Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London v Waterford, 18:30

• 09-07-2011 4:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭

Come on London, even Sky Sports News are talking about them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

was thinking of hopping on the train over to catch it. . .might still make it too

come on London!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭PennyLane88

Come on London!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Come on the Déise! We would been rubbing our hands with this draw last year, and now all the betting is against us. I have faith in this team and it's time to bite back at all the insults thrown at the County's footballers!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

Its been on Sky Sports News every hour today about the game had interviews etc

sendit wrote: »
    Its been on Sky Sports News every hour today about the game had interviews etc

Jesus, they really don't have much to talk about in the summer. Who were they interviewing. Could generate a little bit of interest, maybe an even better crowd than expected there!

Not sure didn't see it myself but was told about it

What's the buzz with these Kerry lads on the team? I heard there was some all-ireland u21 winners there or something? Would any of em be good enough for the actual Kerry team?

All this publicity just might suit Waterford. Here's hoping anyway :D

What's the buzz with these Kerry lads on the team? I heard there was some all-ireland u21 winners there or something? Would any of em be good enough for the actual Kerry team?

Mike Moloney the full back was on the seinor paanel in 2008 and was actuly captain in Kerry's first game of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i had expected maloney to make it on the kerry panel this year and think, he is good enough to push for the start..he is a top player and has prooved it so far this year.

London goal already :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Anybody a radio stream for this before the Galway game gets going?

London goal already :(

No, it was a Waterford goal. 1-1 to 0-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

London 0-2 Waterford 1-6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

kensutz wrote: »
    London 0-2 Waterford 1-6.

Oh well, it was fun while it lasted. They definitely have the talent to beat Waterford but the spotlight seems to have got to them.

1-9 to 0-4 in favour of Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Roanmore

Oh well, it was fun while it lasted. They definitely have the talent to beat Waterford but the spotlight seems to have got to them.

Think people might have underestimated Waterford in this game, Waterford lost to them 2 seasons ago in the league (or was it a draw, just had a few cans so memory isn't great) when they shouldn't have and beat them the season after when they got promoted. I think Waterford were disappointed to get relegated this season so maybe they're tring to make up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭muff03

1-10 to 0-05 at the break, London down to 14 men. Mon the Déise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

ruislip is a fecker of a place if there's any wind at all, the second half may be completely different.
    on another note, longford 0-7, tyrone 0-5! c'mon lofo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

deadly, have money on the deise to do the football and minor double, haha couldnt bring meself to go for the triple!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 TheNardDawg

O Riain wrote: »
    deadly, have money on the deise to do the football and minor double, haha couldnt bring meself to go for the triple!

You're dead right I'd say good bet that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

London down to 13 according to Twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

Football Quals@FT: London 0-13 Waterford 1-17. The summer is over for London and Waterford march on #gaa

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Great win for Waterford. Only downer is that the Papers will be talking the side up for the next few days. Much prefer to see quite build up to games and here people tell us we have no chance.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Don't know why everyone was writing off Waterford to be honest. People seem to forget that they were a division 3 team this year.

Well I agree, but I can answer your question. London were unlucky not to beat Mayo, and beat Fermanagh having not won only one game in the leagu in div 4 (against Kilkenny, barely counts as a win). But people seriously underestimated this Waterford team. They put a great effort in, a lot of their problems are psychological. Hopefully they'll gain confidence from this. Wouldn't mind seeing them get Down now in Dungarvan. Down are struggling and maybe the lads could put it up to them. Would definetly go to watch them if they get a home draw.

Good start to the weekend anyway. As regards my earlier comment, I heard that on WLR would you believe, can't believe they made that mistake, they wear the same jerseys as the hurlers like :rolleyes:

C'MON THE DÉISE! Maybe we can add to it tomorrow :D

Well I agree, but I can answer your question. London were unlucky not to beat Mayo, and beat Fermanagh having not won only one game in the leagu in div 4 (against Kilkenny, barely counts as a win). But people seriously underestimated this Waterford team. They put a great effort in, a lot of their problems are psychological. Hopefully they'll gain confidence from this. Wouldn't mind seeing them get Down now in Dungarvan. Down are struggling and maybe the lads could put it up to them. Would definetly go to watch them if they get a home draw.

Good start to the weekend anyway. As regards my earlier comment, I heard that on WLR would you believe, can't believe they made that mistake, they wear the same jerseys as the hurlers like :rolleyes:

C'MON THE DÉISE! Maybe we can add to it tomorrow :D

I think that it is a well know secret that the person that said it is of a kind of anti sport nature and dont want anything to be disturbing the music. I have this from people that have at some stage or other worked at the station.

Deise Tom wrote: »
    I think that it is a well know secret that the person that said it is of a kind of anti sport nature and dont want anything to be disturbing the music. I have this from people that have at some stage or other worked at the station.

Ah sure let it, he only made a fool of himself really! Delighted now, hopefully a home draw so I can go roar them on next week or whenever it's on :D

Waterford are able to give anyone a good game at Fraher Field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ye seem to be pretty confident ye can get to QF in football if get home draw...

Think I will back ye if do get home draw on yer confidence.

I dunno about quarter final, but certainly they got a home draw for the next round, they could do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭El Vino

Was at the match, London definitely believed their own hype. I didn't have a program but whoever your number 9 is (although he played full forward) is an incredible footballer. Would walk into any county team.

Gary Hurney, that would be. Has played for Munster, he is indeed a fine footballer.

El Vino wrote: »
    Was at the match, London definitely believed their own hype. I didn't have a program but whoever your number 9 is (although he played full forward) is an incredible footballer. Would walk into any county team.

Gary Hurney, a serious footballer, has played for Munster. Would say he is the second best footballer in Waterford behind Shane Walsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Trenchman

Gary Hurney, a serious footballer, has played for Munster. Would say he is the second best footballer in Waterford behind Shane Walsh.

Can you imagine how strong the team would be with Shane Walsh and Brick Walsh playing with them?

Mighty result for the footballers.They're one of my favourite teams to support. They're very gutsy and honest and I hope to God they beat Limerick, because if anyone deserves a run and a bit of attention, it's these boys. They are the forgotten men in Waterford GAA, as shown in the attendances at their games and even in Croker last year.

Trenchman wrote: »
    Can you imagine how strong the team would be with Shane Walsh and Brick Walsh playing with them?

Mighty result for the footballers.They're one of my favourite teams to support. They're very gutsy and honest and I hope to God they beat Limerick, because if anyone deserves a run and a bit of attention, it's these boys. They are the forgotten men in Waterford GAA, as shown in the attendances at their games and even in Croker last year.

Yeah I think Shane and Brick should nearly just play football for the rest of the year. Call me crazy but when you look at Limerick last year, if Waterford had those two players they could have beaten them. And Limerick were unlucky to lose to both Kerry and Cork, Munster and All-Ireland champs. I'm not saying they'd have won the all-ireland or anything like it, but Waterford football wouldn't be regarded in the same light as it is, and I completely agree with Trenchman there a good team that fight hard. I think confidence is often a big issue with them...they really didn't deserve the slandering received from Pat Spillane a couple of weeks ago.

Trenchman wrote: »

You could add in the three Ardmore lads as well and Kevin Moran is a former underage footballer of the year in the county a few years back. Richie Foley is also a good footballer. Liam Lawlor is also very good.

Yeah I think Shane and Brick should nearly just play football for the rest of the year. Call me crazy but when you look at Limerick last year, if Waterford had those two players they could have beaten them. And Limerick were unlucky to lose to both Kerry and Cork, Munster and All-Ireland champs. I'm not saying they'd have won the all-ireland or anything like it, but Waterford football wouldn't be regarded in the same light as it is, and I completely agree with Trenchman there a good team that fight hard. I think confidence is often a big issue with them...they really didn't deserve the slandering received from Pat Spillane a couple of weeks ago.

It would be great to see the two lads and a few more line out for the footballers, but it would be hard to drop any of the present footballers to make space for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

You could add in the three Ardmore lads as well and Kevin Moran is a former underage footballer of the year in the county a few years back. Richie Foley is also a good footballer. Liam Lawlor is also very good.

It's a problem in a few counties where one code is much stronger than the other, especially when the hurling is a good bit stronger than the football it tends to happen that some of the best footballers in the county are also among the best hurlers, and they will inevitably choose the hurling if that's the one that has more chance of bringing some success. It was a problem for the Dublin hurlers until recently, and it's been a huge boost to them that likes of Conal Keaney and David O'Callaghan are now opting for the hurling. Don't be surprised if one or two more follow, most notably Diarmuid Connolly.

I'd wager a bet that if the Kilkenny hurling team lined out for the county in the National Football League they wouldn't get the kind of hammerings that their footballers currently get. I reckon they'd be better.

It would be great to see the two lads and a few more line out for the footballers, but it would be hard to drop any of the present footballers to make space for them.

Won't happen. Anyway, they are capable of beating Limerick. Wexford look quite good, but they may find it difficult to reach the heights they've hit this year if Waterford do win, a very big if of course but at least they've a chance!

I know that only too well.

I think Waterford will beat Limerick on Saturday. Is John Galvin still out for them. If he is, he's a huge loss. Could it also be taken that the few duel players they have could also be out.

If they do beat Limerick, do you know what, i feel they could give Wexford a real going to. I feel the players will want to show that they are better than the league result between the sides earlier this year is not a true reflection and will be all out to gain revenge for it.

A few years ago Wexford came up to Fraher Field and no one gave waterford a chance, not many anyway, and Waterford beat them. Waterford should go into the game with the same attitute and you never know what would happen.

Maybe then if and right now its a big if, if Waterford were to be drawn against the Connacht Champions who i believe to be the weakest of the provincial champions, we could well be in Croker Park in August. i know we have to beat Limerick first but it could be Roy of the Rovers stuff i know, but the footballers will be thinking positive and when they nuckle down to things they can be very difficult to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I know that only too well.

I think Waterford will beat Limerick on Saturday. Is John Galvin still out for them. If he is, he's a huge loss. Could it also be taken that the few duel players they have could also be out.

If they do beat Limerick, do you know what, i feel they could give Wexford a real going to. I feel the players will want to show that they are better than the league result between the sides earlier this year is not a true reflection and will be all out to gain revenge for it.

A few years ago Wexford came up to Fraher Field and no one gave waterford a chance, not many anyway, and Waterford beat them. Waterford should go into the game with the same attitute and you never know what would happen.

Maybe then if and right now its a big if, if Waterford were to be drawn against the Connacht Champions who i believe to be the weakest of the provincial champions, we could well be in Croker Park in August. i know we have to beat Limerick first but it could be Roy of the Rovers stuff i know, but the footballers will be thinking positive and when they nuckle down to things they can be very difficult to beat.

One thing for sure, we have more of a chance of winning the football all Ireland this year than the hurling Tom

KevIRL wrote: »
    One thing for sure, we have more of a chance of winning the football all Ireland this year than the hurling Tom

And the chances of that are both slim and none.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

If the hurlers lost to Galway and tjhe footballers beat Limerick would there be any chance Brick and Shane Walsh would be brought onto the football panel? If they're available they'd surely be very hard to leave out.

flahavaj wrote: »
    If the hurlers lost to Galway and tjhe footballers beat Limerick would there be any chance Brick and Shane Walsh would be brought onto the football panel? If they're available they'd surely be very hard to leave out.

You raise a very interesting point as always Flahavaj :D As Tom said twud be harsh on the lads they'd be replacing but who knows, I know they agreed to lest Hurney and Shane Walsh play against Cork in 2009 when both were on the panel. All the talk about getting to a semi final is a bit far now I think haha. I'd be delighted if they get over Limerick first and foremost and Wexford will bea very tough game for either Limerick or Waterford, and I think Roscommon will beat Mayo next week and they're no bad team either.

flahavaj wrote: »

Would they want to return to the football set up. There is also Liam Lawlor, a better footballer than a hurler in my view.