Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just bought a car, not tax, NCT or Insurance disk

• 28-06-2011 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭

My mum just bought a car. However it has no NCT or Tax.
    The NCT just failed on a broken light and we should have it sorted out by tomorrow.
    There is no Tax, we have to wait for the Insurance disc and policy to come out before I can buy tax.

So there is no discs in the Window is it still legal to drive. (It is insured just no disc yet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Depends on the guard you meet, your not legally allowed to drive without tax, but if the car was just bought and you waiting on the disk, most guards will either send you on your way or ask that you produce at a garda station within 10 days.
    Like wise with NCT, you can get points on your license for driving without NCT but if you have a retest booked and work carried out, most guards will let you go. Its not legal to drive, but you would have to be very unlucky to get a fine or points for the above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Senna wrote: »
    Its not legal to drive, but you would have to be very unlucky to get a fine or points for the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

And if you do drive it as is, you can still be fined for failure to display current tax disc by either the Gardaí or traffic wardens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,622 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

lynchie wrote: »
    And if you do drive it as is, you can still be fined for failure to display current tax disc by either the Gardaí or traffic wardens.

Correct, so do not park it on a public road. That means you will be safe in shopping centres and multistorey car parks but not on public streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

dillo2k10 wrote: »
    My mum just bought a car. However it has no NCT or Tax.
    The NCT just failed on a broken light and we should have it sorted out by tomorrow.
    There is no Tax, we have to wait for the Insurance disc and policy to come out before I can buy tax.

So there is no discs in the Window is it still legal to drive. (It is insured just no disc yet)

She doesn't need the insurance cert or disc, just the name of the insurer (not broker) and the expiry date of the policy. She can contact the insurer to confirm that. She doesn't even need the policy number for motor tax.

[Edit]policy number is also required[/edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭katiebelle

A window minus all discs is bound to be a gardai magnet though. Get the change of ownership completed asap so you can tax it. Poster above is correct you don't need the insurance documents to tax the car but it does need to be in your name really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭dillo2k10

I was just pulled over in it by the Garda. They just told me to produce my insurance and licence within 10 days. Didn't even say anything about the tax and NCT, I told them that we only bought it before they got the chance.

If I were you I would produce the NCT cert too. My daughter got pulled in a very similar situation and her NCT was actually booked. The garda did not mention anything to her about the NCT though so she thought it was ok. A little while later she got a letter telling her she now had penalty points because she had no nct on the car when she was pulled by gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Also, there seem to be many stories of the system not showing that you produced them at all - try to get a piece of paper with the station stamp on it, with the date and what you produced recorded on it. Judging by different accounts - You might get an obliging guard that will give you some proof of producing those documents without any fuss, or you might get one that will regard you as the Antichrist . Ask nicely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

katiebelle wrote: »
    If I were you I would produce the NCT cert too. My daughter got pulled in a very similar situation and her NCT was actually booked. The garda did not mention anything to her about the NCT though so she thought it was ok. A little while later she got a letter telling her she now had penalty points because she had no nct on the car when she was pulled by gardai

Are you sure about this Katie ? The guards cannot give you penalty points for not having a current NCT. They would have to take you to court where the judge can award (award ???? just doesn't sound right when you are being penalised) you with up to 5 penalty points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Guards do not give penalty points in any case. It is the Department of Transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Guards do not give penalty points in any case. It is the Department of Transport.

Thanks for clearing that up, never knew the Gardai didn't issue penalty points.:rolleyes:

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    Are you sure about this Katie ? The guards cannot give you penalty points for not having a current NCT. They would have to take you to court where the judge can award (award ???? just doesn't sound right when you are being penalised) you with up to 5 penalty points.

Yeah I am sure, my daughter was in the process of moving and did not get any of her mail relating to this in time so she is going about appealing this. She never got the chance to defend herself in court. She really needs NOT to have any penalty points with her job .

A window minus all discs is bound to be a gardai magnet though. Get the change of ownership completed asap so you can tax it. Poster above is correct you don't need the insurance documents to tax the car but it does need to be in your name really

No quite true either, the change of ownership is performed by completing another form but you can tax a car before the change of ownership has been processed by Shannon. As far as the tax office are concerned the car is still in the previous owner's name but you can still tax it. You don't need registration documents either, just details which can be got from the car itself.

See form RF100A (pdf) for the details you need to tax a car. PS : any reference to change of ownership on the form apply only to the seller not to the new owner.

Yeah I am sure, my daughter was in the process of moving and did not get any of her mail relating to this in time so she is going about appealing this. She never got the chance to defend herself in court. She really needs NOT to have any penalty points with her job .
    No test certificate is a mandatory court appearance, the Gardaí cannot impose a conviction for this offence only a court. Most likely she did not receive the court summons because of the move and the court convicted in her absence.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    No quite true either, the change of ownership is performed by completing another form but you can tax a car before the change of ownership has been processed by Shannon. As far as the tax office are concerned the car is still in the previous owner's name but you can still tax it. You don't need registration documents either, just details which can be got from the car itself.

See form RF100A (pdf) for the details you need to tax a car. PS : any reference to change of ownership on the form apply only to the seller not to the new owner.

I thought that too but on the form it said only to use it if none of the owners details had changed . So I was not sure. It did not matter in the long run as I was not using the car immediately and was able to wait for the change of ownership to come through

No test certificate is a mandatory court appearance, the Gardaí cannot impose a conviction for this offence only a court. Most likely she did not receive the court summons because of the move and the court convicted in her absence.

That is exactly what happened. She was not even in the country to receive the summons so she is not sure what happened there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

slimjimmc wrote: »
    She doesn't need the insurance cert or disc, just the name of the insurer (not broker) and the expiry date of the policy. She can contact the insurer to confirm that. She doesn't even need the policy number for motor tax.

Are you sure? will the tax office follow it up to make sure the car is insured?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

All they need is the name of the company, policy number and expiry date.

Senna wrote: »
    Are you sure? will the tax office follow it up to make sure the car is insured?

Yes, they only need the details of the policy (policy number is needed, that was my error). They don't need to see the certs or anything. I don't know what, if anything, they do with the info but I suspect it is used to encourage compliance.
    All they need is the name of the company, policy number and expiry date.
    Thanks, I missed seeing the policy number on the form.