Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf - John Deere Classic and Barclays Scottish Open

• 04-07-2011 7:05pm
    Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭

I'll edit my post tomorrow or Wenesday as I'm still indecisive about my 2nd and last in the US and 2 picks for Europe this week.

Euro -

Firstly, It's not at Loch Lomand for those who don't know but still has attracted a quality field. It will be hosted by Castle Stuart Golf Links which going from their site looks very nice.

Ramsey @ 66/1
    Havret @ 80/1

US -

Stricker @ 7/1

Odds are so ridiculously short but with good reason, he's won this event for the last 2 years and thus, the three peat is on! @ 7/1 I'll have a decent some on him. I'd love to have have a bet on Day, but having two players @ 10/1 and lower? Meh. Big single on Sticker and a small double with him and Tseng in the US Womens Open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

prices are a joke this week
    i'll do 2 e/w singles and an e/w double,both tourneys 6 places e/w
    Zach Johnson @20/1
    and
    Anders Hansen @60/1
    best of luck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Scottish open

Ramsey
    Palmer
    Steele
    Paul Lawrie

Taken chance with 2 Americans and two home players

John deere

Slocum
    Rollins
    Z.Johnson

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

^

Quite like the look of Richie Ramsey myself @ 66/1 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

I'll take your word on Ramsey lads with a small bet @ 84/1

Ramsey is good price alright.. Slocum was 66/1 in places for bit but was quickly snapped up for John Deere that would been great price to get now 50/1 at best.

I think do couple of more players still undecided at minute as to who.

Gave a little tweet to Scott Stallings asking him how he was going go this week after me backing him in last few comps and he said he was looking good so I am trusting him to make me a good pay day on Sunday:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭jjll

cant see past stricker very short price but will go single on him and double him up with tseng in the us womens open she is just a machine

scotland will do a silly e/w on gary woodland 66/1 long driver and will get alot of run on ball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

mainly betting on the scottish open with

Ernie Els 60
    Eduardo Molinari 90
    Bradley Dredge 160
    Thongchai Jaidee 270

and just dabbled in the John Dere with 20 quid spread between these

Chris Di Marco 140
    Arjun Atwal 280
    David Duval 280
    Todd Hamilton 410
    Mike Weir 520
    Frank Lickliter 660

• Moderators Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭x PyRo

I'm keeping faith with Chris Stroud, e/w @ 66's.

For what reason, I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Few here have said Richie Ramsay, few golf tipsters online have said him and I have no interest in golf or have any knowledge. Small e/w bet on Ramsay at 80/1 on Bet365.

x PyRo wrote: »
    I'm keeping faith with Chris Stroud, e/w @ 66's.

For what reason, I don't know.

He showing good progress though with Cut-17-6 so going in right direction. He was best for GIR last week too.

You should get value for money anyway

Few here have said Richie Ramsay, few golf tipsters online have said him and I have no interest in golf or have any knowledge. Small e/w bet on Ramsay at 80/1 on Bet365.

At this stage nearly too many people have him for him to win:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

scottish mcdowell@24.

john deere..v taylor@90.

gl to all this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭fatherbuzcagney

did 5e e/w double, ramsey@66/1 in scottish doubled with andres romero@45/1 in US with boyles, total stake 10e.

Scottish open

Ramsey
    Palmer
    Steele
    Paul Lawrie

Taken chance with 2 Americans and two home players

John deere

Slocum
    Rollins
    Z.Johnson

Just done one more bet and taken the advice of Stallings at 150/1

Wish everyone a profitable wend.

anyone know why Oosthuizen is playing in america this week?..shocked to see his name in the betting when the open is so close.

No idea why but strange call alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

He took up full membership on the PGA Tour for this season, that's why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭mufc2010

american-............5 win z.johnson 18/1

euro... 2 euro ew on ramsey 66/1 since most of yous backed him hopefully has a great week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭seathestar

John Deere:

Cameron Tringale
    Blake Adams

Scottish Open:

Andreas Hansen

All small e/w stakes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

Just the Scott's open this week for me.
    E5 on Havret 66/1, Laird 40/1 and Coetzee 80/1 o/r
    All three of them lads again to be first round leader. E2 stake each!
    Good luck everyone!::pac:

Fursttimer wrote: »
    He took up full membership on the PGA Tour for this season, that's why.

yes,but he needs to only play a certain number of events and has the rest of the year to do so..i find it odd hes away to america with the defence of his open only next week..strange preparation in my opinion.

just added that danish lad, thoborn oleson 25/1 in running. now im done!:D

i backed chez reavie last night at 360/310 on betfair when he was -2.had close on 5 grand green on him..had a a target of 20 set to lay him..just logged on to see it was matched,but hes 10 under for today and trading at single figures:o..sickner or what!!

going to take a punt on stricker @8.6.

From his Twitter -
    Graeme_McDowell Graeme McDowell
    Just been informed by the European Tour that we will be playing only 54 holes this week at the Scottish Open. Course is in bad shape.

From his Twitter -

cheers for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

I think anyone that hasn't even finished their 2nd round will struggle to catch the leaders. McDowell went from 5/1 to 3/1 when it was announced.
    I have a few cross doubles with him in it, himself and Stricker, so I'm trying to decide if 54 holes is good news or bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

Do all our outright bets still stand or whats the story??
    it can't be fair on the lads still playing their second round??

all bets stand all bookies pay after 36 holes

debating which to do donald or mcdowell at 7/2 at moment

took donald at 6/4

jjll wrote: »
    took donald at 6/4

boooooooooooooo:D

cmon gmac.:p

Stanley is on some run atm. Stuck 15 on him @ 4/1 just there. Hopefully Stricker gets the job done though.

hopefully its abit hard to watch at mo:rolleyes:

think stricker has gone really lost it

Tense stuff :D

Sticker wins, 160 euro pocketed. Happy chappy. Should never have doubted him :D

Well done lads :)

lads what a fecking finish..im still buzzing after that..best finish ive seen i think!!..thats why we all love golf..

i had all but given up the ghost..was fuming with my greed as stanley was smallest green at 63 euro and had a chance to trade stricker at 1.03 earlier and never..

ended up 356 on stricker..

a good end to a bad day after mcdowell's perforance and watching waterford get humped earlier..

role on the open.

yes what a finish i was gasping at that bunker shot then i was thinking play off but what a finish now im unfortunatly backing stricker to miss cut in open

Well done to you guys that had good weekend....

Roll on the Open its only major I have never had a winner and not many placed either, money wise been a bad one for sure hope to put that right.

Hey all! As a matter of interest, does anyone think george coetzee is hugely overpriced for next weeks open at 200/1? Wont conditions play similar to next week?

You can get him at 440 on BF....At that price he huge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

put €2 on Coetzee at 446 (betfair) for a laugh :pac: Has been placing well recently so while I don't expect him to even be close he's still probably over priced :D

will back stricker to miss cut but will stick to viking classic in america