Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First hole in one ... Wohoo

• 10-07-2011 7:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭

Got my first hole in one on Thursday last during a Junior Cup trial in Ennis gc. 7th hole par 3 145m. Flag to front so took 8 iron. Four of us playing plus manager following. Nice hit straight at the flag. Didn't see it finish but the guys in the group were saying that has to be close. Delighted to find it in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Myksyk wrote: »
    Got my first hole in one on Thursday last during a Junior Cup trial in Ennis gc. 7th hole par 3 145m. Flag to front so took 8 iron. Four of us playing plus manager following. Nice hit straight at the flag. Didn't see it finish but the guys in the group were saying that has to be close. Delighted to find it in the hole.

Congrats Myksyk great shooting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Nice one!! 145m with an 8 iron is a fair 'aul whack too!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

staker wrote: »
    That was my first thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

That was my first thought!

Well, the OP did say the pin was to the front so if the hole was 145m, it was more than likely 145 to the middle. So, with the pin at the front, it may have been a club or more less.

Personally, 145m to the pin par three, is a great seven-iron or a decent six-iron.

Oh, and congrats on your first Ace, Myksyks! First of many I hope... still waiting on my first - and as long as the HC continues to drift the wrong way, I'm sure I'll be waiting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Opics

staker wrote: »

And here it begins :rolleyes:

OP be prepared

Ah here I'm not starting nothing! Well done Myksyk I remember my only hole in one and what that hole "owes" me every time I double bogey it:pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Opics wrote: »

OP be prepared

Tbh you are the one starting it... Not one other poster had brought it up but you chose to take a snip it of one post.

As WHIPIT! pointed out. The middle of the green was probably 145m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Well done on the hole in one lad, people don't know the conditions either. I played the other day with a buddy of mine and we both hit 9iron from 161yards to the pin there was a slight breeze but it was very hot so the ball was flying. He was using a range finder. Now to put the cat among the pigeons! In a junior cup match last week when the adrenaline was flowing I hit a pw from 149 in still conditons to 6 feet and on a previous hole hit a 6 iron 197 and on the previous hole to that hit a 6 iron from 176. Golf is a strange game, I use to play with a former inter county hurler who could consistently hit a pw 158 yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Thanks lads. Not a huge hit tbh. Longish green. Pin probably 135m. Slight wind behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Opics wrote: »

OP be prepared

You're just $hit stirrin now. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Well done Myksyk.

Just on the distance thing. It has become more apparent to me that most clubs can easily be hit 1 up or 1 down as conditions call for. A little higher or lower really effects distance also. For instance I decided to hit a 6i into a 175m par 3 on Friday. While the recovery and 5i were in consideration. I prefer hitting my 6i and coming up short was better than long. Dead center as it happened, but when people start talking about distances it really is a thing that varies from player to player and even from day to day when you take you ball striking into account. Their is a lot to be said for feel in the amateur game as we don't have the facilities of the pro's to really nail the yardages down. Whatever you feel most comfortable with will usually give the best results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

There's a par 3 in my course that I've hit everything from 8 iron to 4 iron into, that's 5 different clubs, it just depends on the conditions of the day.

OP, congrats on the hole in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Congrats man. Its a handy hole to get an ace on with the flag at the front :D i have too :pac: You have the bank on the left which the ball can feed off back into the hole. I'll find out who you are soon enough now when i see ya in the Junior cup v Castletroy who will be tough team to beat.

all roads lead to Limerick though next Sunday for the Bruen and Purcell finals with both Ennis & Woodstock.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Well done that lad, I'm usually happy just to get above the ridges at the front, great to see my club being mentioned on boards :)

Congrats man. Its a handy hole to get an ace on with the flag at the front :D i have too :pac: You have the bank on the left which the ball can feed off back into the hole. I'll find out who you are soon enough now when i see ya in the Junior cup v Castletroy who will be tough team to beat.

all roads lead to Limerick though next Sunday for the Bruen and Purcell finals with both Ennis & Woodstock.

I'll have to have a good trial again tomorrow evening to make the team for Thursday's final. I think I'm a possible for the team but not a probable. Two to three places to play for. Weather is to be good for the week so should make for good golf. On my hole-in-one round I played well against one of our five handicappers and was 7 up after 10 (-2 for front 9).... And didn't close it out til the 16th! I have to say, losing four holes having been 7 up makes you seriously shaky. Despite yourself you're thinking "I CANNOT lose a seven hole lead". Anyway, hope to give the manager some food for thought tomorrow evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Congrats OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I got my first hole in one yesterday too, it was at pitchandputt though. It was 83 yards down hill, a nice wedge straight off the ground. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

Well done OP! I happened to get my first hole in one ever the day before you (15th at Luttrelstown) and it's a nice feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Well done OP! I happened to get my first hole in one ever the day before you (15th at Luttrelstown) and it's a nice feeling.

Love/Hate that hole...Was out there last week and had a nightmare, however hit a beaut of a tee shot on that one, straight at pin but ended on fringe... I'm telling myself it would have run on into the hole on a dry day :D

Scrap that... am thinking of the 13th...sure the 15th is easy :)

Nice one LostP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Clareman wrote: »
    Well done that lad, I'm usually happy just to get above the ridges at the front, great to see my club being mentioned on boards :)

your Ennis golf club :confused: who to fcuk are you :o the 7th is a handy hole though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭TheGrump

That's a great hole to get a hole in one on, I love that hole. You really need to get it close from the tee because the green is near impossible.

I'm playing there today, can't wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Well done! Played there last Thursday (white tees) and hit a six iron past the pin - a six-and-half iron woulda been perfic! :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

your Ennis golf club :confused: who to fcuk are you :o the 7th is a handy hole though :p

The members own it and I'm a member :p

I have to admit not know how to phrase the original post, but I was distracted by the GAA that was on.

I'll have to have a good trial again tomorrow evening to make the team for Thursday's final. I think I'm a possible for the team but not a probable. Two to three places to play for. Weather is to be good for the week so should make for good golf. On my hole-in-one round I played well against one of our five handicappers and was 7 up after 10 (-2 for front 9).... And didn't close it out til the 16th! I have to say, losing four holes having been 7 up makes you seriously shaky. Despite yourself you're thinking "I CANNOT lose a seven hole lead". Anyway, hope to give the manager some food for thought tomorrow evening.

Didn't make the team unfortunately. Halved my match on 18 against our main player who won all his matches against Dromoland, East Clare and Shannon but despite a level par back nine I played awful on the front nine which was enough to make the managers mind up. More specifically I putted awful on the front nine. Played nicely tee to green, in fact I'm buzzed with how I'm hitting the ball lately but I had .. Wait for it ... 7 three putts on the front nine. I simply could not get the speed of the greens, not even close. Anyway, I think we have a good team out so we'll see come Thursday.

At least the manager has sound reason not to pick you,it'd be worse if you played to your best and didn't make it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Flanders536

Woot go TEAM-OP, I cant wait till I finally get a hole in one or even a chip in from off the green lol I have hit the flag stick once but barring that im never close enough :)

Keep up the good shots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Never had a hole in one:(

Few close ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭SM746

Just seen in our local paper today that a girl, Emily McGuinness from Greenmore, Co. Louth, having a practice round for the Irish Girls Close last Thursday, got a hole in one at the par 3 5th at Murvagh last Thursday with a 8 iron. She duly put another ball on the tee and with a 9 iron this time got another hole in one again. So basically two holes in one in consecutive shots. Donegal Times page 35 if anyone wants to read it or doesnt believe me.

What would the odds be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

SM746 wrote: »
    Just seen in our local paper today that a girl, Emily McGuinness from Greenmore, Co. Louth, having a practice round for the Irish Girls Close last Thursday, got a hole in one at the par 3 5th at Murvagh last Thursday with a 8 iron. She duly put another ball on the tee and with a 9 iron this time got another hole in one again. So basically two holes in one in consecutive shots. Donegal Times page 35 if anyone wants to read it or doesnt believe me.

What would the odds be?

Thats amazing. Incredible, Really impressive

A bit about the odds of a hole in one in Ireland from another site..

Ireland's National Hole in One Club puts the odds a little longer for one ace: "The estimated odds of acing a hole with any given swing are one in 33,000."

What I really think
    Ah f*** that absolutely sickening news. How the f*** did she pull two f****** different clubs and get two c****** hole in ones. I can't even hit the b****** of a green with my bollox of an 8 iron. I can't even hit the f****** golf course most of the time. Oh God a girl, be de lord lamping jaysus ... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Sounds like she should be pretty worried about her distance consistency with those irons of hers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Kace wrote: »
    Sounds like she should be pretty worried about her distance consistency with those irons of hers.

Who gets an ace, then changes their club for the same shot straight after... Right, lets see if I can improve on my last shot...:D

I'd say it was a handy pin position too! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭SM746

ajcurry123 wrote: »
    Who gets an ace, then changes their club for the same shot straight after... Right, lets see if I can improve on my last shot...:D

I'd say it was a handy pin position too! ;)

Not too sure where pin was that day. When I played the day before it was in the centre right of the green and if you hit it pin high anywhere to the left you had a good chance of it rolling toward the hole. Its roughly 120yards from the ladies tees and they avoid most the trouble that lurks below right to the hole so its a nice shot to the green and hope for the best.