Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fixed Charge Notice

• 01-07-2011 12:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭

I was stopped for using a mobile phone whilst driving and was told I'd be getting a fine and 2 penalty points. A month on, I have yet to receive the fixed charge notice and am worried about getting a summons for not paying after 28 days.
    How long does it usually take to receive the FC notice and do you have 28 days to pay the fine from the date of the offence or from the date of receiving the notice?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

lavine7 wrote: »
    I was stopped for using a mobile phone whilst driving and was told I'd be getting a fine and 2 penalty points. A month on, I have yet to receive the fixed charge notice and am worried about getting a summons for not paying after 28 days.
    How long does it usually take to receive the FC notice and do you have 28 days to pay the fine from the date of the offence or from the date of receiving the notice?

Thanks.

Mr Garda has 6 months statute to issue your Fixed Charge Notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

if it is local to where you live when you were stopped, why not drop into the station and ask about not receiving it??

get the name of the garda you speak to and date it..

At least it is initiative on your part.

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭lavine7

It happened in Dublin and I'm in the west of ireland so i wont be able to drop into the local station to query it.

If they have 6 months to send it out I'll take it that means that I have 28 days from receiving the FCN to pay the fine so I'll just wait anxiously by the post box for it to arrive! :D

Thanks for the replies guys, much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

It happened in Dublin and I'm in the west of ireland so i wont be able to drop into the local station to query it.

If they have 6 months to send it out I'll take it that means that I have 28 days from receiving the FCN to pay the fine so I'll just wait anxiously by the post box for it to arrive! :D

Thanks for the replies guys, much appreciated.

You get 28 days from the date that's on the FCN, which should be a day or two before you actually get it in the post. I got a speeding fine and points four months after the incident so you could be waiting a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Did the guard take your licence from you and use that to get your details?
    Did he/she ask you if the address shown on your licence is correct ?

Give it another few weeks and see what happens. If you do get a summons you can always go to court and state that you did not receive the fixed charge notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

lau1247 wrote: »
    if it is local to where you live when you were stopped, why not drop into the station and ask about not receiving it??

get the name of the garda you speak to and date it..

At least it is initiative on your part.

A fine isn't really something you go looking for though is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Needler wrote: »
    A fine isn't really something you go looking for though is it?

Unless you are like me. I rang the Garda 2 months later as I did not want a summons. He took all my details again over the phone and said he would check it. I got the notice a week later..

Worst phone call I ever made.

That is exactly what I want to avoid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 patrick.fox8

That is exactly what I want to avoid!

Lavine7, have you received that notice yet? I'm now in a similar situation but it's only been 10 days. Also afraid to call!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I got caught on the phone (silly I know) back in June, never received anything in the post so forgot about it. Was away in the states getting married and came back to find a notice from An Post for a package - great, I thought, a present! No such luck, it was a summons!

So anyway off I go down to Carlow from Dublin last Wednesday after taking the day off work to attend. Arrive at 10am and am not called until 3.50pm! Judge asks do I understand the summons and how do I plea, I tell him I'm guilty as hell! He then asks why I didn't pay the fine so I launch in to a rant about not receiveing it and loosing a days pay having to take a day off work and wasting both my time and the courts. Grand says the judge, how would you feel about making a donation to SVP and we'll strike this out? Not a bother says I. Right so, the judge says, €250! :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 patrick.fox8

Right cheers!! This basically means that I'm not able to go on holidays/away until I get it! and certainly not for over 28 days!

Pity about that, also means that they probably didn't forget about mine! €60 and no penalty points for using the bus lane.. could be worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭m4r10

Same thing happened to me a few years back, I was overtaking on the bus lane a car which was turning right, cop took my details and never heard of the fine again. As my ex lanlord is a cop himself, I rang him to check the fine on the system, he even found that a friend of him caught us but didn't see any fine, so he told us not to worry. A few years later (4 years) a garda calls to the door and hands us a citation, it turns out the fine was sent to the address in the driving licence. In court, the judge told me I can go free as the garda couldn't make it there, so I didn't have to pay any fine.

In short, it pays to follow if you've got a fine or not, it might save you a lot of trouble and money down the road (excuse the pun!).

Still haven't heard anything and it been a few days past the 6 month mark! The address on my license is fine and hasn't changed so either a mistake was made in taking down my address or the fine was never issued!

I have looked into ways of checking if there are any fines against my name and I think it is possible to ring the RSA to ask if there are any points/fines against your license. It's something I must actually check now as I was planning to do it once I got to the 6 month 'expiry' date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Miseryguts

Hi original post?I understand your thread is an old one but im in a similar situation to the way you were,I have being waiting six weeks at present for my notice.Did you receive your notice and how long did you wait? Cheers.:confused: