Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Litter at Recycling bins

• 20-07-2011 8:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭

just a word of warning. got a fixed penalty notice for €150 for littering at recycling bins, yes I know sound retarded. But I think it's for leaving the cardboard container wedged between the bins (like 99% of people do). Just warning ye that they are watching!

There's no cardboard recycling bin there and there was other boxes there that's why I left it there(before the political correctness brigade get on my case!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

yupyup7up wrote: »
    just a word of warning. got a fixed penalty notice for €150 for littering at recycling bins, yes I know sound retarded. But I think it's for leaving the cardboard container wedged between the bins (like 99% of people do). Just warning ye that they are watching!

There's no cardboard recycling bin there and there was other boxes there that's why I left it there(before the political correctness brigade get on my case!)

The PC brigade would give you an easier time if you left out the last bit, but oh well, it's quoted now. Mwahahaha.

They need to empty those things more often but seriously people leaving stuff beside them when they're full annoys me. It's nothing more than arrogant plus it attracts rats and flies and blows all over the gaff. Not only that, but it used to happen so often near me that they took the recycling bins out altogether because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

Do what i do do, Get a plastic carton in ikea that you use for all your glass and bring that each time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I used to work in a shop with glass recycling bins outside and the state the place used be left was disgusting cardboard boxes are grand til it pisses rain and they get stuck to the ground on top of the fact that people seem to just dump whatever rubbish they have handy on the ground beside/behind the recycling bins. The bins were nothing to do with the shop but I still had to clean it up, delighted that they are handing out fines (Nothing against you personally). The way some people in this country behave with their rubbish is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I use a plastic box and reuse it over and over again just because i think its disgusting and rude for people to leave the cardboard and paper there. This adds to clean ups and council costs which will be ultimatly passed onto us.

When leaving the cardboard there who did you think was going to recycle wet soggy drink smelling cardboard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think it's for leaving the cardboard container wedged between the bins (like 99% of people do).
    There's no cardboard recycling bin there
    So what did you think was going to happen to the cardboard boxes wedged between the bins?

Yes, they are watching. Pretty much every recycling centre, bottle bank, etc, has a camera watching it and they will look at your reg to catch you. I know loads of people who've been caught out doing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

here im not saying im right, i know 100% i was wrong, i just wasnt expecting to be fined €150 for something they couldve given a warning for first offence or a smaller fine. I never litter and sometimes people have thrown stuff out of my car and I get really angry over it so I don't like it.

The plastic container is a pretty good idea, I didn't want a beer soaked boxx back in the car.

It's just a heads up to whoever else has done this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Rickwellwood

Galway county council are installing solar/wind powered cctv cameras to monitor and control littering around our recycling areas - the pubs and restaurants get rid of much of their bottles through the local recycling place and its full in no time at all for joe public to use - the one near us went in last week with big warning signs about fines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Great, absolutely brilliant. Finally, the local authorities (or at least one of them) is doing something about people who litter at recycling facilities. I have been one of those people who has written to the Area Manager of my local council to ask him to install CCTV cameras. It's absolutely disgusting the number of people who dump their rubbish at recycling facilities. Bring your rubbish home if the facility is full or non-existent. No excuses for it.

Dionysus wrote: »
    Great, absolutely brilliant. Finally, the local authorities (or at least one of them) is doing something about people who litter at recycling facilities. I have been one of those people who has written to the Area Manager of my local council to ask him to install CCTV cameras. It's absolutely disgusting the number of people who dump their rubbish at recycling facilities. Bring your rubbish home if the facility is full or non-existent. No excuses for it.

It's not my own domestic rubbish as in terms of bags of rubbish, it was the small box I used to bring the empty bottles and cans to the recycling bins! I'm not filthy like that at all, I actually was recycling, but made a mistake with the box. Get down off your high horse with ill-informed claims like that. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You betcha

It's not my own domestic rubbish as in terms of bags of rubbish, it was the small box I used to bring the empty bottles and cans to the recycling bins! I'm not filthy like that at all, I actually was recycling, but made a mistake with the box. Get down off your high horse with ill-informed claims like that. :mad:

That is your own domestic rubbish! How on earth you could construe it otherwise is baffling.

sdeire wrote: »
    The PC brigade would give you an easier time if you left out the last bit, but oh well, it's quoted now. Mwahahaha.

While I agree very much with the rest of your post, opposing people who litter our society is not "pc". It's just expecting the same respect from other members of our community towards us, our health, our businesses which depend upon attracting tourists or shoppers from other areas, and our environment.

Leaving aside environmental and social issues, there are huge financial reasons why litter should not be tolerated. It is right that people request that the local Area Manager of their council take action on something which undermines the community. The more of us who put pressure on in this regard the better, cleaner and nicer our villages, towns and suburbs will be.

orourkeda wrote: »
    You betcha
    I spend 8-9 hours a day on a computer, I'm allowed the odd typo. :rolleyes:
    While I agree very much with the rest of your post, opposing people who litter our society is not "pc". It's just expecting the same respect from other members of our community towards us, our health, our businesses which depend upon attracting tourists or shoppers from other areas, and our environment.

Leaving aside environmental and social issues, there are huge financial reasons why litter should not be tolerated. It is right that people request that the local Area Manager of their council take action on something which undermines the community. The more of us who put pressure on in this regard the better, cleaner and nicer our villages, towns and suburbs will be.

Oh here we go again. I NEVER said I agree with littering and never said I was right, I'm simply giving a heads up to those that could easily find themselves in the same predicament. Let me ask you a question, have you ever littered? Either on purpose or inadvertently? If you say no, then you are a blatant liar.:rolleyes:

And yes you are right there are huge financial reasons why litter shouldn't be tolerated, because it costs €150 a pop if you do, which, in my opinion, for a first offence of something relatively insignificant is a ludicrous sum of money to fine someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Rickwellwood

The cctv kit our local county council put up is very slick - small wind turbine very top of 6 metre pole, small solar panel just below that with CCTV cameras just below that again.

Two cameras, one of the wide angle type and a separate one directed at the recycling centre - the wide angle one probably to monitor
    activity in adjacent county council yard.

Large quantities of winter grit kept in there which was walking out of the yard past two winters afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I know a guy who got a fine for littering at a bottle bank. He didn't leave a box like the OP, but he had the bottles in a plastic bag, which he then put in the bottle bank.

Fair play to whoever was watching the CCTV is all I can say. At least with a box, it's visible for a good while. A bag into the bottle bank would easily be missed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I spend 8-9 hours a day on a computer, I'm allowed the odd typo. :rolleyes:

Oh here we go again. I NEVER said I agree with littering and never said I was right, I'm simply giving a heads up to those that could easily find themselves in the same predicament. Let me ask you a question, have you ever littered? Either on purpose or inadvertently? If you say no, then you are a blatant liar.:rolleyes:

And yes you are right there are huge financial reasons why litter shouldn't be tolerated, because it costs €150 a pop if you do, which, in my opinion, for a first offence of something relatively insignificant is a ludicrous sum of money to fine someone.
    So basically, you won't do it again?

A smaller 'first offence' fine wouldn't have had the same impact, I reckon. €150 seems to have gotten you nicely riled up about it, where a smaller one wouldn't have.

So basically, you won't do it again?

A smaller 'first offence' fine wouldn't have had the same impact, I reckon. €150 seems to have gotten you nicely riled up about it, where a smaller one wouldn't have.

what are you on about? of course I'd be f*cking annoyed with any fine or warning! I didn't post this to complain, I posted to warn others about it! Get a grip for yourself :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Oh here we go.

The council, instead of fining people who are silly enough to leave their rubbish behind should provide cardboard recycling in the same location. End of problem.

People are not perfect, none of us are, i certainly am not. Those who live in glass houses shouldint throw stones. He\ she made a mistake and is coming here to "warn" that fines are bieng issued.

Right / wrong? Well clearly it's wrong to litter, but the council itself instead of paying loads of money to catch the litter bugs should be providing a better facility to encourage more recycling. Not trying to píss off the minority who are not experienced in recycling or simply fúck up on the day. Not everyone sets out to break the law.

I smell my scones burning \ runs :p

For the record, the recycling station beside where i work, is generally littered with boxes. To the point where we remove them ourselves. A simple bin for cardboard would solve that problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Magic Beans

The council should anticipate the needs of people bringing stuff to the recycling area and provide some sort of bin to allow proper disposal of bags and boxes etc. Instead they choose to deny the need for such a facility and go for the money. Greedy useless bastards.

Edit Snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

This wouldn't have happened if you didn't recycle. Lesson learned hopefully? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I was listening to Joe Duffy a few months ago (my radio was stuck on the channel, I swear) and 3 people had been locked up for a couple of days because they couldn't pay the fine. I think they were all done by the same security camera in Ashbourne. Pure joke.

themadchef wrote: »
    Oh here we go.

The council, instead of fining people who are silly enough to leave their rubbish behind should provide cardboard recycling in the same location. End of problem.

People are not perfect, none of us are, i certainly am not. Those who live in glass houses shouldint throw stones. He\ she made a mistake and is coming here to "warn" that fines are bieng issued.

Right / wrong? Well clearly it's wrong to litter, but the council itself instead of paying loads of money to catch the litter bugs should be providing a better facility to encourage more recycling. Not trying to píss off the minority who are not experienced in recycling or simply fúck up on the day. Not everyone sets out to break the law.

I smell my scones burning \ runs :p

For the record, the recycling station beside where i work, is generally littered with boxes. To the point where we remove them ourselves. A simple bin for cardboard would solve that problem.

thanks christ! someone down to earth! :D

yeah exactly, there are people throwing away all their domestic rubbish illegally and when I leave a single box the PC brigade come along. I know I was wrong but yeah I agree they should have cardboard, plastic bag recycling facilities. I don't have to visit the bottle bank very often so I'm amazed this happened to be honest. Technically I was wrong but a bit of leniency goes a long way. You'd barely be fined that much for driving without insurance FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Technically I was wrong but a bit of leniency goes a long way..

The one sentence that screws this country up time and time again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

I bring my bottles and jars over in supermarket carrier bags. We normally have a few around from when we go shopping and don't have shopping bags with us. When the bottles are disposed of, the carrier bag goes in the public bin, which is right beside the bottle bank. Having said that, I don't normally have that many bottles to dispose of since I gave up beer and moved to whiskey instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

thanks christ! someone down to earth! :D

yeah exactly, there are people throwing away all their domestic rubbish illegally and when I leave a single box the PC brigade come along. I know I was wrong but yeah I agree they should have cardboard, plastic bag recycling facilities. I don't have to visit the bottle bank very often so I'm amazed this happened to be honest. Technically I was wrong but a bit of leniency goes a long way. You'd barely be fined that much for driving without insurance FFS.

Yeah the facilities should be there.

But they're not. That doesn't mean you can just leave your rubbish there. Do you throw your litter in the street because there is no bin at the exact location you need it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I got stung for this before. I had to cycle to pick up a laptop from a depot in the middle of Sandyford industrial estate (this was before all the residential developments and everything). I wasn't familiar with the area at all but found the depot eventually and got the package. I was able to fit the laptop in my bag but was left with the cardboard box. I cycled around for ages, box under arm looking for a public bin, none to be found :mad: Eventually saw the recycling containers and thought that would be the best place for it rather than shoving it behind a fence or something. Apparently not, a few days later got the fine in the post. I didn't even think of removing my name from the box, I thought I was doing a good deed leaving it where I left it! Ah well.

So, how do they expect people not to litter sometimes, when there are no public bins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If that's the case, they must be making millions from the fines. Keep up the good work and save your local authority from going bankrupt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Do people not have bins for paper and Cardboard:confused: considering most Recycling centers are only bottle banks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Cianos wrote: »
    I got stung for this before. I had to cycle to pick up a laptop from a depot in the middle of Sandyford industrial estate (this was before all the residential developments and everything). I wasn't familiar with the area at all but found the depot eventually and got the package. I was able to fit the laptop in my bag but was left with the cardboard box. I cycled around for ages, box under arm looking for a public bin, none to be found :mad: Eventually saw the recycling containers and thought that would be the best place for it rather than shoving it behind a fence or something. Apparently not, a few days later got the fine in the post. I didn't even think of removing my name from the box, I thought I was doing a good deed leaving it where I left it! Ah well.

So, how do they expect people not to litter sometimes, when there are no public bins?

That's a very one-off sort of situation. The vast majority in an industrial estate will be in a car/van/truck. There's no need for public litter bins there.

It's just not possible to have a bin everywhere that you want it.

I do agree there should be a paper recycling one beside the bottle banks though, there is a big need for it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

HOPE YOU LEARNED YOUR LESSON OP !!!!!

Next time park your car with the number plate out of shot of the camera :D

JOKING EVERYONE , so get your butt up to Ikea and pick up a plastic storage case even a basin will do buddy ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I once left a bunch of windows outside a bottle bank because they wouldn't fit in. Maybe I should go to jail for that too.

Ridiculous that fines are given out for stuff like this, hate to be living in a society where every little slip up has a fine following it. and what kind of useless recycling facilities have no box for cardboard?

If you go to proper recycling facilities there is no stuff strewn around because there is a section for everything and they are regularly emptied. Stuff left outside the bins means its a half arsed recycling facility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Needler wrote: »
    Stuff left outside the bins means its a half arsed recycling facility

Or people are just too lazy and ignorant to use them properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Recycling place I mentioned often had plastic bags of rubbish thrown in around the recycling bins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

prinz wrote: »
    Or people are just too lazy and ignorant to use them properly.

I don't know anyone who just plants a box of bottles outside the bin and leaves them there because they can't be bothered trhowing them in but maybe its done where you live.

Also sorting glass by colour is a joke. When they collect the stuff it all goes in the same trailer of the same lorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I don't disagree, it was simply a reference to his OP. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

sdeire wrote: »

They need to empty those things more often but seriously people leaving stuff beside them when they're full annoys me. It's nothing more than arrogant plus it attracts rats and flies and blows all over the gaff. Not only that, but it used to happen so often near me that they took the recycling bins out altogether because of it.
    Absolutely agree with bolded. I was bringing glass to the recycling and both of the bins within walking distance of my house were full; I had to play Glass Bottle Jenga to get them in.

I use the wheely bag that I go shopping with to bring glass to the recycling, then go to Lidl on my way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

The council should anticipate the needs of people bringing stuff to the recycling area and provide some sort of bin to allow proper disposal of bags and boxes etc. Instead they choose to deny the need for such a facility and go for the money. Greedy useless bastards.

Edit Snap

Cardboard/paper bins are not always practical in outdoor locations though (rain can seep in, after which the material is no longer recyclable). However some recycling centres do have card and paper facilities located indoors, of course that is contingent on people turning up at the designated opening hours, whereas the outdoor bins are generally accessible 24/7. Of course then you get people who turn up outside of opening hours and assume they have the right to just dump everything outside the doors for the fairies to collect. :mad:

I worked in such a facility one summer and it's amazing the amount of people who do this, and leave card between bottle bins (in the rain!), without it occurring to them that the card will be rendered useless. But yes CCTV is checked, along with a few other methods of catching perpetrators.

What irks me is that many of these centres are free of charge (when you could be paying a company to collect it from you), yet some people still have no respect for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Niles wrote: »
    Cardboard/paper bins are not always practical in outdoor locations though (rain can seep in, after which the material is no longer recyclable). However some recycling centres do have card and paper facilities located indoors, of course that is contingent on people turning up at the designated opening hours, whereas the outdoor bins are generally accessible 24/7. Of course then you get people who turn up outside of opening hours and assume they have the right to just dump everything outside the doors for the fairies to collect. :mad:

I worked in such a facility one summer and it's amazing the amount of people who do this, and leave card between bottle bins (in the rain!), without it occurring to them that the card will be rendered useless. But yes CCTV is checked, along with a few other methods of catching perpetrators.

What irks me is that many of these centres are free of charge (when you could be paying a company to collect it from you), yet some people still have no respect for it.
    People are lazy.

Oh, and I would have assumed the cardboard would have been dumped in a tank with some watery glue or something to render it down for reprinting. So I wouldn't have thought wet cardboard was a bad thing. I guess not though. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I know a person who was fined for leaving a chipped soup bowl on top of a recycling bin ..his excuse when he rang up to complain was that it wouldnt fit in the bin.