county, everyone's favourite second team. Why? Because they are perennial bottlers.

respect our size wee man, third biggest in Ireland :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

I first noticed Donegal playing this style of football when I went to the League finals earlier this year (was there to see Cork's game).

I was down low in the Cusack stand with my two sons. I could not believe my eyes. They left 1 man in the forward line and had 14 players in their own half for much of the game. I was trying to explain it to my kids, who play juvenile gaelic & hurling, but it proved to be rather difficult. It certainly is not entertaining and it certainly isn't for the purist, but if I were from Donegal, I would prefer to play that style and win things rather than play a traditional 3-3-2-3-3 set up and win sfa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Tbh i watched the Ulster final and i was appalled by one teams tactics. No it wasn't Donegal it was Derry. Endless short passing with a stiff breeze behind them. That, for me, is anti football.

For Donegal? I see nothing wrong with working hard in defence to try and win the ball back. Why hate them for trying to do something well? When they do win it back they move it a lot faster than most teams do to their dangerous forwards. In my book the criticism they receive is completely unwarranted. Dublin play near enough identical football and very little is said of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭longpuck

The question i asked was is this style of football going to make young players want to play the game?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

The question i asked was is this style of football going to make young players want to play the game?

Definitely not making people want to play, or watch the game who don't already imo.

Some awful, awful games this year, and football really can be an awful game to watch.

In saying that, it's a results game, and teams like Cork, Donegal and Kildare will play the game that suits them best.

Even my own Wexford, who can play some brilliant football, resorted to awful tactics in the first half of the Leinster final to nullify Dublin.
    That was truly awful football.

One thing that I can't quite believe is the amount of naivety and lack of basic skills which is shown every weekend. Kicking from stupid angles, shooting at goal from stupid angles (Cian Ward, I'm looking at you), handpassing over opponents heads and getting blocked, kicking up into people. Some of it is mind boggling. Refer again to that Leinster final for some great examples, or the Leinster semi final where Kildare kept funneling up the middle and running into tackles as opposed to using the space the extra man could have created.

/rant :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

1-from a donegal point of view, the victories have made for a far sweeter return home than the ones which followed the cork quarter final a few years ago or the 04 ulster final hammering in croker. after watching us loose to fermanagh in the next game in 04 i actually didnt go to a game for a few years despite our 'attractive' play back then. id be in croker again this weekend if it wasnt for work.:mad: (damn gaa and short notice!)

2-mcguinness had been coaching underage levels in naomh conaill (glenties) for years and funny enough they are donegal champions and reached a ulster final last year too, so if his methods are driving people form the game.... i dont think glenties would be county champs now.

so in otherwords, it might not be inspiring joe in carlow but it isnt going to hinder recruitment in donegal so quit your whining and fix your own teams!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

"wont somebody please think of the children"

why cant young people just play the game for their own enjoyment?
    dont know too many 7 yr olds who have decided theyre not gonna play football because donegal have too many men behind the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭moomoocow

harpsman wrote: »
    "wont somebody please think of the children"

why cant young people just play the game for their own enjoyment?
    dont know too many 7 yr olds who have decided theyre not gonna play football because donegal have too many men behind the ball.

I thin Donegal are only being used as an example because longpuck read something about them. But if you were a 14/15 year old there style wouldn't make you want to play football very fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=152414
    i think this is what longpuck was reading if anyone wants it, but its the usual.... donegal's defensive tactics produce first ulster title in 19years....negativity after antrim.....no apologies, we just play football, work on defense and attack in training.... big test against kildare... hope to stop them scoring their usual 17,18,19pts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭thefa

It could be argued that it can if the team is successful at it. When I was younger i used to watch Cork on the tele and especially if they won, I'd be more inclined to head out to the gable end to belt the ball off the wall or be looking forward to the next training~the particular style they played at the time had little effect on my willingness to play but success made a bit of a difference. Can see it in other sports too. Munster never played an attractive style of rugby like say Toulouse in France and some of the games can be as boring to watch as anything but I don't doubt there was an increase in those taking up underage rugby around the Heineken Cup wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭Lago

I'm sick of this old lad mentality (yes, including the experts) of "Jaysus, just kick the ball up the field!". Gaelic Football has to be the only team, ball sport in the world where short, quick, accurate, possesion passing is considered a bad way to play the game. And it annoys me when the so called experts on TV seem to give the opinion of the crazy, 80 year old shouting on the sideline.

Now, I play football and kick passing is the biggest part of my game. And there is nothing I like to see better than a beautifully lofted pass that goes over the defenders head and straight into his markers chest without him breaking stride. But if someone gave me the option between seeing a team who do short, quick hand passing with running off the ball and a team who get the ball in midfield and just boot it into the full-foward line everytime, I'd choose the former everytime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

If its your county thats winning games and titles you don't give a flying fig what "style" they play. I'm from Meath and do you think it bothered me that other counties considered us a dirty team when we were winning, did it ****! As Bill Shankley once said, winning isn't everything, its the ONLY thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Almost certainly yes.
    Young people are going to be more interested in a short passing game where they touch the ball mutiple times in a match, rather than a game where they get neckache from seeing the ball flying over their heads.

eigrod wrote: »
    I first noticed Donegal playing this style of football when I went to the League finals earlier this year (was there to see Cork's game).

I was down low in the Cusack stand with my two sons. I could not believe my eyes. They left 1 man in the forward line and had 14 players in their own half for much of the game. I was trying to explain it to my kids, who play juvenile gaelic & hurling, but it proved to be rather difficult. It certainly is not entertaining and it certainly isn't for the purist, but if I were from Donegal, I would prefer to play that style and win things rather than play a traditional 3-3-2-3-3 set up and win sfa.

It's funny. You noticed Donegal employing that style but did you not notice Dublin employing it in the game after?

Donegal are getting so much attention for using this tactic but the same tactic got Dublin to an All-Ireland football semi final last year and they were praised for finally matching the Ulster teams.

Now Donegal do the same and everyone's negative about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

remind where Cavan football is the last 20 years???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

personally i love the quick ball in prefer it to be on an angle for speedy forwards to get a chance to take a man on but its each to their own.if meath won an all ireland playing like cork or donegal id be the happiest man in ireland!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 thegatekeeper1

I went to college with Rory Gallagher, and he was one of the most naturally gifted footballers I have ever seen (a pity he played for fermanagh, a joke of a county when it comes to football), he used to play soccer for portadown for a bit of cash as well. Id say secretly inside his football soul is dying with the crap that maginnis expounds!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ayeboy

I went to college with Rory Gallagher, and he was one of the most naturally gifted footballers I have ever seen (a pity he played for fermanagh, a joke of a county when it comes to football), he used to play soccer for portadown for a bit of cash as well. Id say secretly inside his football soul is dying with the crap that maginnis expounds!!!

Bit harsh on Fermanagh there!! But I'd say Gallagher is one of the proudest guys in the Erne County at the minute. As far as I know he is the only Fermanagh man with an Anglo Celt medal in his pocket!

As for the stick Donegal is getting, away over the top in my opinion. Some of the football played in the league and in spells in the championship has been very good. But It doesn't bother me in the slightest what people say as long as we get results.

Mon DONEGAL!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Gael85

Fair play to Donegal,changing their style of play brought them their 1st Ulster title in 19 years.The fancy football got them no where.though they should play Michael Murphy closer to goal and play direct ball into him.Winning games is more important than entertaining fans.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

Gael85 wrote: »
    Fair play to Donegal,changing their style of play brought them their 1st Ulster title in 19 years.The fancy football got them no where.though they should play Michael Murphy closer to goal and play direct ball into him.Winning games is more important than entertaining fans.

If thats the case soon enough game will be played with no fans at all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Junior D

thefa wrote: »
    It could be argued that it can if the team is successful at it. When I was younger i used to watch Cork on the tele and especially if they won, I'd be more inclined to head out to the gable end to belt the ball off the wall or be looking forward to the next training~the particular style they played at the time had little effect on my willingness to play but success made a bit of a difference. Can see it in other sports too. Munster never played an attractive style of rugby like say Toulouse in France and some of the games can be as boring to watch as anything but I don't doubt there was an increase in those taking up underage rugby around the Heineken Cup wins.

This is a great point....
    I was just about to write something very similar

remind where Cavan football is the last 20 years???

Losing in the first round of the Ulster championship for the bulk of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

it is not up to team managment to make the team play with style, their focus must be on makong th most of the resources at their disposal, be it to win an AI title or a junior b league whichever is appropriate. It is up to the sport authorities to alter the rulsa as appropriate to make the game more attractive. the last major rule change in gaelic that i recall was the free kick and line ball from the hand, which took place about 20 years ago. While soccer and rugby tweek their rules (e.g.the backpass rule, offside lines in rugby etc) the GAA has stood still inspite of huge advancments in teams defensive systems, tactics etc. Tactical and repeated fouling is a major prblem in the game, yet the Gaa hasn't moved with the times and tackled it by really penalising it. the 'professional' foul a la michael sheilds v down last saturday was the perfect example of a foul suiting a player sitting in a sin bin for 10 minutes, but this too was scuppered by moaning managers and co board representitives having no balls in congress. If we want the game to be easier on the eye we should forget about scapegoating (in particular) Ulster teams of which Donegal are the current flavour, and make the tough decisions on the way the game is officiated

Well said that man.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It's funny. You noticed Donegal employing that style but did you not notice Dublin employing it in the game after?

Fancy a laugh? Go find out what Dublins average scoring rate is? Then compare that to Donegals this year.

Nobody criticises a defensive team. Tyrone, Cork, Dublin all employ hard tackling men behind the ball and it is successful. The difference between those teams and this awful awful Donegal team is that Tyrone et al were just as prepared to flood forward as they are to flood back. Tyrone surged foward en masse when attacking, Cork constantly bring the ball on the attack, and Dublin have racked up some serious scores this year.

Donegal simply dont. It isnt twelve men back followed by twelve men forward, it is twelve men back and there they stay.

Donegal average what? 13/14 points per game? The sooner they are beaten the better.

Fancy a laugh? Go find out what Dublins average scoring rate is? Then compare that to Donegals this year.

Nobody criticises a defensive team. Tyrone, Cork, Dublin all employ hard tackling men behind the ball and it is successful. The difference between those teams and this awful awful Donegal team is that Tyrone et al were just as prepared to flood forward as they are to flood back. Tyrone surged foward en masse when attacking, Cork constantly bring the ball on the attack, and Dublin have racked up some serious scores this year.

Donegal simply dont. It isnt twelve men back followed by twelve men forward, it is twelve men back and there they stay.

Donegal average what? 13/14 points per game? The sooner they are beaten the better.

Do you know what? I'll actually do what you've just suggested:

Dublin have scored 1-16 against Laois, 1-12 against Kildare and 2-12 against Wexford. A grand total of 4-40 in 3 matches. 52 points if you convert goals to points so an average of 17.3 points per match.

Donegal have scored 1-10 against Antrim, 2-14 against Cavan, 2-6 against Tyrone and 1-11 against Derry. A grand total of 7-41 in four matches. 62 points if you convert goals to points so an average of 15.5 points per match.

I don't see the big difference between where "Dublin have racked up some serious scores this year" and the tactics Donegal employ. The stats show its not even a whole 2 points per game. I think you'd also agree that Donegal have played harder teams than Dublin.

Therefore perhaps you could elaborate as, to put it politely, your post above is complete and utter bull****.

Do you know what? I'll actually do what you've just suggested:

Dublin have scored 1-16 against Laois, 1-12 against Kildare and 2-12 against Wexford. A grand total of 4-40 in 3 matches. 52 points if you convert goals to points so an average of 17.3 points per match.

Donegal have scored 1-10 against Antrim, 2-14 against Cavan, 2-6 against Tyrone and 1-11 against Derry. A grand total of 7-41 in four matches. 62 points if you convert goals to points so an average of 15.5 points per match.

I don't see the big difference between where "Dublin have racked up some serious scores this year" and the tactics Donegal employ. The stats show its not even a whole 2 points per game. I think you'd also agree that Donegal have played harder teams than Dublin.

Therefore perhaps you could elaborate as, to put it politely, your post above is complete and utter bull****.

Firstly, your maths is wrong in the above, want to take another shot and see if you can find out where?

Secondly, Donegals scoring average this year is 15.45. Dublins is 18.4. What, you forgot about the league? It happened this year you know. A deviation of three points is significant at this level, without even taking into account the inferior opposition Donegal faced both in Division two of the league, and against teams such as Antrim and Cavan in Ulster.

Another interesting fact. Remember 2003 when Spillane was enjoying his Puke football phase? Tyrone won Ulster that year, scoring 92 points in the process. Puts those 59 points of Donegals in perspective doesnt it. Puke football indeed.

Firstly, your maths is wrong in the above, want to take another shot and see if you can find out where?

Secondly, Donegals scoring average this year is 15.45. Dublins is 18.4. What, you forgot about the league? It happened this year you know. A deviation of three points is significant at this level, without even taking into account the inferior opposition Donegal faced both in Division two of the league, and against teams such as Antrim and Cavan in Ulster.

Another interesting fact. Remember 2003 when Spillane was enjoying his Puke football phase? Tyrone won Ulster that year, scoring 92 points in the process. Puts those 59 points of Donegals in perspective doesnt it. Puke football indeed.

But thats irrelevant. Even if your point is valid, which it isn't, all it proves is that Tyrone and Dublin score more points. It doesn't prove they score more points because of their system. The disparity could easily be down to better players shooting at the target. Hardly a reason to savagely attack a manager or the players.

The reality is they play a very similar brand to Dublin (less like Cork and Tyrone imo). In the semi final last year Dublin parked 13 men in front of Cork and relied on O' Gara and, on the day, the brilliant Bernard Brogan. They didn't attack in numbers (the half backs never went beyond the 40 ffs) and there was no great skill in their method. You're slating Donegal for doing the exact same thing but not having a Bernard Brogan.

corny wrote: »
    But thats irrelevant. Even if your point is valid, which it isn't, all it proves is that Tyrone and Dublin score more points. It doesn't prove they score more points because of their system. The disparity could easily be down to better players shooting at the target. Hardly a reason to savagely attack a manager or the players.

The reality is they play a very similar brand to Dublin (less like Cork and Tyrone imo). In the semi final last year Dublin parked 13 men in front of Cork and relied on O' Gara and, on the day, the brilliant Bernard Brogan. They didn't attack in numbers (the half backs never went beyond the 40 ffs) and there was no great skill in their method. You're slating Donegal for doing the exact same thing but not having a Bernard Brogan.

The point is valid because Tyrone were lauded as playing "Puke football", and having the "blanket defense". If the so-called puke football team can put up those scores, it puts into focus just where Donegal stand.

As to your other point, Donegal DO have a Bernard Brogan, in fact they have three of them. Murphy, McFadden and the young lad McBearty?? all have the ability to win possession and take scores.

And its not irrelevant to compare Donegal and Dublin. I am a neutral, and I watched Dublin throughout the league, every game. You say Dublin play just like Donegal, but I watched Dublin score bags of goals in the league and were involved in some very entertaining matches. Watching Donegal in contrast has been as boring as all get out.

This is all academic anyway. A Tyrone team well past their best should have beaten Donegal in the semifinal, and I have no doubt that now they are out of what is a very poor Ulster arena, Donegal will come up short against the likes of Kildare, Cork, Kerry. Only one question will remain then. McGuinness has found a very defensive system, will he be able to alloy it to enough of a scoring threat that his team will evolve into genuine all-ireland contenders? Next year will tell the tale.

The point is valid because Tyrone were lauded as playing "Puke football", and having the "blanket defense". If the so-called puke football team can put up those scores, it puts into focus just where Donegal stand.

As to your other point, Donegal DO have a Bernard Brogan, in fact they have three of them. Murphy, McFadden and the young lad McBearty?? all have the ability to win possession and take scores.

Tyrone have (maybe had) brilliant forwards, maybe the best forward line of their generation. O' Neill, Canavan, Mulligan, Dooher and McGuigen would walk into every side in the country. With respect, racking up big scores had **** all to do with their system. Donegal don't have the same level of footballers but thats no reason to brand them awful when they try play the same way. I've been to every Dublin game since Gilroy has them playing this system and i'm telling you Donegal play the same game.

And on Murphy, McFadden and McBrearty. They're good players (maybe great players of the future) but they didn't deservedly win footballer of the year last year nor did they score 1-6 from play against Cork in an All Ireland semi final.

...... In the semi final last year Dublin parked 13 men in front of Cork and relied on O' Gara and, on the day, the brilliant Bernard Brogan. They didn't attack in numbers (the half backs never went beyond the 40 ffs) and there was no great skill in their method. You're slating Donegal for doing the exact same thing but not having a Bernard Brogan.

Not to get embroiled in this handbags, but Dublin scored 1-12 from play last year against Corks 0-8 - and if the half backs never got beyond their 40, imagine Philly McMahon's point from the back line.. must've been 90 yards out :rolleyes: ..

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Not to get embroiled in this handbags, but Dublin scored 1-12 from play last year against Corks 0-8 - and if the half backs never got beyond their 40, imagine Philly McMahon's point from the back line.. must've been 90 yards out :rolleyes: ..

It was 40 yards out and Philly McMahon isn't a half back. If you've nothing constructive take your own advice and mind your own business.

Look again ... I was responding to the post which stated that dublin h/backs didn't get beyond the 40 yard line - point I was making was Philly McMahon played corner back that day and scored a point ,, pity tere isn't a smilie for sarcasm tho I thought the rolling eyes might do it ... fool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I don't get why so many people hate teams that work really hard on defence...

when a team does poorly in defence they get slated... they try "too hard" at defence and there slated :confused:

when they win the ball back in defence they still have to work it up the field and get a score... no amount of defensive play is going to put scores on the board...

all their doing is stopping other teams from scoring by working really hard when they don't have the ball... I fail to see what's so bad about this :confused:

all some people seem to want is big long kick passes.. amazing high fielding... and scorelines of 2.20 - 3.16 at the end of a game... sure that'd be a great spectacle of a game and would get loads of young lads interested in playing - (lets not talk about the u14 corner back who's watching for tips on how to play well :rolleyes: )

My maths were indeed wrong. Donegal scored 6-41, bringing their total to 59 points over 4 matches. Dublin have scored 52 points in 3 matches.

Dublin's average is 17.33. Donega's is 14.75, still less than 3 points a game and not the huge difference you'd say it is.

And you are right, I don't take the league into account. Championship is where its at. And I think Donegal have faced better teams in the Championship than Dublin have and are operating in a far more competitive province.

As for Tyrone in 2003, Armagh were knocked out of the Ulster Championship in the first round that year so Tyrone didn't have to play them. Ulster was also alot less competitive than it is now. To counterbalance your point about the 93 scores, it's worth noting that they scored 13 points in the semi final against Kerry and just 12 in the final against Armagh so their tactics duly changed when they needed to.

I also think people are taking Donegal too lightly when they say Kildare will knock them out.

My maths were indeed wrong. Donegal scored 6-41, bringing their total to 59 points over 4 matches. Dublin have scored 52 points in 3 matches.

Dublin's average is 17.33. Donega's is 14.75, still less than 3 points a game and not the huge difference you'd say it is.

And you are right, I don't take the league into account. Championship is where its at. And I think Donegal have faced better teams in the Championship than Dublin have.

As for Tyrone in 2003, Armagh were knocked out of the Ulster Championship in the first round that year so Tyrone didn't have to play them. Ulster was also alot less competitive than it is now. To counterbalance your point about the 93 scores, it's worth noting that they scored 13 points in the semi final against Kerry and just 12 in the final against Armagh so their tactics duly changed when they needed to.

I also think people are taking Donegal too lightly when they say Kildare will knock them out.

I'm not going to go to the wall arguing who faced the better teams this year, but I honestly believe that Kildare, Wexford and Laois are currently streets ahead of Cavan, Antrim, and Derry. And even though you always have to give Tyrone respect, as an Ulsterman it seems clear to me their time has come and gone, and I would definitely fancy Kildare or Wexford should they meet. (Tyrone remind me so much of Galway circa 2001/2. A team that won it all and could have won more, but the raw hunger simply wasnt there any more)

I actually rate Kildare very highly, but to beat Donegals system you need a very high scoring accuracy, and out of all the top teams I think Kildare hit the most wides/rush the most shots. So while I think Kildare will win, Donegal have a good chance, moreso than they would against Cork or Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭InigoMontoya

Almost certainly yes.
    Young people are going to be more interested in a short passing game where they touch the ball mutiple times in a match, rather than a game where they get neckache from seeing the ball flying over their heads.
    I'm not so sure about that... how exciting is it to think about if the game, for many players, is reduced to "run, receive ball, run (across pitch), double back, handpass, run..."

I wouldn't criticise any team for adopting a style that (they perceive) will bring them success. But it can make for games that are awful to watch and it also tends to favour physicality over skills. I'd be in favour of rules changes that focus on avoiding the "ball circulating in small and increasingly congested area of pitch for long period" phenomenon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Donegal aren't at the 08 Tyrone's development stage. That 08 team probably had the most naturally gifted all round team ever to grace Croker, McMenamin and Joe McMahon playing half forward, Harte counter attacking, Cavanagh moving from midfield to FF or HF as needed, the 03 team team was boring to watch.

Donegal aren't awful, otherwise they wouldn't run up decent scores, they have good footballers who can attack at pace and support runners. I'd prefer to be at this stage with people calling us hard to beat than people perpetually calling us bottlers. This is just the initial stage of development of this team, getting the belief that a Tyrone or Armagh team has, a major deficiency Donegal teams had.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Donegal aren't at the 08 Tyrone's development stage. That 08 team probably had the most naturally gifted all round team ever to grace Croker, McMenamin and Joe McMahon playing half forward, Harte counter attacking, Cavanagh moving from midfield to FF or HF as needed, the 03 team team was boring to watch.

Donegal aren't awful, otherwise they wouldn't run up decent scores, they have good footballers who can attack at pace and support runners. I'd prefer to be at this stage with people calling us hard to beat than people perpetually calling us bottlers. This is just the initial stage of development of this team, getting the belief that a Tyrone or Armagh team has, a major deficiency Donegal teams had.

Well said. As I commented on another thread, Donegal won on Saturday because they have better natural footballers than Kildare. Kildare are a well drilled outfit of footballers but, as I said on the other thread, I certainly don't subscribe to this theory that they are one of the top 3 or 4 teams in the country.

They are in the top 8 but they are no better than the rest of that clutter of teams who are chasing the coat tails of Kerry, Tyrone and Cork. When Donegal needed to, they had players like Cassidy, McBrearty, Lacey and Murphy, who had that extra bit of class that the bulk of the Kildare lads don't have.

Kildare are going 4 years now and have won nothing except a huge amount of hype. McGeeney is apparently there for another couple of years but unless he can deliver at least a Leinster title his time there will have to be seen as a failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Gael85

sendit wrote: »
    If thats the case soon enough game will be played with no fans at all!!

Teams should play to their strengths and not worry about entertainment.I think fans staying away from games is more to do ticket pricing rather than style of football been played