Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of buying a diesel 2nd car for commuting

• 24-07-2011 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭

Ladies and gents,

I'm toying with the idea of buying a second car for the daily commute. I'm currently using my 350Z for 140 km per day and I feel bad about it. I would like to promote it to a weekend/fun car and buy a pack mule (read diesel).

So I've been looking at buying something like a Ford Mondeo diesel 2.0 TDCi (e.g http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2360995). My budget is about €4.5k, and the ones I've been looking at are north of 100k miles. How does the Ford lump hold up to this sort of mileage? Could I conceivably get double that out of it?

Also, what other diesel mid-size cars could I be looking at? Passat maybe? I'm a diesel virgin, so I'm not really sure what I should be looking for.

I'm used to gadgets, so I'd be looking for:

- Cruise Control (I definitely want this)
    - Automatic/Triptronic would be nice
    - AirCon is a must

All comments are welcome,
    Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

CITREON PICASSO /RENAULT MEGANE 58 MPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭zod

Breaks the budget but you would never have to spend a penny on diesel/petrol again .. perfect for a commute

This changes everything *

*runs for the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭alanmc

zod wrote: »
    Breaks the budget but you would never have to spend a penny on diesel/petrol again .. perfect for a commute

*runs for the door

I just threw up a little in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

also don't forget, that second car will be on new insurance policy (0 discount). I had skyline before, and found bit too expensive drive to work and from every day, so got Fiat punto 1.2 engine, as second car, and insurance was way higher that on my nissan skyline, cos i have new policy with " 0 " NCB. Skyline sold :( and all NCB transferred to insure Punto .Times save money.

Mar4ix wrote: »
    also don't forget, that second car will be on new insurance policy (0 discount). I had skyline before, and found bit too expensive drive to work and from every day, so got Fiat punto 1.2 engine, as second car, and insurance was way higher that on my nissan skyline, cos i have new policy with " 0 " NCB. Skyline sold :( and all NCB transferred to insure Punto .Times save money.

Yeah, I'm all over the insurance thing. To be honest though, this isn't a money saving exercise. I just feel my 350Z is being abused as a commuting workhorse. It should be a car I treat myself with of a weekend.

Having said all that, if I'm buying a workhorse, then I'll go for a diesel. I think I'm doing the requisite mileage to warrant an oil burner.

P.S. Sorry about your loss of the Skyline. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

zod wrote: »

*runs for the door

And don't come back!

Damn hippies...

*shakes fist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

This might fit the bill. Comfortable and luxury French barge for little money.

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201128203297038

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fitzeyboy.

Citroen C4 1.6 HDi Van. Recently did Waterford-Limerick-Ennis-Stranolar(Donegal)-Letterkenny-Strabane-Omagh-M1-M50-M7-M9-N25. Around 1000km on one tank of Diesel in one day. No Fuel Preserving driving Included either.

I appreciate all the replies lads and lasses. Much obliged.

I'm looking for info on the Ford 2.0 TDCi lump though. As I said most of the Mondeo's in my budget are 100k miles and above. I'm pretty sure that the engine itself is good for lots more. But does anybody have any first hand info? Are 200k miles achievable without catastrophic failure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

alanmc wrote: »
    I appreciate all the replies lads and lasses. Much obliged.

I'm looking for info on the Ford 2.0 TDCi lump though. As I said most of the Mondeo's in my budget are 100k miles and above. I'm pretty sure that the engine itself is good for lots more. But does anybody have any first hand info? Are 200k miles achievable without catastrophic failure?
    Flywheels can go in these and also the odd injector. The usual:rolleyes: There fairly good other than that, I have no experience on them auto's though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

i dont know about the fords but cruise can be retrofitted to most vag diesels for about 150.

Plug wrote: »
    Flywheels can go in these and also the odd injector. The usual:rolleyes: There fairly good other than that, I have no experience on them auto's though.

Well, I'm kind of veering away from an auto if I'm honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

OSI wrote: »
    I know you're worried about abusing the 350Z and what not, but to get going in a 2nd car, you're looking at 4.5k for the car, probably close to a grand for insurance, and over €600 for a years tax.

So before you even turn the key you're looking at spending €6,000. Is it really worth 6 grand to save a few miles on the 350Z and a few € on fuel?[/QUOTE]

You also saving on the more expensive and more regular servicing the Z would need, expensive tyres, wear and tear on suspension etc etc which are all quite alot more expensive then your average car.

@alanmc, I'm doing exactly the same as you but imo as a second car, although you may be used to comfort, just get something cheap as chips that will cost nothing to maintain/run/insure etc. If you want diesel, get something pre CRD is in general they will go forever. I'm looking at buying an old astra van 1.7d to replace the 96 Micra I've been using for work(120k a day for the last 8 months without missing a beat).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

I'm looking for info on the Ford 2.0 TDCi lump though.

It a PSA unit, FWIW:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ford_Duratorq_engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

Alanmc

Ford Mondeo great car but a few things to keep in mind
    Injector system can be very problematic on the TDCI models when high mileage is reached and can be very costly to repair.
    The same can be said for the duel mass fly wheel/clutch system which if needs to be replaced is another expensive headache.
    Front shocks need to be spot on as if they are not it will feel like someone else is driving the car
    And uneven front tyre wear has always been a mine field for the mondeo.

In saying that I have had 2 (a TDDI and a TDCI) and was lucky enough not to have much trouble except for complete brake failure earlier late last year durring the snow and ice.

If you looking for a good Diesel with a bit of comfort and speed what about the VOLVO S60 D5
    650 miles to a tank with plenty of power for a diesel(163 bhp)
    These last for big mileage and are in your price range

Cheers for the replies people.

Nissan Doctor is right. I think I'm going to start looking for something cheap and cheerful.

When your used to driving something nice, its a strangely liberating feeling not to have to worry about potholes/speed ramps/car park dents/stone chips/what you park beside etc:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 horseone

Mondeo top notch car in every respect. I had a 2002 TDDI verion up til 160k mls and required nothing but brakes, tyres and a couple of bushings during my tenure. Liked the sharp handling, solidity, sheer space (on 5dr hatch) and most of all the fact that everything worked even when I didn't service when I should have!

On the space side, I once brought home a new washing machine (c/w in box) in the back with boot fully closed and rear seats folded flat - Impressive!

Blue Punto spot on with the weak spots on the diesel versions, injectors(on the later TDCI) and flywheel are not uncommon especially at 100k + mileages. But this would apply to most diesel cars of that era/mileage.

Alternatively a petrol Mondeo can be picked up as cheap as chips and doesn't have the afore mentioned items to go wrong. A €2500 bill for replacing the diesel-only parts above would wipe out many times over any potential mpg saving by going diesel in the first place.

On the Micra VS Mondeo debate, it's surprising how little difference between asking prices for either car. Traditionally small CC petrol cars were always in good demand, the recession has only intensified that demand. The larger car having a significant penalty interms of road tax and "percieved" fuel economy. TBH if you're currently running a 350Z, mpg and road tax cannot be high on your priority list!

Get yourself a nice Mondeo Zetec petrol for handy money and grab yourself a bargain in the process

horseone wrote: »
    TBH if you're currently running a 350Z, mpg and road tax cannot be high on your priority list!

Yeah, why not just buy another 350z, one to do the high miles on and one to keep mint:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

I don't suppose you are married, or with someone? You could always insure the wife on the 350Z with yourself as a named driver for weekends. I do this with my wife and it works for us.

By the way, for €4.5k the only diesel saloon with the features you want is likely to be a clapped out heap of a yoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

This would be a great little yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,727 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Get yourself a Volvo D5, its a bit less soul destroying than the typical diesel offering by Ford or VAG.
    Running cost might be a bit higher but sure you're used to that feeding the fat micra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭mikewest

Have a nose around Peugeot 406's. You will get ones with cruise and aircon fairly cheaply. Decent online support and cheapish parts and good to 200k miles. Do not even consider them in autobox though! Drop your budget and spend the saving on your running costs, also some brokers may be able to get you a deal where the second car insurance will have some no claims discount based on the first policy. I got 5 years NCB on a second policy based on many years claims free on existing policy mind you this was 8 years ago!

Somthing like this would be the job,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/2341970

Cheap, reliable, use almost no fuel, cool(in certain circles anyway) and if its in the condition it seems to be, could actually go up in value!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭marauder

I have a 2007 MK3 Mondeo I use to commute 320km per day.
    its got 352k on the clock and still giving me 60mpg on the motorway at 120kph

Apart from the usual Oil/filters/tyres , brake disks and pads.
    the only problems I have had is an EGR failure @ 100k , the gas springs for the boot last february and unfortunately the front shock failed last night :(

PS Id avoid the pre facelift Mk3 version if possible and definitely avoid a Mk4