Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Football Boots Advice

• 15-07-2011 2:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭

I haven't played football on a grass pitch in over 10 years (just play Astro 1/2 times a week) however I am down training with a team and need to get a pair of boots.

When it comes to runners I have always been an Adidas man so I wouldn't mind getting a pair of Adidas boots (but I'm not fussed).

Just wondering should I be getting a pair of moulded boots or screw in boots? Is it possible to get boots where you can switch between moulded studs and screw in studs - to tie in with the weather/pitch conditions.

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

You can get rubber studs for all screw in boots for the hard ground but I wouldn't recommend them because you'll still be a ball of blisters after a decent session.

Personally, I'm a copa mundial man. If you can get a pair cheap (last pair i got were on sale for ~€50 - bargain), they'll do you nicely for the summer into autumn

Worry about screw-in studs later in the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭LFC5Times

theteal wrote: »
    You can get rubber studs for all screw in boots for the hard ground but I wouldn't recommend them because you'll still be a ball of blisters after a decent session.

Personally, I'm a copa mundial man. If you can get a pair cheap (last pair i got were on sale for ~€50 - bargain), they'll do you nicely for the summer into autumn

Worry about screw-in studs later in the year.

Thanks for your reply.

So I should look to get two sets of boots to cover the various seasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Yea you need 2 pairs really if your gonna be playing for the full season , the moulded boots for pre-season & probably your first few matches up until about the end of september. After that you really need studs or else you will be sliding all over the pitch. Iv been a Puma King man for the last 5 years myself , cant fault them - have a pair of Nike mouldys as well which do the trick for pre season.

If your gonna be doing a lot of long distance running ( which you will ) during pre season it mightnt be a bad idea to have a pair of running shoes ( Asics/New Balance ) as well, when ye start playing ball then you can just put on the mouldys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭LFC5Times

Thanks for the replies to the lads above ^^

Is there a decent enough selection of moulded boots in your typical Champion Sports/Lifestyle/Elverys ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

These ones in the video are the best boots I ever got. I've had them for around 5 years now and they are still fine. I was afraid almost to wear them the first time I got them because they were so unbelievably white looking. It seemed like a sin to dirty them. I was also the only person I knew who wore them, so I consoled myself in the fact that only me and Ronaldinho wore them boots :p

LFC5Times wrote: »
    Is there a decent enough selection of moulded boots in your typical Champion Sports/Lifestyle/Elverys ?

Definitely a +1 for the Copa Mundials. They are the softest and most comfortable pair I've worn. There is generally a good selection of moulded boots around there.

I'd say to you to shop out of season. You'll see all the studded boots will be on sale round now and the Copa Mundials will be up at the €99 mark, and vice versa in the winter. If you shop around and even on the internet you might get a more reasonable price. They are worth it though. I have yet to get a blister with them on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

Asics DS Lethal 3

Great boots, extremely comfortable. Good if you have problems with your feet. Wider fit than usual too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Copa Mundials , have a pair of them and F50s which are not to bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

+1 for Copa Mundials

@ dreamers, I had a pair of F50's and there were a nightmare for me, hard to break in, one studplate broke after a few uses(not a big deal tbh), series of stress fractures in my feet and black toenails. Never had so much problems from a pair of boots before or after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Dempsey wrote: »
    +1 for Copa Mundials

@ dreamers, I had a pair of F50's and there were a nightmare for me, hard to break in, one studplate broke after a few uses(not a big deal tbh), series of stress fractures in my feet and black toenails. Never had so much problems from a pair of boots before or after.

Which version could you afford? retarded system of boots imo i got the "messi" version for 45(down from 189) in a jjb sale but seemingly theres several versions off them from 40 to 200. Ones i have are mouldies actually quite good but 0 protection.

they like slippers :eek: which i like when i have the ball :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭srfc19

Copas for summer. World Cups for winter. Unfortunately the World Cups have seen alot more action. Got a pair of each for just under a 100 bucks this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Which version could you afford? retarded system of boots imo i got the "messi" version for 45(down from 189) in a jjb sale but seemingly theres several versions off them from 40 to 200. Ones i have are mouldies actually quite good but 0 protection.

They were F50.9 Tunits, mine were on sale too, huge reduction, but they were the most expensive version of the boot.

I agree that they were very light, like a slipper if you took out the studplate, but zero protection for your feet. In my experience its a compromise I wont ever make again.

Another boot that I would recommend is the Puma Powercats, worth every penny imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bonescap

Can anyone recommend a good site to buy boots from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

bonescap wrote: »

http://www.sportsdirect.com/mens/mens-football-boots

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I'd echo whats in the second post. Generally mouldies for the summer/when the ground is dry and hard and steel studs/screw ins for when its wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

dreamers75 wrote: »

I've the F50 tuneit from last season ( yellow with black stripes ) and I wouldnt wear anything else now, yes they are very, very light and like yourself I got the top version on sale from prodirect, their is no real protection but if your quick enough you wont be kicked :pac:

They should do they job for another year at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

this has turned into an f50 discussion - nice, imo best screw in boots you can get, they almost mould to my feet

i'm currently still getting life out of these, white/red stripes (my second pair - €35 clearance in jjb tallaght) - i call them my Nakamuras
    Adidas+F50-5+TUNIT.jpg

i also have a pair of these that i paid full whack for and to this date have only worn once - last week for a gaa match when home, all my other gear was back in england
    f508-white-300.gif

i've not taken to any of the new ones since

worst ones - the rubber crap along the sides started ripping after about 3 weeks of LSL football
    sko%20adidas%20f50+%20fg%20sort%20stor.jpg

still though, the mundials are always first choice where pitch conditions allow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

D'ya know what's great about being a 4ft 11 female? Kids shoe sizes! :D

Always get football boots for cheap coz of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

bonescap wrote: »

http://www.prodirectsoccer.com/