Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Homeless Rabbit Throws Man in Liffey

• 05-07-2011 9:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

From the News of the World...
    In a bizarre act of madness, Tony - a 25 year old rabbit who recently found himself unemployed & homeless due to the downturn in the economy - threw a man into the River Liffey in Dublin today, shortly after tea time.

The man was pulled unharmed from the river by emergency services after onlookers contacted them. Shortly afterwards, the rabbit - who remains as yet unnamed - was arrested by Gardai.

When asked to comment on the plight of the rabbit after his arrest, the man replied, "Good widdence to bad wubbish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

hope they didn't hack his voicemail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭De Hipster

Wabbit season?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I blame the myxomatosis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Very good :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

In a bizarre act of madness, Tony - a 25 year old rabbit who recently found himself unemployed & homeless due to the downturn in the economy - threw a man into the River Liffey in Dublin today, shortly after tea time.

The man was pulled unharmed from the river by emergency services after onlookers contacted them. Shortly afterwards, the rabbit - who remains as yet unnamed - was arrested by Gardai.

When asked to comment on the plight of the rabbit after his arrest, the man replied, "Good widdence to bad wubbish."

Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Fail.

Still an improvement for the NOTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Fail.

Yes you did.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Yes you did.

?

This is slander, I'll report you by leaving myself a voicemail. It's the only way I can be sure they'll get the message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

?

*sigh*

It was clearly part of the joke....

I love parody threads

No offence to the poor man who got thrown into the river by a rabbit

KeithM89 wrote: »
    *sigh*

It was clearly part of the joke....

Or if it wasn't, the OP will claim it to be now....sigh back atcha.

Needler wrote: »
    I love parody threads

No offence to the poor man who got thrown into the river by a rabbit

When did the parod come into it? :confused::confused:

the parod told the rabbit to do it

Needler wrote: »
    the parod told the rabbit to do it

You just can't trust those talking parods :(

It died, it's a former parod now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Nikolai Stepanov

*uck you NOTW, you *unt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

hahahahaha brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

was his name frank?

Right, well that's my nightmare sorted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Nikolai Stepanov

I genuinely embrace nightmares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

The writers at NOTW really are a bunch of uneducated prícks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

From the News of the World...

Must have been no wheelie bins nearby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

It died, it's a former parod now.

He's not dead, he's pining for the fjords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Who framed Tony Rabbit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Don't you know any art students OP ?
    We demand video evidence! This could all be just a deception, ya know.

My mate works on O Ocnnell bridge, was there today and this guy came up to us, said he was from an animal charity and he was looking for the homeless fella. They want to make a big deal of him, get press involved and give him a Compassion towards animals award.
    The homeless guy wasnt there,, but yer man said he come back after 6 to look again for him.

Made my day, glad the homeless guy will get a bit of Civic Appreciation

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Jake1 wrote: »
    My mate works on O Ocnnell bridge, was there today and this guy came up to us, said he was from an animal charity and he was looking for the homeless fella. They want to make a big deal of him, get press involved and give him a Compassion towards animals award.
    The homeless guy wasnt there,, but yer man said he come back after 6 to look again for him.

Made my day, glad the homeless guy will get a bit of Civic Appreciation

that must have been around the time the rabbit threw him in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I see what you did there.

Bosco boy wrote: »
    that must have been around the time the rabbit threw him in!

Sure he's famous now, he could get a house out of this. Who ever threw the rabbit in probably did him a massive favour with all the publicity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭TippFan77

I admire the courage of the man who risked his life to save the rabbit. I don't have the same admiration for the pimply faced little farts who sneer at him on Boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/man-charged-after-pet-thrown-into-river-liffey-513592.html
    Charges against a 19-year-old have been brought to court after a homeless man's pet rabbit was thrown into the River Liffey.

Barney's owner John Patrick Byrne has become something of a hero after he jumped in to rescue his pet.

Mr Byrne said that he was sitting on O'Connell Bridge when a youth grabbed his pet rabbit Barney by the ears and flung him into the Liffey.

The 38-year-old immediately braved the river to rescue Barney. Both were subsequently rescued by Dublin Fire Brigade.

A 19-year-old Gary Kearney of Conyngham Road in Dublin has been charged under the Protection of Animals Act and with breaching the peace on July 3.

His case came before the District Court for the first time today and was put back for a week by Judge David McHugh.

Mr Byrne recently receives the ARAN compassion award for rescuing the animal.