Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Female Perspective Please

• 01-07-2011 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I just recently started seeing a girl, have been on two dates. Get on really well. Lot's of cuddling, kissing ,etc. She has told me how she hasn't felt like this about a guy in a long time and I make her feel good, she'd be happy with me no matter what we did, etc

There's just something over the last few days I've been wondering. When we first started texting she was always very flirty through text, always on about wanting to be cuddle up with me, kiss me, etc. We had our second meet up there Monday evening and she was grand after. But since Tuesday night she been very matter of fact with her texting. Just general chit chat, she stills instigates texting mostly, but there is no flirtyness or excitement through them like before. Anytime I try to be flirty or give a cute compliment it seems to be overlooked, so I'm a bit confused. This has only been happening since Tuesday and the date Monday went grand, she was still flirty and chatty when we were texting after it.

What (if anything) is up with her? I can hardly say something considering we've only starting seeing each other. I was thinking of maybe asking if she was ok as in she doesn't seem her normal chirpy self?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Ok, not a female but my thoughts are she's obviously enjoying being with you as she's still texting you.

My reading is that after date 1 she liked you, wanted to get that message across and was still trying to show you her interest. When was your first date?

Your second date was on Monday. She had to head back to work on Tuesday so maybe she's just under pressure with work or tired or any number of things. Last weekend she was relaxed and had time to be flirtatious as well.

Maybe it's just me but I would be seeing what's happening as a positive sign. I'm probably stand-offish but if I've been on just one date with a girl and start getting texts about wanting lots of cuddles and kisses it annoys the hell out of me. Mainly because I'm thinking, 'it's only one date girl, chill out!'.

Sounds to me like she's just caught up in her week. When is your third date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thanks squonk.

First date was the Thursday of last week, second one was Monday. Third date was meant to be yesterday, but she works in a hotel and said she had to work due to a wedding being on. Haven't had to the chance to re-organize anything yet, I'm thinking maybe let her bring it up this time? Yeah I was hoping she was just too tired to bother or thought she had her point gotten across by now and didn't want to over do it.

Just to add. She was working days before and after our first date and was able to be flirty then. Sorry to nitpick but thought I should mention it just in case, whether it means anything or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I'm a female!

I hate texting. I hate it. When I started going out with my now husband he'd text me ALL the time, I'd reply with short answers because I was working or doing stuff. Plus, texting for me is not a substitute for, you know, talking! Call her up for a chat! Call her up and ask her out again! Stop replying to her texts with a text, and call her!

Okay I sound a bit ranty but I can't understand why people read SO much into texts, they are not a good means of communication unless they read "I'll see you at 3pm under Clery's Clock", not for proper conversations.

I'll say it again for emphasis: CALL HER!

Lazygal, thank you.

One last point, she started calling me babe in nearly every text after date one and I did call it back. But perhaps she thought she seemed over enthusiastic and is toning it down or something? Thats everything now anyway lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Ah listen! Some days I call my friends 'man' if I'm int he mood, other days no, chill out and enjoy!

You've a 3rd date coming up... that's a good thing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭IHeartChemistry

You sound like me. A worrier :P She likes you. She's texting. She's just being laid back and trying to see where its going. You dont need to be flirty all the time. Ye dont wanna rush it either. Chillax :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭missgroovy21

Call her!!!! plan a nice evening for your 3rd date give her something to look forward to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LC2010HIS

As a girl, I feel texting is the downfall of modern relationships!

I found alot of guys tend to depend on texting rather than calling.

Calling and talking is so much better! Ring her!

Texting constantly can dry up a relationship pretty fast IMO.....
    Call her, organise a date. Dont talk till then, that way, the date will be jam packed with talk and chat.

Texting is a disaster.. "what you up to" *20mins* "what you up to now"

IMO:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

LC2010HIS wrote: »
    As a girl, I feel texting is the downfall of modern relationships!

I found alot of guys tend to depend on texting rather than calling.

Calling and talking is so much better! Ring her!

Texting constantly can dry up a relationship pretty fast IMO.....
    Call her, organise a date. Dont talk till then, that way, the date will be jam packed with talk and chat.

Texting is a disaster.. "what you up to" *20mins* "what you up to now"

IMO:)

Ah yea but a lot of people are too busy to be called, and calling is often seen as showing too much interest and puts off a lot of girls i find. the time is never right in these modern busy times I remember being able to call girls and chat to them for half an hour or more but now calling puts them off or they just have no time

Needler wrote: »
    Ah yea but a lot of people are too busy to be called, and calling is often seen as showing too much interest and puts off a lot of girls i find. the time is never right in these modern busy times I remember being able to call girls and chat to them for half an hour or more but now calling puts them off or they just have no time

Yeah I guess I agree with the busy side of it.

But still, I maintain texting is a headwreck tbh, but thats in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

LC2010HIS wrote: »
    Yeah I guess I agree with the busy side of it.

But still, I maintain texting is a headwreck tbh, but thats in my experience.

It is I suppose a fairly sh1t way of getting to know someone. In the States you can always call someone if they're not at work. Here it's like "oh my God he's actually calling my phone!!!" quick someone call the Guards

Needler wrote: »
    It is I suppose a fairly sh1t way of getting to know someone. In the States you can always call someone if they're not at work. Here it's like "oh my God he's actually calling my phone!!!" quick someone call the Guards

Yeah, my mam always says in the 80s, people would call the house phones to talk. Even boys whom she dated.
    I mean, where, along the way, did texting become the norm and calling become weird??

Personally, I think texting constantly, especially when youre dating someone is weird. But again, thats me.

I remember trying to call my ex last year and he rejected my phonecall
    He texted like 3 secs later sayin : "Why r ya ringin me?"

Im like "To talk" He goes "Text me"

:rolleyes: *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭dee.

My boyfriend and I text all day every day for the past four years, not anywhere close to being fed up of him yet! We're in a long distance relationship so it's nice to talk to him a lot. I call him now and then but not nearly as often as we text. I haven't phoned him in almost three weeks though, my last phone call was while I was on holiday and lasted an hour..cost me 65 euros!

Anyways back to the OP. I would say that you're probably overthinking things as she's still in contact with you! I call my boyfriend babe a lot and send him lots of "I miss your kisses/cuddles" type texts but i don't send them every day as it gets a bit annoying I think. Obviously given the chance I'd cuddle with him 24/7 and he knows that, no point in saying the same thing over and over. I do remind him now and then though :) just relax and don't worry too much! Good luck with the next date :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 outofsteam

RING HER!!!! I hate texts from someone I don't know that well because your never really fully sure of what they mean. My boyfriend and I have been together for over five years and whenever we text eachother one of us ends up ringing the other saying what are ya ravin' on about?
    Plan a fantastic third date and RING HER!! Enough said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Mmmoments

Definitely - just give her a call! You'll both enjoy it and it'll set up the third date nicely...you'll have plenty to talk about. :)

Enjoy!