Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody's iPhone survive after falling into water???

• 26-06-2011 10:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭

My new i fone fell into water earlier and to say im starting to panic is an understatement!!!!:eek:ive put it into a bowl of rice and into the hot press any other tips or happy endings???does it have to be synced again with i tunes????any advice greatly appreciated...tanx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

If it survives it won't need to be synced again.

The rice method can be successful as long as it's fully dried before attempting to power on again.

And most importantly wrong forum. Oh so very wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,185 ✭✭✭G1032

Hmmmmmm
    This is the Android Forum...........................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭sassychick

i just realised sorry mods could you move to smart fone forum please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭FastFullBack

I dropped my phone into water last Christmas. Left it in a bowl of rice for 3/4 days after. Been perfect since. By the way I have a HTC Desire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I had an iPod Video a few years ago that got really wet. Don't turn it on for about a week or two at least I'd say to be sure it is dry.

I put a dry towel on my radiator and put the iPod on the radiator and made sure the heat wasn't too bad through the towel.

Left it there for a week and a half. Turned it on, no problems except the battery got screwed but I was able to replace that no bother myself. Don't know how difficult that would be with an iPhone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

would love to drop one into water... Love the ifone 'will it blend' video too... Want to make a 'will it float' vid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

sassychick wrote: »
    My new i fone fell into water earlier and to say im starting to panic is an understatement!!!!:eek:ive put it into a bowl of rice and into the hot press any other tips or happy endings???does it have to be synced again with i tunes????any advice greatly appreciated...tanx

Ok to use thw ords of the Hitchhiker's Guide to The Galaxy "DON'T PANIC" up until 2 hours ago I was in the same boat, on Saturday I dropped my iPod into the toilet, I picked it out as quick as possible, dried it and put it in rice, I turned it on today and it's mostly fine :D However parts of the screen are unresponsive and the WiFi isn't working so I'm restoring it now in the hope that it's a software problem, if not a new digitizer is one of the cheaper repairs.

Really if you're quick off the mark with the rice, it SHOULD be repairable.

PS Yes you're in the wrong section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

thread moved to apple media devices forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

I'd advise anyone who drops their phone in water to power it off immediately and get the Hoover(vacuum cleaner) on it immediately and try suck the water from it for about 15/20mins, do not put in hotpress or use the hair dryer.
    If it was anything but water I'd advice you get the logic board cleaned immediately even if it's still working.
    The survival rate of a wet iPhone 4 isn't great, they take the water in through the sim tray which is right beside the part of the logic board where the battery charging circuit is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭try_again

i left mine in a bag of rice in the hot press for 3 days. It's worked fine ever since and that was about 3 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭The Big Gig

sassychick wrote: »

Leave it in the rice for at least a week is what I did. Also no harm taking off the back, it pops off I you take out two screws beside dock connector.
    My wife dropped hers in to water and all worked fine after 9 days ina sealed bag of rice except the camera!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Mine was dropped in water, iPhone 3gs and it's working perfectly now. Dried it out for about 2 days and when it powered on it wasn't charging properly but the more i used it the problems went away. Just leave it dry for like 3 days in a hotpress i'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Was at a festival in Germany recently and had my iPhone in my pocket for a torential 2 hour rain shower. Got changed that night and forgot all about the phone. The following morning there was a puddle of water under the top right quarter of the screen. Still worked absolutely perfectly. After 3/4 days finally got home and put it in the hotpress.

After a day or so turned it on to find the water has dispersed into a series of blotches across the screen. 5 weeks later and they still remain but the Screen is still sharp. Home button has slowed down though.

The phone has a couple of cracks in the bottom right corner so was considering getting it repaired. Would this help the water issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

tbh, the first thing I would do it take a screwdriver open it up and take out the battery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

When you take the 2 screws out its the front you want to lift off not the back, use a suction cup and be careful of the 3 delicate cables up the top near the earpiece, if the connection for the earpiece breaks on the board you can kiss your iphone goodbye. Although your phone may start working again after getting wet, cleaning the logic board with isopropanol is highly advisable as components will corrode over time, especially if dried in the hot press (this slow drying process will definitely not do the logic board any good at all). Try dry it with a hoover, sucking the water from it as soon as possible, this is the fastest possible way to dry it without opening it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

It amazes me how many people drop their bloody iPhone into water. Here is novel idea: look after the feckin thing and you will never have to call on uncle Ben.