Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inheritance.

• 09-07-2011 12:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭

Should parents give their kids the money now?
    They'll get it anyway in a few years time anyway.
    And in the meantime they'll be boosting the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

emmm what will the parents have then ???

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

johnmcdnl wrote: »

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

johnmcdnl wrote: »

The Pension...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Sweet Lord!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I hate this way of thinking.

It's their money/house/possesions...'til the end.

Whatever is leftover the family can sqaubble over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

policarp wrote: »

What money, most are probably broke as their pensions (or money invested in one) are worth fúck all now. All they could give them is the deeds to the house, which if the children wanted to sell it, would be only worth a fraction of what it would have been worth a few years ago.

Have you not got your own money OP? instead of leaching of your poor parents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭veXual

And we wonder why this country is fúcked? Sure with idea's like this how can we lose...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If you haven't learned how to cop on & earn your own money & be independent, then your parents haven't taught you right.

In that case, they should probably hand over their hard earned money now & continue to subsidise the scrounging, bitty dependent, tied to the apron strings existence that they brought you up to hold on to.

Have you not got your own money OP? instead of leaching of your poor parents!
    I'm thinking of the matress money from the "Celtic Tiger" era.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

I had typed out a nice post detailing just how silly you are OP but instead decided on this.

No, just no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I'm thinking of the matress money from the "Celtic Tiger" era.

Isn't there. Or else the matrass is in a house thats subsiding because it was slapped up and needs to be rebuilt from scratch

Yawns wrote: »
    I had typed out a nice post detailing just how silly you are OP but instead decided on this.

No, just no.

Who is going to pay for "Old folks home?"
    If there is one in the future...

Who is going to pay for "Old folks home?"
    If there is one in the future...
    You have to be kidding me?????

If you haven't learned how to cop on
    Who paid for you education?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Who paid for you education?

Mo Mowlam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Grunch.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

OP, stuck for a few bob are we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

OP is about 4 years of age

Europe is paying for us, so why shouldn't we try to do a Joe Duffy?
    Spend your inheritance.
    Spend out of recession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

I wonder do the chinese have this issue....

or do they not see it coming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

I could sort of see your point if it was a way of avoiding inheritance tax on a considerable sized property and your parents were guaranteed somewhere to live and to be cared for by family.

You may have an idea to look after your folks in a granny flat arrangement which is great for everyone.

Although,sadly I think you mean...give us the cash and let them live off the state,whilst you have your deposit and visit once a year.

cesc77 wrote: »
    I could sort of see your point if it was a way of avoiding inheritance tax Although,sadly I think you mean...give us the cash and let them live off the state,whilst you have your deposit and visit once a year.

I don't mean that at all.
    I'm thinking that the money in this
    country is useable now
    And I believe it's there...

I hope they leave it all to the dog

OP, just cash in your Cyril the Squirrel stamps now and stop relying on yuor parents.

I am a parent.
    That's why I posed the question.
    School, College,Clothes, Pocket money,
    Where's it all coming from?

I am a parent.
    That's why I posed the question.
    School, College,Clothes, Pocket money,
    Where's it all coming from?

I see.

No, don't. Kids are fucking idiots. And if my obverations are anything to go by, x27times more idiotioc then 1982 when I was born...

Well, me personally, I've never once asked my parents (Hen) for any money, not ever, not once. Yes, you....never once.
    We had no money to begin with so was a pointless effort. Hard times etc etc

'Kids' nowadays really have no concept of money (€50 euro for computer game ffs, clothes etc etc)....ask my bollix!

I got where I am without asking my Hen for any money....would kill me if I had to ask her.....just the way I was brought up I guess.

I figure if your nippers can get a decent upbringing they'll be outta be out of your (and your o/h) hair when they turn 18/19 with any luck.

I guess it's the difference between giving and earning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

My millionaire uncle back in the US gave me my inheritance a few months back. I've pumped a good amount of it into the Irish economy. Your idea would work great if we all had loaded uncles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

cesc77 wrote: »

I could sort of see your point if it was a way of avoiding inheritance tax

There's still gift tax. It's called capital gains tax. Check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

so OP what'd you spend your money on that your parents wouldn't??

you must have really tight parents that have so much savings that it's going to make a huge difference to the economy when it's spent...

have you never heard about planning ahead for the rainy day??

who's going to pay for medical bills god forbid if someone in your family gets sick and your after taking all their money and spending it on coke and hookers or even on a house...

when your 40-50-60 will you just give all the money you have to your kids??? feck it sur if you want to save some money for your retirement to enjoy yourself then - sur the children can spend all your hard earned money instead because it'll get the auld economy ticking over again...

did you think at all before making this thread or do you just want 200 quid for an oxegen ticket and think it's really unfair that your parents make SOOO much money compared to you and you'd spend so much more money than they do...

seriously like - seriously... get a job and spend every penny you earn if you want and it'll kick start the economy - and just hope ta god that you never need to get money with short notice.. like having to get money to repair a tyre on your car because you got a blown out wheel on the way to work... but hey sure you can just get a 100 euro loan and it'll be grand.. after all that'll help the economy even more...

and finally - at what age would you say parents should start giving the money to the kids?? when the kids are 20?? when the parents are 65?? hmmm oh yeah - who's gonna buy your parents bread and milk after you take all their money from them??? what if they start saving up their pension money as well - do you get to take that from them as well???

it's just a terrible idea in all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I often tell my parents the same thing OP. Whilst inviting them to gorge on deep fried Mars bars. However my parents have already decided not to pass on any money to their kids; for one thing there are seven of us and to divide it by 7 would diminish the utility of any savings; for another thing they have already given us their legacy by putting seven kids through school and university so I'm surprised they even managed to save anything.

As for me, I intend to be the same. Whatever benefit I give my kids will be given through my lifetime, but it won't be a monetary benefit. I'll pay for their education and they can learn to make their own money after that. I don't want to have anything in my bank account as I lie on my death bed, I work hard for my income and I want to enjoy every last cent.
    bitty dependent
    Did someone say bitty?

Bitty....