Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

recovery food/gels???

• 10-07-2011 9:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭

lads an lasses,just wandering first of all what tabs etc do ye use in water for spin energy or hydration or what??and after a 3or4hr spin wat recovery stuff do ye take?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

My current favourite post-ride snack is a fish finger sangwich on brown bread with a healthy dollop of Chef tomato sauce to lubricate it - protein, carbs, and anti-oxidants (lycopene) all in one!!!:) Wash it down with a smoothie or glass of milk.

On the bike - cereal bars, jelly snakes, or home-made granola balls and water or energy drink based on Iso-energy (half a scoop of orange flavour and half a scoop of lemon flavour)

Morning rides are usually prefaced by a couple of slices of jammy toast and a large espresso!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Jawgap wrote: »
    Chef tomato sauce

Are you from the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Joeyde

bit of a list on preferred drinks here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

High 5 Energy Source 4:1 during spins ( summer fruits, not crazy sweet like others ), its pretty good and doesn't have that f@&king Aspartme as a sweetner.

High 5 Recovery Protein in water ( Choc, actually very tasty! ) straight after, this for me, works better than anything else I've tried, including all the home brews.

Lumen wrote: »
    Are you from the country?

no, but the wife is!!!! she's corrupted the kids as to the superiority of Chef over Heinz, meaning it's three against one when it comes to the red sauce!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

no, but the wife is!!!! she's corrupted the kids as to the superiority of Chef over Heinz, meaning it's three against one when it comes to the red sauce!

You should put the foot down.... there's no place for Chef in a respectable home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Amazing. That is some serious corruption there. I must do a blind taste test one day.

You should put the foot down.... there's no place for Chef in a respectable home

And find my bikes (note the plural) confined to the garage (again)........no thanks.

.....it might also lead to a withdrawal of certain "privileges," like lifts to sportives, pick-ups when I puncture close to home & I'm too lazy to fix it by the side of the road, or when I fall or when it's too wet etc.

She also makes the sangers for me - if I put the foot down, I might have to make them myself.

It's a small price to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

cola bottles and tea

or just water depending on that day.

It may be false memory syndrome, but I think I read somewhere that a lot of the pros schull a can of Fanta straight after a hard ride - as a drink it's loaded with phosphates and someone somewhere identified the need to get these replenished as quickly as possible as critical to the recovery process.

I also saw some of the riders in the Tour drinking small cans of Coke - maybe it's for the same reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

And find my bikes (note the plural) confined to the garage (again)........no thanks.

.....it might also lead to a withdrawal of certain "privileges," like lifts to sportives, pick-ups when I puncture close to home & I'm too lazy to fix it by the side of the road, or when I fall or when it's too wet etc.

She also makes the sangers for me - if I put the foot down, I might have to make them myself.

It's a small price to pay.
    are you and smacl sharing a wife? there can't be two of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Plain tap water during a cycle, with a Banana or plain Ham Sandwich.
    Raw Steak after a spin for recovery! ( Not Spanish Steak mind :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Murph100 wrote: »
    High 5 Recovery Protein in water ( Choc, actually very tasty! )

With water :eek: Are you mad man, it can only be had with milk !

ThisRegard wrote: »

Soya or goats preferably. Cow juice is bad, mkay.

I know it sounds minging, but it actually tastes great with water, surprisingly enough.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Cow juice is bad, mkay.

Why so Lumen?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

Chocolate Soya Milk as soon as i'm in the door

Whatever i can find in the fridge between two slices of bread about a half an hour later

Cold beer is usually a big feature of the evening

Hermy wrote: »
    Why so Lumen?

It's harder to digest. Not much point in a recovery drink that's difficult to digest, may as well eat pizza.

I think the pros tend to use soya on tour. I prefer the goats stuff, tastes a bit more hairy.

It's harder to digest. Not much point in a recovery drink that's difficult to digest, may as well eat pizza.

I've seen a bit of debate about this over the years in the fitness forum and other online forums. Some insist that whey's rate of absorption is important, others say the amino acids hit your blood stream at the same time but the slower release of casein (from milk) is beneficial. I haven't read any decent scientific research showing improved recovery from one versus the other though.

I use whey in my drink before and on the bike (I tend to have very little before tbh). I base it on this (legendary) post. Mostly I use whey for convenience and food otherwise. It's anecdotal, but I haven't noticed improved recovery times with whey versus for example delicious, delicious steak.

Khannie wrote: »
    I've seen a bit of debate about this over the years in the fitness forum and other online forums. Some insist that whey's rate of absorption is important, others say the amino acids hit your blood stream at the same time but the slower release of casein (from milk) is beneficial. I haven't read any decent scientific research showing improved recovery from one versus the other though.

I use whey in my drink before and on the bike (I tend to have very little before tbh). I base it on this (legendary) post. Mostly I use whey for convenience and food otherwise. It's anecdotal, but I haven't noticed improved recovery times with whey versus for example delicious, delicious steak.

When people say "hard to digest", they usually mean "makes me fart like a trooper".

And by "people" I mean "me".

Oddly I've only become lactose-intolerant the last year or so, after I started drinking a lot of milk and whey products as recovery drink. I have no idea as to the causation, but I've also been ill a lot less since I stopped drinking cows milk so I'm not going back now.

I drink one or two litres of full fat cows milk every day which is why I ask.

Genealogy Forum Mod

When people say "hard to digest", they usually mean "makes me fart like a trooper".

Oddly I've only become lactose-intolerant the last year or so, after I started drinking a lot of milk and whey products as recovery drink. I have no idea as to the causation, but I've also been ill a lot less since I stopped drinking cows milk so I'm not going back now.

Yeah, tolerance for lactose does decline over time, even in lactose tolerant people. I find I have a "breaking in" phase when I up my why intake. I parp like a mad thing for a few days, then I'm grand.

I'm a milk fiend myself and haven't had any issues, horses for courses I suppose but a chocolate flavoured recovery drink made with cold milk is the stuff dreams are made of when I'm coming towards the end of a hard race or session.

...a chocolate flavoured recovery drink made with cold milk...

Is there one you'd recommend?

Genealogy Forum Mod

High 5 Recovery Protein ... can be made with water ( tastes almost like its made with milk however they've managed it ) or you can make it with milk, which is fecking glorious to be fair but its very filling, so dont plan on jumping about the gaff afterwards ! ;)

Hermy wrote: »
    Is there one you'd recommend?

The high 5 one as someone else mentioned here I find great, very tasty and works well I find. The Powerbar stuff is pretty similar too, not much difference in taste.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 319 ✭✭jamsieboy86

I know it sounds minging, but it actually tastes great with water, surprisingly enough.

I can back ya up on that, I have the exact same after every cycle too. Its much nicer than with milk.

And where would be the best place to buy High 5?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

Heh! Heh! Yes, milk just doesn't work as a "performance" drink for everyone. The legendary Super Squats program requires the consumption of a gallon per day. The reviews are, erm, mixed ...

http://www.amazon.com/review/R30115O2OS0ZGM/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=0926888005&nodeID=&tag=&linkCode=

Jaysus, Super Squats, there's a blast from the past, next it'll be Hard Gainer ! ;) ... hmmm had there been a fecking cycling club in Bantry 20 years ago, I might have been cycling as opposed to doing the 'Super Squats' routine !! :rolleyes:

Heh! Heh! Yes, milk just doesn't work as a "performance" drink for everyone. The legendary Super Squats program requires the consumption of a gallon per day. The reviews are, erm, mixed ...

http://www.amazon.com/review/R30115O2OS0ZGM/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=0926888005&nodeID=&tag=&linkCode=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

Jaysus, Super Squats, there's a blast from the past, next it'll be Hard Gainer ! ;) ... hmmm had there been a fecking cycling club in Bantry 20 years ago, I might have been cycling as opposed to doing the 'Super Squats' routine !! :rolleyes:
    The Super Squats routine could benefit cyclists in a variety of ways ... for starters, it would be a good way of getting rid of wheelsuckers :D