Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moneyball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

When is/was this out in Ireland out of curiosity. It's out here (Seoul) this week and I'm heading to it on Friday night.

What ye think of it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

It's out in Ireland at the end of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

It's out in Ireland at the end of the week.
    YUSSSSSSSS

Really looking forwards to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Heading to the cinema to catch this tonight. Really looking forward to it. Don't usually go by reviews but it seems to be getting decent reviews across the board so hopefully it lives up to those scores.

Surprised my local cinema has a screen free with the amount of Twilight showings. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Looks great alright

Wow Jonah Hill has really lost a bag load of wait since Cyrus

That_Guy wrote: »
    Surprised my local cinema has a screen free with the amount of Twilight showings. :pac:

Prob won't be able to go see it tonight unless there's a late show but I wouldn't be surprised if there's nothing but Twilight on in my local one :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1210166/

Trailer

Kinda OT but wow Jonah Hill has lost some weight

t1larg-split-hill.jonah.jpg

he,s less funny as a skinnier guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 sidekick!

saw this last night brad pitt is flawless. jonah hill is solid but the key man for me in this is Aaron Sorkin who wrote it. He puts all the elements the made the social network brillant in the script and the movie just flows brilliantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭wonderboysam

irishh_bob wrote: »
    he,s less funny as a skinnier guy

universal truth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Thought the film overall was great except for that bloody song. :pac: Was stuck in my head for a while afterwards.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Thought the film overall was great except for that bloody song. :pac: Was stuck in my head for a while afterwards.
    I've yet to see it but is it like the song from the trailer?

Sounds like Explosions in the Sky and I love them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Saw it at the weekend and I thought it was a piece of supreme movie making. Great story, dialogue is sharp and believable, nice photography, but its the acting that really stands out. Jonah Hill's character is very likeable and everybody else is rock solid. But its Brad Pitt that deserves special mention. I know he started off his career as the pretty boy and maybe some of his earlier work was a bit dodgy, but he just keeps getting better and better. I thought he was superb in The tree of life but I think he's gone one step further in Moneyball. He comes across as a man whos grown into himself and knows exactly who he is. Like with Clooney, I look forward to seeing Brad pitts next film, I know it'll interesting and head and shoulders above the usual crap that comes off the hollywood production line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

tunguska wrote: »
    ...Like with Clooney, I look forward to seeing Brad pitts next film, I know it'll interesting and head and shoulders above the usual crap that comes off the hollywood production line.
    I have bad news for you so. http://screenrant.com/brad-pitt-retiring-acting-sandy-139952/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

mikhail wrote: »

Ah thats ok. I'd be happy to see him going out on a high note. Going the way of the Beatles as opposed to the stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

tunguska wrote: »
    Ah thats ok. I'd be happy to see him going out on a high note. Going the way of the Beatles as opposed to the stones.
    well hes just finnished World War Z, and he has 2 more films in the pipe line, plus he wont retire, he was still saying hell make film just not as many as before, whatever that means, probably only gonna be available 5 or 6 months a year, so hell probably get at least one a year and maybe squeze a second every other year or something along those lines,

great film, didnt know sorkin scripted it, that man is fantastic, and pitt and hill were superb, im not a baseball fan but by god that was a great film,

my jaw was nealry on the floor when it said
    the red sox offered him 12.5 million and then he stayed with the As:eek: fair play to the man,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Excellent film. Long but worth it. I dont think it would suit non sports fans though. Its very sport orientated. Im not a baseball fan but still very much liked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

don ramo wrote: »

my jaw was nealry on the floor when it said the red sox offered him 12.5 million and then he stayed with the As:eek: fair play to the man,

You might want to spoiler that. Most people probably wouldn't be aware of the plot of the movie and that is a fairly large spoiler.

I enjoyed this a lot. Brad Pitt was excellent. Great performance from Phillip Seymour Hoffman too as the asshole coach.

You might want to spoiler that. Most people probably wouldn't be aware of the plot of the movie and that is a fairly large spoiler.
    weird the edit fuction is gone, probably been to long,

this should have spoiler tags in the title at this stage seeing as its on general release over a week,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

I thoroughly enjoyed it. Vastly superior as a sports film to the emotionally manipulative and cliched implausible dross that was Warrior. I very much liked the stately pace, the slow edits, and contemplative and solemn atmosphere of the film. Brad Pitt's character was a tragic one, twisted with regret and dashed dreams. The emotional content was subdued and subtle and therefore had more effect. What I did find extremely worrying though was the fact that audience members were laughing at the Jack and Jill trailer before the film started. I was stumped when I realised that was an actual film and not the South Park p1sstake I first knew of it to be.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

don ramo wrote: »
    weird the edit fuction is gone, probably been to long,

this should have spoiler tags in the title at this stage seeing as its on general release over a week,
    I added tags to your post. We only tend to add a thread title warning for films that really require it. It's not like this film contained any major plot twists or anything.

Anyway, I went to see this last week. I sooo thought I had the ending pegged and was very pleased that they didn't resort to the usual formulaic sports movie ending. Excellent film all round. I especially liked all the little silent character moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

Do we really need spoiler tags on a flick thats been a book and major news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Skinfull wrote: »

I'd say so. I've never read the book and I have no real knowledge of 'major' baseball news being that I don't follow the sport.

I would like the film not to be spoiled for me.

It depends how well known it is. In the case of this film, most Irish people wouldn't know much about baseball. On the other hand, I thought the use of spoiler tags in the 127 Hours thread was ridiculous because EVERYONE knew that story and it was impossible to discuss the film without mentioning it.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'd say so. I've never read the book and I have no real knowledge of 'major' baseball news being that I don't follow the sport.

I would like the film not to be spoiled for me.
    It depends how well known it is. In the case of this film, most Irish people wouldn't know much about baseball. On the other hand, I thought the use of spoiler tags in the 127 Hours thread was ridiculous because EVERYONE knew that story and it was impossible to discuss the film without mentioning it.

its been on general release for 3 weeks now, i think its safe to talk about the film without tags,

if you go to any other thread of a released film it says spoilers, why cant someone add the spoiler tag,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

really enjoyed. Recommend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

Looking forward to this movie, read the book even though I know nothing about baseball and have never watched a full game but the book was a real page turner.

I think anyone who likes team sports of whatever hue would appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Great movie and absolutely loved this song in it.

Oh and the song his daughter sang! :)

Didn't realise PSH was in it till I saw him. Himself and Pitt were excellent. Thought Jonah hill was a bit off on some occasions but overall I really recommend this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,963 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

One of the best films I've seen this year.
    Haunting soundtrack ,good story ,good acting ,thoroughly enjoyable.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Watched this on christmas day. Really good, great performances all round. didn't realise philip seymour hoffman was in it either. Not your typical sports movie. I probably would have enjoyed even more if I knew anything about baseball :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Liked it. Had higher hopes though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

It was OK.
    I'd read too many glowing reviews prior to seeing and my expectations were probably too high.

Couldn't ever imagine really wanting to watch it again in a hurry.

The last sports related movie I saw before this was Senna, and I don't think Moneyball was in the same league (baseball pun intended).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I thought it was decent enough, didn't have any expectations for it but I enjoyed it for the most part. Jonah Hill didn't seem to gel with it, though, I thought. Maybe because I'm so used to him playing his typecast foul-mouthed characters.

With each movie I'm certain Brad Pitt is mutating into Robert Redford.

brad-pitt-moneyball-092011.jpgrobert_redford.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I thought it was decent enough, didn't have any expectations for it but I enjoyed it for the most part. Jonah Hill didn't seem to gel with it, though, I thought. Maybe because I'm so used to him playing his typecast foul-mouthed characters.

With each movie I'm certain Brad Pitt is mutating into Robert Redford.

brad-pitt-moneyball-092011.jpgrobert_redford.jpg

The first time I noticed that was in Spy Game, which they both starred in. It's verging on uncanny at this point, though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭deem79

I enjoyed it but, for the umpteenth time this year, I found it didn't live up to the hype

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I saw this at the weekend and really enjoyed it. Im a big fan of statistics and probablity etc so maybe that helped. I thought it was good performance by all involved. I didnt think Jonnahs character was too difficult one to act, but that shy nerdy guy suited it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Good enough but not near the high reviews. Any Given Sunday is alot better.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

NinjaK wrote: »
    Good enough but not near the high reviews. Any Given Sunday is alot better.

Emphatically disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

I consider Moneyball a sort of unofficial sequel to The Social Network (both screenplays were written by the same guy, both movies have the same tone both and feature subject matter that would at a glance would appear unfilmable - a film about facebook and a film about baseball statistics).

So anyway, I reckon that if you liked TSN you'll probably like this one too.