Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ROK 6am start for Clubs - Whats your club doing ?

• 25-06-2011 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭

Just curious to see what course of action ( if any ) the various clubs will be undertaking on Sat.

I've heard various feedback ranging from a complete boycott of the event completely to ' Feck 'em we'll start when we want '

SO whats your club doing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I have seen nothing on the club website. Heard nothing from local tri club.
    Also met a boardsie during the week who said his club heard nothing about this.

May not make this anyway due to sore ligaments.

What are ye doing.
    If I do it there I am more likely to start at 8 and aim to finish at 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

The decision was taken to more or less ride the route, starting at 8 but not from Killarney. Bring our own food & water as per normal club spins and stop at 2 coffee shops on the route and buy our own coffee & buns/sangers. A number of the lads have raised quite a bit of money for the event, as they have done every year, so that will be handed in to the organisers, along with donations from the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

think our mighty club of 5 are starting at 7 so can we please have the roads cleared by then , thank you .......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

ROK ON wrote: »
    I have seen nothing on the club website. Heard nothing from local tri club.
    Also met a boardsie during the week who said his club heard nothing about this.

I got this e-mail yesterday from the organisers. I'm still in 2 minds about how early I'll start. I might do the 8 to 14:30 job on it. I'll probably be faster than the guys in jeans, but not at club level either. I just want to make sure I get enough food in on the route :)

The 2nd of July is approaching fast and we hope the training and fundraising is going well.

2011 is proving to be an even bigger event with the number of cyclists registered already ahead of last year’s figure.

We, the organising committee, are constantly trying to ensure the continued success of this wonderful event and as such endeavour to pre-empt any possible problems especially those in relation to safety.

With this in mind we have, this year, taken the unprecedented step of asking all cycling clubs/groups to start from Killarney at 6.00am.This request has been received favourably by most clubs, especially those aware of the difficulties involved in running events where cyclists of different abilities, experience and levels of fitness share the same route.

The Ring of Kerry cycle is a unique event which raised over €500,000 last year. It attracts cyclists of all grades and we would be grateful if you could give the following points your careful attention.

For less experienced cyclists or those doing the”Ring” for the first time.

1. Please ensure that your bike is in good order and is fully serviced. Check Brakes, chain, tyres, and make sure that you have the correct pressure in your wheels.

2. Bring a pump, tyre levers and spare tubes with you on the day. Make sure you know how to change a tube. We will have repair crews on the road on the day but it might take them some time to get to you.

3. Prepare for the elements. This is Ireland and you might need raingear and Factor 50 on the same day (or even at the same time)

4. SAFETY

- Cycle in a straight line. Do not weave left and right.

- Leave a safe distance between you and the cyclist in front of you.

- Cycle in single file or, where the road allows, two abreast. Please never more than two abreast.

- Keep to the left.

- Be aware of faster cyclists coming from behind. You may hear these shouting warnings to other cyclists in their own group. They are not shouting at you, only their own buddies.

- Be careful not to stop suddenly. Use signals (hand or vocal) to let those behind know your intentions.

- Concentrate. We all get tired and can lose concentration. This is when accidents can happen. Molls Gap is not the finish line!

5. Delay your start from Killarney until 6.15 am at the earliest to give the groups a clearer run.

6. Enjoy the day. Hopefully you have now done the training and now comes payback time. You will find the atmosphere and sense of goodwill and camaraderie will carry you around on the day.

7. Please make a big effort with your fundraising.

For experienced/groups cyclists.

Thanks to all who have agreed to cooperate with our request to start at 6.00am.We realise that this is an early start for you but remember it is in the interest of safety and will make the day a more enjoyable one for everybody

Please remember that the vast majority of cyclists taking part on the day will not be as experienced as you. If you have decided not to start as part of a group at 6 why not take the time to talk to these cyclists on your way and give them a few pointers. We all had to learn at some stage.

The Ring of Kerry is not a race. If your sole purpose in taking part is to beat your previous time or if you are so intent on keeping your place in the group that you ignore rules of safety maybe the first Saturday in July is not the most ideal day to cycle the Ring.

Final message to all,

- ENJOY THE DAY

- DISPOSE OF YOUR RUBBISH PROPERLY

- OBEY THE RULES OF THE ROAD

- BE COURTEOUS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I can see some merit in that kind of decision, not saying its the right one. Gets all the probably faster people out of the way first. Stops groups of 50 trying to over take leisurely groups of 3 or 4 non regular cyclists on their day out. There was an awful lot of crazy behaviour by people trying to hang on to groups led by clubs last year. Not that it was the clubs fault, people just wanted to be dragged round and a large group of similarly clad riders is easy to spot and aim for.

What's to stop people just turning up in non-club gear but riding as a group? Anyways it being Ireland, I can't see any of this being strictly adhered to or strictly enforced. If you're in a club you're probably more clued in to other events you can enter if you don't like the early start. Boycotting a leisure cycle seems a bit drastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Hu Deman

A lot of our club members are starting at six as requested. those who are taking part but not representing the club are doing their own starting times.Is there any advantage to slower club members starting at six or should they start later.It is the first time for some members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

We have informed the membership (primarily leisure/sportive riders covering the spectrum between novices doing their first ROK, underage riders and those strong enough to be going for their first Etape this year) of the decision to attempt to segregate Club cyclists from the event and that we cannot recommended that they observe the 6am start unless it is convenient for them to do so. The plan is to depart at a time of our convenience as per previous years after the club meets for breakfast in Killarney. All so far have said the only place they'll be at 6am is asleep.

My greatest concern of this arrangement (in addition to agreeing to starting at 6am setting a bad precedent) stems from something I think the organisers, who are clearly not cyclists themselves, have failed to properly consider. I don't think they've stopped to consider a potential effect of gathering Club riders as they intend to.

In addition to generally being better disciplined, comfortable cycling in groups and more likely to employ good cycling etiquette, Club riders tend to be stronger, quicker and generally more competitive (even if they're not competitively racing) than casual/novice riders. Having the different groups ride all together the mixed traffic tends to result in them tempering their pace and riding the event in the spirit of which it is intended, even if it is ultimately at a higher pace than those with lesser fitness. Having club riders gather on a line and all start at the same time is IMHO likely be at a great risk of falling foul of human nature. Despite riders best intentions the first man to go strong on some hill or descent turn risks initiating the earliest starting, effectively unmarhsalled, unofficial race of the year. With largely unmarshalled road with significant tourist traffic in both directions, fast descents and rider fatigue with increasing distance the potential for an accident is IMHO significant. I'm going to hope for the best, that there will be no incidents arising from the ROK committee decision to isolate Club trained cyclists from the days event but won't be able to feign surprise if the unfortunate happens.

As a complete aside - does anyone know if a certain Mr Enda Kenny of Castlebar CC will be compelled to start at 6am?

CheGuedara wrote: »
    As a complete aside - does anyone know if a certain Mr Enda Kenny of Castlebar CC will be compelled to start at 6am?

Is he doing it again this year?

I'll be on the road whenever I get out of bed in the morning, maybe 6am, maybe 7am. Just myself and a mate doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

As the ONLY(I maybe exagerating slightly but we dont see 2 many even on sportives) Castlebar CC rider who ever turns up at Charity Rides I doubt he is going to cause to much upset on the roads:D

Was sure I heard he was going to be riding it as will be Jimmy Deenihan - unattached :rolleyes: - (rumoured)

Everyone will hear him coming as he scares those unfamiliar with the calls of club riders as he approaches - 'Taoiseach Up!' :D

@che.
    A race you say. Jaysus that's a great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

We have informed the membership (primarily leisure/sportive riders covering the spectrum between novices doing their first ROK, underage riders and those strong enough to be going for their first Etape this year) of the decision to attempt to segregate Club cyclists from the event and that we cannot recommended that they observe the 6am start unless it is convenient for them to do so. The plan is to depart at a time of our convenience as per previous years after the club meets for breakfast in Killarney. All so far have said the only place they'll be at 6am is asleep.

My greatest concern of this arrangement (in addition to agreeing to starting at 6am setting a bad precedent) stems from something I think the organisers, who are clearly not cyclists themselves, have failed to properly consider. I don't think they've stopped to consider a potential effect of gathering Club riders as they intend to.

In addition to generally being better disciplined, comfortable cycling in groups and more likely to employ good cycling etiquette, Club riders tend to be stronger, quicker and generally more competitive (even if they're not competitively racing) than casual/novice riders. Having the different groups ride all together the mixed traffic tends to result in them tempering their pace and riding the event in the spirit of which it is intended, even if it is ultimately at a higher pace than those with lesser fitness. Having club riders gather on a line and all start at the same time is IMHO likely be at a great risk of falling foul of human nature. Despite riders best intentions the first man to go strong on some hill or descent turn risks initiating the earliest starting, effectively unmarhsalled, unofficial race of the year. With largely unmarshalled road with significant tourist traffic in both directions, fast descents and rider fatigue with increasing distance the potential for an accident is IMHO significant. I'm going to hope for the best, that there will be no incidents arising from the ROK committee decision to isolate Club trained cyclists from the days event but won't be able to feign surprise if the unfortunate happens.

I think you hit the nail on the head there Che - it'll become "sporting" but should be safe enough

ROK ON wrote: »
    @che.
    A race you say. Jaysus that's a great idea.

Yes the irony of increasing the risk of a race breaking out at an event that pains are taken to impress upon people that IT IS NOT A RACE. Sheer genius really... (where's the facepalm smiley?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

"Make sure you have correct pressure in your wheels".

Quality :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭youtheman

Just had a look at the 10 day forecast, and f*ck it, the only day they are showing rain is on Saturday 2nd. See it here : http://uk.weather.com/weather/10day-Killarney-EIXX0023

I suppose I'd take rain over wind. Doing 160 km against the wind (as I had to do in the Tour of the Burren) is enough to turn you off cycling.

Lets hope the weather improves !!!!!. Group prayers all round !!!!!.

Dont take any weather forecast too seriously these days, they're all having a nightmare time getting it anywhere near accurate in the past 8 weeks, even our own sacred MT !!

Here is his outlook :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055579971&page=142

youtheman wrote: »
    Just had a look at the 10 day forecast, and f*ck it, the only day they are showing rain is on Saturday 2nd. See it here : http://uk.weather.com/weather/10day-Killarney-EIXX0023

I suppose I'd take rain over wind. Doing 160 km against the wind (as I had to do in the Tour of the Burren) is enough to turn you off cycling.

Lets hope the weather improves !!!!!. Group prayers all round !!!!!.
    Murph100 wrote: »
    Dont take any weather forecast too seriously these days, they're all having a nightmare time getting it anywhere near accurate in the past 8 weeks, even our own sacred MT !!

Here is his outlook :

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055579971&page=142

I work from a simple trending technique known as "the trend is your friend until the end". On that basis the trend in Kerry of late has been rain, dull grey skies, rain dull grey skies.

My non-scientific bet for the Ring of Kerry is that it will be raining or dull grey skies or both. On the basis that I simply cannot recall the last time that i saw sun or blue skies down here, I am of the opinion that I wont see them at the weekend either.:mad:

Woah ROK, have you been hitting the Gin ??? ... ;)

In fairness though, Kenmare is probably the wettest part of Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

In addition to generally being better disciplined, comfortable cycling in groups and more likely to employ good cycling etiquette, Club riders tend to be stronger, quicker and generally more competitive (even if they're not competitively racing) than casual/novice riders. Having the different groups ride all together the mixed traffic tends to result in them tempering their pace and riding the event in the spirit of which it is intended, even if it is ultimately at a higher pace than those with lesser fitness. Having club riders gather on a line and all start at the same time is IMHO likely be at a great risk of falling foul of human nature. Despite riders best intentions the first man to go strong on some hill or descent turn risks initiating the earliest starting, effectively unmarhsalled, unofficial race of the year.

I agree with CheGuedara. It will take away from the day if the cycling clubs are segregated. The ROK has got a huge number of people interested in cycling (myself included) who go on to join their local club to be part of the fast moving train.

Still no word from my club, maybe we are not seen to be a potential danger;) or should that be:mad: I intend starting from Killarney at 8am, as an individual, should any other like minded cyclist be around at that time I could, inadvertently, become part of a group

lescol wrote: »
    I agree with CheGuedara. It will take away from the day if the cycling clubs are segregated. The ROK has got a huge number of people interested in cycling (myself included) who go on to join their local club to be part of the fast moving train.

Still no word from my club, maybe we are not seen to be a potential danger;) or should that be:mad: I intend starting from Killarney at 8am, as an individual, should any other like minded cyclist be around at that time I could, inadvertently, become part of a group

Lescol. I will be heading out on a spin to test some issues I have tomorrow. All being well I will join you for some of the way at least.
    I have to get back to Kenmare at a reasonable time as I am driving to Dingle that evening - So I wont be stopping for very long (if at all at Caherciveen). However I wont be hammering it by any means.
    Given that we are not in the same club, I doubt that we could be seen as part of an organised train!!