Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

feckin lampers

• 15-07-2011 10:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭

no definative proof but my suspicions are lampers ,still have to chat to some of the neighbours to see did they see anything as of yesterday morning we have a thouroughbred in foal mare with about 150 nasty cuts on her front end where she smashed through three strands of barbed wire she was in a 40 acre field so must have got some chase to put her through the fence and 150 ewes mixed that were in two batches either side of a well fastened gate
    all was well at dusk so it happened during darkness no-one has permission to be out there lamping :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Nasty!! Could she have been spooked by dogs??We lost a mare and foal by semi wild dogs chasing her.Skittish creatures that they are,anything gets them in a panic.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭natdog

what makes you think it was lampers sound to me like loose dogs.
    why would lampers be chasing a horse.
    could be someone was trying to take the horse on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Knackers i would say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

no ! nat not loose dogs as the sheep were settled and not touched and usually loose dogs don't open gates
    the mare is people friendly and the field she was in is nearly 40 acres and nearly a mile off the road it had to be something that scared her badly enough to smash through the fence , i don't think she would have done that with just people as she had so much space to run about in
    my bet is lads with lurchers that gave the mare a chase around the field they either didn't know she was there or the dogs arn't stock broken similar has happened before over the years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

A jeep & horse-box and some lads trying to steal your horse maybe?

Any tyre tracks around that you'd notice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭junospider

Why would they want to steal the horse? Its giving them away they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I thought of that and it's true there are abandoned horses all over Ireland

But the OP posted it was a thoroughbred in foal.
    Worth money though I don't know how you go about selling a stolen horse. Fake documents maybe, I realy don't know

no i doubt very much was it anyone tring to steal her if they wanted to do that all they would need would be a lead rope she'll trot up to anyone , no no vehicle tracks in the fields anyway
    i'm fairly convinced it was lads out with dogs as they came through two fields of sheep and left the gate open :mad: then went into the forty acre field which just had the mare in and either didn't know she was there and slipped the dogs on something or more probable thought she was a fox or deer and slipped the dogs on her , anyway whatever happened the result is one very very sore cut up mare that will probably throw the foal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

:(would have to agree with lk,most lads out lamping with luchers would have permission and have abit of cope on,but there are a rogue few who dont:mad::mad: happened two yrs ago on 1 of my permissions ,farmer lost mare and foal that were chased by luchers belonging to nacks that landed and parked overnite ,mare land in a deep gripe at edge of field broken leg and wraped up in barb wire ,the poor foal was destroyed by the wire both put down:(:(:( same b"%stards came back myself and the farmer dispatched 4 lurchers ,gards were notifyed before,and after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

myself and the farmer dispatched 4 lurchers ,gards were notifyed before,and after
    Propper order id say they didnt no what the fcuk was goin on when ya started shootin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

I would say lampers with Lurchers maybe the cause. I know when I used to lamp Lurchers years ago, I would avoid a field with horses or horse in it like the plague. Even out with the springer I try to avoid them as they will kill a dog stone dead or worse they will hurt themselves and then your in a world of hurt :D by the farmer!

Only thing I can say I doubt the dogs ran the horse, I'd say the dogs ran something which spooked her, she went into flight mode because of it. If the dogs tried to chase her when she was in foal she would of kick the living ****e out of them instead of running.IMO from working with horses :D

I'd would maybe take a walk out tonight, to see if them came back. if they ran a few they might pop back for another go? Do you know any of the local lurcher lads, I would go round and see can they help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

In my area there are horses on almost every farm.

Shooting or lurchers will spook 'em.

Golden rule is simple..............where there are horses stay away.............

Heard a similar story a few years ago in my area where a pregnant mare apparently got spooked and bolted into a post & rail fence when lads were shooting a nearby pond for duck. Mare & foal died :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Golden rule is simple..............where there are horses stay away.............

Bingo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭Shoot2kill

Same kinda carry on went on at one of my mates places. This bit of his land is only accessible by driving up a long narrow passage, its a good bit in off the road, an ideal spot for lamping really. Anyways some bunch of lads took it upon themselves to head in around the place at night lamping and left the gate open. If any of the live stock, horses included made there way out the gate they would have been heading down towards a fairly busy road.

Anyways after this happened the second time he took it upon himself to put a nice new Gallagher fencer onto the gate for a week or two. No sign of anyone in around the place since... Pretty effective don't ya think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭rambo87

Anyone who knows anything about shooting, lamping or coarsing knows full well to stay away from horses... especially at night time (even a shot from a modified gun can spook them!). And as for leaving a gate open!!? My four year old cousins from the city know that that's a no no! Sounds like knackers to me - those fellas were definately up to no good. notify the gaurds - inform your local gun club - you can then rule them out and get their help... many pairs of eyes are better than 1.. it could be someone elses horse next!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭ring 20

theres no way lads out with dogs taught a mare that size was a deer or fox!! a poacher ain't that stupid. if they were running dogs the sheep wouldn't be settled either. some mares are really skitty and will go crazy with the slightest thing. find out what it was before you go blaming the old scapegoat lampers. could have been some airy fairy walker out early that left the gate open

dear mr ring we live in rural meath where we don't get airy fairy walkers out, in 25 years i have yet to meet anyone walking on the farm who wasn't either coursing or shooting and as i have said the mare is people friendly and is not a skitish horse she must have got a serious fright to do what she did
    what i was implying is that prehaps they only got the eyes in the lamp and thought it was ' something else ' and yes there are some really stupid eejits out there who havn't got a clue what they are at
    and i'm not just on a witch hunt here i kept lurchers for years and know the game inside out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

That Hamilton fella now has 2 lurchers ;) Want me 2 have a word with him for ya :D

Sorry to hear bout this landkeeper, some lads have no cop on and respect for the countryside, beside the fact they clearly had no permission. Will be talking to the cousin this evening and see has he heard anything going on in the area, I'm sure yall prob see him at Ballinlough anyway

cheers T i was actually going to ring him later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,805 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Lamping and horses don't mix - even walking through a field at night with horses is asking for trouble given how exciteable they can be. You only need to be kicked or bitten by a horse once to give them a wide berth, as I learn't the hard way working in various stables as a young lad in Kildare:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭ring 20

landkeeper wrote: »
    dear mr ring we live in rural meath where we don't get airy fairy walkers out, in 25 years i have yet to meet anyone walking on the farm who wasn't either coursing or shooting and as i have said the mare is people friendly and is not a skitish horse she must have got a serious fright to do what she did
    what i was implying is that prehaps they only got the eyes in the lamp and thought it was ' something else ' and yes there are some really stupid eejits out there who havn't got a clue what they are at
    and i'm not just on a witch hunt here i kept lurchers for years and know the game inside out
    thats one problem im glad you dont have so. gates left open everywhere. one dumb ass was standing by a gate one day taking pictures of sheep running out of the gate taking pics as they jumped and ran out on to the main road, middle of summer cars everywhere. then dad comes along with a face like a ripe tomato. i dont think he will open gates anymore! hope you find out what it was, the story nearly always comes out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

landkeeper wrote: »
    no definative proof but my suspicions are lampers ,...
    all was well at dusk so it happened during darkness no-one has permission to be out there lamping :mad:

Why not get a game cam and set up in places like the gate, paths, or places where people are likely to park/lamp from the road? Some of them are cheap enough that you could afford to buy a few.

We had a similar problem with my Aunt's farm. Got the reg on camera and things quieted down very fast.

Also, people are creatures of habit. If I were you, I would be out there for the next 2 or 3 days at the suspected time and especially there a week after the incident.

oh i will be there and elisting the help of mr ruger,mrs zeiss and mr hornady ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Landkeeper,
    If you do go the route of the game cams with the night-time IR LED's, make sure that you do not set them up directly (perpendicular) to where you think they'll be. That is, don't set the cam up as if you are standing there taking their picture.

Instead, offset at a bit of an angle.

When the LED's go off at night, they are in infra red. However, towards the end of the movie (I was taking movies and not images) if you happen to be looking directly at the camera, by chance, you may see the LED's light up a dim red.

Thus, you run the risk of having the game cam stolen by the $cumb@g$.

Which is why I hide another game cam to watch the other!;)

Slan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

The lamping of deer is becoming a scourge:mad:, Is there any deeer around you. With the longer days I find Mr fox is easier got early morning or late evening especially with the silage cut and slurry out. Only last year a calf was shot locally:( with a 308, most of us in the club have 22 hornets or 223. Both the farmer, guards and the world knows who didi it, the bastard didnt even own up, the annoying thing is that the insurance would cover it.