Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Update - Ambulance Ireland to Mongolia

• 19-07-2011 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭

Firstly note to the Mod, i know this ain't the right place but im really stuck

I am in a serious bind, I am after some wheel rims for a 97 Twin Wheel Transit 15" 6 Stud.

In less than two days time i will be driving an Ambulance to Mongolia where it will be left and put into service. The Ambo is fully prepared bar one big cock up.We sourced spare rims for me a while ago, but when trying to mount tyres i have realised that the spares we got are 14" and useless to me. I have spent two days on the phone to breakers yards and cant find anything so i am hoping someone here will have something. I need two more rims if possible, but at this stage ill take any.

The other option is to get some 16" twin wheel rims from the 01- Transit, I would need 3 of these and replace both front wheels and have one spare, and then use the 2 original 15" front wheels as spares for the back.

At this stage i am willing to pay almost anything and travel within 2-3 hours of Laois to get them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

Have you tried calling/visiting any scrapyards in the area? Have 5 stud transit rims somehwere here but no good to you sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 1haggarddaisy

Hey, I know this is not the best way to message you but I'm new to this and its telling me im too new to send a private message.. anyway im thinking of doing the rally next year and would really appreciate any tips or advice at all..
    so.. how'd it go?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

I'd be interested to hear how this went so I'll let the post stand (you can't pm until you've done 10 posts)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I actually found a perfect Transit rim like what the OP was looking for the other day :rolleyes:

I'd love to buy a fire engine and drive it over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

Slidey wrote: »
    I actually found a perfect Transit rim like what the OP was looking for the other day :rolleyes:

I'd love to buy a fire engine and drive it over

Saw one recently sold for 1800, supposedly in something approacing working order, old dodge on Uk plates was laid up a long while though and vary mouldy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I posted a pic in the classic forum of a bedford fire engine I had done a little work on. It was what got me thinking of the run again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

I've pm'd the OP to see if he'll tell us how it went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Howya Lads

I will give ye a full update in time, im working at the ploughing for the next couple of days so ill give ye a full run down tonight maybe, but in the mean time if ye check out our website. WWW.IRELAND2MONGOLIA.COM. Follow the link to the facebook page and you will get loads of pictures. Ill let ye all know about some of the mechanical upsets we had along the way to.