Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bumped into car in carpark-owner never called

• 19-07-2011 3:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭

I had the unfortunate incident where my car was parked in a pub car park a week ago and although I had the handbrake engaged I came back to the car to find that it had rolled back into another cars bumper causing visible scratches. I left my name and number and insurance details with a pub staff member who witnessed the incident. It happened a week ago and I have not heard from the owner of the car. Do you think he will still contact me? I would have presumed I would have got a call the following day or that evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Probably too drunk to notice :O

Not but seriously they probably havent notice. Well done for leaving you details most wouldnt. Chances are the information has been lost in the bin or the owner doesnt really care or has not realised where or if his/her car was damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe he hasn't been back to the pub or the bartender was out or something.
    Fair play for trying to do the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

billyhead wrote: »
    I left my name and number and insurance details with a pub staff member who witnessed the incident.

That was a convenient solution. If you discovered your car had been scratched in a pub car park would you go into the pub and ask the staff if anyone had seen what happened? Why didn't you put a note under the guy's wiper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Probably still in hospital getting treatment for the trauma and whiplash. Expect a couple of B-Men at the door sometime soon.

Or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

coylemj wrote: »
    That was a convenient solution. If you discovered your car had been scratched in a pub car park would you go into the pub and ask the staff if anyone had seen what happened? Why didn't you put a note under the guy's wiper?

Will ya stop with this BS - the lad did the right thing and you have to go poking holes in it? How do you know it wasn't pi$$ing rain and the ink would have run on his note or maybe he had no paper in the first place FFS! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I wouldn't be worried about it, you did the right thing and left details. If you don't get a call you got away with it honestly.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Will ya stop with this BS - the lad did the right thing and you have to go poking holes in it? How do you know it wasn't pi$$ing rain and the ink would have run on his note or maybe he had no paper in the first place FFS! :mad:

True and the pub might have known the owner. OP was very honest and up front and should be commended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

If the damage wasn't that bad, and the driver wasn't that ar$ed, then they might just have let it be.

I had a woman reverse in to me in a petrol station shortly after I got my new (to me) car. Thankfully it was just a bit of a scuff on the paintwork as I'd beeped while she was still going.

Got all her insurance details and we had the guys from the bodyshop in the following day - they just said it would buff out so I took the T-Cut to it myself and never bothered the lady or her insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

True and the pub might have known the owner. OP was very honest and up front and should be commended.

OP, print this off and pin it to your chest...

352px-DistinguishedConductMedalUKObv.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

It was a windy day thus I decided not to leave a note under the wipers in case it would blow off, and if the owner did decided to follow up on it and he could not find the paper I would have been accused of a hit and run. It has happened to me before were a car dented and scratched mine and no note was left so i know how frustrating it can be. I would not like Bad Karma to happen if I did not leave my details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

First thing i'd do is go in and ask to see CCTV!

What a stupid post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

the lad did the right thing

Can't say I agree.

If the owner came back to his car and it was scratched, he probably wouldn't even notice it and drive home. By the time he discovered the scratch there would be no way of knowing when / where it happened

If info on the windscreen wasn't a working option (like you say it might have been raining or it might look like it was gonna rain), he could have asked the publican to make an announcement like "will the owner of a red Passat, reg 05D12345 please come to the bar"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Ninap

The OP should have parked in gear if there was any possibility of his car rolling back. Handbrake on its own is not sufficient in these circs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

unkel wrote: »
    Can't say I agree.

If the owner came back to his car and it was scratched, he probably wouldn't even notice it and drive home. By the time he discovered the scratch there would be no way of knowing when / where it happened

If info on the windscreen wasn't a working option (like you say it might have been raining or it might look like it was gonna rain), he could have asked the publican to make an announcement like "will the owner of a red Passat, reg 05D12345 please come to the bar"

Didn't think of that at the time but you could also say the same thing about the bar worker to do make the announcement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭wasper

I had the unfortunate incident where my car was parked in a pub car park a week ago and although I had the handbrake engaged I came back to the car to find that it had rolled back into another cars bumper causing visible scratches. I left my name and number and insurance details with a pub staff member who witnessed the incident. It happened a week ago and I have not heard from the owner of the car. Do you think he will still contact me? I would have presumed I would have got a call the following day or that evening
    Well done for your honesty. My driver side mirror was hit by another car while parked. The driver left her name & number & she paid in full next day at the garage. I thanked for her honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Didn't think of that at the time but you could also say the same thing about the bar worker to do make the announcement

I've no doubt you honestly wanted the driver to have your details :)

Just wondering how come you just told a bar worker (who probably couldn't care less) and left it at that. Was it raining? Did you take the cars reg? Insurance details?

BTW I was in your situation once on the RTE grounds in Donnybrook. I went into several buildings to find the owner of the car I had scratched. I found her and I gave her my number. She rang me a few days later telling me it would be £60 to be repaired, she gave me her address and I sent her a cheque :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

hell if you really want to do the right thing then contact your local garda station with the guys reg. report the incident to them and ask them to contact him. im sure theyll oblige and the guy will be only too happy to get in contact with you if he wants to claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,083 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I found her and I gave her my number. She rang me a few days later telling me it would be £60 to be repaired, she gave me her address and I sent her a cheque :)
    Did she 'cash the cheque' ;) though? All these years later, do ye still laugh about how ye met? We wanna know!

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The first thing I would have done if i noticed damage and there was no note on the window I would ask bar staff if there was CCTV footage in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,083 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

The first thing I would have done if i had damaged another car would be to demand the CCTV recorder from the bar staff (with menaces).
    Now that's more like the RTDH we know and lo... know, anyway. :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

and the car owner may never have been in the pub in his life.

Tallon wrote: »
    First thing i'd do is go in and ask to see CCTV!

What a stupid post
    who said there was cctv?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

the bolt wrote: »
    who said there was cctv?
    A lot of Pubs have outside / car park CCTV for a number of reasons, give customers some security, deter potential opportunist. and for public liability reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

It has happened to me before were a car dented and scratched mine and no note was left so i know how frustrating it can be.
    The thing that frustrated you-you did the exact same thing to someone else,left them with no note or details:eek:
    When you damage a car you leave your details with the car,if it's raining you put them in a plastic bag,if it's windy you tie them to wipers.
    You do not leave them with some random fool working nearby,seriously wtf.
    Troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

baaaa wrote: »
    The thing that frustrated you-you did the exact same thing to someone else,left them with no note or details:eek:
    When you damage a car you leave your details with the car,if it's raining you put them in a plastic bag,if it's windy you tie them to wipers.
    You do not leave them with some random fool working nearby,seriously wtf.
    Troll

I read that as someone else reversed into his car and didn't leave a note. Have you read it wrong?

Also, don't call people Trolls, it's not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

Can't say I agree.

They could also have taken out a full page add in the local paper, announced it on a national radio station or maybe got a can of spray paint and written his contact details across their bonnet.
    This sort of crap always appears on motors. Somebody queries something completely reasonable and gets attacked for not doing the right thing themselves.

Saying that, I dont actually see any point in this thread, what do you actually want to know OP? If the owner of the other car is bothered they will contact you. Its sounds to me like they have just noticed it, not seen a note and never followed it up.

-Chris- wrote: »
    I read that as someone else reversed into his car and didn't leave a note. Have you read it wrong?

Also, don't call people Trolls, it's not nice.
    Nope,that's exactly how I read it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I never look hard at my car when I go back to it, one day I was driving back from the shops when I noticed something stuck under my wiper. When I got home I checked it out and it was a note saying that someone had hit my car and left their details. I found the dent, over the offside front wheel, and since it hadn't broken paint and the car was old I called her up and let her off.

Moral of the story. If she'd left a note in the shops I'd never have know she'd hit me and would have no way of finding out where I was hit.

The OP did half the right thing by leaving their details in the pub, but should have also left a note on the car. Nothing will be blown out from under wipers and even it it was raining a note with contact x in the pub would have done, even it got damp you could still make out a bit.

Nope,that's exactly how I read it.

So if you read that someone else reversed into him, why would you say:
    you did the exact same thing to someone else,left them with no note or details:eek:

-Chris- wrote: »
    So if you read that someone else reversed into him, why would you say:
    Lol,you're still lost.:eek:
    Go back and read it again.

the bolt wrote: »
    and the car owner may never have been in the pub in his life.

True but there is also a chance he might be well known. Costs nothing to enquire. I think the OPs intentions were there to do the right thing. Just because one course of action may be better then another doesnt mean the OP was chancing his arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Exactly. Don't know about the rest of you but I don't exactly carry a notebook about in my back pocket every day.

My car was badly dented in a car park at work (public car park though) recently. Girl works for a shop in there too and was nice enough to leave details with security who told me when I asked them for the CCTV. (Actually, it was kinda funny - turns out she ran into my shop and borrowed a pen in a fluster to write down her details :P ) Point being, I really appreciated the effort she made when she could have just fúcked off, so well done OP for trying.

Lol,you're still lost.:eek:
    Go back and read it again.

I didn't realise the guy you were quoting was the OP. Oops! :o:p

sdeire wrote: »
    Exactly. Don't know about the rest of you but I don't exactly carry a notebook about in my back pocket every day.

My car was badly dented in a car park at work (public car park though) recently. Girl works for a shop in there too and was nice enough to leave details with security who told me when I asked them for the CCTV. (Actually, it was kinda funny - turns out she ran into my shop and borrowed a pen in a fluster to write down her details :P ) Point being, I really appreciated the effort she made when she could have just fúcked off, so well done OP for trying.
    What a silly post,so you congratulate someone for running into a shop and going to the bother of writing her details down yet you get indignant at the thought of having to produce a piece of paper yourself?Like you explained,it's not hard to get a bit of paper.
    And the OP did not get one so why you congratulating him at all,you make no sense.

A lot of Pubs have outside / car park CCTV for a number of reasons, give customers some security, deter potential opportunist. and for public liability reasons.
    and just as many dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

What a silly post,so you congratulate someone for running into a shop and going to the bother of writing her details down yet you get indignant at the thought of having to produce a piece of paper yourself?Like you explained,it's not hard to get a bit of paper.
    And the OP did not get one so why you congratulating him at all,you make no sense.

You're missing the point ya muppet. I had to report the incident to security to be told she'd left a number - she only managed to write it down (and only got a pen and paper off me) because she worked in the centre. She didn't leave a note on the car because she was sensible enough to know the owner would ask security, etc.

sdeire wrote: »
    You're missing the point ya muppet. I had to report the incident to security to be told she'd left a number - she only managed to write it down (and only got a pen and paper off me) because she worked in the centre. She didn't leave a note on the car because she was sensible enough to know the owner would ask security, etc.
    Sure,there's a few nonsensical points there,which one?
    etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Antikythera

It was a windy day thus I decided not to leave a note under the wipers in case it would blow off

Lol. Just lol.

More prudent to leave the details with someone nearby!:D
    This is black and white folks-leave your details under the car wiper,this is a long established logical practice.
    Leaving them with the nearest barman/security guard/residence may make you feel good but will not get the details to the owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

Must remember not to park near baaa, seems to have alot of experience in these situations! :D