Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shocking Treatment Towards Football Fans

• 03-07-2011 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

Just reading the below article on The Guardian website and it really is a sad indication that football fans are treated appallingly by police simply for being football fans.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2011/jul/03/football-fan-attacked
    Until 11 September last year, the police were rather admired in the Meyers household. Tony Meyers is a firefighter, a profession in which you work closely with the police and tend to get on with them, and his younger son, then 17, had done work experience with the police and was considering it as a career.

All that changed in a few dreadful seconds on Reading station, when the two of them were forced to watch as officers handcuffed Tony's older son, 20-year-old Leeds University student Tommy, forced him on to the ground, and set a police dog on him. The dog bit fiercely into Tommy's face – he couldn't even raise his handcuffed hands to protect himself. The injuries will be with him for the rest of his life, partly because the police refused him access to antibiotics for 14 hours, by which time infection had taken hold.

Tommy, a slightly built, taciturn and rather serious student of medical biochemistry who is thinking about training to be a doctor, was acquitted of assault and resisting arrest last month. I ask him what he thinks of the police now. He pauses for a moment to put his thoughts in order and says quietly: "They're cruel, inhumane, barbaric and brutal. They look on people with disdain. They think they are above everyone else. I have no faith at all in the police." Tony says: "The only trouble I witnessed that day was caused by the bullying police thugs who think they can do what they want and get away with it."

That day last September started no differently from dozens of Saturdays in the Meyers home: Tony and his two sons, all Crystal Palace supporters, set off for an away match at Reading, which Palace lost 3-0. After the match there was some aggravation between police and Palace fans. At the railway station, the fans were herded on to the Paddington-bound platform, even though some, including the Meyers, wanted to go to a different destination. Some protested vociferously, and a group of fans taunted the police, who thought the situation serious enough to draw their tasers and use batons. The Meyers were briefly confronted by a group of officers and hit by a baton as they crossed the bridge to the platform; they insist they did nothing to deserve it.

One of the officers who confronted them, PC Jonathan McHugh – not the officer who used the baton – says he was assaulted by a Palace fan. He was not seriously hurt, and had no visible injuries, and no one else saw the assault. However, McHugh is adamant, not only that it happened, but that he kept his eye on the man who assaulted him for the next 10 minutes or so, despite the fast-moving and difficult situation on the platform, in order to arrest him when he had time. This man, he says, was Tommy.

A train arrived and removed most of the supporters. Then McHugh went to the other end of the platform, where the Meyers were talking. It's common ground that at this stage Tommy was calm and following his father's advice to co-operate with the officer.

What happened next is bitterly disputed. The Meyers say McHugh gave no explanation for instantly handcuffing Tommy; McHugh says he told Tommy he was arresting him, but did not say what for. Police say Tommy struggled and kicked out; the Meyers faimly dispute this. What is not in doubt is the following: that a very tall officer got Tommy in a headlock while McHugh held on to his arms; that between five and seven officers separated Tommy from his father and brother and pointed tasers at their faces; and that a woman dog handler was on hand but did not release her dog because, she said, she threatened Tommy with a spray gun and that stopped him from struggling, so the dog was not needed.

It's also not in doubt that another dog handler, Jamie Gilson, came from another part of the station, and deliberately deployed his dog while Tommy was on the ground. Gilson later claimed he released the dog at Tommy's legs but that Meyers swivelled 90 degrees; Meyers says he did not swivel, and was not able to do so. The dog bit his face. To show me how the dog used its jaws, Meyers holds his thumb and forefinger expressively against his cheek and neck. The dog embedded its teeth millimetres below his eye, and just behind his ear.

Meyers says: "This dog was jumping all over the place. I went rigid like a dead body. There was a lot of pain and a lot of blood. I knew from my own medical knowledge that I'd been badly hurt."

They took him to the hospital, where he was given 30 stitches and antibiotics were dispensed but not administered. The police took the medicine away and took him to the police station, where he was not allowed the antibiotics or painkillers until about 10.30 the next morning, though he asked for them. Thames Valley police are unable to comment on the reason for this. He was released at 3.30pm that afternoon. He was later charged with the assault on McHugh and with resisting arrest.

By the time he was allowed to take the antibiotics, they were not effective, and Meyers woke on Monday in great pain and with weeping wounds, and went straight to hospital. The consultant said that an immediate operation was vital, otherwise the infection would spread to his lungs and he would die. Infected skin was cut away and plastic tubes inserted to drain the infection. He has permanent nerve damage and, to his parents' distress, his voice is now muffled. He spent a week in hospital. His breathing is still not easy, and doctors have advised a further operation.

He says the incident seriously affected his academic performance. He has also had counselling and anti-depressants.

The dog handlers and Meyers' custody are the responsibility of Thames Valley police, who say: "We have no record of a complaint against the police regarding this incident and therefore it would be inappropriate to comment." Amanda Jacks at the Football Supporters' Federation says: "Standard procedure is to wait until the end of criminal proceedings before making a formal complaint." PC McHugh is a member of the British transport police, which says: "Our officers will always deal with those engaging in intimidating, disorderly and antisocial behaviour to ensure that fans who are out to watch football, along with other members of the public using trains, can do so in safety."

The use of dogs in policing football crowds is increasingly controversial. Meyers's story has uneasy echoes of the events which resulted in Chelsea supporter Cliff Augur and his son James being taken to Charing Cross hospital in 2008. Augur was on the ground, but, unlike Meyers, not handcuffed, so he had some means of protecting himself: "I remember seeing the dog in my face. I held onto the dog by the scruff of the neck. I was horrified and frightened. I thought that if I hung on to the dog I could stop it from doing some serious damage to me." But he had no protection against the policeman who kicked him, breaking four ribs and puncturing his lung. James had bites from the police dog on his leg.

The identity of the officer who kicked Augur has never been discovered, though several of his colleagues must have seen what he did. He is still, presumably, policing the streets of London. I have the name and description of a suspect, and this has been given to the police, but no action appears to have been taken.

As one of his bail conditions, Meyers was banned from going to matches. This is another increasingly controversial aspect of football policing. The FSF believes bans are issued too easily, and points to the widespread use of section 27 of the Violent Crime Reduction Act 2006, which allows police to order people out of an area, to prevent innocent fans from attending football matches. In one notorious case, Stoke City fans were herded on to a coach and not allowed to get off until they were home, even after pleading to be allowed to go to the lavatory. By the time the coach got to Stoke, it was flooded with urine. Many supporters feel they are herded around contemptuously when they are doing nothing more sinister than seeking to watch football.

The civil rights organisation Liberty has condemned the continued use of Section 27 against football supporters, calling it "part of a pattern of the law being used against football supporters in a way that can become a denial of their civil liberties".

Policing of football matches has caused the FSF so much concern that they launched a campaign called Watching Football is Not a Crime. They say that Meyers' case is one of many in which supporters are treated as though they are all criminals; and that while there certainly are some violent football supporters, the police approach stigmatises all fans.

For the FSF, the police attitude was summed up at Meyers' trial, when his barrister asked PC McHugh why he arrested Meyers without considering alternatives, as he is obliged to do. "It was football day, it was football-related, there was disorder on the day," he replied. "There are always issues at football, there is always disorder." The officer had put into words what many football supporters believe to be the general police culture. His force, the British transport police, puts it slightly more diplomatically, saying that disorder at matches "remains a challenge".

"Too many officers who physically police fans on a match day seem to believe that football supporters equal trouble," says Jacks, "although there is sympathy for our concerns among some senior-ranking officers."

Now Meyers has been acquitted, the ban on attending matches has been lifted, but he says: "I'll never go to away matches again. You lose all your human rights on an away match."

Another shocking incident occurred two summers ago when Sunderland played a friendly away to Hearts. The Sunderland fans were made aware of a ''football special'' train that would take them straight to Sunderland, rather than stopping at Central Station which would be normal procedure. Of course, since the announmcent had been made by the police the Sunderland fans thought it would be great to take this opportunity to get home quicker and boarded the train. The train stopped in Central Station though, and waiting for them was this:

Innocent fans were beaten with batons and bitten by dogs and Northumbria's response was that they heard ''Sunderland had arranged to meet with Newcastle fans at Central Station to have a fight'', this was despite the fact the same police force had organised the train!!

Some of the fans decided they would take action against the police and as soon as this happened the CCTV footage that the police were threatening to prosecute the innocent fans with suddenly disappeared. Of course, the fans didn't have a leg to stand on and the Football Supporters Federations legal team (who were brilliant and fair play to the FSF for getting involved) advised them all to take the offer from the police to accept police cautions.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2009/aug/26/sunderland-fans-northumbria-police-dispute
    Sunderland supporters are continuing to dispute Northumbria police's account of an incident at Newcastle Central station this month, when police with dogs and wielding batons left several of their number injured, including three who required hospital treatment, two reportedly for serious head wounds.

A number of the fans, who were returning from Sunderland's pre-season friendly at Hearts on 8 August, have provided consistent accounts and statements to the Football Supporters' Federation alleging that the police action was unprovoked, brutal and excessive. These accounts have come from supporters who were on a train that left Edinburgh at 6:30pm bound for Sunderland and which was diverted to Newcastle. The supporters allege that their train was held at the station for 20-30 minutes before the doors were opened, and that they were then met by police with dogs and batons.

The fans' accounts say they were pushed from behind by one line of police but that officers in front pushed them back. Some fans admit they became frustrated, but all have denied that there was any violence until police officers allowed their dogs to begin biting supporters. Then fans describe police hitting them with batons. Several accounts, which the Guardian has seen, include very similar graphic descriptions of one man with blood spurting from his head after being hit with a baton, then collapsing and lying on the platform in a pool of blood. The supporters have also accused the police of failing to attend to the injured man for some minutes.

Northumbria police has emphatically denied that its actions were excessive. In a series of statements, the force has said its officers mounted an operation to deal with a section of around 40 Sunderland supporters who had arrived on an earlier train, intending, according to police intelligence, to have a pre-arranged fight with Newcastle fans. This section of fans, the police said: "Became violent towards officers who reacted to stop the situation from escalating further."

The police did say, in a later statement, that there was a second train, but stated there was no trouble at all or any action against the fans who came off it. Chief superintendent Neil Mackay described that train as having contained "around 400 genuine football supporters", and said: "These supporters were taken to the Metro station without incident."

That is bitterly contested by supporters who arrived on that second train, some of whom have described what followed as the most traumatic violence they have ever witnessed. The FSF has been advised not to publicise the names of fans who provided statements because of the possibility they might give evidence in future court actions, but has released some extracts. In one, a supporter claimed: "The police, for reasons best known to themselves, launched a vicious assault on some of our fans with their batons and let their dogs repeatedly bite some of the fans who had already received severe head wounds or were already lying prone on the ground as a result of being caught up in the melee the police had created."

The incident was referred automatically to the Independent Police Complaints Commission (IPCC) because of the injuries sustained by members of the public. Last week Gary Garland, the IPCC commissioner for the North-east, cleared the police of any wrongdoing saying that having viewed "conclusive" CCTV footage, the action was justified.

"The video footage is conclusive that the police in this instance were subjected to a high level of violence by people intent on causing disorder," Garland stated. "In such circumstances the force the officers chose to deploy in defending their position and preventing a further escalation of disorder was understandable, proportionate and justifiable." He went on to praise the policemen's "professionalism and courage", saying it had prevented more serious disorder, and concluded that the IPCC will not be investigating.

"I appreciate for any innocent football supporters who may have been caught up in the trouble the incident would have been traumatic," Garland acknowledged. "However, it is clear a significant number of so-called supporters were intent on causing mayhem. There is no evidence whatsoever to support allegations that the police officers instigated the violence."

Malcolm Clarke, the FSF chairman, yesterday wrote formally to the IPPC calling for a "new thorough investigation", for the full CCTV footage to be released, and to lodge a formal complaint against Garland.

"The police and IPCC version of what happened completely conflicts with all the accounts from supporters," he said. "They have all stated independently that the police action was against people arriving on the second train, and that it was brutal. We do not believe the IPCC has fulfilled its duty by exonerating the police in glowing terms without even talking to witnesses, and we believe there should be a full independent investigation. We do not expect to see football supporters with serious head injuries from police batons." The IPPC has already issued a statement saying Garland stands by his decision.

Supporters caught up in the trouble have also complained bitterly about the police's public statements that followed the incident. Three days afterwards, on 11 August, the force's first press release focused on four police dogs; Earl, Cleo, Floyd and Diesel, which, it said, had been assaulted by "a section of around 40 Sunderland fans". This first statement did not mention a second train, nor a pre-arranged fight with Newcastle fans. Chief superintendent Graham Smith said: "Around 40 fans set upon the officers and dogs, kicking and punching them, and causing injuries to the dogs." After dealing in some detail with the dogs, whose injuries, it said, were not serious, the press release added: "During the disturbance, three Sunderland fans out of the group received hospital treatment. Their injuries are not thought to be serious."

In fact, according to the FSF, one of those in hospital was given 36 surgical staples to bind wounds in his head, while another lost seven pints of blood. Asked why the statement concentrated on the dogs before mentioning that three Sunderland fans had ended up in hospital, a spokeswoman said: "Our dogs were injured as a result of being attacked during the incident and we put out the press release to appeal for witnesses and information. The people who suffered injuries were part of the group who were involved in the attack on dogs and officers. Officers had no option but to respond." She added that officers had administered first aid to the injured people "as soon as they could".

Northumbria police has also released a brief video clip of fans milling around on the platform, and another apparently showing Newcastle supporters preparing to meet them. Neither, however, shows any violence, the police actions, or how the fans, or the dogs, sustained their injuries. A spokesman for the force said the full CCTV footage is not being released because it is being used in the ongoing criminal investigation. The police have not so far explained how the Sunderland fans ended up requiring hospital treatment.

No footage has emerged from any witnesses who independently captured what happened.

Two of the supporters who were treated are understood to be taking legal advice about a possible assault claim against the police and a challenge to the IPCC's decision not to supervise an investigation. Three members of the public have made complaints to the police. A spokeswoman for Northumbria police said an internal investigation is being conducted.

So, it took almost 2 years for any action to be brought against the fans (they were also banned from stadia as is sadly normal procedure. Guilty until proven innocent of course :rolleyes:), the CCTV then disappeared when the fans decided to fight back and wanted to see the CCTV footage, and in the end had to take a police caution or risk jail time, despite doing nothing wrong.

The treatment of football fans in the UK is disgusting. Have any of you got stories of how you or fellow fans were wrongly treated etc, for nothing else other than being a football fan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Rip off ticket prices and a facist police force.

Not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Zebra3 wrote: »

Not for me.

The Irish police aren't much better.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Zebra3 wrote: »

Not for me.

Yep, we've only one out of two...

Glentoran in Dalymount anyone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

From my own match day experience, the police in London are excellent, very friendly and chatty with supporters. Also one of my best experiences I had was with the police in Newcastle on my first visit to the city.

dfx- wrote: »
    Yep, we've only one out of two...

Glentoran in Dalymount anyone..

Also an attack by the police against Bohs fans getting onto the Luas in Tallaght after the Setanta cup final, also sick of getting molested going into games just because Im a football fan.

bohsman wrote: »
    Also an attack by the police against Bohs fans getting onto the Luas in Tallaght after the Setanta cup final, also sick of getting molested going into games just because Im a football fan.

How do you mean ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭Paleface

Surely its wrong to say that all police treat football fans with contempt in the same way as its wrong to say that all football fans are hooligans.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    How do you mean ?

Searched and felt up. Talking about crowds of 2000 people where there's rarely trouble in the ground while you can happily saunter into Croke Park and hop on the pitch after the game with nothing done.

Hate to bring the GAA into it but its ridiculous the difference in stance taken by guards in the two.

Searched and felt up. Talking about crowds of 2000 people where there's rarely trouble in the ground while you can happily saunter into Croke Park and hop on the pitch after the game with nothing done.

Hate to bring the GAA into it but its ridiculous the difference in stance taken by guards in the two.

When you get searched, is it by the Gardai or stewards?

At Highbury, I can't recall ever getting searched, if I did it would have been by the stewards. At The Emirates, the only time I have been searched, is having my bag searched on going in and this is by the stewrds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Hate to bring the GAA into it
    but its ridiculous the difference in stance taken by guards in the two.

Then don't.

Nearly always guards. Think Drogheda is the only time Ive been searched by a steward.

It's their general attitude aswell, usually treated with contempt and a confrontational attitude as if they expect/hope that you to attack them at any minute. There are exceptions obviously, the guards in Tallaght had been excellent up till the Pats - Bohs final, no idea if the usual head guy wasn't there or if they wanted to give the riot squad practice for UEFA cup final.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Then don't.

Im bringing the Guards attitude to the two sports into it, not either organisation. Wouldnt even have qualified the statement except that I know there are always a few of you ready to pounce.

All you're doing is starting an unnecessary sh*tstorm when there was no need to even broach the topic. If you thought people were gonna "pounce" on what you were saying then maybe its best not to say it at all, especially when its irrelevant to the topic at hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

All you're doing is starting an unnecessary sh*tstorm when there was no need to even broach the topic. If you thought people were gonna "pounce" on what you were saying then maybe its best not to say it at all, especially when its irrelevant to the topic at hand.
    But it isn't irrelevant at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

It's true though, I've been at many GAA matches in Croker and I've been a hundreds of League of Ireland matches. The different in attitude towards GAA and Football is disgraceful tbh.

Here comes the cavalry, I'll leave ye to it lads.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

It's their general attitude aswell, usually treated with contempt and a confrontational attitude as if they expect/hope that you to attack them at any minute.

My personal favourite was the dog unit being shown off outside Belfield last season for the Leinster Senior Cup/League Cup game between UCD and Rovers on a Monday evening with a crowd of about 100.

dfx- wrote: »
    My personal favourite was the dog unit being shown off outside Belfield last season for the Leinster Senior Cup/League Cup game between UCD and Rovers on a Monday evening with a crowd of about 100.

Shels -v- Millwall in a friendly a couple of years back was gas, about 200 at it, about 20 Millwall fans and about 50 Guards, mounted unit, dog unit, think the riot squad were there too. Laughable tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Maybe the reason the guards police GAA differently is because there is less trouble at the games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Not sure how it works in Ireland, but when I go to football back home (Belgium) most of the police there are either young cops just out of police school (and who are wound up to the point of agression by their superiors) or police officers who are only there for the extra pay and to cause some trouble.

If you literally hear one of them say 'I hope it kicks off' you know what kind of people they are.

It doesn't reflect on all police, but I'm sure that football matches attract a certain element of cops.
    Another example, Feyenoord last season.
    Nothing happened, yet the police still found it necessary to do this:

This wasn't even a normal game, but a cup game between youth teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

It's true though, I've been at many GAA matches in Croker and I've been a hundreds of League of Ireland matches. The different in attitude towards GAA and Football is disgraceful tbh.

Thuggery in the GAA usually happens on the pitch.

Thuggery is soccer usually happens off it.

What would happen if a Rovers v Bohs game had no segregation at it? There'd be killings.

Dress it up any way you like but there is not a culture of beating the sh1te out of opposing fans in the GAA, but with certain clubs in Irish soccer there is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nearly always guards. Think Drogheda is the only time Ive been searched by a steward.

Have been searched at dundalk by stewards too. I have always found the gardai excellent and professional to fans in tallaght. There is dialogue there between the club and them though which helps. The ones at dalyer have a serious attitude and appear to have it in for bohs. And I also remember the robocop turnout at belfield which was ridiculous.

And then you have places like Derry where the police are glaringjy absent leaving the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

stovelid wrote: »
    I have always found the gardai excellent and professional to fans in tallaght.

I thought so too but the last couple of times we have played there they have been a disgrace. Dundalk fans have been attacked twice now, and before Rovers fans jump down my throat I am complaining about the policing as this is the problem.
    I witnessed the first incident; A large group of Rovers fans were allowed walked right up to Dundalk fans that were queuing to get in to the stadium and start throwing punches at lads walking in with Kids. A former Dundalk player (probably one of our hardest ever) was started on and floored one of the wannabe hard men and walked calmly into the ground. Some Dundalk fans reacted and instead of moving the Rovers fans away the Guards started hitting out at Dundalk fans with batons. A off-duty guard that was a Dundalk fan got hit with a baton when he was trying to get his warrant card out. As far as I know there has been a few complaints made.

There is nothing professional about the Gardai in Tallaght and it's probably the only ground in the country I wouldn't feel entirely safe walking to.

The Irish police aren't much better.

They are nowhere near as bad as the British police.

And not just around football games.

The vast amount of civil rights legislation that has been repealed in Britain since the 80s is shocking. Any form of public gathering is viewed with absolute contempt by the British police and the political establishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

doncarlos wrote: »

There is nothing professional about the Gardai in Tallaght and it's probably the only ground in the country I wouldn't feel entirely safe walking to.

Just saying what I've experienced and heard from other supporters.

Saying I'm uneasy about going to any LOI ground would be exaggerating it even for the relatively dodgy ones like Dundalk, Limerick or Derry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I've never been badly treated by the police at any LoI game.

Maybe the reason the guards police GAA differently is because there is less trouble at the games?

Just not true, I can't think of a single incident in the last 10 years that couldn't have been handled easily by stewards inside the ground. No excuse for intimidation tactics either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

stovelid wrote: »
    Just saying what I've experienced and heard from other supporters.

Saying I'm uneasy about going to any LOI ground would be exaggerating it even for the relatively dodgy ones like Dundalk, Limerick or Derry.

Don't get me wrong it won't stop me going to games as the chances of it happening are quite small but have been talking to a few fans that will never travel to Tallaght again after what happened before the Setanta cup final.
    Dundalk used to be terrible, what happened the Rovers fans during the first division games was disgusting behaviour that could have been avoided if the guards did their job properly. Thankfully they have seemed to get a lot better and both sets of fans are now kept properly apart.

Times have changed though, I remember going to games in the late 80s early 90s and used to be crapping myself at the amount of fighting going on. Very little was done about it then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Never go to a match between a team from the Netherlands and Germany though ;-)

UEFA Cup Final 2002, Feyenoord vs Borussia Dortmund in Rotterdam. Supporters from Dortmund were treated like animals by the Dutch police and stewards didn't bother when so-called supporters from Rotterdam attacked the Borussia Dortmund section midway through the second half :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Shels -v- Millwall in a friendly a couple of years back was gas, about 200 at it, about 20 Millwall fans and about 50 Guards, mounted unit, dog unit, think the riot squad were there too. Laughable tbh.

I was at a match in Tolka v Millwall in the 80's with my father,around half time a load of Millwall skinheads came running through the gates up around the terraces fighting all the way around,then were battered by the Garda out through the other gate,can't remember the year though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Just not true, I can't think of a single incident in the last 10 years that couldn't have been handled easily by stewards inside the ground. No excuse for intimidation tactics either way.

And that shows the success of having a large number of Garda on duty there. Do you really think if their were only a handful of guards at a Rovers vs Bohs or Rovers vs Pats match everything would go smoothly?

Apart from abducting the ref and putting him in a car boot. That's usually off the pitch.

And that shows the success of having a large number of Garda on duty there. Do you really think if their were only a handful of guards at a Rovers vs Bohs or Rovers vs Pats match everything would go smoothly?

With proper stewarding yes. Not saying no guards are needed just that there's no need to get up in peoples faces with batons, riot gear and dogs. Could have been used in Croke Park when the players and officials got attacked a while back tho..

The main reason they are there is that they like their overtime.

Are you suggesting that the guards are corrupt and are milking LoI clubs for overtime?

No, that couldn't be the case.

Could it? :rolleyes:

Thuggery is soccer usually happens off it.

What would happen if a Rovers v Bohs game had no segregation at it? There'd be killings.

Dress it up any way you like but there is not a culture of beating the sh1te out of opposing fans in the GAA, but with certain clubs in Irish soccer there is.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2010/0711/crokerpark_meath_louth.html

http://www.politics.ie/forum/culture-community/128311-attack-gaa-hurling-referee.html

http://www.u.tv/sport/Tyrone-board-hold-GAA-ref-attack-talks/bbfd5611-98ca-4953-ac3a-750ded955419

Don't suffocate under that sand there. The 3 incidents were all caused by fans, regardless of them being in the stadium.