Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is this a scam or not

• 28-06-2011 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭

Just try to sell a sofa on buy and sell, and I got this reply ture my e-mail today. To me is very very fishy but I taught I'd share with you to see what ye might think.... scam or no scam...

Thanks for the prompt response.. I am ready to buy it now for my son and i am not in town at the moment as i am a Military been in camp in for some time and due to the nature of my work, It hard to make a phone calls and visiting of website are restricted but i squeezed out time to check this advert and send you an email regarding it. I insisted on PayPal because i don't have access to my bank account online as i don't have internet banking, but i can pay from my PayPal account, as i have my bank a/c attached to it, i will need you to give me your PayPal email address and the price so i can make the payment asap for it and please if you don't have PayPal account yet, it is very easy to set up, go to www.paypal.com and get it set up, after you have set it up i will only need the e-mail address you use for registration with PayPal so as to put the money through. I have a pick up agent that will come and pick i after i have made the payments.I hope to read back from you soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Sounds legit!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

Why wouldn't they be able to access online banking, but paypal, anyways?
    It's likely a paypal chargeback scam

Good place to ask/find out about these scams: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=583

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Roy it looks like hes trying to Rodger you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭The High King

Doesn't look like a scam to me. Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

What's the sofa like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

If you havent been scammed by them yet,
    I say sofa, so good!

Just send him the monies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,730 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Is your sofa made of Ivory? If it is then it's unlikely to be a scam as they go made for this stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

Ghandee wrote: »
    If you havent been scammed by them yet,
    I say sofa, so good!

Just send him the monies!

let say the guy was from ireland.. and you sent him the money through your bank and it turns out to be a scam what happens..

could you get your money back ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Nope. Not a chance in hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Your reply.

Hi Commando fantastic.

In my world this is how we do the deal. You, get a trailer, and bring it to the collection point, in this case, my house. You pick up the sofa right after you give me whats called Money. It comes in paper form and sometimes the lower values are in a metallic disc shape, referred to as coins. I receive them from the one collecting the sofa... i have money - you have sofa.

Many years happy shagging

PS. Baby wipes are decent from removing spunk off the leather. Worked for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

Thanks for that lads just beening reading the forum from scamwarners and some of them scams are word for word:eek::eek:

It goes to show ya, ya can't trust anything.

I wonder could I have a bit of fun with this:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:maybe I'll tell him he can have it for free and see what he says then:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭zeds alive

I caught a guy out trying this before when I sold a iphone on ebay , Set up 2 paypal accounts , receive money in account 1 and transfer to account 2 , when he tries do a charge back he will get shafted as account 1 is empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

this may be a dull one

but if you set up a new email address (fake clearly) and set up a (fake) paypal account and actually got him to send money to you then whats the problem ?

like is this just a scam to get you on paypal ?

this is confusing me :confused:

i dont see a point to this scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭zeds alive

He pays you and then does a charge back , i.e item not as described , fake goods etc etc , paypal refund him , he's got your goods and his cash back.
    robbie_998 wrote: »

i dont see a point to this scam

am not sure if i can post this but this sucker tried to scam me. infact he lives in ireland...

• Confirmation of an Instant Gift Payment Received from Michael Coal(michaelcoal13@yahoo.ie)‏

26/06/2011

Subject: Re: Confirmation of an Instant Gift Payment Received from Michael Coal (michaelcoal13@yahoo.ie)

On Sun, Jun 26, 2011 at 6:48 PM, service paypal.com
    <support@paypalpayment.info> wrote:

Protect Your Password You should never give your PayPal password to anyone,
    including PayPal employees.

Dear xxxxx

This email confirms that you have received a payment of €370.00 from Michael
    Coal using PayPal.

View the "NOTE" of this pending transaction below

Payment Details

Transaction ID: 0CP35036HW153811J

Item Title: I phone 4 Quantity: 1
    Price: €370 Subtotal: €370

Goods 1
    €370.00 EUR €370.00 EUR

Postage & Packing via Mail Delivery: €00.00 EUR

Total: €370.00 EUR

The payment will fully clear in your account and appear in the Recent
    Activity list on your Account Overview only when you post the goods to
    the given name and address of the buyer and email us the proof of
    postage for confirmation.

Shipping Information

Name: Michael Coal

Address Status: Confirmed

If you have questions about the payment, please contact the buyer
    michaelcoal13@yahoo.ie or you reply directly to this payment notification for
    quick attention.

This payment from "Michael Coal" has been APPROVED but the funds can only be
    credited into your account immediately when we have confirmed that you have
    shipped the Item to the Buyer's confirmed address.
    We therefore implore you to dispatch the item and provide the customer care
    unit at support@paypalpayment.info with an evidence of (Postage Receipt or
    Tracking number and the Courier
    Service used). Then you will then be sent a URL that will link you into
    your account. This is to secure both the Buyer and the Seller. Sorry for any
    inconveniences.

**PLEASE NOTE**
    Once the shipment is confirmed, your funds will become operational in your
    account and you will receive a " CONFIRMATION "email from PayPal informing you
    that the Money has been credited.
    Thank you for using PayPal!
    The PayPal team

Your monthly account statement is available anytime; just log in to your
    account at https://www.paypal.com. To correct any errors, please contact us
    through our Help Center Email.

To receive email notifications in plain text instead of HTML, update your
    preferences sign in to your PayPal account.

PayPal – The safer, easier way to pay
    * Use your credit card without exposing your card number to merchants.
    * Speed through checkout without stopping to enter your card number or address.
    * Easily send money to family and friends.
    Fight fake emails
    * Forward suspicious emails to customerprotection@officeemail.net
    * Make sure you're using the latest internet browser.

PayPal Email ID PP1525

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

zeds alive wrote: »
    He pays you and then does a charge back , i.e item not as described , fake goods etc etc , paypal refund him , he's got your goods and his cash back.

oh right... im a bit unfamiliar with paypal and didn't know you could do that.

cheers.

two paypal accounts sounds like fun for transfers as just said above !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

robbie_998 wrote: »
    ...i dont see a point to this scam
    There is usually a second letter follow-up to the first contact also sometimes.

The second one goes like the following:
    "Hello,
    I was just about to pay when i had this problem with the pick up, my
    pick up agent says i will need to pay for the pick up before they can
    schedule a pick up time, they charged me $600 for pick up and
    delivery, and payments for pick up made through them is made to their
    corporate international headquarters which is in the state and the
    payments is made through western union money transfer, i will add the
    $600 to the money i will send through paypal as soon as i have made
    the payments, i will email you and let you know and please i will need
    you to help me send the money to my pick up agent through western
    union money transfer
    , this can be done from any post office ,there is
    always western union money transfer section in most post offices(you
    can do it online as well at www.westernunion.com)*..., i would have
    done it myself but we cant bring some of our personal effects along, i
    am a little incapacitated.....I will appreciate your help here.

Hope to read back from you soon.

* A supposed genuine link is provided too.

As the main point here is with paypal what if this is done through the bank.

let says i sent a certain amount of cash from BOI - BOI. and it turns out to be dodgy.

what are the odds of getting your money back ?

I love informative threads like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

As the main point here is with paypal what if this is done through the bank.

let says i sent a certain amount of cash from BOI - BOI. and it turns out to be dodgy.

what are the odds of getting your money back ?

I love informative threads like these.

If you lodge your money across the counter in the Bank of Ireland, or any irish bank for that matter, your chances of getting your money back are getting slimmer by the day.

Soon, Bank of Nigeria wont look like such a bad option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

some basic maths:

PAYPAL + COLLECTION = SCAM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Buyer has lovely English. Obviously lives in Leitrim, local man. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Well, first of all the e-mail doesn't even make any sense. I'd be afraid to give someone like that the address to pick up the sofa, never mind payment details!

If you want to receive money electronically, the safest way to do it is to have a second current account e.g. many people will have an account they don't use e.g. an old student account or something like that.

Ask the purchaser to transfer money into that account, then immediately transfer it into your own normal accounts.

Basically, it's just means your active current account details (and wages) never fall into the wrong hands.

PayPal's OK, if you're pretty sure the person's legitimate and not likely to do charge-backs for no valid reason.

Alternatively, payment by draft / cheque and delivery on clearance of funds in the bank.

Or, of course, cash (but check it's not fake too!)
    http://www.ecb.int/euro/banknotes/security/html/index.en.html

Also, be very careful if you're buying items online, there have been some nasty attacks on people who have turned up with cash to meet a seller.

That's why I would recommend finding an electronic solution.

Solair wrote: »

Ask the purchaser to transfer money into that account, then immediately transfer it into your own normal accounts.

Basically, it's just means your active current account details (and wages) never fall into the wrong hands.

That's why I would recommend finding an electronic solution.

in this case the seller is at no risk.... but how can the buyer protect himself in this instance ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

in this case the seller is at no risk.... but how can the buyer protect himself in this instance ?

I'm speaking from the point of view of the sofa seller :D

From the buyer's point of view, the only thing you can really do is have a paper trail / electronic and the seller's address.

If they don't supply the goods - Small Claims Court.

You can never really be 100% sure if it's a "distance selling" thing and you're expecting delivery of the goods.

There still has to be an element of trust. That's basically how all business works.

Scam a scam artist, sounds good.:D

So having two separate accounts on Pay Pal would work?:rolleyes:
    But I doubt any money would be sent, I say it will be more down the lines will you send 50 euro so my agent can come and get it and I will repay you through your Pay Pal account!!

Yeah right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

You do realise if you are trying to sell a second hand sofa you are bound as a matter of honour to say if anyone has ever screwed on it, right?

Solair wrote: »
    I'm speaking from the point of view of the sofa seller :D

From the buyer's point of view, the only thing you can really do is have a paper trail / electronic and the seller's address.

If they don't supply the goods - Small Claims Court.

You can never really be 100% sure if it's a "distance selling" thing and you're expecting delivery of the goods.

There still has to be an element of trust. That's basically how all business works.

small claims court..... i never knew they could be involved i'm guesing it could be a lengthy procedure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

€10 offered.

double GG wrote: »
    €10 offered.

sold. whats your bank account number??:D