Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do I have such horrible experiences with bookmakers?

• 12-07-2011 1:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭

Gambling is supposed to be enjoyable, but I can't get the best out of it lately, and I really am considering giving the bookies the middle finger and move to the exchanges even though it's like a minefield its so difficult.
    Where should I start? Went into Powers recently, had a 40 at 11/8, won, fair enough, no problem. Next bet 25ew, wrote out 4/1 that I saw on the screen, dashed up and put on the bet, Horse 2nd at 11/4. I go to collect, she complained about the price I took?! She said it was 45seconds late for 4/1, I said well then settle it at 7/2. She was grumpy and said I should only really be getting 11/4. Couldn't believe the attitude of these people. I don't know how my price could have been 45 seconds late :confused:. Next time I had a winner on the dogs, or smth, took up my winning slip in glee, and handed it in with a bet I had already wrote out, so yer man could just deduct my stake for the bet from my winnings. Yer man said it was the only time he was doing this as all bets must be paid with cash?! rofl He said it was against the law. Never heard this one before, I was really peed off by now. There could be similar laws made in a totalitarian state.

Popped into Hackett's the other day, and wanted to have an ew go on a horse in the first race. Wrote out a hundred ew on the nag, yer wan phoned up and proceeded to tell me the race was win only - never heard this before in a bookies, that a race was "win only". I thought my ears were decieving... It's the embarrassment of having a cashier phone up with your bet like your Barney Curley or smthn. Like to bet a bit on the phone, and I've been hammering away on different occasions in the last 6 months with this particular bookie, must be down about 2k with them. Never had a problem getting on until the other day....I was told "win only" when I asked for a hundred ew on a handicap race, not even an early price. I wouldn't mind be surely it's criminal to refuse a losing customer any bet in an open enough race? How the hell am I going to get a tonne on when I really fancy one? Hello betfair.....are you ready for me? You BETTER be ready for mee. :pac:

I love an afternoon in the betting office with the lads, my local bookies is a mad house. Can't beat Betfair though if you want to make money I reckon. Lashing €100 e/w on I'd be on Betfair though, no question.

I don't see how you reckon the exchanges are a minefield to be honest, they have win and place markets, odds are decimal, pretty simple stuff really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

Ok firstly it paying for a bet with a winning docket can end up causing confusion for the cashier as they may end up forgetting to deduct the bet stake from the winnings. Ew bets are only allowed if a certain number of horses are running in the race it used to be four or more. As regards the price when the cashier enters the bet on her till, it is the till that tells her if the price was correct at the time when it was placed, its not just a notion she took not to give you the price. However there is no excuse for the cashier been rude to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭wingsof daun

Thanks for the replies. I AM highly familiar with the rules of betting, for example I would only ever bet ew in a race that there are at least 5 runners, but usually prefer a race with 8 or 9 nags 1st 3, or else 16 or 17 nags 1st 4. Betfair isn't as easy or as much value as you think imo.

..........Betfair isn't as easy or as much value as you think imo.

oh really :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Zuko123

The reason you cant pay with other bets is because of slowcounters,
    these chancers run up with an amount on a dog just after the bell rings,then hand in a docket to try to pay with,if the cashier scans this it will usually be a loser,then he will make up some crap like "o sorry i gave you the wrong docket hang on a tick" and go thru the motions of searching for the "right docket".
    Of course as this is going on he is listening to the dog commentary,if the dog wins he he just produce cash to pay for it,if it loses he goes off out the door!!:)