Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New to shooting section

• 08-07-2011 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

I am about to take up shooting I did do deer hunting 25 years ago with a friend of mine but I never got to buy my own Gun though I did put a deposit on one at the time anyway I am now living in the Country have applied to my local Gun Club have looked in some Gun shops and have downloaded the application form for a Licence what type Gun can I get to suit me I have looked at 28inch Barrell O/U but what make and price for my First Gun I am 50 in age not a young fellow. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Sorry did not mean I wanted a Shotgun for Deer I want to go Hunting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    I am about to take up shooting I did do deer hunting 25 years ago with a friend of mine but I never got to buy my own Gun though I did put a deposit on one at the time anyway I am now living in the Country have applied to my local Gun Club have looked in some Gun shops and have downloaded the application form for a Licence what type Gun can I get to suit me I have looked at 28inch Barrell O/U but what make and price for my First Gun I am 50 in age not a young fellow. :)

I brought my 76 year old neighbour to pick up a 12g Pump action recently.
    So yer never too old :D

€500 will get you something second hand that is reliable but perhaps rough around the edges.
    €1000 will get you an almost new good quality gun

Thanks and as we use to say about a rough Gun it was dragged through every hedge in Ireland it's nice to see a Gun well looked after even if it is second hand and Thanks

Fabarm,Lumar, Betinsoli,Remington,Browning and others can be bought quite reasonable secondhand

Most dealers have a myriad of quality guns on their shelves.
    Here is just a flavour of what is out there.

www.openseason.ie

www.shoot.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

... but what make and price for my First Gun I am 50 in age not a young fellow. :)

Tawny,
    Is 50 really that old? Perhaps, back in the day when people worked in the coal mines and factories at age 7, but these days?

Anyhow, I would get a semi-auto. An o/u is a nice gun. It conjures up images of a gentleman's day out shooting. Typically, used for trap and skeet, more versatile than the side by side which is specifically for birds.

I like the auto's. Get one that you won't mind beating up. I had a CZ712 and she was great for knocking about and I didn't want to jump off a cliff every time she got a scratch or went into a bog hole.

Next, I had a Browning Citori. A truly beautiful shotgun. So beautiful I just could not enjoy a day out hunting in case I get a scratch on her.

Now I have a Winchester SX3 with a composite stock. Not as much paranoid about her. However, I have learned that guns are meant to be shot. If you have a museum piece, then keep it at the museum.

Plenty of fine shooters to get you started. The Remington 1100/1187 are grand or the 870 if you like to rack your firearm. Mossberg makes a nice no nonsense pump in their model 500. Any of these will have lots of parts and accessories to choose from.

My choice: an auto with removable chokes. Then get extended ported chokes.

Welcome back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

So you 50 years young and starting over, good on ya. Be careful its a bug that'll catch you forever more. I started over again at 57 a couple of years back and I can't get enough of it now.

Anyway i had a mossberg pump-action but didn't like it to shoot with and now have a Beretta 391 Urika semi. Great shotgun and I would recommend it to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i happen to be parting with a browning p80 s/a if anyone is interested,wont have to get a mortage to buy it,welcome back tawny owel,50 isnt old,have an uncle turned sixty this yr and bought his first shotgun 2mths ago,cant keep him in like abold child,:D:D:D

Thanks everyone for the good advice on the Gun to get and my very young age I did put a deposit on a Winchester Saturday sorry Pheasntstalker after I had handled a few other makes I put the Winchester to my shoulder and it felt good I did have a good friend with me that is shooting over 40 years.

Enjoy it!

Thanks very Much can you tell me what boots you all wear and gear and what's best out there and from who,

Dunlop,Ecco,Haix,Le Chameau

Dunlop wellies are seriously good value
    Ecco are a great light hunting boot for dryer weather
    Haix are a step up from Ecco
    le chameau are a high stalking boot waterproof and tough as nails

For the Summer months Ecco are great if you have bad feet like me from standing all day

For the winter Dunlop lite wellies are great for €65 a pair
    I have never worn "muck boots" but they are supposed to be the bees knees

My next buy when the Tiger wakes up

http://www.brixworkwear.com/ie/brand/haix/hunting-boot-walking-boots/haix-montana.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Tawny,
    It depends on what kind of terrain you are going to encounter.

I like a good tall muck boot like this.
    s7_830354_999_01?rgn=0,0,1116,1787&scl=4.7026315789473685&fmt=jpeg&id=0BdQpYMEVEcGP6Six52czW
    The only problem is that on some of my permissions, I have to cross drains that appear to have just the correct level of water so as to make the boots take on water when you lean forward.

Thus, I always have a pair of these in the boot.
    s7_831354_542_01?rgn=0,0,474,2000&scl=5.2631578947368425&fmt=jpeg&id=0XrSE5oIvts4bEsUR57Q1A

These have paid themselves off many times over. I have gotten the shot that others missed just because they couldn't get through the marsh that I was able to.

If, however, your terrain is dry enough, like two summers ago, a nice pair of Irish Setters would be grand.
    s7_812513_543_01?rgn=0,0,1900,1898&scl=5&fmt=jpeg&id=37qMXcpZBn6namWwjYQUty
    I am not crazy about scent lok boots - leads to sweaty feet in warmer areas.

You probably won't have to worry about insulated boots too much in Ireland.

Finally, if you do go the route of muck boots, get as tall as possible - 17" preferably.

Slan

The Haix look very good Boot I buy a lot of Safety gear from a Company in Dublin and asked about supplying me with a good hunting boot they have suggested a Maguem 8inch upper water proof and I get it at Cost dont know the price but it will not be any where €250.00 I will keep all informed and put some photos up and maybe a new supplier at a good price

Cheers Tawny Owl.

The Haix look very good Boot I buy a lot of Safety gear from a Company in Dublin and asked about supplying me with a good hunting boot they have suggested a Maguem 8inch upper water proof and I get it at Cost dont know the price but it will not be any where €250.00 I will keep all informed and put some photos up and maybe a new supplier at a good price

Cheers Tawny Owl.

I recently got BF Goodrich Tyres for €150 when EVERYWHERE said €175 a tyre + Fitting

So shop around.
    I have magnums, not as comfortable as Haix, the sole on haix wears quick on concrete though, so hunting only ;)

Jesus lads this is bringing me back to the days when I was on the side of the Dublin Mountains hughing the uncle and waiting for a Deer to just make it's way down to an area not frozen to eat something and we would look at our Boots and gear and we would be starting to Freeze and I mean Freeze you could see the ice on your trousers we had two Donkeys to go back up the Mountain to collect the Deer not like now with your Quad's the Donkeys even ran at me they were Nut's but we had a brill day out even if we did not shoot anything,am I glad to be getting back into to this sport.

Thanks for that

The first deer I was every involved in was a 3 mile drag to the car.
    Feck me I was bollixed

What are you Driving that cost that much may be able to help

When I was a little younger as I was saying in first post hunting for Deer we walked for hours I was not allowed even open the zip for a pee we worked our way up the rivers with the wind in front at all times we came up on lake on top of a Mountain and standing there was a Red Stag as high as a door in your House and the the Antlers I said SHOOT QUICK no responce he lookded as us and as if to say where the F### did you come from later we shot a Seaka and I was made carry it down to base and the Moral how would we get a beast that size of the mountain you learn fast