Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Go-Karting

• 30-06-2011 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭

I've looked around a bit and can't find a recent thread on this topic.

I'm trying to organise a karting session with some mates, just need to decide on somewhere thats has good karts and a good track.

We're based in Cavan and were going to go to Midland karting in Edgeworthtown but half the lads going think it's to expensive :rolleyes:

There's also Athboy karting - can't see what their track layout is
    Whiteriver - looks pretty good, about as far away as athboy
    Puddinghill - can't see much at all on their site
    Maybe Kylemore karting in dublin - been there 5-6yrs ago and it was good, not sure what it's like now?
    Kart city - not even sure if they still operate?

Am I missing anything thats not to far away from Cavan? Anyone any experience with any of the above, any you recommend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭turbodiesel

jozi wrote: »
    I've looked around a bit and can't find a recent thread on this topic.

I'm trying to organise a karting session with some mates, just need to decide on somewhere thats has good karts and a good track.

We're based in Cavan and were going to go to Midland karting in Edgeworthtown but half the lads going think it's to expensive :rolleyes:

There's also Athboy karting - can't see what their track layout is
    Whiteriver - looks pretty good, about as far away as athboy
    Puddinghill - can't see much at all on their site
    Maybe Kylemore karting in dublin - been there 5-6yrs ago and it was good, not sure what it's like now?
    Kart city - not even sure if they still operate?

Am I missing anything thats not to far away from Cavan? Anyone any experience with any of the above, any you recommend?

There's also this place in NAVAN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

Any idea what it's like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Puddinghill is by far and away the worst place to go for Go Karting, tiny track with no overtaking space, unless karts and generally not worth the money.

Whiteriver is a great setup and possibly the newest place to go karting but its a big wide track all the way through and although I haven't been on it myself I've been told its pretty boring as the rental karts are too slow for the track.

Navan is a good spot, suffers a bit again from small track syndrome but its much more fun than Puddinghil, the track seems to lack grip which makes it very technical and actually a challenge to take some of the corners.

The recent boards deal for Navan was a great offer.

White river does look good track wise, doesnt sound as much fun though if the karts are a little slow for it.

Navan sounds pretty good fun though!

Just speaking with a mate, might go and visit a few places over the weekend for a look.

Any more experiences from some of the above tracks or others?

---EDIT---

Whats this boards deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Are these karting places not ridiculously expensive. like 30-50e for 15 minutes?

Their all expensive (except navan), 15mins seems to be around 20ish euro, looking at doing a Gran Prix which ranges from 44-60 euro at the above places :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

pallas karting in tynagh co galway is very good eddie irvine has flown in by helicopter once or twice for a spin how posh is that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Off Topic, but, you know, it has to be pointed out:
    [racial_stereotyping]
    ARF! :D
    [/racial_stereotyping]

Sorry about that, carry on...

Rovi wrote: »
    Off Topic, but, you know, it has to be pointed out:
    [racial_stereotyping]

ARF! :D
    [/racial_stereotyping]

Sorry about that, carry on...

Haha - I wouldn't mind but the ones who complained about the euro per lap ratio are the ones who actually have a job!

What makes things worse, the guy organising it (me) is also Dutch :eek:

Any suggestions though, just to keep it on topic :)

I'd try the Grand Prix in Navan, I've done it 3 times now and enjoyed it every time, you need 7 to go though, the best number is 8 as if you've only 8 then everyone gets to the final so gets more on track time for their money.

We're looking at 20+ (maybe 25+) people to do it, going by those who have said they will go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭JD1763

Would second Pallis Karting, its €50 for a 45 minute session and €70 for a grand prix but you need a minimum of 15 for that. Tracks good fun and most of the karts are decent (some bogey ones mixed in). Did it a few weeks ago and everyone had a good time. Bit of a pain to get to tho.

Can't see 70 for a GP happening, their already giving out about paying 60 in edgeworthstown :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

We're looking at 20+ (maybe 25+) people to do it, going by those who have said they will go.

With those types of numbers I'd head to Whiteriver and get them to open the full International Track for you. Sure they'd do a deal on costs for 20+.

Haven't driven it, but did pull in to the car park to have a look. Looks like there is a good bit of gradient to the track and as it's outdoors, there's always the chance of a damp track - that will sort the men from the boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Needler wrote: »
    Are these karting places not ridiculously expensive. like 30-50e for 15 minutes?

Where do they get these prices from? :mad:

I paid €8 for a 10 minute session in Germany. Even the most expensive (I can imagine) Michael Schumacher one only charges €12.50 for 10 mins.

The best one I've been in Ireland is in Watergrasshill in Cork. Might be too much of a trip though :)

With 20 - 25 going I would think twice about Navan, its possibly a bit small for such a large crowd.

Where do they get these prices from? :mad:

I paid €8 for a 10 minute session in Germany. Even the most expensive (I can imagine) Michael Schumacher one only charges €12.50 for 10 mins.

The best one I've been in Ireland is in Watergrasshill in Cork. Might be too much of a trip though :)

Their not quite 30euro per 15mins so it's not that bad, everything is always cheaper on the continent :)

I'll be popping into whiteriver, navan and athboy on sat for a look and decide then on where to go.

I think Galway might be a bit to far to go for a karting session, might keep that one for a weekend in Galway sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

dharn wrote: »
    pallas karting in tynagh co galway is very good eddie irvine has flown in by helicopter once or twice for a spin how posh is that

Thats fairly near Portumna IIRC. A good spot actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭lau1247

if you're willing to travel, kart world in cork is pretty decent..
    they do deals with other activities such as paintball, pulse ranger etc..

Just an FYI

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 fynolyno

Hi Guys,

It's The Zone here in Navan and great to see the good comments - Thank you! If you do want to come in we will offer Boards Deals subscribers €10 off pp on a Grand prix so €34 each instead of €44. We did do a good Board Deal a few weeks ago which went really well so if you haven't found your karting track yet we would be delighted to see you heer and yes it is slippy and tricky - we had a staff night here last night and I did spend some time doing 360's!

L:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Sorry to pull this up again, but can someone please point out Kart City in Santry on Google Maps please? Their address is rather vague! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

Sorry to pull this up again, but can someone please point out Kart City in Santry on Google Maps please? Their address is rather vague! :)

http://maps.google.ie/?ll=53.410843,-6.243201&spn=0.002683,0.004823&t=h&z=18&vpsrc=6

Haha, thanks for that. I was looking along the road just north of the car park above it, Maps has that listed as being as the old airport road. Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

There's an indoor track in galway, not the best by far (especially compared with edgeworthstown) but it was alright for a bit of craic. 30 for 30 mins, and every group of 4 got a pizza and 4 cans of coke/etc between them. Only let 8 out on the track at a time though, cos it's small.

Is Kart City open?

They had gone a while ago and last time I was stuck on the M50 in that area it looked abandoned.

Yup its back open, heading down tomorrow. Apparently the chaps who own Newry Karting bought into it. They run a good show so should be decent.

Excellent - it's quite a decent track. Could be good fun if it's still p1ssing it down tomorrow (if the rain aint hit your way yet, it's coming!).

Chased Robbie99 around there for quite a few laps, but just couldn't get the chicane right enough to be close enough on the straight, and he was doing a great job blocking me in the corners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

A boards motors Karting night would be a good idea! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

R.O.R wrote: »
    Excellent - it's quite a decent track. Could be good fun if it's still p1ssing it down tomorrow (if the rain aint hit your way yet, it's coming!).

Chased Robbie99 around there for quite a few laps, but just couldn't get the chicane right enough to be close enough on the straight, and he was doing a great job blocking me in the corners.

I remember that! You were quick all right and it was pissing rain. They closed shortly after and I understand that the owner of Kylemore Karting is also in on it with the Newry Karting owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    A boards motors Karting night would be a good idea! :)

I'd go to that! And come last :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

I vote for something in December. Just coz.

Another thing, if you have a group it never hurts to ask for a discount. Despite the fact that the prices for Grand Prix and whatnot are based on groups, if you are flexible on time/date of your event (and dont get a rep for destroying stuff) places will normally deal a little. 20 people @ €55 (vs 60) = €1100 is a lot better than zero for a track. Again though you need to be flexible about when you want to hold your event, don't wreck the place and make sure your drivers are ready to go when its their turn so that the event runs smoothly.

I'd be up for a karting day on a saturday or sunday defo.

Well, went to Kart City today, holy god what fun! It was pishing down all day and just as we started it eased off to a drizzle, but the track was still soaked!

Very little/poor wet gear was supplied and everyone was absolutely destroyed with the wet but no one cared! :D

The track is challenging enough, especially with 6 karts out at the same time, the bumping and shoving was some craic! So hard to keep the kart in the corners in the wet, there must have been well over a hundred spin offs between the 9 of us. Flying through huge puddles was beyond hilarious, the torrent of water would spray right up from front wheels and straight up under your seat, into your crotch and right over your head, completely saturating you! :D

Recommend a wet track day to anyone, just don't wear your Armanis down!