Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It's Fiver Friday!!

• 30-06-2011 11:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭

Thought this was a great idea (unusual for Joe Duffy I know). Can't wait. Basically some business around the country are going to be selling some of their produce for €5 today because of Joe Duffy. Apparently it's a good will gesture to help boost the economy.

This thread isn't intended to be a spam thread. It's probably not a good idea to say exactly what business are taking part as that would technically count as advertising (although that's up to the mods to decide).
    Liveline launches its Fiver Friday

Wednesday 22 June 2011

Friday 1 July is Fiver Friday and RTÉ Radio 1's Liveline is asking listeners to spend an extra €5 with a local business or retailer.

Get your Fiver Out ..

A recent Liveline caller Mark Begg spoke to Joe Duffy about his new business and how he hated to see small businesses like his struggling to keep up. Mark suggested a campaign to encourage the people of Ireland to spend an extra €5 to help give the businesses in their locality a boost. Thus the idea of Fiver Friday was born.

So, to help give a much-needed filip to local business, on Friday 1 July, what you can do is buy lunch at a local café instead of making it; purchase the evening's dinner at your local butchers instead of at a supermarket chain; buy yourself a locally hand-crafted treat or surprise someone with a single rose from your local florist.

"Fiver Friday is a great and simple idea generated by the listeners for neighbour to help neighbour and to support the local community, " says Liveline's Joe Duffy. "Fiver Friday is the one reason we need to boost the local economy and community."
    To date, many businesses from neighbourhoods across the country have contacted the Liveline team to express their support for Fiver Friday.

From Bandon to Delgany, many local businesses from gyms and hair salons to garages and IT companies have pledged to offer 'Fiver Friday Specials' in the hope that enabling consumers to spend that little bit extra will help to keep local businesses afloat and keep people in their neighbourhoods working.
    http://www.rte.ie/ten/2011/0622/fiverfriday.html

More on Fiver Friday here: http://www.fiverfriday.com/

Apparently some shops will put up this poster if they're taking part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'm going to stick a fiver up me hoop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Bueller

What's Joe Duffy's salary?

Imagine him telling ye what to do with your disposable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

€4 for a coffee and scone jam & butter. €8.50 for scrambled eggs plus €1.90 for a coffee. So what kind of lunch is this fiver going to buy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

orourkeda wrote: »
    I'm going to stick a fiver up me hoop

Joe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

TFI Joe Duffy :)

seriously, theres a fiver coupon for Eddie Rockets in the bargain alerts forum. About the only thing that would make me go there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Alas, Joe's general cuntishness remains unabated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Blink182rock

anyone that sees a crate of beer for 5r.... PM ME ASAP .....................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Wahey :D Can't wait until I wake up Saturday to find the economy has been fixed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Great idea imo, its ideas like this that we need to get the country up and running again, by helping out small businesses.

What really annoys me is the begrudgers, ie "Feck their Fiver Friday", "Stick it up their hoop" yada, yada. If these people had their way, we would be the most backward country in the World.

Joe?

Up his hole Joe. Its a disgrace

If these people had their way, we would be the most backward country in the World.

Like Clonmel?

Great idea imo, its ideas like this that we need to get the country up and running again, by helping out small businesses.

What really annoys me is the begrudgers, ie "Feck their Fiver Friday", "Stick it up their hoop" yada, yada. If these people had their way, we would be the most backward country in the World.

Is that right? If it's such a good idea why are we have one of the most expensive cities in Europe.

You'd think this would have been tried before if it was such a good idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭JimiWonderDoor 92

Do the local businesses extend the offer to cover Coke & Hookers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Thank you Jesus something nice has finally happen for the unemployed if only for one day,though a fiver for us regular folk is not much.

orourkeda wrote: »
    Is that right? If it's such a good idea why are we have one of the most expensive cities in Europe.

You'd think this would have been tried before if it was such a good idea

Well what would you suggest instead? Cut all the prices, and harm businesses even more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

I'm gonna spend my fiver online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

How about a Fanny Friday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

falan wrote: »
    I'm gonna spend my fiver online.

Virtual lunch.

stovelid wrote: »
    Like Clonmel?

New shopping centre attracting many top brands, eg M &S, Jack Jones, with Argos just moved in.

Extensive works almost completed on the flood relief scheme, reducing damage done to local shops due to flooding.

Bulmers on the up again, employing more staff.

The whole country may be down the toilet, but Clonmel is hanging onto the lid while most others are swimming in sh!t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Do the local businesses extend the offer to cover Coke & Hookers?
    i think you get a mouthful of each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Whatever happened to the guy that originally rang Liveline with this idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I'm confused. The quoted article didn't explain it very well. Is it a case of, for example, people going to their local cafe and getting a meal deal for a fiver? Or are people being encouraged to spend an extra fiver in a shop they wouldn't normally visit.

What's the long and short of this idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

There should be a list of establishments taking part!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Cannabis dealers should join in Fiver Friday by bringing back the " 5 Spot ".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

grenache wrote: »
    I'm confused. The quoted article didn't explain it very well. Is it a case of, for example, people going to their local cafe and getting a meal deal for a fiver? Or are people being encouraged to spend an extra fiver in a shop they wouldn't normally visit.

What's the long and short of this idea?

From what i remember on Joe DDUUUFFFFFFFFFYYYY is that a lot of business' are offering things for a fiver, from what i got it was mostly cafes and takeaways - though spars were offering things for a euro or somethin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

danslevent wrote: »
    There should be a list of establishments taking part!

There is, but you could get banned if you post it here unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

Am I the only one who thinks this seems insanely short-sighted and even downright pointless? What are the benefits for businesses in this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Am I the only one who thinks this seems insanely short-sighted and even downright pointless? What are the benefits for businesses in this?

Now I'm no economist, but wouldn't they get the fivers that we give them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Selling stuff to ourselves.
    This can't fail.........

Similar to a guy being stewed in a pot stirring his own vegetables, with Joe Duffy being kind enough to hand him the large wooden spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

caller: :mad: Joe an dey all had fiiiiiiivers Joe, an dey was all buyin stuff Joe
    Joe: terrible, terrible terrible, je-ayyyyyyyyyyysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Aldebaran wrote: »
    Now I'm no economist, but wouldn't they get the fivers that we give them?

As opposed to the tenners or twenties they'd normally get for the same thing.

People won't spend an extra fiver, they'll just buy the same things as usual but get them cheaper for one day only.

New shopping centre attracting many top brands, eg M &S, Jack Jones, with Argos just moved in.

Wow, your own shopping centre and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭conorcan2

RTE.ie says it best..

So, to help give a much-needed filip to local business, on Friday 1 July, what you can do is buy lunch at a local café instead of making it; purchase the evening's dinner at your local butchers instead of at a supermarket chain; buy yourself a locally hand-crafted treat or surprise someone with a single rose from your local florist.

Help neighbourhood businesses that may be struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

5 cans of Tuborg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Gift grub on this yesterday was good.

Joe (J) : It's fiver Friday, and we have one of the participants on the line. Tom from Toms butchers, goodafternoon.

Caller (C) : Goodafternoon Joe.

J: What are Toms butchers offering for fiver Friday Tom?

C: Well Joe, we are selling a roast stuffed chicken for five euro Joe.

J: That's great Tom, great stuff. What do we need to do to avail of the offer Tom?

C: Well Joe, just buy some bacon in the shop and we'll sell the roast chicken for a fiver.

J: Brilliant, this is great stuff Tom. How much bacon do we need to buy Tom?

C: Just a suckling pig Joe.

J: A suckling pig Tom?

C: Yes Joe.

J: But, what what what would anyone want with a suckling pig Tom? How much will it cost?

C: Well Joe, we are offering a roast stuffed chicken for a fiver too.

J: And how much will the pig cost Tom?

C: Four hundred euro Joe.

J: (sighs) Goodafternoon Tom . . . . . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

I came in herez looking for Dealz........ I sees none,,,,:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

ronan45 wrote: »
    I came in herez looking for Dealz........ I sees none,,,,:mad:

Click on the fiverfriday.com link in the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Extensive works almost completed on the flood relief scheme, reducing damage done to local shops due to flooding.

Bulmers on the up again, employing more staff.

The whole country may be down the toilet, but Clonmel is hanging onto the lid while most others are swimming in sh!t.

lol

Bulmers, JackJones, Argos and slightly reducing how flooded the place gets? Definitely on the up and up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

the only fiver im spending today is on the euromillions JOE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Best thing I saw advertised on that site is karpakie (sp?) 4 for a €5
    Sure it normally costs that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I spend around €20 a day on lunch and coffee... Do I have to spend more now?