Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best before dates on cans

• 30-06-2011 12:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭

Just after eating a tin of Lidl Grapefruit Slices..then noticed the BBE on the lid was from 2003 :D I didn't notice anything wrong with the grapefruit! The 'ol thing I heard about tins never going off must be true!

So, if/have you ever found a gone off tin can would you eat whats inside?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Drank smithwicks that was a year or two out of date before. Didn't notice any difference oddly enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I prefer to use the best after dates tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

If it smells good it is good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

Just after eating a tin of Lidl Grapefruit Slices..then noticed the BBE on the lid was from 2003 :D I didn't notice anything wrong with the grapefruit! The 'ol thing I heard about tins never going off must be true!

most canned foods last 10 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

i wouldnt eat anything out of a can that is even a month withen its sell by date - Cans usually last 2 years and i dont really want to be eating anything that can last that long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Well it makes sense really. Food rots or "goes off" when microorganisms consume the nutrients in the food and leave behind their waste products. If something was tinned properly then there would be contamination and hence no way for any microorganisms to grow and digest the food.

I still wouldn't eat anything over a year old though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I still wouldn't eat anything over a year old though.

You'd have to throw another party at your gaff to get through the old stuff. Drunk people won't mind eating it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

tins are grand, best before dates are a load of bollix really. its more a sell by date for stock rotation in supermarkets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I eat out of date stuff and it hasn't ki

there is some fella in england who has made millions out of selling food past its sell by date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I used to have a massive hang up over Best Before Dates until my friend convinced me they were just a legal requirement and not to be abided by, unfortunately the first product I tested this theory on was yogourt - didn't end well, to say the least.

Superbus wrote: »
    I used to have a massive hang up over Best Before Dates until my friend convinced me they were just a legal requirement and not to be abided by, unfortunately the first product I tested this theory on was yogourt - didn't end well, to say the least.

yeah, anything fresh gives you *maybe* a day or 2 after but dry goods and non perishables like tins are grand for months if not years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

Have they been in your press for 9 years and you only decided to eat them tonight,without checking the date first? :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

In a nuclear winter or zombie apocalypse you wont be wondering about best before dates on cans!

Get it into ya!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

hiscan wrote: »
    Have they been in your press for 9 years and you only decided to eat them tonight,without checking the date first? :eek::eek:

Yep!! Just went rooting in a press, saw grapefuit in a can and was intrigued :P I've lost any best before hang up since college :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

As long as it smells okay, I'd eat it.

Back in 5th class, our teacher was absent and we were put into other classrooms for the day. When our "work" was finished, we asked to go to our own classroom (which was empty). A friend and I knew that there was an almost full box of Jelly Belly jelly beans under the table so we plundered as many as we could, although we had to contain ourselves so evidence of a thief wasn't noticable. The next Monday, I see the sweets thrown in the bin. I was in dismay, so I asked the teacher what had made her carry out such an atrocity. "They were out of date" she replied.

Biggest waste of good food ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Superbus wrote: »

Dairy and meat products have "use by" dates. Gone off dairy or meat could make you violently ill.

"Best before" just means the producers consider the product to be in its best condition before the date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Some reporter made a programme a while back on eating out of date food. And he met up with people who scavenge food that is thrown out by supermarkets because of them being out of date.

Damn it, can't remember who it was. :( Was shocking the amount of food that goes to waste - things like tinned produce at least, that is out of date but perfectly okay to eat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

Larianne wrote: »
    Some reporter made a programme a while back on eating out of date food. And he met up with people who scavenge food that is thrown out by supermarkets because of them being out of date.

Damn it, can't remember who it was. :( Was shocking the amount of food that goes to waste - things like tinned produce at least, that is out of date but perfectly okay to eat.

I think it was Louis Theroux.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

Was it the dating show called "Dating the Enemy"? The guy was a freeganist, and he dumpster dove for food. All the good fruit and cheese was unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Turpentine wrote: »
    Dairy and meat products have "use by" dates. Gone off dairy or meat could make you violently ill.

"Best before" just means the producers consider the product to be in its best condition before the date.

I learnt that the hard way, through two different orifices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

The date on Beer cans mean that that is the date when aluminium will begin to seep into the liquid from the can. If you consume it, you will most likely get alzheimers. This a fact as a mate of mine knew a guy that once was told this was said to his friends brother by his doctor, who had seen some documentary in China when on holidays there.

I think it was Louis Theroux.

No, I was thinking more along the lines of Monty Don but I don't think it was him either. It was on ITV.
    robman60 wrote: »
    Was it the dating show called "Dating the Enemy"? The guy was a freeganist, and he dumpster dove for food. All the good fruit and cheese was unbelievable.

Nope. But yeah, dumpster diving for food was part of the programme.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    The date on Beer cans mean that that is the date when aluminium will begin to seep into the liquid from the can. If you consume it, you will most likely get alzheimers. This a fact as a mate of mine knew a guy that once was told this was said to his friends brother by his doctor, who had seen some documentary in China when on holidays there.

You forgot to put up a P.O. Box where everyone can send you their slightly out of date beer to dispose of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

In a couple of days if you start killing cats and burying them in the dry wall then you may want to read the Stephen King short story "Grey Matter" for further instructions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

seanybiker wrote: »
    Drank smithwicks that was a year or two out of date before. Didn't notice any difference oddly enough

I usually mention it tothe store if I find beer by its BB and say I will buy it if the store will make a price. Just means that the quality isn't as good, still gets you drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Was that the Great British Food Waste Menu? Different chefs made a menu from food scavenged from bins and served it to MPs at the end.

The supermarkets put Best Before on Fruit and Veg because they know most customers will throw them out when they reach BB and buy more.

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Was that the Great British Food Waste Menu? Different chefs made a menu from food scavenged from bins and served it to MPs at the end.

The supermarkets put Best Before on Fruit and Veg because they know most customers will throw them out when they reach BB and buy more.

No. :(

Found it: http://www.itv.com/news/tonight/episodes/frombintobanquet/default.html

it's this one : http://www.itv.com/News/tonight/episodes/Pastitssellbydate/default.html :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Most of the food thrown out by supermarkets is totally safe and edible. It's also illegal to take from their bins and you can get arrested. Lots and lots of waste.

Jim wrote: »
    Most of the food thrown out by supermarkets is totally safe and edible. It's also illegal to take from their bins and you can get arrested. Lots and lots of waste.

It's like the way perfectly good food from restaurants that may be left over (not left-overs from peoples plates, possibly an over-estimation of one part of the menu or something) has to be dumped. Legally, they couldn't give it away if they wanted to. That's what I've heard anyway, I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

"Best before" is different to "use by"

Oldest thing I've had recently was Sage Best Before 11-88. Nothing wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

maglite wrote: »
    "Best before" is different to "use by"

Oldest thing I've had recently was Sage Best Before 11-88. Nothing wrong with it.

You must have used it in Thyme

*Gets coat*:P