Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ's Doc On One

• 26-06-2011 8:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭

I listened to a good one today about two Dublin lads who, in 1985, blagged their way to New York via London, with the old "our ma's coming behind us with the tickets" routine. Good show.

I also enjoyed listening to a documentary about the Beatles playing in Dublin in 1963.

Just wondering if anyone here has any particular recommendations that others could check out on podcast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

marty1985 wrote: »
    I listened to a good one today about two Dublin lads who, in 1985, blagged their way to New York

Yeah I heard that one a while back.. It was entertaining alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I have the iPhone app which has a huge library of documentaries. Ones I particularly enjoyed were the story of Paul, a Dubliner who was caught with cocaine in Venezuela, 12 Steps on Abbey Street and Dogfight which is about FF politicians canvassing in the recent General Election. There are so many to choose from, and its a great archive to be able to access.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Nightwish wrote: »
    I have the iPhone app which has a huge library of documentaries. Ones I particularly enjoyed were the story of Paul, a Dubliner who was caught with cocaine in Venezuela, 12 Steps on Abbey Street and Dogfight which is about FF politicians canvassing in the recent General Election. There are so many to choose from, and its a great archive to be able to access.

The Documentary on One is an astounding series produced by RTE, and is the very essence of public service broadcasting. Radio can be such a powerful medium for such stories.

The Long Strike was about a bunch of miners who went on strike back in the late 60' and how it split the small village/town where they were from.

In the Shadow of Death was about an Irish woman who went to fight for the resistance during the 2nd world war.

There was one about an old bachelor farmer who lived near Gort in Galway. It was funny, poignant and a snapshot of an Ireland that has almost died out. Unfortunately I have not been able to find it on the archive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

listened to one last night on my walk about a man from Donegal who has given up money was very interesting and another one a while ago about turf cutters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

I don't know why they don't play one of documentaries from the archives each night...intead of...say...John Creedon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

There are many excellent documentaries in the series, all available online.

I'll recommend a few ..

'Runners'

Amazing story about Jemmy Gunnery, who helped break children out of and escape from state industrial schools during the 1960s.

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/runners.html

'Did Michael Keogh save Hitler?'

Michael Keogh was a Carlow man, who left home at 16, and amazingly fought both for and against the English and the Germans during World War I - and even more amazingly was awarded bravery medals by the two opposing armies. His was a life of pseudonyms, disguises, conspiracy and war.
    Prior to the Great War, Michael spent some time in America and at one point found himself fighting the rebels down south in Mexico!

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-did-michael-keogh-save-hitler.html

'A Convict of The Road'

'Breaking a collarbone, escaping body-snatchers, stealing a bike, drinking cow's blood. Mick Murphy tells Peter Woods and Liam O'Brien the extraordinary story of how, after taking up racing only in 1957, he won Ireland's premier cycle race the following year'

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/convict.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

marty1985 wrote: »
    I listened to a good one today about two Dublin lads who, in 1985, blagged their way to New York via London, with the old "our ma's coming behind us with the tickets" routine. Good show.

I also enjoyed listening to a documentary about the Beatles playing in Dublin in 1963.

Just wondering if anyone here has any particular recommendations that others could check out on podcast.

Ahh balls freaked I missed that. That one was brilliant! Is it on the website to listen again dya know?

Edit - found it. Great stuff http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-dont-go-far.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Fago! wrote: »
    Ahh balls freaked I missed that. That one was brilliant! Is it on the website to listen again dya know?

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/radio-documentary-dont-go-far.html

There you go, all The Docs on One are online, well worth investigating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭serfboard

Love documentaries myself, and there have been some very good ones.

The ones mentioned here ...
    the story of Paul, a Dubliner who was caught with cocaine in Venezuela

Just heard this the other night. Excellent. And scary. Prisoners with machine guns in the prison. :eek: Mad.
    Dogfight which is about FF politicians canvassing in the recent General Election.

Great too. In fact, far better than the one that went out on telly at around the same time, because this one was more raw. (Mind you, the other one did perform a public service in that it showed what a gobsh1te Paul Gogarty is).
    Sergeant wrote: »
    The Long Strike was about a bunch of miners who went on strike back in the late 60' and how it split the small village/town where they were from.

Again a great documentary. And, IIRC, this was about the srike in Arigna mines in Co. Roscommon.
    SkidMark wrote: »
    'A Convict of The Road'

'Breaking a collarbone, escaping body-snatchers, stealing a bike, drinking cow's blood. Mick Murphy tells Peter Woods and Liam O'Brien the extraordinary story of how, after taking up racing only in 1957, he won Ireland's premier cycle race the following year'

http://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/convict.html

Mick Murphy is absolutely mad. It's a pity he was born where and when he was born, because he would have been a world champion (anything) and would have made a lot of money from it. There's a thread about him here and here's a photo of him from that thread with his home made weights.

mick-murphy.jpg