Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paying to work?!?

• 07-07-2011 12:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭

I had a chat with a good pal of mine this evening and the topic of work came up. He works in a major stadium on the northside of Dublin as a security guard (part-time) with a very reputable company. He has been working there for approx 12 months. When he heard about work going (through a mutual friend) there, he gave 'the mutual friend' a shout. The deal was that he would get (lets say) €12 an hour, but if he 'got' the job he would really only get €11 an hour because he would have to give this fella €1 an hour (up to a maximum of €5) for the privilage of getting him a job. This guy is NOT a recruitment agency, he just gets people 'in', he is very senior there. As far as I am aware it is a legit job with taxes etc.

I personally think this is an outrage but thats just my opinion.

Do you think this is fair?

If you do or dont please list your reasoning.

Many thanks

Mods: If I have posted this in the wrong place my apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

I wouldn't give a shite if it got me a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Kingpin187

doubtful

Something like this wouldnt be in a "very reputable" company's policies. Sounds like extortion and mafia-ish, and isnt something I have ever heard of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

My uncle got a commercial pilots license but when he got it found nobody would hire him because he didn't have enough hours. To get hours he had to go on an "hour building program" which is exactly paying to work.

Paying the bones of 10 grand so he could fly some manky heap of 2 engine turboprop piece of **** over honduras filled to the brim with chickens while chunks of metal fall off the underside of the plane.

Yer man is getting a good deal with his paying 1 euro per hour compared to what i've seen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭sarahisainmdom

I effin' hate that the only way to get a job at the moment is by knowing someone. :mad: Might be a fair deal though seeing as I'd be willing to work for free just to have something to stick on the CV (student with no previous employment here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

So....He's a pimp?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'd record the greedy bastard and give it to a tabloid.

If he's senior he's probably getting plenty anyway.

Prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Mankyspuds

Kingpin187 wrote: »
    doubtful

Something like this wouldnt be in a "very reputable" company's policies. Sounds like extortion and mafia-ish, and isnt something I have ever heard of

No doubt about it unfortunately :(, my mate was reluctant enough to give the money but if he wanted the job he had to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Knex. wrote: »
    So....He's a pimp

le?....yes, he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Needler wrote: »
    My uncle got a commercial pilots license but when he got it found nobody would hire him because he didn't have enough hours. To get hours he had to go on an "hour building program" which is exactly paying to work.

Paying the bones of 10 grand so he could fly some manky heap of 2 engine turboprop piece of **** over honduras filled to the brim with chickens while chunks of metal fall off the underside of the plane.

Yer man is getting a good deal with his paying 1 euro per hour compared to what i've seen

Maybe he found it difficult to get hired off the bat because he went about training in all the wrong way with little to no foresight or research into how pilots get hired after training and into reputable ways of getting to flying commercially??

OP... he's still making 11 euro per hour. More than most I'd guess. THat said, what exactly happens if he doesn't cough up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Mankyspuds

Maybe he found it difficult to get hired off the bat because he went about training in all the wrong way with little to no foresight or research into how pilots get hired after training and into reputable ways of getting to flying commercially??

OP... he's still making 11 euro per hour. More than most I'd guess. THat said, what exactly happens if he doesn't cough up?

True, €11 is more that a lot of people get. If he doesnt pay he wont get called again for a match.

Possibly. This was years ago. He finished his hour building thing just before 9/11 happened. Never did get a job as a pilot. and to make matters worse he bought a house in 2007.

What is the proper way to get hired as a pilot, just out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Corruption. Cronyism. Jobs for the boys.

Literally no other way to describe it. This kind of behaviour should be illegal in this country.

Mankyspuds wrote: »
    True, €11 is more that a lot of people get. If he doesnt pay he wont get called again for a match.

Sounds like a decent reason to pay.
    Possibly. This was years ago. He finished his hour building thing just before 9/11 happened. Never did get a job as a pilot. and to make matters worse he bought a house in 2007.

What is the proper way to get hired as a pilot, just out of interest?

Go somewhere reputable to learn to fly. Do a proper commercial training programme - not just a turn up on a saturday for an hour for a couple of years type thing. Pre 9/11? Get a freaking cadetship!!!! Sure afaik city jet are still offering their version of it whereby you pay the training and they guarantee you a job afterwards if you want to fly with them - expensive but if a commercial airline are training you, at least you know that the training is good - they aren't going to take on people when they know the training they received is rubbish. Which also leads to the chance that other airlines aren't going to look at your training and go "EEEEEEEEEEEE no".

Sounds like a decent reason to pay.

Go somewhere reputable to learn to fly. Do a proper commercial training programme - not just a turn up on a saturday for an hour for a couple of years type thing. Pre 9/11? Get a freaking cadetship!!!! Sure afaik city jet are still offering their version of it whereby you pay the training and they guarantee you a job afterwards if you want to fly with them - expensive but if a commercial airline are training you, at least you know that the training is good - they aren't going to take on people when they know the training they received is rubbish. Which also leads to the chance that other airlines aren't going to look at your training and go "EEEEEEEEEEEE no".

Is there much demand for pilots now or are there still plenty of them around unemployed with thousands of hours?

Unemployed with thousands of hours? No :p haven't heard of any of those.

Unemployed and fresh from training??? I believe the latest fashion is to pay Michael O'Leary to fly his airplanes for him! (Better than chickens in Honduras I guess!!!)

Haven't heard of any real shortage in these parts. Asia is booming though. But then, you have to go to asia and potentially fly with people whose culture demands that they put saving face ahead of certain other... (you get the picture?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭sparks24

I'd record the greedy bastard and give it to a tabloid.

If he's senior he's probably getting plenty anyway.

Prick.
    I'd record him and make him pay 2 euro per hour! What's he going to do tell the cops hahahaha (evil laugh/troll face)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

There is still a good few guys with loads of hours still without work both here in Europe&USA my mate was lucky that when he finished his training (60ish k) last year he managed to get a job with Ryanair which cost him another 30k to train on MOL planes,there have being other guys who have not been so lucky with getting a job which means they still have to keep all their licences current
    in case a position with a airline ever comes up which costs a small fortune or the worse case scenario they fail there medical and the €€€€ they spent on training is gone for ever if the medical condition cannot be sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

It's the way of the world, kick backs.
    I know people who get people a job in return for their first months wages, this is quite common with foreigners, especially Chinese, where everything is considered a business.

I'm presuming this is unskilled casual labour doing the security in the stadium, yeah it's a bit ****, but would your mate rather 11 in his pocket or 0. I'm sure the guy can get a queue of people at the mo, but that doesnt make it right I guess.

Not my cup of tea to do this to someone, but no huge anger towards someone who does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I recall reading a gumtree ad once where a guy offered him first months salary to anyone who got him in to a job, any job.

I wonder how he got on

There is still a good few guys with loads of hours still without work both here in Europe&USA my mate was lucky that when he finished his training (60ish k) last year he managed to get a job with Ryanair which cost him another 30k to train on MOL planes,there have being other guys who have not been so lucky with getting a job which means they still have to keep all their licences current
    in case a position with a airline ever comes up which costs a small fortune or the worse case scenario they fail there medical and the €€€€ they spent on training is gone for ever if the medical condition cannot be sorted.

There goes that idea then :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

He'll be laughing when he writes his autobiography though.