Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does it take to get the Irish angry

• 18-07-2011 8:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭

The question is exactly as in the title.

We've finally had the admission that a property tax is coming back in, ostensibly to fund local authorities spending. These are the same local authorities who didn't want (and still won't want) to know about newer estates. So a property tax paid by amongst others

a) those most in negative equity and who will get the least benefit as they live in these new estates and
    b) folks who live in rural areas without local authority services

will be gathered to go into another unaccountable black hole.

Now before someone starts the arguement that property tax is a wealth tax, its not! Its a tax levied on an asset that in many cases is in significant negative equity. To be a true wealth tax it would need to tax the accumulation of wealth, not bleed the already crippled homeowner further on the dwindling value of an unsaleable asset.

In the rest of Europe relatively tame austerity measures had huge protests (albeit with many unsavoury aspects). Here our ex taoiseach gloats about how amazed Europe is at how we take the pain and keep silent.

When this was originally touted a few months ago I swore that if they tried I'd be at the top of the march to protest this. Now I'm unconvinced that they're be any protest worth the mention. I'm not talking by the way about the tired old trade union hacks and professional placard holders who like to make a bit of noise outside the Dail now and again, I'm sure they'll give their token 'leadership'. Rather I look at the thousands who protested in Dublin against war in Iraq and ask where is your fire when you own future is being stolen?

So I ask you, what does it take to make the Irish angry enough to make their voices heard loud and clear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Cold tea.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

What does it take to get the Irish angry
    Any attempt to limit/lower our alcohol consumption

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Eastern European Countries voting for each other in the Eurovision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

We don't get angry. We moan about things though, we're excellent at moaning :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

When someone says 'don't you think you've had enough?'

Or do you know when you have a packet of ham and it says 'just peel back cover here' at the corner - but then when you go to peel it back it's as if someone has bloody glued it shut and you have to get a knife from the cupoard?

That makes me want to smash, smash, smash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

everything, we are a nation of begrudgers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

We don't like it when the English slag us.

It angrys up the blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

harp.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

tl;dr

Is this another shinner thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I was angry once in the 80's didn't like it much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

FatherLen wrote: »
    harp.......

Darp.

LULZ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

When one of our countrymen do well (Bono,Geldof,Wogan,Norton etc. etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭rosskind

When my digestives don't come back fully intact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

tritium wrote: »
    So I ask you, what does it take to make the Irish angry enough to make their voices heard loud and clear?

The day rte cancels showing home and away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

The Govt/The Church/D4s/Scangers/Dubs/Culchies/the youth/the elderly/people on the dole/state companies/greedy private companies/students...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Fig Roll shortage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

When we are called brits.....oh no thats the nordies what a bunch of brits they are :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

They say a lack of 3 square meals in a row will bring any country to anarchy.
    I think the Irish would just say "sure i needed to go on a diet anyway".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Or do you know when you have a packet of ham and it says 'just peel back cover here' at the corner - but then when you go to peel it back it's as if someone has bloody glued it shut and you have to get a knife from the cupoard?

That makes me want to smash, smash, smash.

Like when you pull the ring of a tin of dog food only for it to snap ,then you cant find the tin opener to finish off the job .

Yeah , that makes me mad as fooking hell tbh .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

curlzy wrote: »
    We don't get angry. We moan about things though, we're excellent at moaning :)
    We moan about other people calling us moaners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

people driving slowly in the overtaking lane........that really really pisses me off.

I'd go to war to eradicate this sort of person.

Its OK if you use it like a fast lane or no speed limit autobahn style drag strip, I dont care if you break the rules, but inconvenience me!...then prepare to die slowcoach or just fcukin pull into the left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

When someone gives out about me putting sugar in my tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Upset the status quo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 passion

no alcohol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

A handballing Frenchman.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Eastern European Countries voting for each other in the Eurovision.

When the French give Jedward nul points at Eurovision . Bastards .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

A blackout during the X factor final or super sunday on sky sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Start a thread about Catholic Church abuse .The ' how dare you brigade ' save their anger for these days .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

anything really ...we are fighters not lovers unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Being called, or regarded as, British. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

BluesBerry wrote: »
    anything really ...we are fighters not lovers unfortunately
    Lol i hope you are being sarcastic.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

no potatoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭fiinch

when you put something in the dishwasher and after you close it again you get that bit of gross, stale, dishwasher-air blown up in your face

yes i read the title, no i didn't read the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

no potatoes

That just gets us dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Cant speak for anyone else here but what gets me really pissed off is when I get pimples on my bum and I am expecting a lover/fcuk buddy to pay me a visit. This recession has turned me into a proper wh0re. And I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭Jamie Starr

Ah sure it'll be grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...So I ask you, what does it take to make the Irish angry enough to make their voices heard loud and clear?
    A bad pint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Just a blatant handball.

We let everything else slide (such as property tax, etc. etc.) as we're quite an easy going lot really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Queue jumpers make my blood boil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Pretty much feckin' everything. Thanks op, I'm pissed off now. F*** you!

Don't take me seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

No tay in the house :eek: OK then, all down to the pub :D

A kind of mixed emotions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭CSU

Removing drinking time from us is the only way to get our attention lol...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

To make AH angry - The Sindo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Not getting your round in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The following will usually get the Irish instantly angry, resulting in immediate protest and proactive action.

"Are ye right now folks?"

"Have ye no homes to go to?"

"Will ye drink up now please?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Being told that a bit of racism isn't craic.

Or being reminded that Ireland did not win but was granted independence and that the Catholic church in Ireland was funded by westminster as a bulwark against republicanism after the French revolution.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Confab wrote: »
    That just gets us dead.
    dead angry :mad:

bar staff removing a pint glass that still has a mouthful left in it :mad: