Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To shave or not to shave??

• 11-07-2011 4:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭

Ok so my forehead has been getting bigger the last year or so:o
    need to get a haircut,still have a decent mop but its getting thin in places,i like the idea of getting say a mark 4 all round but a bit sceptical(scared) as it would be a massive change,and i know my mates will have a field day at my expense....
    anyone there have the same problem and what do ye advise?
    cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I thought this was a thread about shaving a beard (judging by the title), where I could encourage you not to shave. Disappointed.

Grow a beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Get a skinhead and you'll never look back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Same problem, but my hair was about 10 inches long. Did a 3 all over, scary at first but feels good man.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

FunkZ wrote: »
    I thought this was a thread about shaving a beard (judging by the title), where I could encourage you not to shave. Disappointed.

Grow a beard.

I thought it would be a thread about 'lady gardening', was gonna recommend waxing instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭RedXIV

During the summer of 2008 I lived in Dublin and was just after meeting my current gf. In an attempt to appear more attractive it was decided I get a haircut. I went to a barbers in town where a woman who had a basic grasp of english, but not enough to decipher the garbled wexford accent I had. So my "a four back and sides, nice and tight on top" became "four all over yeah?"

As I went into a daydream (as I do in the barbers) I zoned in about 3 mins into the haircut after realising the razor had covered more ground than usual.

In a mixture of panic, curiosity and mirth, I let her continue until it was all done and went back to my apartment. My flatmate said I looked like a convict. My friends said I looked like a convict. My family said I looked like a convict. My relatively new better half didn't say anything.

The lesson learned here was go to an english speaking barber.....and don't get a 4 all over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

Comb overs are in this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Depends on the shape of your head, OP.

Some people look grand with the all over shave while others look like chemotherapy patients.

I'd be in the latter group but I've been spared of hair loss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Whip it off I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

I forgot to mention,i have a small scar on top of my head from 3 stitches years ago,it might make me look way too hard:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Shave the head! If you get a bit cold, grow a beard and comb over.

Like this beast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Toots* wrote: »
    I thought it would be a thread about 'lady gardening', was gonna recommend waxing instead.

I'd imagine that would be... OUCH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

I forgot to mention,i have a small scar on top of my head from 3 stitches years ago,it might make me look way too hard:cool:

Chicks dig scars

Chicks-Dig-Scars.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

We'd really need to see a picture of your head so we can give proper "expert" advice...

But I'd be inclined to say shave it, but a #4 wouldn't be short enough. #2 minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

If you've got a fairly normal-shaped head go for it, though I don't think #4 would be enough. I shave my head regularly with no attachment and the hair is still very visible.

The scar could give people the wrong idea, so smile as often as you can.

And what colour is your hair? If it's dark it's ok to go very short, but some light red or blond skinheads can look a bit weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

TheBunk1 wrote: »
    We'd really need to see a picture of your head so we can give proper "expert" advice...

But I'd be inclined to say shave it, but a #4 wouldn't be short enough. #2 minimum.

he said mach 4, as in a naked blade, rather than a number 4 on an electric razor

Cheers for the replies,im quite tall and thinnish,i always think shaved heads look better on stockier lads,think il go for it anyway....i have a good selection of caps just in case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

From about 20 on my forehead started to increase in size so I started to cut my hair very tight and it was less noticeable. For the last 6 years me and my Mach 3 Turbo have become very close friends. Funny thing is if I don't shave for 3/4 days I actually look balder than when I'm freshly hacked.

Take it off OP! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

Helix wrote: »
    he said mach 4, as in a naked blade, rather than a number 4 on an electric razor

Well he said Mark 4, but I didn't notice that either, so I suppose he meant Mach 4... (but that's too short then :pac:)

If you've got a fairly normal-shaped head go for it,

And what colour is your hair? If it's dark it's ok to go very short, but some light red or blond skinheads can look a bit weird.

i think its a normal enough shape:confused:
    its dark enough,fair/brown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

4 all over is great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

i think its a normal enough shape:confused:
    its dark enough,fair/brown

Go for it so, most heads are fine, unless they've any unsightly bumps or such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

need to get a haircut,still have a decent mop but its getting thin in places,i like the idea of getting say a mark 4 all round but a bit sceptical(scared) as it would be a massive change,and i know my mates will have a field day at my expense....
    cheers

Fivehead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I'm surprised that you treat a blade four so drastically. It's a fairly short haircut but it's not going to make you look like some kind of mad skinhead. Just go for it, it will grow out again in a few months anyways.

You'll appreciate the extra ten minutes or so you gain every morning or after you get out of the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

I shave every 2 days have a number 1 on top every two weeks and for all I can tell I still scare the chicks away when I try and do a Frazer Crane hello with a coffee in hand. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭Alice1

Nothing quite sooo sexy as a shaved head and full beard - oh yessss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

shavd tight like a number 4, 3, 2 or even 1 looks good. Mach 4 razor blade shave should be reserved for the face. Shiny is bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Mach 3 all over!
    And grow a beard.

Although the razor got away from me today and resulted in this
    268227_1936555171933_1183973745_1810417_2491043_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

cheers
    You need to bite the bullet, maybe not today maybe not tomorrow but your going to have to give it the 3 or 4 blade someday. At least you will get the slagging over with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

mikehunts wrote: »
    You need to bite the bullet, maybe not today maybe not tomorrow but your going to have to give it the 3 or 4 blade someday. At least you will get the slagging over with.

Have not looked back since going blade 1 all over about a year ago. flet weird at first, but the office is full of blokes with this or a blade 0 , it's socially acceptable once you don't dress, sound, or look like a Creamer...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Get a skinhead and you'll never look back.
    It'll save you a fortune on gym membership.

You'll look hard without having to exercise :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's not often one gets to effect real change on the burning issues of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭Mr. Denton

stimpson wrote: »
    Chicks dig scars

Chicks-Dig-Scars.jpg

Why not have the best of both worlds?

http://www.hairtx.com/wp-content/uploads/jeremy-piven-010610-tmzdotcom.jpg