Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Learner Drivers ???

• 05-07-2011 5:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭

Hi...Could anyone tell me what happens if your a learner driver driving without a fully qualified driver and stopped by the guards??? Is it illegal?? Does it mean your insurance does not cover you also??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Alv_M wrote: »
    Hi...Could anyone tell me what happens if your a learner driver driving without a fully qualified driver and stopped by the guards??? Is it illegal?? Does it mean your insurance does not cover you also??

In a word: yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Blink182rock

don't mind that at all at all... drive away ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

If I could anti-thank you I would! Stop giving learners bad advice!!!

OP in answer to your question:

Yes it is illegal. A checkpoint can go either of 2 ways depending on the Garda. He may let you off or he may throw the book at you. Best to assume he'll throw the book at you!!

Insurance wise, you're covered but to be sure, phone up yours and get clarification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Alv_M

I have been...but im just wondering now what will happen when im stopped? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Expect the Worst, hope for the best :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Infraction given. Encouraging others to break the law is against the forum charter.

OP it is against the law.

You would face a fine of up to 1000 euro.

Not displaying L plates could incur an additional 1000 fine.

Get lessons, apply for your test when you can and get a full license. This is a skill you'll use for the rest of your life. The more you learn now, the better driver you will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Also, do you have your L plates up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Alv_M

Yeah i've L plates up..im driving 6 months now..never been stopped yet..waiting to do test..had lessons already :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Insurance wise, you're covered ,

Insurance wise you'll only be covered 3rd party.

There's also a chance that the insurance company could take you to court to reclaim any money paid out, but I've never heard of this happening yet.
    but to be sure phone up yours and get clarification

:eek::eek:

Hello insurance company, I plan on breaking the law. Are you OK with this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 LeMaverick

On the day of the test, is the accompanying driver expected to sit in the test centre and wait?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

LeMaverick wrote: »
    On the day of the test, is the accompanying driver expected to sit in the test centre and wait?

They can sit in the waiting room of the test centre if they like, or many centres have coffee shops and the like nearby, or they can bazz off shopping. There is no requirement that they wait in the centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 ladysadie

I'm a learner driver, I've been doing lessons on and off, but for the last while i've been doing them on a once a week basis and i feel like im very slowly improving.
    I feel if i get a car and get some practice (with a fully licensed driver) i'd improve much more.
    Everyone has reservations about taking out a Learner driver, so i thought if i bought my own car they'd be more likely to come out with me for practice.
    As I know nothing about cars i asked my Dad for advice.
    His advice was not to get a car at all until I pass my test, and just do lessons up until that point.
    I can't see me passing for years that way, and it il cost me a fortune.
    Does he have a point?
    I really need to be able to drive by Christmas too, for my job.
    Any advice welcome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

ladysadie wrote: »
    I'm a learner driver, I've been doing lessons on and off, but for the last while i've been doing them on a once a week basis and i feel like im very slowly improving.
    I feel if i get a car and get some practice (with a fully licensed driver) i'd improve much more.
    Everyone has reservations about taking out a Learner driver, so i thought if i bought my own car they'd be more likely to come out with me for practice.
    His advice was not to get a car at all until I pass my test, and just do lessons up until that point.
    Does he have a point?
    Any advice welcome!

Can you drive your Dads car? Would he allow that? I found it easier to drive once I learned in a car I was comfortable with. If you have to do the EDT lessons I'd probably stick to the ADI's car.

Practice is very important especially after a lesson. If you can't get a lend of a car I'd buy my own but that's just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

I drive unacompannied as well, I took like 26 lessons with ADI, got logbook fully filled in, when I asked my ADI: "Do you think I could drive alone?" he said: "Well by law you are not supposed to, but technically from seeing your driving you can drive no problem". So first I drove with a friend who had license for 20 years but he then became a distraction so I started driving on my own,got very confident. Was stopped twice on garda checks, nothing happened they didn't even ask for license. Then got car searched by undercover police because I was sitting on parking lot so they thought i am a drug dealer, they didn't check even tax or insurance, just car for drugs (obviously nothing found) but I am gonna apply for test asap

Thanks guys!

I really think its my only way to actually get a license

Any advice on my first car so???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

OP, Yes it is illegal by law to be unaccompanied while as a learner driver, doesn't matter how long you been driving for, how good a driver you are, and how ever long you've had lessons and how old your learner permit you have. Safety comes first!!

It does not matter where or how far or close a distance you are from home, when you on a public road it is considered illegal even if you only a few metres from home! Also I could be wrong regarding insurance but any instructor has told me that you are technically not insured to drive on your own unless you pass your test and that technically you are only insured with your insurance if you are driving accompanied with the exception of 3rd party of another driver you might a run in with.

It is illegal to drive on a public road.

Some people might think it ok to drive on your own after you pick it up to a reasonable standard but for safety reasons for inexperienced drivers and to gain confidence, skill, safety, experience built up enough and enough to get to a standard to pass the test best to have someone with you to monitor your driving. You might think you aren't making mistakes but your accompany driver and instructor are there to identify that and means to improve things in the right way in order to pass the test. They spot things you might not notice its hard to know unless someone points it out to you, hard to get used to have someone there with you I know and frustrating but they are just there to keep an eye on you that's all, you are learning from mistakes quicker if pointed out by ADI and Full license holder.

The proper tuition and practice could be the difference between a pass and a fail in your test! You learn from your mistakes quicker from an ADI/FL holder at least while you aren't racking your brains to see what you doing wrong. You could be forever trying to figure it out unless taught properly. Bad habits can cost you a pass in the test I know that myself! Though you do need to learn to do things for yourself without being too dependent on the person beside you but you learn from that too. Practice is what will pass your test on the day, you have to learn for yourself regardless no one can do it for you.

Remember you need to have your learner permit 6 months before sitting test, when to apply no restriction just that you won't get a date till nearer the 6 months are up and you have completed your 12 EDT lessons can't get a date unless they done that if it applies to you if you got your 1st learner permit on or after 4th april 2011.

Best of luck with the driving.

Doovdela I assume due to the time of posting that your comments might be directed at me?

I dont plan on driving on my own ( at the minute anyway) but its the only way I feel I can get practice. Several people have said they'd take me out in their cars, but they never do.
    They dont want there cars scratched.

I'd say from the sound of it you've been driving awhile.
    Every week i sit into my instructors car I feel like ive gone back ten paces from where i left off the last week. Lessons cost a fortune, and I feel im not getting as much out of them as I could.

Does he have a point?
    Any advice welcome!

Best if you can keep driving as much as possible if you can. Driving everyday is the best way forward even if only for five minutes a day and maybe one long journey a week, build up the bit of experience like. The more practice you get the better! It's practice and experience really that get you to pass your test and reach test standard to be honest. Experience every kind of condition possible. Challenge yourself once in a while its good!

I can see what you mean that having a car of your own can help with the practice meaning you get on the road nearly everyday which is great best all round if you only getting lessons once a week isn't enough unless you picking things up quickly and practising in between. Once you learning from the lessons that's great but its the practice in between that will help you progress further in your lessons to be honest! That is coming from experience mind!

Being honest with you, you need a car for practice in between lessons even if you drove your dad's car or a friends/family member's car. Driving in an instructors car isn't enough if you hope to pass the test but some people can get by without any car and just do the lessons in the instructors car just means they pick things up quicker and keep what they have learnt altogether! It takes time to build up everything you learnt and put it all together like. Everyone learns at a difference pace. Keep up with the driving as much as possible so that you do not have a set back in your driving, you never look back! Keep going as best you can! Believe in yourself!

Either get a car of your own or get a loan of a car to practise in. You'd have to get a lot of lessons in your instructors car otherwise which I think might be a waste of money where you can just do your required lessons for you whether the EDT's apply to you or not. Each learner is different some learn after a few lessons other's learn after a lot of lessons. You be doing pre-tests as well before the test to monitor your progress in time for the test.

You would improve a lot more by having a car to practise in between lessons anyway.

You are right, I say you be years before you pass you need to have a car to practise in in between to make any progress between lessons. You won't move on in them otherwise and that is speaking from experience believe me I a have been through the mill and back. If you think you can pass just with lessons go for it but if you feel you get no where without a car get that bit sorted out whether you buy your own or get a loan of a car to practise in with your full license accompany driver. Meet them half way and compromise on that by using their car maybe?

In the long run the more lessons you spend on the more expensive it be, it be expensive enough to run a car but I think having a car the pros outweighs the cons in my opinion. It gives you great independence having a car at all doesn't matter who your FL holder is as long as they had theirs for more than 2 years.

Its the start of September now, it take you the best of two to three months to get the basics right but everyone learns at different paces. I would suggest give yourself 4-5 months and see how things go and apply for test then once you've your EDT's if applicable done and that you sit test after learner permit is valid 6 months. Do what is comfortable for you and at your pace try not to rush it if you pick things up quickly great just go with flow! In the long run it cost you more best to cut down cost as much as possible at the moment while learning. You may or may not be ready by Christmas but you be nearly ready I say. You be ready to sit it by then I say depends on your progress!

I have taken a lot of lessons, been driving a few years, yet to pass test. I've learnt to drive have own car and just practise to my hearts content not much more I can do but sit test! Hopefully pass...

A car I would suggest a second hand one. Toyota yaris or nissan micra be best for learner drivers. A megane, a kia, skoda, vw polo/golf. Other cars like the opel corsa, ford fiesta/focus, peugeot, mazda and clio, rio/piacanto, ibiza seat and maybe a honda civic hyundai/mistubishi but wouldn't recommend the last three and would not recommend a rover of any sort. The others would be reasonable sized cars for learners in my opinion.

Doovdela I assume due to the time of posting that your comments might be directed at me?

I dont plan on driving on my own ( at the minute anyway) but its the only way I feel I can get practice. Several people have said they'd take me out in their cars, but they never do.

Every week i sit into my instructors car I feel like ive gone back ten paces from where i left off the last week. Lessons cost a fortune, and I feel im not getting as much out of them as I could.

Hiya sorry that for OP, I edit the other post, replied to your posts a minute ago sorry for confusion!

Hmmm true, been driving four years and on the road a while so know what its like to be frustrated with the driving, all learner's been there at some point whether or not it came easily to them or not! Ya I can see where you are coming from you feel you aren't progressing without practising in between lessons and that you don't get beyond a point after an actual lesson with your ADI and it can be expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭MaggieNF

arleitiss wrote: »
    I drive unacompannied as well, I took like 26 lessons with ADI, got logbook fully filled in, when I asked my ADI: "Do you think I could drive alone?" he said: "Well by law you are not supposed to, but technically from seeing your driving you can drive no problem". So first I drove with a friend who had license for 20 years but he then became a distraction so I started driving on my own,got very confident. Was stopped twice on garda checks, nothing happened they didn't even ask for license. Then got car searched by undercover police because I was sitting on parking lot so they thought i am a drug dealer, they didn't check even tax or insurance, just car for drugs (obviously nothing found) but I am gonna apply for test asap

Guards have stopped me sometimes as well, when I drive unaccompanied and said nothing, it's a rule but it is no way enforced. I did also take a lot of lessons and I felt I was getting nowhere, then I dropped a friend somewhere and had to go the couple of miles to collect them on my own, and the improvement in my driving in that short trip was incredible, even if it is only a small spin somewhere I would recommend a bit of practise on your own or with someone outside of lesson times, it helped me more than any number of lessons would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

MaggieNF wrote: »
    Guards have stopped me sometimes as well, when I drive unaccompanied and said nothing, it's a rule but it is no way enforced. I did also take a lot of lessons and I felt I was getting nowhere, then I dropped a friend somewhere and had to go the couple of miles to collect them on my own, and the improvement in my driving in that short trip was incredible, even if it is only a small spin somewhere I would recommend a bit of practise on your own or with someone outside of lesson times, it helped me more than any number of lessons would.

Well when I started driving un acompanied first I did small journeys like 10 minutes, now so far I have built up and used to driving 100 km away and back which is to like carlow from city centre, obviously using "R" roads and National Primary roads as it's a no go on motorways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

About 4 years ago I got a car and ended up selling it due to the unwillingness of myself to break the law. I'd have a lesson, do well and not be able to get anyone to go out with consistently. I got frustrated and sold the car while I wasn't going to make much of a loss on it. I always said I'd go back to it again and approach it from a different angle.

So I started up lessons again and was flying but I couldn't get the practice in again. My parents don't drive and my Brother lives far away. It's also hard to get out with anyone else as I need to be insured on their car and hope they're available.

The instructor told me that I needed to start driving without him as I was at the stage with the lessons that I was doing well but needed to go out alone. So I haven't got any significent driving done in ages as there's no one around consistently enough for me to progress to test level. My only option is to spend a fortune on lesson after lesson and hope that's enough to pass a test.

I see people driving away while being unaccompanied and they're getting better and better while I'm relying on someone else, which I hate. It's actually at the stage that I get mocked for not driving alone, I'm told I'm being ridiculous and nothing will happen if I'm caught. I'm very conscientious, never taken a drink in my life, so you can be guaranteed I'll never even be close to an alcohol limit while driving. I'm also a very careful driver.

My own adherence to the law has hindered me. I really wish there was a system that if you do your EDT lessons, the instructor could sign a document to say you can drive unaccompanied while waiting on your test.

I refuse to give in and just drive alone, you can just imagine the scenario, the person that actually cares about the law and hasn't driven alone, gets caught one day and has the book thrown at them.

I will get my licence the proper way, I won't let the system stop me but I would've had it already only for my unwillingness on law breaking. Not that I'd ever look for people to say "fair play for respecting the law", but it's really the opposite, it's like I'm some sort of freak for obeying this particular law.