Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No NCT conviction

• 21-07-2011 2:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭

Long story short... anyone ever appeal a 5 points conviction ? Is it possible?

Had a gard pull me in kk dec '09, no nct, never gave 10 days notice, nothing, car was damaged in jan '10, and not nct and fixed till march '10.

12 months later i got a summons... and with work commintments i couldnt attend... and i got dates mixed up... so i done myself there... i got a 250 fine and paid it...

Just need my licence for my job...

Any thoughts guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

So the Garda was the w@nker here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

If it was damaged in Jan 2010 and not fixed until March 2010 I assume it was off the road during this period? If so, why didn't you inform the gardai of this?

What sort of work commitments could prevent you from going to a court hearing you were summonsed to appear at? Did you even bother to write to the court to inform them you wouldn't be attending?

Ignorance of the law is no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭sparkfireman

I work with the fire brigade something happened last min that i couldnt get time off... And yes the gard was because he said he wasnt going to do me... just take my details.. and to phone him when the nct was done... when the car was crashed i phoned and left the message... and number... and thought no more of it...

Thanks for sticking to the question i asked...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Tito Ortiz

Im pretty sure the OP is looking for advice hence the post, so let he without sin cast the first stone and all that. We all know 5 points is a fecking joke for no NCT !!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Do you already have 7 penalty points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭sparkfireman

No, I have 0 penalty points... Well 5 now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

eth0_ wrote: »
    If it was damaged in Jan 2010 and not fixed until March 2010 I assume it was off the road during this period? If so, why didn't you inform the gardai of this?

What sort of work commitments could prevent you from going to a court hearing you were summonsed to appear at? Did you even bother to write to the court to inform them you wouldn't be attending?

Ignorance of the law is no excuse.

His NCT was already out when he was stopped in 2009 - before it got damaged. It must have been out a while for the Garda to prosecute.

You still have a licence with only 5 points, OP. Just be careful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

No, I have 0 penalty points... Well 5 now...

Grand, I was thinking this 5 would put you over the 12 point mark.

Do you need a clean license or something? I'm sure they'd understand if you explained the reason behind the points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

You already know that you should have gone to court and explained the situation , you may have got off a bit lighter but then again who knows. However if you have evidence that the car was off the road at the time and can produce this evidence , you could alway write a letter to the Justice Minister with this information and he may do something for you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,120 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

shawnee wrote: »
    However if you have evidence that the car was off the road at the time

The Garda caught him on the road with no NCT.

Does anyone know when you get the 5 penalty points, do you automatically get the €1,500 fine too?

Long story short... anyone ever appeal a 5 points conviction ? ......

What would be the grounds for the appeal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

unkel wrote: »
    Does anyone know when you get the 5 penalty points, do you automatically get the €1,500 fine too?
    My understanding is that the OP didn't show up for the court date and got a €250 fine and 5 points.
    RoverJames wrote: »
    What would be the grounds for the appeal?
    Garda was a w@nker ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

Are you now driving a company car? If you are concerned that your employer won't be happy if you have points on your licence why not come clean and show him the points notification? It will show that the points were for not having an NCT and not for speeding or dangerous driving. I think many people will make the distinction between the two types of offence.