Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a car for a young lad

• 12-07-2011 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭

21 years old, 3 years provisional, to pass the test next month, stuck at home for a year due to illness :( so gonna hook myself up with a yok, stuck for ideas though so was wondering if you guys could help? needs to be economical and reliable, and fit for 500km round trip every fortnight or so, any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Budget? Size? Hatchback, saloon, etc etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Annual mileage? Does your illness restrict your driving in any way or your choice of (type of) car? Is the 500km round trip on 1 day? What kinda roads is it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭Chris Hansen

Budget? Size? Hatchback, saloon, etc etc?

Budget = Cheap as possible, insurance and car has to come to less than 5K

Size etc, smaller probably better, engine size again lower the better

Illness doesnt affect the driving thank god

Trip will be visiting the OH for a few days once or twice a month, mainly good roads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

I'm not sure what your insurance would be for an under 25 such as yourself, though you couldn't go far wrong with 5k to put in to the kitty. Also keep her 2003 and on and you wont have to worry about an annual N.C.T test either.

A mitsubishi Colt is a fine car and certainly one to consider. For looks it aint bad either.

If I had 5k to spend though, a Toyota Yaris would be my top choice, though for a young lad it doesn't have the street cred and 500k every fortnight might annoy you in it, still your insurance could be more reasonable and she sips on the juice, tax would be cheap too so you couldn't go wrong.

Failing that a Nissan Almera hatchback is a nice yoke and you'd do very well with one for 3k.

Yay or nay for an 03 Yaris lads? what would one set you back?

You might need to go to a 2001 for the Yaris with a 2 year n.c.t. There a hot car and are sold fast. They aint cheap. Still if you look around you'd never know what you could find out there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

*looks at thread title*

*looks at OP's name*

ಠ_ಠ

So resale in a years time would be decent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

Nothing out of China anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

+1 on the Colt, super reliable cars. Had 2 myself and never a problem with either of them.

Top resale value, I've known folk who've bought them and 2 years later sold them at the same price. All small engined reliable cars are keeping their value, apart from the Nissan Micra :pac:, and a few frenchie's and the well known italian Punto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

As Padma said yaris s aint cheap. You cant go wrong with a micra or a fiesta. Your best bet is to start with insurance, aim for a 1ltr car and do receee on insurance companies for quotes and adjust purchase of a car according to price of insurance its unfortunate fact ..... Be prepared to bend over :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

So resale in a years time would be decent?

Yaris generally do have good resale. More then a Punto or Corsa ect :)

Let us know how you get on with quotes for insurance... Have you any no claims bonus? I can see your 5k budget getting vastly ate up with insurance.

dev100 wrote: »
    Let us know how you get on with quotes for insurance... Have you any no claims bonus? I can see your 5k budget getting vastly ate up with insurance.

:mad: feckin insurance, gonna shop around for quotes tomorrow.

Any point in gettin the aul pair to have it in their name and have me as named driver?

Insurance is costly in Ireland, when you think about it, it can be up to a months wage or even more for someone your age. Though at least you will have the peace of mind it brings with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

Any point in gettin the aul pair to have it in their name and have me as named driver?

Since the gender discrimination thing insuring it under the au pair's name is out. Unless she's a fine beour, then I'd insure it under her name just for the roide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Since the gender discrimination thing insuring it under the au pair's name is out. Unless she's a fine beour, then I'd insure it under her name just for the roide

No, the ould pair, ya dirty dog ya.

I also read au pair first time I read it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭cork sham

Megane sport hatch 1.4!
    Had one as my first car, huge choice, great value, has all the toys, seriously safe, great for long drives ( i used to travel up and down to limerick with mine weekly for college).

Heres a few to look at
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Renault/Megane/1.4-DYNA/201126203127842/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Renault/Megane/2-1.4-DY/201118202284416/advert?channel=CARS

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Renault/Megane/2-1.4-DY/201118202304183/advert?channel=CARS

mine had small milage too and never gave an ouch of trouble!

ps try quinn for insurance, cheapest by far for young fellas imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I'd say try FBD for insurance, find them very cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

OP, you've waited this long, go get your full licence first, then think about getting a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

I'm 21. I had my full license for 2 years and 1 year named driver experience. I got 3rd party fire and theft on a 1.1 Litre 03 Peugeot 206 with No Nonsense (FBD without windscreen cover and other extras) for around 850. It hasn't given me much trouble yet thank God.

Maybe look into doing that Aviva driving course for cheaper insurance. Keep the engine size under 1.2 if you can. A Fiesta or a Polo would be your best bet I'd say. You'd pick up an 03 fiesta for around 3000 give or take.

Do both your parents drive? Is it a one car household? If so you could talk nicely to the named driver on the policy and see will they take out a policy for your car with you as named driver. Good luck with that :)

God I remember hinting at said notion to my oul fella. He paused for 5 seconds and says ''Not a hope in hell Get your own''
    But i done it on my own I can tell you I had the greatiest respect for my car
    for keeping my insurance policy squeaky clean....

Back in the day
    Aged 20, 11 year ago
    Apprentice wages 100 punts a week with stoppages for tools and tax
    Purchase of a 91 micra 800 punts
    Insurance 2800 punts no frills from quinn...

Any luck with quotes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Go for insurance with AXA.
    And buy a 1.4 Opel Astra.