Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US]True Blood S04E02 You Smell Like Dinner[Spoilers Withinn]]

• 28-06-2011 10:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭

Date:
    26th of June 2011 HBO Online website
    Original Air Date on TV: 3 July 2011

Sookie adjusts to Bon Temps' new realities; Bill reveals pieces of his past; Eric crashes a witches' meeting; Jason gets his wounds licked; Andy struggles with his addiction; Sam learns of Luna's special talents; Jessica satisfies her blood cravings; and Arlene witnesses strange behavior from her family

Just after watching the first 30 minutes before I had to go to work, but looks to be a great episode. Finding out a lot more about Bill so they seem to have improved Bill from be a whiny pain into a much stronger character. Plus I like the work he's done to his house.

Jason seems to have pulled the short end of the stick with story lines this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Marcia Lustley

christ i love eric :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭PhoenixParker

Episode 2 is much better than episode 1.
    Love that scene with Sookie and Pam, Pam has by far the best lines in the whole thing. Eric pulls some good string!
    Like Jessica cheating on Hoyt, fits her character much better for her to be out of control crazy instead of old housewife with Hoyt.
    Jason tied to the bed felt like a bit of an irrelevancy, but whatever, his shirt comes off.
    Scene where Eric gets amnesia was nicely done. Impressed with Marni there.
    Wish they'd just kill Tara off.
    The Sam and the shifters storyline now shows promise.
    I'm bored of the does Bill really care about Sookie thing, wish there was a better storyline there. Preferably one where the viewer knows the truth and no one else does.
    I did like the 1982 punk scene bit, classic. And the bit of back story on the vampire league. It'd be nice to know alot more about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

Pam is by far one of the best characters in the show. I can't decide if I'd prefer her to have more screen time, or if keeping it to a minimum makes her moments even better. Loved the string pulling line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭ArthurG

Much better episode........ loving the coven.

Funny thing in the '1982 London' scene with Bill. When he ordered the beer at the bar, there is a Guinness 250 celebration tap on the counter. That product was only available in the States in 2009......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

ArthurG wrote: »
    Funny thing in the '1982 London' scene with Bill. When he ordered the beer at the bar, there is a Guinness 250 celebration tap on the counter. That product was only available in the States in 2009......
    Someone with the username 'ArthurG' could only notice that! ;)

Much better second episode.

The girlfriend was just telling me yesterday about a friend of hers who read the books and how they're quite different, and that there was a part of the books where Eric lost his memory.

Then we saw the second episode..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

The books are different.
    Tara is a white southern lady and her and Sookie are not close.
    Lafayette ends up dead in the car instead of the voodoo lady and has a tiny role.
    Bill does not become King.

But some of the story threads have ended up in the series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Great start to the new season. I like the new shape shifter (giggidy).

I thought the witch storyline was gonna be bad, but it's looking very interesting.

King Bill is cool. I prefer bad ass Bill to whiny "Twilight" Bill :pac:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Basq wrote: »
    The girlfriend was just telling me yesterday about a friend of hers who read the books and how they're quite different

They take stuff out of the books and do their own thing to them, so some parts are the same and some vastly different.
    I found the stories in the books to be great, but Charlaine Harris leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to writing technique. She's a poor writer with a great imagination.
    there was a part of the books where Eric lost his memory.

And if the storyline sticks to the book, it's going to be
    very HOT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Dymo

So after 2 episodes it seems to be shaping up nicely, I love the way it has all the side line stories.

Sam and his shifter friends and his bro
    Jason and the Panthers
    Andy and his true blue addiction
    Arlene and her psycho baby
    Sookie, Bill and Eric Triangle
    Jessica and Hoyt relationship
    Layfette, Tamara and the witches

And also can't forget the Fairys.

So much in everyshow, just hope they can keep everything together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Gimme_Da_Gold

I love this show, the first two eps were great. I read all the books and I like how you still don't know whats going to happen. I know some things are same but I like how I get to see these parts done in live action with these great actors. Can't wait until 3 ep, I wish these seasons where longer the 12 eps but not as long as 22 which I find it can be good if they could pull it off. Knowing with 12 eps they can put a lot more into each one and make it great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

2nd episode was better than the first. There could be some good storylines with Eric losing his memory and with the witches.

My copy of the episode I watched seemed as if it cut off early,last thing is Eric sniffing at Sookie,was that how it ended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

tvnutz wrote: »
    My copy of the episode I watched seemed as if it cut off early,last thing is Eric sniffing at Sookie,was that how it ended?
    More or less!

He then said something like "you smell good..".. and it ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Does anyone know if HBOgo will be showing one episode ahead for the whole season. Or will we now have to wait two weeks for the next episode? I watched one episode on Monday and the next on Tuesday and my brain feels hard-wired to watch another today. Waiting two weeks will blow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Basq wrote: »
    More or less!

He then said something like "you smell good..".. and it ended.

Cheers mate,mine just didn't have the "you smell good" line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Second episode much better than the first. I can't help but cringe at the some of the animation in this show though, the fireballs in episode 1 looked like something out of Tron and the panthers are pretty awful too.

Interesting that Eric seemed to know the witch Marnie (flashbacks to her with a young face).Either that or he knew the person that took over her body if that's what happened. Perhaps she is older than she seems.

I do wish they had just let Eric rip Tara's throat out before wiping his memory however.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Yay! I didnt even check for episode 2 until I read this... getting it now! thanks:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Caked Karen

really enjoyed episode 2 - i was worried after episode 1 as thought it wasnt the best openers to a season.
    ive read the books and i like what they have taken from it, if it goes the way that it might
    Its definetely shaping up to be a good season but just worried with all the sub stories will it be abit too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭honkytonk52

after the first episode in the series been absolutely ludicrous with the fairy's at the start this was a much better episode, and the end was great... seems to be shaping up nicely but will we will just have to wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Dymo wrote: »

Sam and his shifter friends and his bro
    Jason and the Panthers
    Andy and his true blue addiction
    Arlene and her psycho baby
    Sookie, Bill and Eric Triangle
    Jessica and Hoyt relationship
    Layfette, Tamara and the witches

And also can't forget the Fairys.

Still a few things missing: the doll that we saw in one of the very last scenes in Hoyt & Jessica's house. And Maxine & Hoyt's ex-girlfriend are going to do something crazy somewhere in the series.

It was a stroke of brilliant linking in the Inquisition with the coven. Very interesting.

Will the weres be making an appearance, me wonders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 galwaybetty

Well I have to say that I am in 100% agreement with the rest of ye, this episode was miles ahead of the first. I suppose its partly because the first episode is an introduction, and only hints at what is coming ahead.

I like Sam and the other shifters, interesting how they are bringing in the 'skinwalkers' mythology into it.

Again, I love Pam, 'he pulls great string'- hilarious!

The coven is getting seriously creepy, Im curious how the Inquisition is going to tie in with it all.

Arlene and the evil baby......Im not sure if I want the baby to evil or not yet. Other than decapitating Barbies we havent seen much evidence of that, and in fairness who didnt decapitate Barbies when they were little!

Is it just me or does Marnie seem posessed at times? I'm curious as to how they will be setting her up as the villain for the season....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

Gonna agree with what everyone else has said about this being a better episode. I suppose if they made more than 12 they could have had a double episode starter, which would have been better.

I like that they've gone with the memory loss story here from the books and Beruthiel let's hope that does happen!!

Laughing at Arlene's eye popping a blood vessel and then she blamed the baby. I've no idea how that's going to go but I think it's a good storyline.

I did find myself flicking to facebook when Tommy came on. Just don't find him insteresting!

Eric has built himself a cubbie hole in Sookie's house.....just in time so :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,015 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I much prefer Bill when he is away from Sookie

Loving the Eric storyline and Pam was great as usual way better episode than the first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Great episode.

Can't wait to see what happens with Eric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

was there any translation (latin I think) for what yer wan said to eric?

This is from http://true-blood.net/2011/07/03/marnies-spell-what-did-she-say-to-eric/:

The deed is done. Eric’s memory has been erased, thanks to Marnie who was channeling Hallow and apparently Lafayette who provided a little extra juice. What exactly did Marnie say? We have the Latin spell she chanted and the (rough) English translation:

Jam tibi impero et præcipio maligne spiritus! ut confestim allata et circulo discedas, absque omni strepito, terrore, clamore et foetore, asque sine omni damno mei tam animæ quam corporis.

Translated: Evil spirits, I command you to depart the circle immediately, without sound or fear or foulness, and without damage to either my soul or body.

This is a very rough translation, pieced together using several online translators. If we have a Truebie with Latin skills, please feel free to help us out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

he said 'you smell good ,why is that ...?'
    bit freaky ,eh ? (the episode I mean )

She smells different to other humans because of her fairy blood, even though Eric has amnesia, he still knows she's different.