Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick V Wexford All Ireland Qualifiers Round 2. Pairc na Gael 2nd July

• 26-06-2011 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭

gaa-limerick-crest.jpg V gaa-wexford-crest.jpg

The story so far

Limerick come into this game after a narrow defeat to a John Mullane inspired Waterford in a Munster semi final. Limerick can take plenty positives from this game but the old failings came back to haunt Limerick with their failure to close out a game they should have won. Promotion from Division 2 was a good result from the league campaign.

Wexford looked doomed to relegation from division 1 but pulled it out of the fire with a win in Wexford park against Cork and a draw in Thurles. They went into their Leinster semi final against Kilkenny on a high after surviving relegation and after their under 21's had a great win over Kilkenny also. However they disappointed in their game against the cats and although being only a few points behind at half time the cats never looked in trouble and ran out winners by 11 points.

Previous meetings
    www.limerickgaa.ieWexford 0-14 Limerick 1-13 2009 Qualifiers
    Wexford 4-10 Limerick 2-15 2001 All Ireland Quarter Final
    Wexford 1-13 Limerick 0-14 1996 All Ireland Final

Possible Teams
    Limerick
    N Quaid
    D Reale, S Hickey, T Condon
    W McNamara , B Geary, G O'Mahony
    D O'Grady, P Browne
    J Ryan, R McCarthy, D Hannon.
    G Mulcahy, K Downes, S Tobin.

Wexford (Lineup the last time according to RTE. Any wexford folks can throw up the team)
    N Breen
    P Roche, M O'Hanlon, K Rossiter,
    L Prendergast, M Travers, C Kenny
    W Doran, D Redmond,
    PJ Nolan, H Kehoe, S Banville
    R Jacob, G Sinnott, J Berry.

The Match
    Limerick will go into this game full of confidence and will be hopeful of a victory. It's important however not to lose sight of the fact that they failed to beat a Waterford side with numerous debutants when the game was there for the taking. However their record against Wexford isn't great and Wexford will have no fear of Limerick. The last time they played Limerick were in the midst of a coup that was unknown to the most of Limerick faithful and was the beginning of the Justin McCarthy saga.

Wexford will be quietly confident of causing an upset here and the favourites tag never sits well with Limerick. A lot of Wexford's hopes will rest on how well they can deal with the threat of Kevin Downes. He scored 2-1 against the Deise the last day and hit the headlines. Can he do this again?

Wexford will have a point to prove after the disappointing result against Kilkenny and Colm Bonnar will have them rightly motivated for this game. Donal O'Grady will have to keep Limerick focused at the task at hand.

The Betting
    Limerick 4/9 Wexford 2/1 The Draw 10/1

Verdict

Potential to be a great game inside in the Gaelic grounds and Wexford will travel with no fear. However, Limerick should have enough to see them home in front of the home crowd and should prevail by 3 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Is this match on the tele next weekend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭ondeball

Doesn't seem to be. Harsh if it's not, difficult to expect Wexicans working on Saturday to make it to Limerick for 5pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 858 ✭✭✭goingpostal

It has the makings of a good match. Two quite closely matched teams. Tickets aren't too expensive either. 15euro for the stand and 10euro for the terrace. I might waddle out to it on Saturday evening next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

Wexford a great bet @2/1, no way Limerick will have have an easy victory here. I feel that Wexford will enter this with no fear and anticipate some over confidence from Limerick over the fact that they nearly beat Waterford, but the fact that Limerick cannot finish off teams and are very limited defensively wise will make it quite a contest..... I reckon Wexford by 4, with geary getting sent off for some of the same petulant indiscipline he demonstrated when trying to castrate Shane Walsh in the opening minutes of the Munster Semi-Final

Have to agree about the 2/1 for Wexford, it seems a bit long, in a two horse race. I know they aren't as good as they were in the 90's, but neither are Limerick. Offaly pulled a very good performance out of the bag against Cork last Saturday, Wexford could well do the same. Whenever Limerick enter a match as favourites, I shudder inwardly.

Yea Limerick would be a bit like the Deise that way, the favourite tag can be more of a hinderence than anything

Kojak wrote: »
    Is this match on the tele next weekend?

No and not online either, complete joke.

Just got an e-mail from RTE to confirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

It should be a cracking game. I'd like to be there to watch it. It's a game that'll go either way. People might be tipping Limerick having been so close against Waterford. Hurling doesn't work like that however. They'll be pushed hard by Wexford but Limerick should come out with a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Limerick make 2 changes. Deccie hannon in for Richie mcCarthy and David Moloney in for Damien Reale.

ondeball wrote: »

Great way to promote hurling rte.....

This game, on paper, should be a close encounter. Neither are going to win the AI, but one of them could seriously trouble an AI contendor.

If Limerick cut out some of the juvenile mistakes in defence against Waterford, they have the forwards to win this game. I thought that Wexford would have put up a better show than they did against KK - maybe if it was any other team they were playing, they would have but they just seem to be beat before they go out against this KK team.

If Limerick feed their full forward with enough ball, he could potentially win this game on his own.

<snip>

It's nothing to do with RTE, the GAA specified in the the broadcasting rights package this year apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

This game, on paper, should be a close encounter. Neither are going to win the AI, but one of them could seriously trouble an AI contendor.

If Limerick cut out some of the juvenile mistakes in defence against Waterford, they have the forwards to win this game. I thought that Wexford would have put up a better show than they did against KK - maybe if it was any other team they were playing, they would have but they just seem to be beat before they go out against this KK team.

If Limerick feed their full forward with enough ball, he could potentially win this game on his own.

Think Limerick already did that. Or are Waterford not all-ireland contenders?

Or are Waterford not all-ireland contenders?

Well you see that this is a concept that confuses Limerick huring supporters immensly..... see for some warped reason Limerick have felt they are a better hurling team than Waterford for years, now in their mind they aren't all-Ireland contendors so that dismisses Waterford immediatly.......

In reality, Limerick are well able to shove it into Waterford on their day, and beat them I supposed under certain circumstances, but the fact that Limerick haven't won anything since 96 (bar a div 2 title*cough*) and that they are simply muck kinda defies this belief....... but as I said it was warped

Think Limerick already did that. Or are Waterford not all-ireland contenders?

Yeah, fair point. I wasn't trying to say that Waterford weren't contendors.I was just trying to say that the big guns would probably want to avoid Limerick later on in the championship as they would have the possibility of causing an upset, especially with O'Grady in charge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭big toenails

but the fact that Limerick haven't won anything since 96 (bar a div 2 title*cough*) and that they are simply muck kinda defies this belief....... but as I said it was warped

What's your problem zola?

Well you see that this is a concept that confuses Limerick huring supporters immensly..... see for some warped reason Limerick have felt they are a better hurling team than Waterford for years, now in their mind they aren't all-Ireland contendors so that dismisses Waterford immediatly.......

In reality, Limerick are well able to shove it into Waterford on their day, and beat them I supposed under certain circumstances, but the fact that Limerick haven't won anything since 96 (bar a div 2 title*cough*) and that they are simply muck kinda defies this belief....... but as I said it was warped

Kojaks from Gaillimh I'm fairly sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

ondeball wrote: »

Shame but there is live commentary on newstalk.

http://www.newstalk.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭thebigmc

Real pity this isn't on TV.
    G'wan Limerick!
    Thanks for the newstalk info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Tight enough game only two points in it at half time, Limerick got a goal after 15 seconds in the second half hammer blow for wexford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Limerick pulling away now. Wexford sound like they could do with a goal to breathe life back into the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Anyone know why the wexford back was sent off? Totally missed the incident and everyone around me was just chanting 'off off off off'.

I was listening to the commentary on Live95fm. Apparently he belted the Limerick lad with the hurley, and then rolled around on the ground, pretending he was injured. The umpire, McDonagh, spotted it. According to Malachy's co-commentator, the acting out of the Wexford lad was worthy of the Belltable!

Its always great to win in championship no matter what. Delighted with the win and twas great to see a good crowd back in the gaelic grounds.

Limerick county board aught to shot for the organisation tonight only expecting 6000. There was at least 12000 ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Charledontsurf

Something happening in Limerick, O'Gradys a great manager, he'll get the best out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

When O'Grady went to Limerick I said that he must see something in these county hurlers and he has overseen a great upturn in Limerick hurling fortunes. This team are going great guns and I've no doubt even if they get Cork in the draw they'll beat them IMO. Limerick fans Croke Park awaits ye for the All Ireland semis.

Something happening in Limerick, O'Gradys a great manager, he'll get the best out of them.

I really don't think so. Beating a Wexford team the way we did is progress in itself. Save for the first 20 minutes we looked comfortable enough for the whole game.

We did a lot of stupid things tonight. Gifted two stupid goals and all this short handpassing when a long quick ball is the better option needs to be cut down.

What impressed me was their standard of shooting. 1-22 is good scoring in any mans language.

Did anyone see Downes' point in the first half. It surpassed what DJ did that time against Clare that commentators far and wide have been salivating over ever since. Balanced the ball on the hurley. Couldn't catch it. Played around with it for a few seconds. Then shot over the bar from forty yards on his left side with the Wexford man still on his tail. Class.

Thought Condon hurled Jacob very well while he was on. Hope he will be alright but it didn't look good.

dartbhoy wrote: »
    When O'Grady went to Limerick I said that he must see something in these county hurlers and he has overseen a great upturn in Limerick hurling fortunes. This team are going great guns and I've no doubt even if they get Cork in the draw they'll beat them IMO. Limerick fans Croke Park awaits ye for the All Ireland semis.

I don't know where people are getting this from to be honest. We failed to close out a game against a Waterford team that many would admit wasn't their finest ever team. 5 championship debutants remember. This was a game where they had absolutely nothing to lose. O'Grady took this on because he knew he couldn't lose. If he brought them nowhere everyone would say twas the players and Justin was right. Win a few games and he's the Messiah. We then beat a very poor Wexford team in a venue with 99% of the support. Granted we never looked like losing but we did some crazy hurling at times.

Don't get me wrong though, I'm delighted to see us being competitive again and the win today was great for the fans but Limerick shouldn't lose sight of where they are. Ye rebels are cute out though boy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

but the fact that Limerick haven't won anything since 96 (bar a div 2 title*cough*) and that they are simply muck kinda defies this belief....... but as I said it was warped
    Chip on your shoulder must be a heavy burden for you. Btw, you are factually incorrect, Limerick won the League in '97.

Just home from a long night out after attending the game earlier. What a difference a good coach can make. We only played in spells tonight, and Wexford were quite poor, but that should not deviate from the fact that Donal O' Grady is doing totally transforming Limerick's way of hurling. Gone is the long 'hit and hope' style of previous years, replaced by an intelligent approach of always finding a man in space. I'm going to Limerick games for twenty years and i can honestly say i've never seen such stylish hurling from fifteen men in green. They might have over-did the hand passing game at times tonight but more often than not it was highly effective. The strategy of our half-back line giving short 30 yard passes to Hannon & co in the half forward line yielded several scores. Considering the muck that Limerick fans have had to watch since Tom Ryan's departure in '97, it was a breath of fresh air to witness such intelligent yet simple hurling. The difference between O' Grady and previous incumbent coaches, is the presence of an actual on-field plan!

In truth we never looked like losing this game, and a six point defeat probably flatters Wexford. Save for two momentary lapses of concentration at the end of both halves, our six backs were well in control through-out. Our first touch has improved immensely, Kevin Downes in particular did some things with the sliothar tonight that DJ Carey in his prime would be proud of. The guys that impressed me most were O'Mahony, Condon, Geary, Dodge, Hannon, Downes and Mulcahy. Special mention to Hickey too who coped admirably in the poison chalice full back position. Tougher challenges lie ahead, but we're motoring nicely.

I forgot to comment on two things.

1. Paul Roche's off the ball assault on Graeme Mulcahy was pure thuggery of worst kind. What was even more shameful was the manner in which he threw himself onto the ground afterwards, thinking nobody had seen him hitting Mulcahy and that he could con the ref. Mulcahy had clipped Roche's hand accidently when the Wexford defender was in possession. Roche stopped for a second to whince in pain, maybe expecting the referee to award a free. The whistle never came and Roche continued on to clear the ball down field. I kept my eyes on the pair as i expected some sort of retaliation from Roche. He walked up to Mulcahy, hit him with a shoulder, paused for a second and then drew his hurley straight across Mulcahy's midriff. Not many people saw the incident as the ball had been cleared when it happened.

2. Limerick County Board need a proper kick up the ass after tonight's farcical situation with the turnstyles (or lack of them). Only 3 turnstyles were admitting OAPs and students into the ground. 3 turnstyles for roughly 6,000 people. The queue was massive and despite the game being put back fifteen minutes, with ten minutes played there were still crowds pouring in through the terrace. Why the other turnstyles at the nearside of the Mackey Stand were not letting in students and OAPs god only knows. And why were the ones in the Uncovered Stand not open? There was easily 6,000 people in that stand!! To save the GAA a few bob no doubt. It was nothing short of a joke. Someone told me there was a larger crowd there than expected but this is a poor excuse. The game was not televised and the weather was good so any dimwit could have predicted a crowd of 15,000 or so. Gaelic Grounds chiefs need to be better prepared. It was amateur stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

The county board are going on with this crap for a while now, pay into the Mackey Stand and make your way accross to the uncovered if you want to. just think if we had a sudden downpour during the game tonight (as happened during league matches) and those in the uncovered decided to dash for shelter to the Mackey,and the resulting pandemonium of 15,000 leaving together through the tunnel beneath the Mackey after the game. just opening 4 turnstiles on the uncovered would solve everything for an attendance like tonights.
    And on prices, if the GAA charged 10euro (stand) and 5 (tarrace) tonight the Gaelic Grounds would be full, (for the first time since construction)
    Good scoring from Limerick despite the frustration of watching the short game break down at times and result in Wexford scores. Just goes to show that a team must hit 20 points in hurling now to even have a chance of winning a championship game.

Browney7 wrote: »
    I don't know where people are getting this from to be honest. We failed to close out a game against a Waterford team that many would admit wasn't their finest ever team. 5 championship debutants remember. This was a game where they had absolutely nothing to lose. O'Grady took this on because he knew he couldn't lose. If he brought them nowhere everyone would say twas the players and Justin was right. Win a few games and he's the Messiah. We then beat a very poor Wexford team in a venue with 99% of the support. Granted we never looked like losing but we did some crazy hurling at times.

Don't get me wrong though, I'm delighted to see us being competitive again and the win today was great for the fans but Limerick shouldn't lose sight of where they are. Ye rebels are cute out though boy ;)
    Personally I think this Limerick team are making great progress and would beat the current Cork team. They'll only be gaining more experience with the more games they play.

Granted Limerick should have beat Waterford but going through the back door might do Limerick the world of good because I could see that Waterford team been destroyed by Tipperary and if that happened to Limerick in the final it could have set them back again big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭The Lopper

grenache wrote: »
    I forgot to comment on two things.

2. Limerick County Board need a proper kick up the ass after tonight's farcical situation with the turnstyles (or lack of them). Only 3 turnstyles were admitting OAPs and students into the ground. 3 turnstyles for roughly 6,000 people. The queue was massive and despite the game being put back fifteen minutes, with ten minutes played there were still crowds pouring in through the terrace. Why the other turnstyles at the nearside of the Mackey Stand were not letting in students and OAPs god only knows. And why were the ones in the Uncovered Stand not open? There was easily 6,000 people in that stand!! To save the GAA a few bob no doubt. It was nothing short of a joke. Someone told me there was a larger crowd there than expected but this is a poor excuse. The game was not televised and the weather was good so any dimwit could have predicted a crowd of 15,000 or so. Gaelic Grounds chiefs need to be better prepared. It was amateur stuff.

Limerick County Board weren't actually running the fixture, it was run by the Munster Council instead. Twas an absolute farce alright though. I knew beforehand that entry to the two terraces and the uncovered stand was through the one place, I naievely assumed a few of the stiles behind the city terrace would be open, didn't expect to be all herded through the one style. I arrived early enough, before a big queue had developed, and I could see straight away that the system was going to cause problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭AbsentPonderer

What I don't understand is why the uncovered stand couldn't have been open in itself so people could enter from there, instead of a mass of people passing through one tight corner to the right of the Mackey Stand. A farce in reality.

Good Limerick performance, not great, but leaves areas to work on. Certainly wouldn't be fearing the Rebels if such a situation develops.

And another thing. We must have the most negative supporters in the country, or maybe it was just where i was sitting. But if one single hand pass went awry, the whole place would be up in arms giving out. "Lump it in, lump it in". They can't expect free flowing movements like the Cork teams of 04 and 05 already surely? working progress like!

What I don't understand is why the uncovered stand couldn't have been open in itself so people could enter from there, instead of a mass of people passing through one tight corner to the right of the Mackey Stand. A farce in reality.

Good Limerick performance, not great, but leaves areas to work on. Certainly wouldn't be fearing the Rebels if such a situation develops.

And another thing. We must have the most negative supporters in the country, or maybe it was just where i was sitting. But if one single hand pass went awry, the whole place would be up in arms giving out. "Lump it in, lump it in". They can't expect free flowing movements like the Cork teams of 04 and 05 already surely? working progress like!
    I had guys around me shouting the exact same thing. We've been lumping it in for the last 38 years, and look where it has got us! Instead we're trying to play intelligent hurling, guys are actually looking up and finding a green shirt with a pass. It makes for a nice change. Downes probably could have got a better supply of ball last night though, something our half back line and midfield need to work on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭AbsentPonderer

I had guys around me shouting the exact same thing. We've been lumping it in for the last 38 years, and look where it has got us! Instead we're trying to play intelligent hurling, guys are actually looking up and finding a green shirt with a pass. It makes for a nice change. Downes probably could have got a better supply of ball last night though, something our half back line and midfield need to work on.

Exactly! at times the long low ball into Downes was on, but the option wasn't taken. Like you say, it's an area to improve on, and that's always a good thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Personally I think this Limerick team are making great progress and would beat the current Cork team. They'll only be gaining more experience with the more games they play.

Granted Limerick should have beat Waterford but going through the back door might do Limerick the world of good because I could see that Waterford team been destroyed by Tipperary and if that happened to Limerick in the final it could have set them back again big time.

definately progress is being made,but will take time to perfect, short game can work but there are times to "lump it". actually when cork played the short game they also had a plan of what to do when a "lumped ball" was the only option. hopefully DO'G is working on this.
    as for the Munster final, imo Tipp will not win this easy, waterford can score.! Tipp not the force people are making them out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭B1977

The Lopper wrote: »
    Limerick County Board weren't actually running the fixture, it was run by the Munster Council instead. Twas an absolute farce alright though. I knew beforehand that entry to the two terraces and the uncovered stand was through the one place, I naievely assumed a few of the stiles behind the city terrace would be open, didn't expect to be all herded through the one style. I arrived early enough, before a big queue had developed, and I could see straight away that the system was going to cause problems.

no tickets, different styles for OAPs and Students,
    too many people on the pitch at half time, just a few observations

washman3 wrote: »
    definately progress is being made,but will take time to perfect, short game can work but there are times to "lump it". actually when cork played the short game they also had a plan of what to do when a "lumped ball" was the only option. hopefully DO'G is working on this.
    as for the Munster final, imo Tipp will not win this easy, waterford can score.! Tipp not the force people are making them out to be.
    I hope your right and Waterford give Tipp a hard game but I have just got this gut feeling that Tipp could cut loose and give the deise a right hiding but hopefully I'll be proved wrong.

Chip on your shoulder must be a heavy burden for you. Btw, you are factually incorrect, Limerick won the League in '97.

wow

If Tipp go far ahead they'll stop playing for a while. It won't be anymore than 8 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

I'd take an 8 point victory for tipp right now, we had two hard games so far and i expect us to win, i know waterford will be a big threat, but provided the players are grounded we should pull through, our injuries are clearing up at just the right time so fingers crossed for sunday, i know all ye limerick lads would love a tipperary win :cool:.

The Lopper wrote: »

but Limerick CB were in charge of operating the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday night. They are the people who decided 10 turnstyles would be adequate for over 15,000 people. And they are the ones who decided not to open any styles in the Uncovered Stand. Despite the fact there was roughly 6,000 people sat there! What kind of idiots are in charge of the stadium?! The dogs on the street knew there would be a relatively big attendance, what with the match not being televised and weather forecast being given as good. They estimated a crowd of between 6 and 8k? They are incredibly naive, stupid and disorganised. They deserve all the criticism that comes their way.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

but Limerick CB were in charge of operating the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday night. They are the people who decided 10 turnstyles would be adequate for over 15,000 people. And they are the ones who decided not to open any styles in the Uncovered Stand. Despite the fact there was roughly 6,000 people sat there! What kind of idiots are in charge of the stadium?! The dogs on the street knew there would be a relatively big attendance, what with the match not being televised and weather forecast being given as good. They estimated a crowd of between 6 and 8k? They are incredibly naive, stupid and disorganised. They deserve all the criticism that comes their way.

...hard to disagree with the above to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

EDIT. Mistake, see below.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    ...hard to disagree with the above to be fair.

In agreement too, and with grenache.

There was enormous queues for a confusingly small number of turnstiles. The lines were stretching back and minutes before the game there was still flows of people coming in. All, if not more should have been opened. It defies belief.

Elements of stupidity was there too. No staff knew where the students' turnstiles was. We were directed to one spot, then another, then another. When we settled on one place, they didn't take student cards. Why couldn't they take them? She wouldn't say and had no reason, it's stupid.

Stuff like that detracted from a very good outing.