Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding on Motorway - Maybe?

• 29-06-2011 11:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭

Hello. Was on Motorway to Cork today when I was driving towards a flipping Garda with a speed camera on the side of the road. :(

Thing is though I was overtaking a bunch of cars going around 110kph. The was a car in front of me overtaking them all too..that car pulled in front of them then, so obviously I had to keep going to overtake that car too because I couldn't squeeze in. Slowed down when I saw the speed camera but was probably too late. Was obviously admittedly going 135kph while in the fast lane, but this was specifically for overtaking. I don't speed and in a small car (Starlet), it probably wouldn't be able to handle over 130kph for a long distance.

Will I probably get a fine and penalty points or what? Disappointed with this. Have never got any speeding fine or anything like that before. Only got my full license a few months ago! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

That's sickening that you've just got your full.
    The thing is that they don't care if you we speeding or just over taking, the speed that their radar picked is the once that you'll be questioned about.
    If you were lucky and weren't past the limit by much when the camera caught you, you'll be fine.
    And yes, there is a chance of getting points on your licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

135kph on your speedo is prob less than 130kph in reality.

Usually, no guard will do you until you are 10% or so over the limit. That would equate to 132kph. So hopefully you got off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

You should be grand I would say, they normally pull you over.

Sorry to be the first to mention it but it might be no harm reading the rules of the road again regarding motorways, there is no "fast lane" only a driving lane and an overtaking lane ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Sorry to be the first to mention it but it might be no harm reading the rules of the road again regarding motorways, there is no "fast lane" only a driving lane and an overtaking lane ;)

Glad i wasn't the only one who picked up on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Thanks lads.

Hopefully I will be lucky enough to get away with it anyway.

@Atlantic Dawn - it was just the 1 guard there, so he technically couldn't get in the car and chase me :-)

Fair stupid, especially since I wasn't rushing or anything :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

callaway92 wrote: »
    it was just the 1 guard there, so he technically couldn't get in the car and chase me

Oh, yes he could, I've been done that way. He was quite cross by the time he caught up, too. :eek:

If he was using a hair-dryer, you're in the clear, as those don't take pictures.

If he had the kit on a tripod, there is a chance he might ticket you, but an indicated 135 is not that fast, most wouldn't bother ticketing you for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

If it's one fella with a hair dryer, there is normally another crowd down the road. If they don't come after you at the time.. you shouldn't worry about it.

Fingers crossed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Thanks lads.

Hopefully I will be lucky enough to get away with it anyway.

@Atlantic Dawn - it was just the 1 guard there, so he technically couldn't get in the car and chase me :-)

Fair stupid, especially since I wasn't rushing or anything :/
    Oh, yes he could, I've been done that way. He was quite cross by the time he caught up, too. :eek:

If he was using a hair-dryer, you're in the clear, as those don't take pictures.

If he had the kit on a tripod, there is a chance he might ticket you, but an indicated 135 is not that fast, most wouldn't bother ticketing you for that.
    If it's one fella with a hair dryer, there is normally another crowd down the road. If they don't come after you at the time.. you shouldn't worry about it.

Fingers crossed :)

Unfortunately for OP,there a few handheld speedguns around the country which are capable of also taking photos.One is used on the M8

There is no way you will get done for this, they have to pull you there and then, he would have instructed you to stop or else as said another Garda would pursue you. 100% you will hear nothing from this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 maximum payne

RoverJames wrote: »
    There is no way you will get done for this, they have to pull you there and then, he would have instructed you to stop or else as said another Garda would pursue you. 100% you will hear nothing from this.

FACT !!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

FACT !!:)

As post#3 said, 135 on your speedo will likely be a little below 130 in reality. Get your sat nav out and see what the difference is at 100kph, it will be the same discrepency throughout the range.

Very unlikely to hear anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Guys, is there any chance we could stop posting this in every thread about motorway driving, yes we know it's the overtaking lane and yes everybody who picks up on it is correct, but it is also refered to as the fast lane by nearly everybody, including me. We all understood the
    OP's point without this clarification. It's really getting on my tits!
    Sorry for going OT OP.

Edit:@Atlantic dawn the rant was not directed specifically at you, hope it doesn't read that way!

Op in answer to your question, I tend to travel at that speed on motorways. I have passed many speed checks....no points yet. It seems to me that the guards do apply a fair bit of common sense to motorway speed enforcement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

robbie7730 wrote: »
    As post#3 said, 135 on your speedo will likely be a little below 130 in reality. Get your sat nav out and see what the difference is at 100kph, it will be the same discrepency throughout the range.

Very unlikely to hear anything about it.

same PERCENTAGE discrepancy just to make it clear.

corktina wrote: »
    same PERCENTAGE discrepancy just to make it clear.

I wouldnt say so, but i cant speak for every car ever made. But its a fixed discrepency, used because a car is legally required to not be actually moving faster than the speedo reading. If it was a percentage, the speedo would not read in a linear fashion which would not be very good, and would be more complex to achieve than simply having the speedo read a fixed amount above actual speed, which is simple to achieve.

But anyway, a real test, my present car reads 7kph lower on the sat nav than on the speedo, no matter what my speed.

corktina wrote: »
    same PERCENTAGE

Have you tested it out yoursef? You would see many talk about percentage discrepancy alright, but i believe it is fixed throughout the range. Someone will see 60 on the clock, and 55 on the sat nav, and they will say its about 8% out. But it likely will still say 120 at 115 real speed. A simple matter of the clock not starting to read until the car is at 5kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

robbie7730 wrote: »
    I wouldnt say so, but i cant speak for every car ever made. But its a fixed discrepency, used because a car is legally required to not be actually moving faster than the speedo reading. If it was a percentage, the speedo would not read in a linear fashion which would not be very good, and would be more complex to achieve than simply having the speedo read a fixed amount above actual speed, which is simple to achieve.

But anyway, a real test, my present car reads 7kph lower on the sat nav than on the speedo, no matter what my speed.

The maximum over-read in displayed speed and true speed is a range of between 4km/h and 10%+4km/h.

At 100kph car A could show 104km/h (4km/h+0%), car B could show 109 (4km/h+5%) and car C could show 114 (4km/h+10%), and another car could show anywhere in between the range.

EU Directive 75/443/EEC (consolidated version)
    4.4. The speed indicated must never be less than the true speed. At the
    speeds specified for the test in 4.3.5 above and between these speeds,
    there shall be the following relationship between the speed indicated on
    the dial of the speedometer (V1) and the true speed (V2):
    0 <= V1 - V2 <= (V2/10)+4kph

Also note that speedometers are not necessarily linear, the percentage over-read could increase or decrease as speed increases.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    The maximum over-read in displayed speed and true speed is a range of between 4km/h and 10%+4km/h.

At 100kph car A could show 104km/h (4km/h+0%), car B could show 109 (4km/h+5%) and car C could show 114 (4km/h+10%), and another car could show anywhere in between the range.

EU Directive 75/443/EEC (consolidated version)

Also note that speedometers are not necessarily linear, the percentage over-read could increase or decrease as speed increases.

They seem to be a more or less fixed difference according to sat nav tests anyway.

The tests are done at 2 or 3 fixed speeds. And at these speeds the results should be within a certain percentage, but the actual difference between true speed and speedometer indicated speed should remain more or less constant in practice. There would be no reason for a actual percentage difference throughout the speedometer range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭buzzard

Hello. Was on Motorway to Cork today when I was driving towards a flipping Garda with a speed camera on the side of the road. :(

Thing is though I was overtaking a bunch of cars going around 110kph. The was a car in front of me overtaking them all too..that car pulled in front of them then, so obviously I had to keep going to overtake that car too because I couldn't squeeze in. Slowed down when I saw the speed camera but was probably too late. Was obviously admittedly going 135kph while in the fast lane, but this was specifically for overtaking. I don't speed and in a small car (Starlet), it probably wouldn't be able to handle over 130kph for a long distance.

Will I probably get a fine and penalty points or what? Disappointed with this. Have never got any speeding fine or anything like that before. Only got my full license a few months ago! :(

He most likely thought that his speed camera needs re-calibrating when he clocked a Starlet doing 135kph :D

BTW - It's not a fast lane but an overtaking lane

slimjimmc wrote: »

The actual dial movement should be linear enough, it can be tested fairly well for how linear it is again with the sat nav. The percentage over-read will not be linear though, if its a fixed numerical difference thorugh the speedometer range. The percentage over-read decreases as speed increases, if it is indeed a fixed amount over-read in an individual car.

The percentage difference in the EU directive, is at certain speeds that the tests are to be performed.

If the speedo says 55 at 50 true speed, its 10% over.

In the same car if it says 105 at 100 true speed, thats 5% over. And real tests seem to show this is the case.

And its hard to see why it wouldnt be a fixed difference, as a fixed 5kph(example) over read througout the speedometer range would be very simple to achieve, and keep within the EU directive. Why would they bother having the over-read percentage stay at a fixed amount, for example, speedo says 55 while car is going 50, so it would read 110 at 100 for the same percentage difference. That would seem less simple than an actual fixed numerical difference.

Anyway, maybe get the sat navs out and test for real at 50 and 100kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭txpjl

OP,

What time of the day was this and where exactly?

Hopefully, all is going to turn out ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

txpjl wrote: »
    OP,

What time of the day was this and where exactly?

Hopefully, all is going to turn out ok.

Hello,

am it was around 18:45 or so, not too far after Mitchelstown on the Motorway iirc.