Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amsterdam 2011 - 16th October

• 20-07-2011 4:16pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭

So is anyone else going to do Amsterdam Marathon?

http://www.amsterdammarathon.nl/home/index.php

Shouldn't be much in the way of hills over there at least.

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 0 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    0%
    3 stars (average)
    0%
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

Ran this in April. Its totally flat and a great course, but drinking from cups is a nightmare and the Expo could be held in a shoe box. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Pronator wrote: »
    Ran this in April. Its totally flat and a great course, but drinking from cups is a nightmare and the Expo could be held in a shoe box. :rolleyes:

A different 'dam, perhaps?;)

I'll get me coat :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Actually, only just noticed the "April" bit myself there. :D

Was that the 'dam of the Rotter that you did? Did that one myself last year, was nice and flat alright, if not the nicest looking city ever.

Yep Rotterdam, I did get the country right:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Personally I'd always avoid naming that particular country as you're bound to get it wrong if using some combination of Holland, Netherlands or it being populated by Dutch people who are not from Deutschland.

Best avoided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I'm doing NYC on Nov 6th but was thinking about maybe doing Amsterdam as well. The plan would be to try and get a good time in Amsterdam and then just enjoy NYC.
    Still in two minds about it though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Ran the half there last year - pretty flat alright and finishing through Vondel Pk and then 300 mts on the track in the Olympic Stadium is fantastic - very well organised by all accounts.
    Expo was pants though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Did my first marathon last year in Amsterdam and loved it. Well organised, good atmosphere and it's a great city. Not really into the Expo thing, so it didn't bother me.

I liked the course, though some people complain about the stretch after you run along the Amstel. And even though it's flat, there are a couple of bridges over the canals in the last couple of miles that felt like mountains after what had gone before, but really were just bumps. There might be a little ramp out of Vondelpark too.

Starting and finishing in the Olympic Stadium was fun...

I found the very slight incline of getting over whatever river it was in Rotterdam last year was a challenge after spending so much of the race running on the dead flat, your legs forget what inclines are and you end up treating them like massive hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Amsterdam's a very good event.. Yes, the couple of miles after the Amstel are dull as dishwater but at 20 miles into a marathon, is anybody really interested in scenery?

The expo is your standard big event with loads of stuff that you don't want. Number collection was good.. There were some stands doing gear at very reasonable prices, picked up a nice jacket for my wife.

The race is super flat, numbers are slightly less than Dublin so it's not too crowded and there's plenty of fast runners. A big plus for me was the shower facilities available afterwards just across from the Olympic stadium. Very handy if you're flying home the evening of the race. There's really very little to complain about the marathon. Definitely worthy of it's Silver label status I'd say.

Currently trying to decide if I go for a flight back that evening or stay till the Monday. I've never been to Amsterdam sober before so I'm not sure how I'd cope with coming straight back afterwards, but at least a couple of the other guys from my club are flying back that evening, some rubbish about children or something.

Don't think I could cope with the idea of negotiating an airport straight after a marathon without having first had a load of beers and good sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

There were some stands doing gear at very reasonable prices.

In Amsterdam? ...are you sure?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Clothing I mean... :o

Flights booked for Amsterdam marathon.

Hotel is a bit trickier to figure out, usually just go for the cheapest and dirtiest option when going to the 'dam. But when I want a bit more luxury, or at least not having to walk up stupidly steep stairs to get to a crappy bed on the top floor in a noisy room it seems you have to spend a bit more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

I did the full last year and the half the year before and both times I got a nice hotel for the night before the race and switched the next day to a slightly less salubrious hostelry for a couple days of recovery!

Just stuck up the profile in the race profiles thread - you'll be surprised to learn it's flat. Flatter than my pancakes. (Which reminds me, there are a couple of great pancake houses worth checking out).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Blacktoe

Have just signed up for the full marathon in Amsterdam, first time. Can someone let me know, is the water distributed in cups or bottles? Not a cup fan!

Not sure I've seen that mentioned anywhere myself, but agree that bottles are the superior method of water delivery. :)

If it is like Rotterdam last year then their cups had sponges in the top which wasn't too bad once you got the hang of it.

Cheers for the reply, I really cant understand why many races distribute the water in cups. Many organisers are runners themselves and surely know the difficulty of running and drinking from these. I would rather pay an increased fee for the race to ensure getting bottles, suppose we have to just get on with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mimnagh

Accommodation

Has anyone found decent accommodation while in Amsterdam for the marathon ?

I've stayed in plenty of dirt cheap and nasty accommodation previously when in Amsterdam, but struggled to find anything slightly nicer but without silly prices. Eventually I ended up booking something around Vondel Park(?) for far more than I intended, but just wanted a decent hotel that looked as if it would have lifts and without having ten flights of stupid steep stairs to try and negotiate when drunk and with post marathon legs.

Then last week I discovered a mate is actually living even closer to the start/ finish right in the middle of the route and will be running the 8km himself during the marathon, so I cancelled the hotel and will kip at his instead. Glad to have the money back from the hotel I booked, but I think Amsterdam can't go down as being a cheap destination for doing a city marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Yep, very much along those lines.

This will be a first time for me being in Amsterdam and sober. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mimnagh

Thanks Robinph, Yea - the hotels are pretty expensive alright.

The WestCord Fashion has quoted me for (3 nights) € 169.00/ € 275.00/ € 149.00. excluding breakfast (€17) and city tax (5%)

Dub as a destination doesn't seem so bad after all !

That is only just above what I paid as well. I was booking through Expedia.co.uk

They had a wide selection of hotels, but knowing how inappropriate some of them can be for the nights before/ after a marathon I was being a bit selective. I have now spent the money I got back from cancelling the hotel on a Garmin Edge 800 though, so although I'm no better off financially, I do feel better about it.

If you're staying for a minimum of 3 nights, check out serviced apartments, they are normally reasonable enough for 2 people, but if you can get another few to come along they can be great value.

Ended up going for the NH Hotel as its seems like a short canter to race start, about E314 for the Saturday and Sunday night. Expensive city alright. Probably just doing the half now as was laid up for 2 weeks with slight achilles strain :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

I spoke with an english marathon runner recently who said that strong winds coming off the North sea can be a factor in Amsterdam marathon - he has run it. Anyone with experience of Amsterdam marathon have views on this please ?

The last 8k or so is pretty sheltered. Came across an online booking engine called onhotels.com prices seem really low for bookings further out have checked for late deals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 smurfette2012

Am heading over to Amsterdam with my buddy and we're staying 3 nights - 2 nights after the marathon and 1 before.
    Just wondering if anyone's planning on staying on for the 'celebrations' after the marathon is over? ;)

I'll definitely be staying for some post race beers afterwards, flying back on the Monday so not quite as much "celebration" time as yourself. Got a letter through with confirmation of my number today and a huge wallchart style map included.

Flying back Monday myself. Only doing the half as have achilles injury which ended hopes of completing the full. Also got the map etc. yesterday, just made me sadder that I wasn't doing the full!:(

Blacktoe - sorry to hear you're only doing the half :(....
    I know it's a bit hit and miss after the marathon, but have you guys got a plan as to where you'll be on the beer? I wouldn't mind meeting up with a few fellow runners, for the race post mortem etc..although will probably end up bumping into runners round the place anyway.
    Was in Amsterdam years ago to visit a friend who worked in 'Durty Nelly's' pub (and hostel) so might try find that place again. :)

I've to co-ordinate with a couple of other people yet, but I'll try and get a couple of suggestions from my mate in the 'dam about some post marathon beer quaffing locations. Obviously plenty to choose from if you head into the centre, but that is probably then a long trek along strange streets afterwards to get back to your hotels with stiff legs and soon to be sore heads.

I'm staying not too far from Vondelpark and the start/ finish, what about the rest of ye?

Never been to Amsterdam but definitely up for beers after we get the formalities of the run bit finished off. Staying within a few km's of the finish so fairly central location

Am staying in the Prinsen hotel, which is very near vondelpark as well.
    Any suggestions as to where to go afterwards would be greatly appreciated :). I agree that with the 'post marathon' legs, trekking around trying to 'find' the craic in the city centre mightn't be ideal, but will still want to celebrate in style!!

Was dieing in bed for most of this week, so actually running tomorrow is not on for me by order of the gp(I actually agree with them on this for a change). Will be out on the course tomorrow to cheer some friends on though.

Now this Englishman is getting ready to head to an Irish pub in Holland to cheer on Wales, with his French host for the weekend. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

robinph wrote: »
    Was dieing in bed for most of this week, so actually running tomorrow is not on for me by order of the gp(I actually agree with them on this for a change). Will be out on the course tomorrow to cheer some friends on though.

Now this Englishman is getting ready to head to an Irish pub in Holland to cheer on Wales, with his French host for the weekend. :confused:

Such a shame, fancy going to Berlin in April for the half :D

I reckon Wales getting beat is down to your bad luck, have you actually got a result right yet in the rugby.

Am staying in the Prinsen hotel, which is very near vondelpark as well.
    Any suggestions as to where to go afterwards would be greatly appreciated :). I agree that with the 'post marathon' legs, trekking around trying to 'find' the craic in the city centre mightn't be ideal, but will still want to celebrate in style!!

Straight across the road from the main gate to Vondel (NH Hotel side) is a small square with restaurants and pubs - nice Argentinian Steak House that I would recommend.

Woddle wrote: »
    robinph wrote: »

Such a shame, fancy going to Berlin in April for the half :D

I reckon Wales getting beat is down to your bad luck, have you actually got a result right yet in the rugby.
    At least the various French guys I was having my breakfast pints with looked suitably embarrassed about the result.

Nice to Cannes at the end of November has been suggested as an alternative plan for my Marathon needs this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Any news of SeanyNova?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Any news of SeanyNova?

I think he's running Toronto but I'm not sure of his name
    http://www.sportstats.ca/display-results.php?lang=eng&racecode=47498