Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

i dont have a passport or garda id...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Clearl wrote: »
    or driving licenses etc just an ISIC card...so until i get a passport etc. what can i use as ID

Ryanair will accept a kidney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭ap1986

or driving licenses etc just an ISIC card...so until i get a passport etc. what can i use as ID
    a student card??? but for the sake of 10 euro a garda age card is well worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Clearl

For going out obv..

i cant get a garda card until i get a passport so it will be another 2 or3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Miss Dymph

Why cant you get a garda card until u get a passport? All u need for id is your birthcert and one other form of identity and two photos, im on what must be my 4th card but theyre great for 10euro instead of risking ur passports safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Your ability to grow facial hair!

in the meantime, would clubs accept a student card??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

What about a driving license?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

If it has picture a date of birth, and is from a college they've heard of. For example if you have a card from the Unlikely College of Dubai, they are probably not going to let you in.

dont have driving license

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Miss Dymph

some will yeah but obviously only in Ireland and even at that they dont have to, places like Tesco for buying alcohol insist on garda card or passport but student cards do work in clubs but then again it depends on how young you are and if your DOB is obviously on the card

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Sorry man, looks like your social life is doomed forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

dont have driving license

Get a provisional licence.

Only certain legal forms of photo ID are accepted at bars, clubs, airports etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

A birth cert. Would look a bit silly going to a bouncer with that though :D

People do try it. I see it now and again.
    They'll use the cert and their mate's credit card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

...sorry mate, not tonight,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Miss Dymph wrote: »
    some will yeah but obviously only in Ireland and even at that they dont have to, places like Tesco for buying alcohol insist on garda card or passport but student cards do work in clubs but then again it depends on how young you are and if your DOB is obviously on the card
    First time I tried to buy drink in tesco at 16 I got

cashier 1 "are ye 18 yeah?"
    me "yea"
    while cashier 1 is scanning
    cashier 2 "thats not how ye ask! Do ya have ID on ye?"
    me "no sorry"
    cashier 1 "right thats 22.50"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 teatoast

It can be a bit hit and miss. I had to argue my way in once after the bouncer told me that legally they aren't allowed to take a student card as proof of age. So while you might get away with it, its not the most reliable especially if its a busy night or you're also struck with the curse of looking much younger than you are like I am. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Laminate your birth cert and bring it out with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Use a Machamp pokemon card because you're a beast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭sherdydan

Rabies wrote: »

provisional licence isnt a legally acceptable form of ID either, the only 3 are passport, garda age card and full driving licence.

always thaught it was a bit ridiculous as the provisional and full driving licence are the exact same except for the colour of the paper and what is said on the front page.

saying that though clubs here in town usually took my provisional, as they would give it a quick flash under the UV light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Hasmunch wrote: »

That's be a sight to behold. Lad out on the lash with an A3+ size piece of rigid paper.

sherdydan wrote: »
    Rabies wrote: »

provisional licence isnt a legally acceptable form of ID either, the only 3 are passport, garda age card and full driving licence.

always thaught it was a bit ridiculous as the provisional and full driving licence are the exact same except for the colour of the paper and what is said on the front page.

saying that though clubs here in town usually took my provisional, as they would give it a quick flash under the UV light.
    Wow. Never knew that. Bit stupid. Should be fine.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Hasmunch wrote: »
    If you laminate your birth cert, you've just rendered it null and void. Birth Certs cannot be laminated. This is seen as an amendment to the document, and because the details can no longer be verified as authentic, in other words, that they haven't been tampered with, be prepared for a trip Joyce House to cough up for a new one.

Don't be embarrassed though, people have started doing this themselves to try and preserve what's left of their original birth cert, and the staff in Joyce House are very used to seeing laminated birth certs coming their way. They'll also need to take if from you and destroy it before they'll issue you with a new one.

Laminating your birth cert = bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Shield wrote: »
    If you laminate your birth cert, you've just rendered it null and void. Birth Certs cannot be laminated. This is seen as an amendment to the document, and because the details can no longer be verified as authentic, in other words, that they haven't been tampered with, be prepared for a trip Joyce House to cough up for a new one.

Don't be embarrassed though, people have started doing this themselves to try and preserve what's left of their original birth cert, and the staff in Joyce House are very used to seeing laminated birth certs coming their way. They'll also need to take if from you and destroy it before they'll issue you with a new one.

I ment it as a joke but that's handy information to know in case a replacement is ever needed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

CiaranMT wrote: »
    That's be a sight to behold. Lad out on the lash with an A3+ size piece of rigid paper.
    What sort of freak-ass birth certificate do you have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

I agree that it's hit and miss and depends on the doormen on the night. There's one club in my town (the best of a bad bunch, although they make people queue outside even when it isn't full so they "look better") that will never accept student ID, regardless of how busy they are. I've never seen anyone turned away at the others with it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

Oh and someone said Tesco wouldn't accept the student ID, I guess this too depends on the store/person working because my friend has bought alcohol several times in there using her student ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Shield wrote: »

emm...I don't think he was being serious?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Dunno what its like these days but fake student ID's were very easy to come by back in the day. Cant imagine a birth cert being much good either since it could be anyones really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Years ago you used to be able to get a tiny slip of paper from the Gaurds to say that you were over 18....

I haven't been asked for ID in quite a while :(:mad:.... and I'm not over 25 either but when I was asked and only had my student ID on me they would never accept it. It has to be a passport or an official Age Card as lots of places won't accept a drivers licence.

My age card was in a handbag that was robbed about a year ago.. I hate bringing out my passport but since no one asks anymore I just leave it at home.I know some night some nark is going to ask and I won't have it. Actually I was ID'd for smokes in a Centra around easter. Told him I had no ID and he said he couldn't serve me... Manager let a shout from the back of the shop saying "he only does that to try compliment girls... give her the smokes".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

^ Love it~!

And I have used a birth cert with a student card the odd time when I was stuck for ID. It always worked, although I did get a few looks of 'really?!' :o

Never use your passport as ID-you will lose it and eventually be suspect for identity theft...ahem...not that Id know...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

The only forms of an ID that a club/pub has to accept is the National Age card or a Passport. Its very easy to forge a driving licence.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Bring your Ma and Da with you on nights out and they can confirm your age to any door staff that might ask, have the local priest come along too should extra confirmation be required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

i wish they'd just bring in a credit card sized national ID card, would solve so many problems, like this for one.
    El Weirdo wrote: »
    What sort of freak-ass birth certificate do you have?
    errr, a normal one. they're stupidly huge things
    dee. wrote: »
    Oh and someone said Tesco wouldn't accept the student ID, I guess this too depends on the store/person working because my friend has bought alcohol several times in there using her student ID.

Tesco won't accept drivers licence either, only passport and Gardcard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

The Master wrote: »
    Bring your Ma and Da with you on nights out and they can confirm your age to any door staff that might ask, have the local priest come along too should extra confirmation be required

I thought you needed a bishop for confirmations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Grow a beard, stick in a monocle, use a cane and start addressing everyone as "son" or "kid". Why even your own mother will think you're older. Chicks love it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭jme2010

Maybe you could bring around a piece of skirting board with a crudely drawn water-colour painting of yourself in a bishops hat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

errr, a normal one. they're stupidly huge

As is the Irish driving licence

Every other EU country has adopted credit card sized driving licences with standardised layouts (hence no Prawo Jazdy-esque fukups) Someday Ireland will join the 21st Century (Probably sometime around 2098)