Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-lead dogs

• 28-06-2011 11:44pm
    Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 919 ✭✭✭

Now I know there have been so many of these already, but I really cannot help but rant this time (again:p). Tonight was the fifth(!) time my dogs were attacked by a black labrador in the space of three months. Why black labradors, i dont know, but I'm starting to worry it'll give them a complex about black labs. Of course, the dog was offlead, usual thing of the owner ignoring the problem even with her dog charging mine with hackles raised and growling. My male is the biggest slob I've come across; he adores other dogs and is very gentle with smaller dogs, despite only being eight months old. But if this continues to happen, then I wouldn't really blame him if he turned. Of course it'll be the usual of RB attacks hysteria, but what am i supposed to do, ensure there are no black labradors around when i go for a walk? If your dog is any way aggressive at all, walk it on a bloody lead people:mad:

And ranting over for now... Again, apologies, but it really is starting to annoy me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Justask

Shanao wrote: »
    Now I know there have been so many of these already, but I really cannot help but rant this time (again:p). Tonight was the fifth(!) time my dogs were attacked by a black labrador in the space of three months. Why black labradors, i dont know, but I'm starting to worry it'll give them a complex about black labs. Of course, the dog was offlead, usual thing of the owner ignoring the problem even with her dog charging mine with hackles raised and growling. My male is the biggest slob I've come across; he adores other dogs and is very gentle with smaller dogs, despite only being eight months old. But if this continues to happen, then I wouldn't really blame him if he turned. Of course it'll be the usual of RB attacks hysteria, but what am i supposed to do, ensure there are no black labradors around when i go for a walk? If your dog is any way aggressive at all, walk it on a bloody lead people:mad:

And ranting over for now... Again, apologies, but it really is starting to annoy me.

The same black lab all 5 times? :confused:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Shanao

Only if he has five different owners:p No, its been a different dog each time. Today's one was a big dog even for a lab with a huge head, and my two started wagging their tails excitedly only for him to come snarling at them. My two were on two foot long leads so by my side.

Thats mad...Your 2 must have been saying bad things about black labs and it got around the village :P

This is why I take my dogs out at stupid O'Clock.... No one around so mine can run a muck :)

Might be actually. I just hope my dogs aren't going to turn into breedists.

I figured walking them at half nine I'd avoid most people, but nope, still walked into some. Oh and a beautiful little staffie pup who came tearing along towards them, seemed to realise how much bigger they were than him and immediately rolled onto his back, tail wagging mad.

Stupid O'Clock = 6am or after 10pm

I think the dogs would have a fit if i woke them up at 6am for a walk:D. Most mornings they aren't even awake when i get up, lazy mutts

One of mine is a springer, doesn't know what sleep is....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

5..separate Black Labs!!!! Shanao, im not doubting you...but im just AMAZED that its this breed...and 5 times! Are you sure its not the same dog (different dogwalker etc maybe?) No excuse though!

Im under no illusion that Labs are a perfect docile breed (ive seen 2 yellows recently who were anything but), but WOW....

I know, its the weirdest thing. Chocolate labs, not a prob, goldens, a bit iffy, but black labs just seem to hate them. And I have no idea why. Had a problem with toy breeds before, but since the big pup has hit 48kgs they stop quite sharply when they realise that he's only getting bigger and bigger as they're getting closer. Its just black labs are the problem, and I really dont know why. Its definitely not the same dog though, two have been females and the other three males.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 MissHappiness

I can't sympathise more on this. It's crazy. People think they're dogs are great, but off lead they are not controlable. Dogs should be walked on leads, then we wouldn't have so many threads here about them. My girl was approached by two boxer pups, they were off lead, she is a rottie/lab cross rescue pup that was on lead. She was happy enough for them to sniff away, buy female boxer nipped her belly, close to where she had stitches from being spayed. She had been back to vet for checkup, all was fine, but I'd imagine the area was still a bit tender. She has gone from being confidant around dogs, to total opposite.

I suggest you get on to local town council, or whoever is in charge of the area you walk the dog. Hound (excuse the pun!!) them till they put up signs saying all dogs must be on a lead. Get dog warden onto the case too. He who shouts loudest will be heard!!! Where we walk the dog is the public park, there are 5/6 pitches there that people use for sports practice for kids. I know one of the volunteers that does this with the kids, he has to go down a half hour early to clear the pitches of dog poop. That's not on, dammit!!! My rant over, still, get onto town/city council in your area, make it an issue. Make sure dog warden is in the vacinity, that will only happen through constant moans to him/her!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

I walk my 2 (blab lab/staff crosses) on lead in the estate or anywhere we will meet other on-lead dogs. Of course there are always one or 2 off lead dogs, but they seem docile and quite content to walk along with/near their owners. The pup just wants to say hello to EVERYONE, but the bigger lad is quite bad on the lead, he gets very defensive

I know that it's training, and possibly a bit of nerves on my part (Gibbs has snapped at other dogs when he's on lead... and he's not a small doggie!) that he's picking up on, and when i was talking him to socialisation classes he was great.... but back on 'home' territory for his walks he'd a different animal

Let him off lead though, and he turns into a big bundle of happy!! I walk them up along the canal near my house at least once a week, and that entire walk is off lead from the moment we hit the canal path.

The funny thing is, that the same dog who makes Gibbs all nervous and defensive when he's on lead is a playmate when he's off.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭pokertalk

I can't sympathise more on this. It's crazy. People think they're dogs are great, but off lead they are not controlable. Dogs should be walked on leads, then we wouldn't have so many threads here about them. My girl was approached by two boxer pups, they were off lead, she is a rottie/lab cross rescue pup that was on lead. She was happy enough for them to sniff away, buy female boxer nipped her belly, close to where she had stitches from being spayed. She had been back to vet for checkup, all was fine, but I'd imagine the area was still a bit tender. She has gone from being confidant around dogs, to total opposite.

I suggest you get on to local town council, or whoever is in charge of the area you walk the dog. Hound (excuse the pun!!) them till they put up signs saying all dogs must be on a lead. Get dog warden onto the case too. He who shouts loudest will be heard!!! Where we walk the dog is the public park, there are 5/6 pitches there that people use for sports practice for kids. I know one of the volunteers that does this with the kids, he has to go down a half hour early to clear the pitches of dog poop. That's not on, dammit!!! My rant over, still, get onto town/city council in your area, make it an issue. Make sure dog warden is in the vacinity, that will only happen through constant moans to him/her!!
    its not against the law to walk a non rb dog off lead so calling the dog warden wont help much in that respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭aoife2k

I am SO glad that there are other people out there that find this as infuriating as I do.

Yesterday, I brought my dog to town, parked the car near a (really crap) pet shop that have a dog. Now, I don't often go and that dog is usually in a car but as it's not a usual routine for me I never thought to expect the dog.
    So we got out of the car, proceeded to walk through the little mews and this huge golden retriever started barking his head off.

We turned and were heading for a different route and I just knew that if this dog who was showing extreme signs of aggression would just attack my Bailey who was in her harness and on lead. He fecking followed us through the whole car park before he either decided not to bother coming any further or got blocked by the other cars and people.

I felt like going over to the shop and really giving out. That dog should NOT have been left wandering around outside the shop when it obviously is not a good tempered dog.

Another time a woman(tourist) in a pub (my local) who had her dog on an long rope intentionally let her dog come over to Bailey (who i had on the harness and was sittin in between my legs) and then it proceed to bite the face off her. No apology or anything.

Ohhhhh it makes me SOOOOOOOOOOOOO MAADDDD!:mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 30,382 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Whenever we take our dog out for a walk there are loads of dogs off their leads. Funny thing is that their owners give us a dirty look like to say we have no right to bring our dog out for a walk. And another thing the walk we bring him to has a big sign stating that in no circumstances may any dog be left off the lead.

But I suppose common sense and rules don't apply to everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

If your dog is any way aggressive at all, walk it on a bloody lead people:mad:

+ 1,000,000. That sentence should be part of the constitution. In fact, even if its not aggressive but its gonna annoy and excite on lead dogs, same deal.

This seems to come up every week or so on this forum but I cant blame u Shanao, I'd be looking for a place to rant too.

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

Maybe it's because people assume their labradors are easy going and not a treat that they give them more leeway off lead because in the past week, my three have been...well, not accosted, more harrassed by a black lab and a golden lab on two different occasions. Both times the labs have been off lead, while my three are on the lead. I keep mine on the lead when walking.

Both times the owners have practically ignored the labs while they bounced and sniffed and jumped around my three as we walked, and one of mine will bark and the other will give a small growl to tell the dog to piss off. Which they didn't until I told one owner that if he didn't call his dog, I might just end up going home with four dogs and the other time, the owner eventually came after his dog and had to pull him away.
    The way one lad was sniffing around Meg, who is neutered, so he was wasting his time there and really should have bought her dinner first if he wanted to get anywhere with her, why he was practically salivating around her!

The dogs were friendly, but it was a real nuisance for the other owners to not be paying heed to what their dogs were up to. I don't mind other dogs coming up to say hello and take a quick sniff around, but when you're half way down the road and that dog is still there, it gets old fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Ok owners should keep an eye on their dogs and keep them from annoying other dogs and owners and of course pick up poo. BUT dogs need off leash time and I would be very against an all dogs must be leashed rule.
    I walk my two twice a day with each walk ending with off leash time in the green. If I see a leashed dog I call mine and they come, the same with kids, other walkers and anyone else I think will be annoyed at them.
    Is their recall perfect? Nope but it's getting better every day. Could they be happy without their off leash time? Absolutely not, the jack russell cross just has too much energy. Plus there tends to be other playmates up there in the evenings so they also get well socialised.
    I am sorry op that the black labs are causing such issues and their owners should be more aware and apologetic but the suggestion by some posters that my two and every other dog should be on leash all the time irritates the help out of me.

I would never ask for all dogs to be put on lead, my own two are RBs and are constantly on lead, well until I find a secluded spot where absolutely no one else goes, and the law is quite frankly ridiculous. I love seeing them run around on the beaches and charging into the river. I used to have a collie and would never, ever have kept her on lead the whole time as she'd have cracked up. I just wish their was some way that irresponsible owners could be made keep their aggressive dogs on leash- my guys are big enough to handle themselves easily if it comes to a fight, but a smaller dog wouldn't have a chance against a lab.

Oh, and the funny thing about this- there are "keep dogs on lead" signs all over the place. The old ones were torn down by someone, and newer ones were put up higher so they wont be pulled down, but very few people put their dogs on leash there. Even if they called their dogs to them, or put the leash on for a few seconds when approaching another walker with a dog, it would make a huge difference.

But as the OH says, common courtesy is long dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Ok owners should keep an eye on their dogs and keep them from annoying other dogs and owners and of course pick up poo. BUT dogs need off leash time and I would be very against an all dogs must be leashed rule.

Oh absolutely, an all dogs must be leashed rule would be very hard on those dogs who need a good gallop around every day.
    I don't let mine off the lead when we're walking because if they caught a scent at all, they'd be gone and they are also the type who would eventually stop, realise that they were 'lost' and get spooked. But I am very happy for other dogs to come up to us because it gives me a chance to keep them socialised and correct any behaviour from them that I consider not acceptable. I mean, they wouldn't get aggressive but might start to bark excitedly or something. So my problem is never with the dog but the owner who doesn't notice that their dog is practically following me to my house! We've been lucky though that we haven't encountered any unleashed aggressive dogs in our walks.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,915 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

Shanao, is it possible that your dogs have already developed a negative reaction to black labs, even from the first time they were attacked? Since then they could release a nervous scent whenever they see a black lab which has initiated the other attacks, as dogs often attack nervous dogs. This happened with my parents dog with boxers, he met one aggressive boxer and since then has been so nervous of them that whenever he meets one he gives off a scent/body signals which cause the dog to get aggressive with him.

Nope, I watch their body language very carefully and they react the exact same way as they approach any other dog, tails wagging. Most of the labs that have charged them have been quite far ahead and just come running straight for them. My dogs dont even notice them most of the time, too busy snuffling through the grass, they just seem to appear and surprise them. To be fair though, these are the dogs that I have seen off lead the most, and the ones that the owners aren't even watching the dogs as they walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭trio

I know what you mean. Mine was full on attacked yesterday by an off lead dog. Lost some fur near his eye. Frightened the life out of me. I had to kick the dog to get it off my dogs belly. I didn't hurt it of course, but I still had to. He was going for the throat.

Then today we were in town and on lead and this other dog charges up out of nowhere and wouldn't leave us alone. Kept hassling us ALL THE WAY HOME. It wasn't a stray, had a lovely collar on and was well cared for. God knows where it lived - perhaps it's allowed wander through town all day.

Very stressful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

My dog was attacked today for a second time by a dog who was being walked off leash in my housing estate. The owners didn't even apologise, just gave me dirty looks as if my very placid and on leash dog was somehow responsible. :mad:

I don't get it, they carry the leash around but don't bother put the dog on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭belongtojazz

My little lady was attacked last night quite seriously by my neighbours dog, if I hadn't pulled the 40kg+ golden lab off my 6kg JRT there is no doubt in my mind that she would have been killed.
    Thankfully although she is obviously sore and very nervous now she wasn't too badly injured but this lab had her in her mouth and was shaking her like a ragdoll.
    This is the 2nd time in 2 weeks this same dog of mine has been attacked, I got bitten the last time seperating them as that was a much smaller dog and my Jazz was trying to defend herself (it was the other dog that bit me). I have 3 other dogs and they don't seem to garner the same level of aggression at all for some reason :confused:

Even after that though I don't believe all dogs should always be on a lead.

A dog who exhibits ANY form of aggression though should always be either muzzled or on a lead where there is any possibilty they could meet anyone.
    I also believe that owners should immediately seek professional help in dealing with the issues causing the agression. I have done that with my Springer who suffered with fear and possesive agression and he is coming on brilliantly, however knowing his nature he is kept on a lead until we are well away from the estate and are in the field. I couldn't live with myself if one of my dogs injured a person or someone elses pet.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,862 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Apparently other dogs have difficulty reading the body language of black dogs. My neighbourhood Collie took an instant dislike to my little back chap.
    Maybe there are tiny signals that we don't see but that your dogs pick up & then the Lab reacts.