Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

T85 Dish

• 05-07-2011 2:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭

Does anybody has any experience of the Maximum T85 Toroidal dish ?
    I'm considering one as an alternative to the T90 for a multisat setup.
    I previously had a motorised 1m Gibertini dish .
    I thought about using my 1m dish as a multifeed dish and getting an adaptor for it but I think a T85 or T90 would be a better design.

The T90 is ideal for my requirements but its a huge dish,very heavy ,and I am reluctant to wall mount .I cannot ground mount due to the site layout.
    I'd also need to remove my current TK brackets for it due to its design as it has to sit ontop of the pole and it would be up too high .

I was hoping to receive 28e,23.5e,19e,16e,13e,9e,7e and 1w .
    The T85 is 92cm high but only 71cm wide and its gain rolls off alot outside +/- 10 degrees.
    I dont think the rail allows 3 degree spacing either so diy may be needed.
    It would attach to my current brackets though and isnt too heavy .
    I'm unsure of its performance though.

Does anyone have any opinions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Newtown90

214_bg.jpg

Is that the dish your on about??

Personally i'd go for a T90 and a good Diseqc switch if i had the money (which i don't) :(...

I'm sure you could alter the bracket and get them small alps lnbs for the 3 degree spacing..

But could be tough pulling all those sats in with it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Glenviewjf wrote: »
    214_bg.jpg

Is that the dish your on about??

Personally i'd go for a T90 and a good Diseqc switch if i had the money (which i don't) :(...

I'm sure you could alter the bracket and get them small alps lnbs for the 3 degree spacing..

But could be tough pulling all those sats in with it..
    Yes ,thats the one allright ;)

Tests indicate that the T85 performs as an 80cm dish between +/- 10 degrees and 60cm outside that to +/-20 degrees.
    //www.satshop24.de/Messprotokoll.pdf
    The T90 performs as a 90cm dish +/- 10 degrees.80cm outside that to +/-20.
    So it seems the T90's gain is alot more constant .

If I'm honest I cant see much difference between the T85 and a normal dish with a multifeed adapter.

Very little m8..

I used a lidl dish when i tried to make my own multiarm!!

Its a hatchet set-up but works great!

DSC00181.jpg

DSC00187.jpg

Very little m8..

I used a lidl dish when i tried to make my own multiarm!!

Its a hatchet set-up but works great!

DSC00181.jpg

DSC00187.jpg
    Frankendish .
    Mad looking yoke,fair play.:)

Making a smaller tidy one tonight..

Hope to have it up by the weekend..

Ill post a pic when its done!

But cheers :)

I was laughed at by some when i said i was gonna do it..

Proved the doubters wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭MrTrebus

Making a smaller tidy one tonight..

Hope to have it up by the weekend..

Ill post a pic when its done!

But cheers :)

I was laughed at by some when i said i was gonna do it..

Proved the doubters wrong!

Mate,

major kudos to you for getting that to work !!! :eek::eek:
    screw those that said it couldnt be done ......ya cant keep a good man down huh
    fair play to ya !

I kinda planned it well and had a nice research..

Ill post a few pics here..

But have a 6 page long thread on a site i work on for anyone to see if they want the link pm me..

bracketv.png

dsc00135dw.jpg

dsc00136w.jpg

dsc00142p.jpg

The first drawing has an error in it as I hadnt accounted for the signals being crossed..

So 28east should be where 13 east is and vice versa

Currently spraying my new one so it doesn't look as bad as the first attempt!

But it was a great buzz doing!

Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Last

I have both dishes lying in the back yard not in use at the moment. The T90 is quite a heavy dish and I would suggest mounting it on a ground pole for easy access as it does take a lot of trial and error to set up. I know one of the problems I had was the frame getting in the way when trying to mount quad lnbs. Also if I remember correctly the T90 comes with 5 lnb holders as standard. If you intend connecting more, order them at the same time, as you have to slide them on from either end, so you cannot connect them afterwards without disrupting existing setup. The T85 is a very simple dish to align and no problem mounting quads however I dont think you will be able to manage 2 and 3 degree spacing without some mods. I would also say I was never able to get a decent signal on Thor. I will have a look at it again tomorrow and see what spacing is possible.

Thanks for the very informative post Last
    Last wrote: »
    I have both dishes lying in the back yard not in use at the moment. The T90 is quite a heavy dish and I would suggest mounting it on a ground pole for easy access as it does take a lot of trial and error to set up. I know one of the problems I had was the frame getting in the way when trying to mount quad lnbs.
    Thats very helpful info.
    My current TK brackets are up quite high (14ft) and protrude over a lower roof so its kind of akward to work up there as I have to use a roof ladder to get up there .

Perhaps I could set the dish up at ground level and then move it up to the higher position ,some people have done that.
    Best option would probably be to mount the dish lower on the Southerly wall ,I can have easy access to it .
    Only drawback is the exposure to high winds.
    Also if I remember correctly the T90 comes with 5 lnb holders as standard. If you intend connecting more, order them at the same time, as you have to slide them on from either end, so you cannot connect them afterwards without disrupting existing setup.
    I was aware it only came with 5 lnb holders,I plan to order 3 more.
    I didnt know about having to put the lnb holders on initially ,thats very good info.

I plan on using a combination of Sharp and Smart Titanium lnbs along with a few narrow Alps lnbs for 7e and 9e.
    The T85 is a very simple dish to align and no problem mounting quads however I dont think you will be able to manage 2 and 3 degree spacing without some mods. I would also say I was never able to get a decent signal on Thor.
    I think 4 degree spacing is the minimum on the T85 ,the lnb holders on it are very wide .

What kind of performance did the T85 give you ,would you recommend it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

Intersting thread. Im moving house in August and i think my motorised set up will have to take a back seat. I am planning of having 28, 19, 13 east on the same dish. Ive a 80 cm Gerbtini that i currently use for 28 east and 19east offset. I am worrying though when i align to 19 east and have offset for 13 and 28 east, the signal loss in bad weather will be to great for 28 east? Currently i have never lost signal on 28 east (Only when the lnb was covered in snow)

Reason im thinking of ditching the motorised set up is that the south east side of house is surrounded by trees and there wont be space for the 1.1m motor setup. I reckon a fixed multi lnb dish will fit on a ground mount easily between the trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,304 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Zardoz wrote: »
    If I'm honest I cant see much difference between the T85 and a normal dish with a multifeed adapter.

+1 on this OP a good quality dish alá Triax TD88 or Gibertini 80cm or 90cm will cover the spread your after just as well.
    I think without the waveguide reflector of the T90 that the T85 cant really come close to it performance wise and is more akin to normal dish and multifeed anyway.
    In your shoes I'd keep the 1mtr dish and get the lnb adaptor ;)
    snaps wrote: »
    Intersting thread. Im moving house in August and i think my motorised set up will have to take a back seat. I am planning of having 28, 19, 13 east on the same dish. Ive a 80 cm Gerbtini that i currently use for 28 east and 19east offset. I am worrying though when i align to 19 east and have offset for 13 and 28 east, the signal loss in bad weather will be to great for 28 east? Currently i have never lost signal on 28 east (Only when the lnb was covered in snow)

Reason im thinking of ditching the motorised set up is that the south east side of house is surrounded by trees and there wont be space for the 1.1m motor setup. I reckon a fixed multi lnb dish will fit on a ground mount easily between the trees.

I wouldn't be worried too much about signal drop on 28east in Multisat.
    The Gilbirtini will easily cover a 20 degree spread so you should have no trouble at all with 28.2, 19.2 and 13 with overhead to spare ;)
    I don't have a Gil but I do have my TD88 aligned on 16e and 6 LNBs in place for 9e, 13e, 16e, 19.2e, 23.5e and 28.2e.(And if I extend the bar I know I can get more!!!!Muhahahahaha)
    I've never had any problem at all with 28.2, at a 12 degree offset I get an SNR of @ 94% on BBCHD and @80% on Skysports1HD.
    The only beams I've ever had any issue with are 16e which is notorious anyway.....I pull in at @52% in all but really bad weather and I very occasionally(not that I use it much) drop off on 9e too.

PS:I can also pull in 7e but didn't leave it in my setup as 2 degree spacing is beyond me ;) and I'm actually sure if I use an LNB extender bracket I could pull in 1 west aswell, But with the majority of my viewing being on 28 and 19.2 and having those set up for true PVR I only have a few slots to play with on my Diseqc set up without swopping for new switches or going down a cascade route ;)

dsc00212mi.jpg

dsc00213q.jpg

As promised!

Have yet to put up the 13 east lnb again!

But I dream of a T90...

They look the dogs b*ll*x...

banie01 wrote: »
    +1 on this OP a good quality dish alá Triax TD88 or Gibertini 80cm or 90cm will cover the spread your after just as well.
    I think without the waveguide reflector of the T90 that the T85 cant really come close to it performance wise and is more akin to normal dish and multifeed anyway.
    In your shoes I'd keep the 1mtr dish and get the lnb adaptor ;)
    Cheers banie01, I have been following your diy work for a while,good work.:)
    I think your right about the T85,I dont see how it technically can offer significantly superior performance over a standard high quality dish like the Gibertini.
    I guess its advantage is that it come preset for multifeed and it can accomodate more than 4 satellite positions.
    Most of the adapters for the Gibertini and Triax only accomodate 4 lnbs ,I know you can get more on but its akward .
    I have sold the Gibertini though ,it was a fine dish ,rust free ,unlike the T90 which is prone to rust by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Last

I would recomend the T85 especially for easy set up. I would agree that any dish with a multi lnb bracket can be used. At the moment I have a 1 metre gilbertini for 23.5E 19.2E and 13E. If however you are buying a new dish why not get one that is actually designed for multi-sat reception. I am in the middle of renovating and when finished intend to set up 2 T85's one possibly with 28E, 19.2E, 13E, 7E, 0.8W and the other with 23.5E, 16E, 10E, or 9E, 4.8E, 5W etc. This will cover the general stuff that comes and goes and I can mount them where they will be seen by my neighbour as they are not too "ugly". This enabled me to keep cable runs from different rooms to a minimum.
    I also have a duct from living room to a garden wall (cable run on approx 35 metres) for the T90 and other pecular stuff that I need to be able to access easy as it will be constantly changing. Having it seperate from the "general" stuff means I wont be disrupting normal viewing when "playing".

Last wrote: »
    I would recomend the T85 especially for easy set up. I would agree that any dish with a multi lnb bracket can be used. At the moment I have a 1 metre gilbertini for 23.5E 19.2E and 13E. If however you are buying a new dish why not get one that is actually designed for multi-sat reception. I am in the middle of renovating and when finished intend to set up 2 T85's one possibly with 28E, 19.2E, 13E, 7E, 0.8W and the other with 23.5E, 16E, 10E, or 9E, 4.8E, 5W etc. This will cover the general stuff that comes and goes and I can mount them where they will be seen by my neighbour as they are not too "ugly". This enabled me to keep cable runs from different rooms to a minimum.
    I also have a duct from living room to a garden wall (cable run on approx 35 metres) for the T90 and other pecular stuff that I need to be able to access easy as it will be constantly changing. Having it seperate from the "general" stuff means I wont be disrupting normal viewing when "playing".
    Good post .

My main worry of the T85 is the minimum spacing,will it allow 3 degrees ?
    If it does then I think I would favour it over the T90 as I could cover the satellites I want and have a neater and easier setup.
    According to the test data if I centre the dish on 12e (virtual)
    28e should perform as a 60cm
    23.5e as a 60cm
    19e as an 80cm
    16e as an 80cm
    13e as a 90cm
    7e as a 90cm and 1w as a 60cm
    That would be a pretty good spread .

On my travels researching the different types of dishes ,I found an interesting test that compared the performance of different dishes over a multisat range.
    The results are interesting .

It compares a T90,T85,and a 1m dish over a multisat range.
    It also compares fixed 80cm ,90cm, and 1m dishes at various satellite positions for comparison .

Whats interesting is that over the range 1w to 28e ,a 1m offset dish significantly outperforms the T85 dish .
    The T90's performance is very impressive over a very large range .

On my travels researching the different types of dishes ,I found an interesting test that compared the performance of different dishes over a multisat range.
    The results are interesting .

It compares a T90,T85,and a 1m dish over a multisat range.
    It also compares fixed 80cm ,90cm, and 1m dishes at various satellite positions for comparison .

Whats interesting is that over the range 1w to 28e ,a 1m offset dish significantly outperforms the T85 dish .
    The T90's performance is very impressive over a very large range .

I told ya so :p:p:p:pac:
    I hadn't seen that info but anectodally its something I 'knew' without actually seeing the numbers.
    And from looking at the graph a 1 mtr dish completly outperforms a T85 and even an 80cm dish offers almost the same performance with the benefit of lower price ;)
    Just out of curiousity is the graph based on the premise that each dish is centred on 16e?
    From that analysis the t85 is a complete waste of money.

Just from my own tweaking experience and from talking to others who went down the multisat route unless your chasing huge spreads or weaker sats a 1mtr dish will do a great job for most applications.
    I know a few dudes with 30'degree spreads on 1 mtr dishes and while I only have a 20'deg spread on my set up currently I'm sure it could be pushed a lot wider if I tried.....but that'd invlve me doing some work.....and sure its summer :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭RimaNTSS

I personally think that T85 is not comparable to T90, which will lose on all main positions except price and weight. So, if somebody is looking for a great antenna, than T90 would be proper choice. T90 allows even 2 degrees spacing like for 4.8*-7*-9*.
    2 Glenviewjf: If I were you I would not use such a massive elements for LNB holders, there is no need for tightening LNB with 8mm nuts. And I think that tuning up this multifeed is painful process. Of course, at the end of the day, it is possible, but then you get this Frankenstein looking solution. I also suspect, you spent lots of time and effort to make this.
    Just couple of days ago I have got my new multifeed for 1,2m dish (picture 1). Of course, to make this you should have friend who knows how to weld or there is metal workshop nearby.
    Picture2 shows my SAT playground

RimaNTSS wrote: »
    I personally think that T85 is not comparable to T90, which will lose on all main positions except price and weight. So, if somebody is looking for a great antenna, than T90 would be proper choice. T90 allows even 2 degrees spacing like for 4.8*-7*-9*.
    2 Glenviewjf: If I were you I would not use such a massive elements for LNB holders, there is no need for tightening LNB with 8mm nuts. And I think that tuning up this multifeed is painful process. Of course, at the end of the day, it is possible, but then you get this Frankenstein looking solution. I also suspect, you spent lots of time and effort to make this.
    Just couple of days ago I have got my new multifeed for 1,2m dish (picture 1). Of course, to make this you should have friend who knows how to weld or there is metal workshop nearby.
    Picture2 shows my SAT playground

It took a while mate yes but i've 3 months holidays so i'm sure you would do something to pass a few days aswell if you were me!

Its a bit of crack for me...

I would have no satisfaction in buying a bracket...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭RimaNTSS

In my case brackets are not really out of the shelf as well.
    But main question of this topic was: Could the T85 be an alternative to T90?
    And here I am totally agreed with Banie01 that T85 is simple waste of money.
    P.S. I wish I had 3 month of annual vocation

In my case brackets are not really out of the shelf as well.
    P.S. I wish I had 3 month of annual vocation

I say a T90 and a good switch anyways..

T85 looks like a gimic to me, looks like a standard 80cm dish with an lnb bracket!

Oh RimaNTSS you don't want 3 months trust me! Id go back in the morning if i could! lol

Yes your bracket is cool m8! lol ;):D

T85 looks like a gimic to me, looks like a standard 80cm dish with an lnb bracket!
    Looking at the graph a 1 mtr dish completly outperforms a T85 and even an 80cm dish offers almost the same performance with the benefit of lower price wink.gif
    From that analysis the t85 is a complete waste of money.

Thanks guys for the advice,always appreciated.
    Yes,I'm beginning to think that the T85 may be a bit limited for my needs.
    Its probably allright for central Europe but its focal point of +/- 8 degrees is insufficient this far west.
    Its performance does look suspect over a wide range and it looks like its even outperformed by an 80cm dish which is unacceptable.
    In its favour ,it does have the advantage over a normal dish of being able to skew the axis,so I'd expect it to outperform an 80cm dish.
    This comparison here rates the T85 alot higher.
    http://www.satshop24.de/Messprotokoll.pdf
    T85: + / - 8 degrees is similar to a 90cm dish and from 8 to 24 degrees from center the gain rolls off to a 55cm dish
    Its hard to know what the true performance is.

I told ya so :p:p:p:pac:
    Quick query Banie01 ,does the triax multi-block allow a focal LNB ,i.e an lnb on the middle of the bar ?

Not without modification it won't ;)But with a file and some epoxy putty it will ;)
    Also to be sure to get enough height to allow 28'2 on the offset you should flip the bar and redrill it with a new hole off centre to allow the bar to be offset.
    Better explanation here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70992575&postcount=8

To get say 13e 16e and 19.2 you will need 2 slimline LNBs and a modified LNB holder.
    I used a pared down Triax LNB holder that I epoxied onto the centre position of the multiarm bar along with an Inverto Multiconnect superslim LNB(Not a lot of space between 13e and 19.2
    I posted pics of the finished item on my thread here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71172302&postcount=27
    And there are some pics of a much neater job here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71013787&postcount=11

Best piece of advice I could give if you are going to do 13e 16e 19e with 16e at prime is set the bar with 13' and 19' 1st then you will know exactly how much room you have to play with to get the the centre LNB in, if I was to start over I'd go for 3 ALPs or Inverto Multiconnect LNBs for that part of my spread to keep it neat and pretty looking!
    But my setup kinda grew from what I started with and is a bit of a hatchet job :p

Not without modification it won't ;)But with a file and some epoxy putty it will ;)
    Also to be sure to get enough height to allow 28'2 on the offset you should flip the bar and redrill it with a new hole off centre to allow the bar to be offset.
    Better explanation here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70992575&postcount=8

To get say 13e 16e and 19.2 you will need 2 slimline LNBs and a modified LNB holder.
    I used a pared down Triax LNB holder that I epoxied onto the centre position of the multiarm bar along with an Inverto Multiconnect superslim LNB(Not a lot of space between 13e and 19.2
    I posted pics of the finished item on my thread here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71172302&postcount=27
    And there are some pics of a much neater job here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71013787&postcount=11

Best piece of advice I could give if you are going to do 13e 16e 19e with 16e at prime is set the bar with 13' and 19' 1st then you will know exactly how much room you have to play with to get the the centre LNB in, if I was to start over I'd go for 3 ALPs or Inverto Multiconnect LNBs for that part of my spread to keep it neat and pretty looking!
    But my setup kinda grew from what I started with and is a bit of a hatchet job :p
    Thanks Banie01,lots of good info in there .Thanks
    Its very hard for me to decide on what the best setup would be,so many permutations.

Zardoz... Saw this and thought of you ;)
    Who cares how heavy it is!!!!LOL That is a legendary dish set up and with room for more too!!!
    I may change my own dish now!
    77117.jpg

Zardoz....Damn you!!! :p
    Your curiosity regarding MultiLNB setups has left me feeling my own set up is inadequate now :P
    I saw this set up on a Triax TD Multifocus Unique
    "http://www.satlex.de/en/image_window.html?name=triax&pic=1"
    And this one on a T90 is a fine set up, especially considering the dish size iz 1.06mtr wide and .90mtr High!!! Smaller footprint than a 1.1 dish really!
    http://www.satlex.de/en/image_window.html?name=wavefrontier&pic=1
    And if ya decide to go with the Gib,You can have a central focus LNB without modding(Which I wasn't sure of!)....
    http://www.satlex.de/en/gibertini85-pic_1.html

I'm suffering a severe case of Dish envy now :(
    My own just doesn't seem up to the Job anymore!!!LOL :phttps://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/109324/151486.jpg
    Off to get me a T90 and 2 8way switches now for my next birthday I think ;) hahaha

Zardoz....Damn you!!! :p
    Your curiosity regarding MultiLNB setups has left me feeling my own set up is inadequate now :P
    Lol ,sorry about that :D
    I'm suffering a severe case of Dish envy now frown.gif
    My own just doesn't seem up to the Job anymore!!!LOL URL]
    Your setup covers the main satellites,almost 80% of the main tv stations in Europe.
    When I had my motorised dish those satellites plus 1w were the only ones I ever watched anyway.
    And this one on a T90 is a fine set up, especially considering the dish size iz 1.06mtr wide and .90mtr High!!! Smaller footprint than a 1.1 dish really!
    The dish is slightly smaller but dont forget the front reflector wihich is 80cm from the dish.
    Its also 14kg in weight and front loaded due to the front reflector which exerts extra load .
    Most people do not recommend wall mounting it due to its size.
    And if ya decide to go with the Gib,You can have a central focus LNB without modding(Which I wasn't sure of!)....
    Yes,I was aware of that.
    The Gib also allows 3 degree spacing is alot lighter and made of aluminium so it doesnt rust.

Lol ,sorry about that :D
    Your setup covers the main satellites,almost 80% of the main tv stations in Europe.
    When I had my motorised dish those satellites plus 1w were the only ones I ever watched anyway.

Yeah I know I have great coverage, but I have one of those obsessive if its there I must have it kinda personalities :p LOL
    I might try extending out to 1W and just see how it goes :)
    Solely for the sake of just seeing if I can of course ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

made myself a bracket for my Gerbertini 80cm. Using 4*quad Sky MK4 lnbs, getting very good reception on 13, 19 (Centered), 23.5 and 28.2 east.

Does anyone know what the loss in gain on a standard dish is for off centre lnbs ?
    i.e the loss in gain for a 5 degree offset,10 degree offset etc
    It seems to roll off dramatically from what I can deduce .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Ghostleader

Does anyone know what the loss in gain on a standard dish is for off centre lnbs ?
    i.e the loss in gain for a 5 degree offset,10 degree offset etc
    It seems to roll off dramatically from what I can deduce .

From personal experiance, 80cm dish focused on 13E, 6 degree offset for 19E = 70cm dish, 15.2 degree offset for 28E = more like a 48 to 50cm dish, beyond this even if there was a bird six degrees after that your talking about the performance of a 30cm dish (Less the size of even the most cheapo camping set supplied dish).

Thanks Ghostleader so an 80cm dish has an effective range of ~25 degrees in this neck of the woods as most of the stronger satellites require a 50-55cm dish .
    1m would probably have a slightly wider range .
    28e to 1w may be too much of a span on a standard dish this far West I fear ,you are alot further east so signal for 1w and 7e is alot stronger.
    Perhaps I am being greedy, 28e to 7e may be all I really need.

snaps wrote: »
    made myself a bracket for my Gerbertini 80cm. Using 4*quad Sky MK4 lnbs, getting very good reception on 13, 19 (Centered), 23.5 and 28.2 east.
    Gibertini 85cm more likely I'd say ?
    Its actually a good bit bigger than an 80cm dish ,outer dimensions are 90cm high by 85cm wide.
    Gibertini make excellent dishes.

Zardoz, I've being doing some playing about with my own setup over the last week or 2 and after editing my satellites.xml file I'm pulling lots of 7e (Digiturk and others) on the LNB I have pointed at 9e :)

I edited the xml to merge the tp's at 7e,9e and 10e into just 1 position(After reading 1 LNB could receive sats within 2degrees) and granted its a bit of a frankenstein solution ;)
    But it works and with some tweaking(I'm thinking move the LNB to a position between the 2 to peak the signal on Both....a compromise ;) or even trying to rig some sort of ancilliary reflector to boost 7e.....But that will take planning!
    But I want to see how far I can push it :) )I think it could be a nice little mod :)

I also merged a few other positions in the .xml but haven't really gone through the last scanned yet to see if there were any other gains.

Zardoz, I've being doing some playing about with my own setup over the last week or 2 and after editing my satellites.xml file I'm pulling lots of 7e (Digiturk and others) on the LNB I have pointed at 9e :)

I edited the xml to merge the tp's at 7e,9e and 10e into just 1 position(After reading 1 LNB could receive sats within 2degrees) and granted its a bit of a frankenstein solution ;)
    But it works and with some tweaking(I'm thinking move the LNB to a position between the 2 to peak the signal on Both....a compromise ;) or even trying to rig some sort of ancilliary reflector to boost 7e.....But that will take planning!
    But I want to see how far I can push it :) )I think it could be a nice little mod :)

I also merged a few other positions in the .xml but haven't really gone through the last scanned yet to see if there were any other gains.
    Nice work Banie01,clever idea that,good ingenuity.:)
    I am still deciding what route to go down ,working out a few logistical issues.
    Its going to be either
    a)T90
    b)Gibertini 1m or 85cm with multifeed bar
    c)T85

I cut out some cardboard dish shapes ,T90 and T85 exact dimensions ,and was getting an idea of what they would look like up on the wall.
    Neighbours must have thought I was mad.:D