Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Special rate grant

• 27-06-2011 1:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭

Hey everyone,

I'm wondering about the above top up grant. I read that your parents have to have received a long term social welfare payment. My dad has been on disability payement for 18 months or so, and the annual amount taken in is under the maximum amount in order to get the grant. However, I emailed my VEC and they said that the disability payement does not make one eligible for this grant. Slightly furious...

Is there any point in my applying does anyone know, or should I just accept that I'm going to receive a grant that I'll genuinly struggle with for another year? Cheers!:rolleyes::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I got the same response last year when my father had been on illness benefit. I tried to appeal it, but they just sent another letter a few months later saying it was not eligible. Now he's gone on disability I'll be in the same situation as you. I'd say try appeal it, but you'll probably end up having to struggle.

It's ridiculous to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭theowen

Aoifey! wrote: »
    I got the same response last year when my father had been on illness benefit. I tried to appeal it, but they just sent another letter a few months later saying it was not eligible. Now he's gone on disability I'll be in the same situation as you. I'd say try appeal it, but you'll probably end up having to struggle.

It's ridiculous to say the least.
    Is it just a form ye send off or what's the craic? I've a fair story of disadvantage behind me that would probably get me it if there was an interview or something of the likes.

Also, did ye appeal again? I read that there's a different appeal after the first, that was the one I was thinking may be an interview or at least a letter ye send in. Cheers for the reply :)

Wooops, he's actually on illness benefit. I read that disability is accepted though? In saying that, the reply I got lumped the too together-"very sorry, but illness/disability benefit does not make you eligible".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

It was just a letter we wrote and sent off explaining our situation, but by the response we got to it I seems they just saw the words "illness benefit" and sent back their pre-written letter. We sent off for the appeal around November and didn't get the reply til late February. I just left it then, didn't seem like we were going to get anywhere with it.

I'm not definite where they stand on disability, but seeing as they judge on the previous years income I'm guessing I still won't be getting the special rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

theowen wrote: »
    Hey everyone,

I'm wondering about the above top up grant. I read that your parents have to have received a long term social welfare payment. My dad has been on disability payement for 18 months or so, and the annual amount taken in is under the maximum amount in order to get the grant. However, I emailed my VEC and they said that the disability payement does not make one eligible for this grant. Slightly furious...

Is there any point in my applying does anyone know, or should I just accept that I'm going to receive a grant that I'll genuinly struggle with for another year? Cheers!:rolleyes::)

I think your county council have that wrong - read this document

http://www.studentfinance.ie/downloads/Student%20Grant%20Scheme%202011.pdf
    Eligible payments for the special rate of maintenance grant for the
    2011/12 academic year
    As at 31 December 2010, the reckonable income must include one of the eligible
    payments listed in this Schedule net of—
    (a) income disregards (as set out in article 21(4) of this Scheme); and
    (b) Child Dependant Increase (C.D.I.), where paid by the Department of
    Social Protection.
    Social Assistance Payments
    1. Blind Pension
    2. Carer’s Allowance
    3. One Parent Family Payment
    4. Deserted Wife’s Allowance
    5. Disability Allowance

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Feck it sure. I survived last year, I'll be grand this year. Cheers for the replies :rolleyes::)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Craguls

They're stingy to say the least. I should by all means get 25% maintenance but have never actually received it due to terms and conditions style responses.

My own dad's a taxi driver and took out a loan to renew his car which they then counted a reckonable income since he met the loan repayment for 2010. In 2009 I was awarded the basic grant (reg fee waved) but for 2010 they denied it too me as we were raised above the income bracket since they counted the car loan. We appealed this all the way to the department of education as we never really had the money since the car is his business so it came in and went straight back out the door within a week. The appeals process lasted until March, however in February my Dad took a heart attack and was told to cut down on working and given a medical card in place of disability benefit (apparently you can't claim it if you're self employed?). Even despite the change in circumstances they still ruled to refuse the grant payment. The car was paid off in 2010 though so it shouldn't be counted this year thankfully.

But yeah I'd talk to Steph or Louise, Owen they're great from personal experience at helping out for stuff like this.

Craguls wrote: »
    They're stingy to say the least. I should by all means get 25% maintenance but have never actually received it due to terms and conditions style responses.

My own dad's a taxi driver and took out a loan to renew his car which they then counted a reckonable income since he met the loan repayment for 2010. In 2009 I was awarded the basic grant (reg fee waved) but for 2010 they denied it too me as we were raised above the income bracket since they counted the car loan. We appealed this all the way to the department of education as we never really had the money since the car is his business so it came in and went straight back out the door within a week. The appeals process lasted until March, however in February my Dad took a heart attack and was told to cut down on working and given a medical card in place of disability benefit (apparently you can't claim it if you're self employed?). Even despite the change in circumstances they still ruled to refuse the grant payment. The car was paid off in 2010 though so it shouldn't be counted this year thankfully.

But yeah I'd talk to Steph or Louise, Owen they're great from personal experience at helping out for stuff like this.
    I'm glad it worked out for you, sort of at least. :). I'll talk to someone in the SU sure in case there's a chance. It really would make a huge difference to my education and whatnot. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

You will get the top up is there on allowance , but if their on benefit you dont !!!!

Its a terrible situation because they are been disadvantaged because their using their stamps !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

theowen wrote: »
    Feck it sure. I survived last year, I'll be grand this year. Cheers for the replies :rolleyes::)

at least youre not taking it when you'll be grand.... the thing with the grant is unless you have a lot of sibling the income thing might not be enough as there are so many parents on welfare. good luck