Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fleet St/Townsend St Stops

• 12-07-2011 1:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭

I was on the 65b today and I usually get off at either the stop on fleet st OR the one on townsend st so I can get another bus down to Grand Canal Dock.

Today however, the driver didn't stop at either of them and went on to terminate at Eden Quay. A lot of people were miffed by this as we were all waiting to get off at either of the stops. Any other bus I have been on, 77, 77A, 50 - they all stop here.

I contacted Dublin Bus and they said that despite there being 2 bus stops that neither were designated to those buses. So basically no stop inbetween Central Bank and the terminus at Eden Quay. The drivers should not be stopping here either for the same reason.

I don't see the big deal in stopping at one stop if it means its easier for other people to catch another bus to work or wherever they are travelling. Other drivers are quite happy to do it also.

Does anybody get off at this stop?

Thoughts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,592 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

The Townsend Street stop is an official stop for the 1, 2, 3, 50, 56a, 74, 74a, 77 and 77a. Fleet Street is only a stop for the 150.

Officially, the 15/a/b/e/f, 49/a, 54a, 65 and 65b do not have a stop between either Suffolk Street or the Central Bank (as appropriate) and their terminus on Eden Quay.

If drivers let you off on Fleet Street they shouldn't be, as if you have an accident they could be liable, as it is not a stop for any route other than the 150 which terminates at those stops. I know many of them do it, but it's by no means official.

Given that there is often a bus parked at both stops meaning people get off onto the street, I would have thought that is a big NO-NO for health and safety reasons.

This probably is going to be less of an issue going forward when the various route mergers take place, but why not diplomatically suggest that they add Townsend Street officially to the list of stops that the 15/a/b/e/f, 49/a, 54a, 65 and 65b serve. The only issue would be again space - as there are an awful lot of buses on these routes, and that could be the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭liger

Misticles wrote: »

I contacted Dublin Bus and they said that despite there being 2 bus stops that neither were designated to those buses. So basically no stop inbetween Central Bank and the terminus at Eden Quay. The drivers should not be stopping here either for the same reason....

Its a small street, and if you have a load of buses pulling up to stops they are not suppose to it causes a health and safety issue.

Passengers on the 84x always expect to be able to get off at fleet street too, but its the same thing, no designated stop.

So i would suggest you figure out which valid stop suits your journey the best and get off there. DB drivers can get into a lot of grief with their bosses for stopping away from designated stops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Did someone ring the bell? The same thing happened to me at Fleet St last week after about 8 people had got up and walked to the front of the bus after the Dame St stop. It was pretty obvious we all wanted to get off and I've never been on any bus that didn't stop there to let people out, unless the street is full, in which case it'll stop on Townsend St.
    Turns out it was the driver being a jobsworth dick because no-one rang the bell.

Actually, after reading the above maybe they've started clamping down on this. When your bus stops in the same place 1000 times in a row, it's not unreasonable to presume that it's an official stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

I see what you're saying but when all other drivers do it, passengers assume that it is a stop that they can get out at.

The buses I do get, either stop on Fleet St or at the back of Pearse St Garda Station - there's a little but more room then.

I can see why it's unsafe to stop inbetween stops but when there is an actual stop there where other buses can let people off I think it should be ok.

@latenia, same thing, about 10 people stood up, stopping sign was lit up and all and he just went straight on. You're right to say that it is indeed not unreasonable to think they stop there when everytime you're on the bus they do it.

Well I suspect that if you have told the company about it, that the drivers may be told in no uncertain terms not to let people out there and only serve the stops that they are supposed to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

latenia wrote: »
    jobsworth dick
    You might tone down the language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭stop

On the opposite end I've been kicked off a 65B on Townsend St (When I wanted to get off at Eden Quay) as the driver was finishing his shift and he wanted to bolt down to Ringsend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭meanmachine3

I contacted Dublin Bus and they said that despite there being 2 bus stops that neither were designated to those buses. So basically no stop inbetween Central Bank and the terminus at Eden Quay. The drivers should not be stopping here either for the same reason.

I don't see the big deal in stopping at one stop if it means its easier for other people to catch another bus to work or wherever they are travelling. Other drivers are quite happy to do it also.

Does anybody get off at this stop?

Thoughts...
    if we were to stop at every stop in the city to let people off just because it's convienient we'd get nowehere. the drivers were just being helpful by breaking to rules. but when it's pointed out that these are not actual stops people get upset. this was all to common when the 37's ,8's and especially 9's used to use fleet street. there'd be chaos on these buses when drivers did their jobs by not stopping here. there are different stops for different buses because it saves confusion and chaos.
    it's all grand and dandy starting a thread like this o.p. and fair play to you hopefully it'll educate alot of people out there. but what happens if someone gets hit a by a bike ,taxi etc. i can guarantee you the first thing a solicitor will ask " was that a desiginated stop". and further more should something like that happen it's a possibilty the driver could their job. since wellington quay D.B. management have coming heavily on health and safety.
    another thing i have pointed out dozens of times in C&T is D.B. have what we call bus spies who travel on the bus. their sole purpose is to what the driver and their actions. one of the things they mark is letting passengers of at wrong stops. i know of lots of drivers who have been hauled up in front of management had got their asses kicked over doing a so called good deed by letting people of in the likes of fleet street when they're not supposed to.
    most of you demand that we bend to rules to suit you. thats fine i say. if i walked into your place of work and asked you to break the rules would you?.
    no matter where we work we all have a responsability to our employer and that includes bus drivers. next time you get a bus look for the sticker on the doors with blue writing which clearly states something like " in the interest of passenger safety doors will not be opened in between stops".
    O.P. it may be no big deal to you but whats next. you get of at the corner of westmoreland/fleet street because it's handy for you to get to temple bar, then the next passenger wants to get off at the top of westmoreland street/ aston quay because it's handy for them to get to usit on the quays. the line ha to be drawn somewhere and it is. it's like saying everyone wants buses every 5 minutes but no one wants a bus stop outside their house. ironic or what.

if we were to stop at every stop in the city to let people off just because it's convienient we'd get nowehere. the drivers were just being helpful by breaking to rules. but when it's pointed out that these are not actual stops people get upset. this was all to common when the 37's ,8's and especially 9's used to use fleet street. there'd be chaos on these buses when drivers did their jobs by not stopping here. there are different stops for different buses because it saves confusion and chaos.
    it's all grand and dandy starting a thread like this o.p. and fair play to you hopefully it'll educate alot of people out there. but what happens if someone gets hit a by a bike ,taxi etc. i can guarantee you the first thing a solicitor will ask " was that a desiginated stop". and further more should something like that happen it's a possibilty the driver could their job. since wellington quay D.B. management have coming heavily on health and safety.
    another thing i have pointed out dozens of times in C&T is D.B. have what we call bus spies who travel on the bus. their sole purpose is to what the driver and their actions. one of the things they mark is letting passengers of at wrong stops. i know of lots of drivers who have been hauled up in front of management had got their asses kicked over doing a so called good deed by letting people of in the likes of fleet street when they're not supposed to.
    most of you demand that we bend to rules to suit you. thats fine i say. if i walked into your place of work and asked you to break the rules would you?.
    no matter where we work we all have a responsability to our employer and that includes bus drivers. next time you get a bus look for the sticker on the doors with blue writing which clearly states something like " in the interest of passenger safety doors will not be opened in between stops".
    O.P. it may be no big deal to you but whats next. you get of at the corner of westmoreland/fleet street because it's handy for you to get to temple bar, then the next passenger wants to get off at the top of westmoreland street/ aston quay because it's handy for them to get to usit on the quays. the line ha to be drawn somewhere and it is. it's like saying everyone wants buses every 5 minutes but no one wants a bus stop outside their house. ironic or what.

I think you are blowing my post WAY out of proportion!

Firstly, how are we supposed to know whether a stop is designated or not when the driver stops there ALL the time and lets people out?

I only found this information out after I went searching throught the DB webosit and also DB informed me on twitter. For someone who gets the same bus at the same time every day for months, anything different won't go un noticed! So when I or someone else get are used to getting out at Fleet St /Townsend St to catch another bus and the bus does not stop and let people out - It's going to cause questions. I was among about 10 people or so standing waiting to get off as per our usual routine only to be driven around to Eden Quay.

I can see where you are coming from with regards to the legalities of stops throughout the route, it would not bode well for DB if such a case arose and the stop was infact not a designated one.

I don't see why either one of those stop can't be made into a designated stop. Online it shows the stops that are in the "Quays" area - it shows Fleet St and Townsend St, you actually have to go into the route and see where it actually stops i.e. its designated stops.

I understand that bus drivers cannot be expected to break their rules and as a result their obligation to their employer, I never said that or assumed it. As far as I was aware there was no rule breaking going on until I realised it was not an assigned stop. It's the drivers who are doing themselves their own injustice as they all have different ways of operating. Some will stop, some won't. As a result, how are we all to know what stop is right and what isn't without informing ourselves.. and tbh not many would do that.

You talk about getting off inbetween stops willy nilly. I wouldn't asked to be let out at traffic lights or any other place that there was not a bus stop in place. Although drivers have asked me, do ya wanna jump out here etc.

This brings me back to the whole, one rule for one driver another for the next etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Tarabuses

I would have to say that it seems a very long gap between stops on Suffolk Street or Central Bank and Eden Quay. Some thought surely has to be given to probable connections that passengers will need to make?

Tarabuses wrote: »
    I would have to say that it seems a very long gap between stops on Suffolk Street or Central Bank and Eden Quay. Some thought surely has to be given to probable connections that passengers will need to make?

That's what I said to DB via twitter and that they should make Fleet St or Townsend St a designated stop.

But they didn't wanna know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭KD345

Meanmachine, I don't think anybody is disagreeing safety comes first. Nobody is suggesting a bus should stop at every stop in the city, or to let passengers off between stops/at street corners etc.

The OP was rightly confused, if one day a 65b lets you off at a certain bus stop, it's not unreasonable to assume you can use that same stop the next day.

Stop makes a good point about drivers finishing shifts not wanting to drop off passengers at Eden Quay, instead choosing to let passengers off at Fleet Street or Townsend Street so they can go direct to Ringesnd garage because their shift is finishing. Surely they're the ones "breaking the rules", not the passengers?

I have the highest respect for bus drivers in the city. Between no bus priority and the various obstacles littered at bus stops, it is a tough job to do safely. However, as a passenger, I can appreciate why some passengers, like the OP, can be confused, when one journey can differ to the next even if it's the same route number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 551 ✭✭✭meanmachine3

I think you are blowing my post WAY out of proportion!

Firstly, how are we supposed to know whether a stop is designated or not when the driver stops there ALL the time and lets people out?

misticles i'm not getting at you , in one of my lines i said fair play to you for starting this thread. i was making a point on a number of things.
    most of you reading or posting tend to get the same bus daily to and from work.
    so most of the faces would be the same. i suppose i can make this point. if you get the same bus tomorrow. watch and see how many people will stand up and expect to be let of in fleet street. you'll be surprised to see it will be most of those that were told that it's not official stop but yet they'll be expecting the doors to open which i suspect they will be unless it's the same driver. no go one further how many of those will refuse to get out because it's not an official stop.
    i get asked on a daily basis about routes, destinations and where can joe soap get a bus. my answer is. i point them to lets say d'olier street now i tell them look for the bus stop with the number 16 or whatever bus they're looking for on it. thats how you find out whether it's a desiginated bus stop. a bus is only supposed to stop at a bus stop with it's particular number on it. there are exceptional circumstances where there might a back long of buses trying to get into stops right beside one another. but as a general rule it's only the stops with the bus number on it that we're supposed to use and no other stop.
    misticles it all boils down to educating the public on passenger information. you did the right thing ,you checked the site/ made general enquiries and found what you were looking for.
    theres lots of threads here about different things/ complaints about bus drivers ,this that and the other e.g. stages, fares, buggies/wheelchair priority. the list is endless in here. it's only when the likes of us come on and point out things do people realise " ohh yeah i didn't know that".

I suspect that there simply is not the space to safely designate either Fleet Street or Townsend Street as a stop for all the bus routes going to Ringsend and Eden Quay.

The sheer volume of buses operating on the 1, 2, 3, 15/a/b/e/f, 49/a, 50, 54a, 56a, 65/b, 74/a, 77/a, and 84x would be too much to allow them all to serve the single Townsend Street stop, and Fleet Street is purely a terminus for the 150.

As I said above after the Network Direct changes are implemented that might change as both the revsied 15 and 27 probably won't be serving those streets and the 74/a and 65b won't exist either.

misticles i'm not getting at you , in one of my lines i said fair play to you for starting this thread. i was making a point on a number of things.
    most of you reading or posting tend to get the same bus daily to and from work.
    so most of the faces would be the same. i suppose i can make this point. if you get the same bus tomorrow. watch and see how many people will stand up and expect to be let of in fleet street. you'll be surprised to see it will be most of those that were told that it's not official stop but yet they'll be expecting the doors to open which i suspect they will be unless it's the same driver. no go one further how many of those will refuse to get out because it's not an official stop.
    i get asked on a daily basis about routes, destinations and where can joe soap get a bus. my answer is. i point them to lets say d'olier street now i tell them look for the bus stop with the number 16 or whatever bus they're looking for on it. thats how you find out whether it's a desiginated bus stop. a bus is only supposed to stop at a bus stop with it's particular number on it. there are exceptional circumstances where there might a back long of buses trying to get into stops right beside one another. but as a general rule it's only the stops with the bus number on it that we're supposed to use and no other stop.
    misticles it all boils down to educating the public on passenger information. you did the right thing ,you checked the site/ made general enquiries and found what you were looking for.
    theres lots of threads here about different things/ complaints about bus drivers ,this that and the other e.g. stages, fares, buggies/wheelchair priority. the list is endless in here. it's only when the likes of us come on and point out things do people realise " ohh yeah i didn't know that".

I've just highlighted the points in your post that I'm going to touch on. They are both linked.

The same people will stand up and expect the doors to open at those stops because I would say most people who were on the bus waiting didnt hear the driver say "It's not a stop" I barely heard him and I was beside him. So it's going to be a viscious circle until a point is made about by the driver who does not stop and carries on to Eden Quay.

Everyone would get off the bus as they assume the driver would know best and just get out regardless of whether they knew it was a designated stop or not. For the stops in question, you wouldn't be able to tell if you bus was supposed to stop there or not without actually waiting at the stops.

The outcome of this is that there is going to be frustrated passengers on the bus not knowing what stop they can or cannot get out of because every driver seems to be different as in one lets them off and the other dosn't.

I really do think more emphasis should be made on these designated stops.

Also, if DB could go about enforcing a a stop on Fleet St/Townsend St as a designated stop as all Tallaght buses let people off there. I know with the likes of the 77/77a/50 they go onto ringsend so I presume it would be a designated stop for those so people may think oh well ALL Tallaght buses must stop there then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I'm not surprised about them not making Fleet Street an official stop for any of those routes.
    Back in the days that the 46a used to stop there, it would be a nightmare during peak times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Baron de Robeck

The 68/69 were given approval to unload on Fleet Street a while back but usually only the "marked in " drivers are aware of this. Buses going out of service back to the garage will usually set down in Westmoreland Street.

One of the biggest problems with Townsend Street is the illegally parked Garda vehicles that often obstruct access to the stop, the same way they obstruct buses exiting Hawkins Street and are double parked on Pearse Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭howiya

I was on the 65b today and I usually get off at either the stop on fleet st OR the one on townsend st so I can get another bus down to Grand Canal Dock.

Today however, the driver didn't stop at either of them and went on to terminate at Eden Quay. A lot of people were miffed by this as we were all waiting to get off at either of the stops. Any other bus I have been on, 77, 77A, 50 - they all stop here.

65b and 77/77A/50 all currently stop at Central Bank. Change at this stop. Problem solved

howiya wrote: »
    65b and 77/77A/50 all currently stop at Central Bank. Change at this stop. Problem solved

Not problem solved as you cannot get on at central bank!

howiya wrote: »

Not problem solved as you cannot get on at central bank!

Again this may be about to change as the Network Direct changes are implemented. There will be there new cross-city routes stopping there and to that end a realtime display has been installed.