Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people list stuff as free on adverts?

• 25-06-2011 3:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

http://www.adverts.ie/free-stuff

Im just curious :pac:
    Like I can totally understand when someone has something big or of weight and wants to get rid of it... not wanting to pay to dump it (or leave it in a field :pac: )

But i'm suprised at the number of people who give stuff for free. Like, I happen to know that a few nigerian people look at that site and collect stuff for free to be sold back in nigeria. I even know that a few market traders collect stuff and sell on in markets. Even if its for a tenner.

why tho!?
    like if something is worth a tenner, isnt it better to sell it as that? than give it away?
    I know if I went through my stuff right now i'd pull out 20 things I dont want. But those 20 things are at least worth a fiver each. Thats 100 euro. Creating an ad for something thats free is the same process as creating something that you wanna sell for a fiver :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

because they just want shot of it.....end of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

marcsignal wrote: »
    because they just want shot of it.....end of

Ok.
    So its not foolish in any way? mister 'end of'?
    We've all heard the expression "one mans junk is another mans teasure"

how about the other one "know somethings worth"
    ask yourself this, would you give something away that was worth 40 euro? you wouldnt in the slightest. of course, thats if you were foolish and didnt know its worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Ok.

ask yourself this, would you give something away that was worth 40 euro? you wouldnt in the slightest. of course, thats if you were foolish and didnt know its worth.

you misunderstand, not tryn to be funny at all, i got my vespa that way ;)

then
    dscn2276.jpg

now
    dscn2905y.jpg

then
    dscn2276.jpg

now
    dscn2905y.jpg

Impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

That is impressive alright.

Would have been cooler if you had have traded up and up until you got something amazing. Not to discredit what you did, it's pretty feckin cool :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

some people are nice that way ?? ive given ipods and such away just because i have no use for them ( their a year or so old, relation or better half buys me one anyways )

i have gotten several cars through it so it works it self out karma and finacally speaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

then
    dscn2276.jpg

now
    dscn2905y.jpg

I'm officially sickened. I have a gsxr. 1000 but would love a Vespa. Did you post that in the bike forum on here. That's well impressive man. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Risk free drug storage.

Most items are packed full of heroin and/or cocaine, then when people take them for free, they are followed home. Then whenever these drugs are needed for resale, the items are just stolen back. Been doing that now for a good few years. Made a few mistakes early on though as I used to pack the soles of old shoes with the stuff, but it made walking in them a tad difficult and so had to stop. One guy was chuffed to bits with himself as he left my house one night after I have him a pair, but just after he walked around the corner the clown only went and slipped on some damn ice and even ended up on the fecking news as a result. So I've knocked that on the head (no pun intended).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Risk free drug storage.

Most items are packed full of heroin and/or cocaine, then when people take them for free, they are followed home. Then whenever these drugs are needed for resale, the items are just stolen back. Been doing that now for a good few years. Made a few mistakes early on though as I used to pack the soles of old shoes with the stuff, but it made walking in them a tad difficult and so had to stop. One guy was chuffed to bits with himself as he left my house one night after I have him a pair, but just after he walked around the corner the clown only went and slipped on some damn ice and even ended up on the fecking news as a result. So I've knocked that on the head (no pun intended).

Comedy genius :D
    Please tell me you're hear all week! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Because they couldn't be bothered going to a car boot sale I suppose and throwing it away would be a waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭JuneBug29

Sometimes it's just easier to get rid of it if you give it away for free. Also good will comes into it :P Ever hear of jumbletown.ie? Great website. I have given away loads of stuff for free and have also got myself some great bargains, stuff that would have actually cost me a few hundred for nothing just because it was what i was looking for. May not necessarily be something someone else was looking for but it was a perfect match for what i was actually going to buy.

Also, selling things can get frustrating. If you are trying to get rid of 15 small items you will end up waiting for a lot longer and i ultimately find it is not worth it if you just want rid of them. Giving them away for free is a quicker way to get rid of them and quite often they are things that people wouldn't give you money for anyway but are useful to others.

I know there are people out there who sell some stuff on. I have had a guy from Jumbletown come to pick up bulk from my house twice. He said straight out to me that he planned to sell it on. I don't care and it's in the rules of Jumbletown that it is permitted to do so. They have no objections and neither do i. If he can sell it on, fair play, but some of the stuff i'd struggle to get any money for so if he can take them for me and somehow sell them on then he deserves the few quid.

Ultimately though, some people just don't care for having a particular item anymore. If an item, a couch for instance, is in a bit of a state would you feel comfortable giving it away for money? There are people out there who would happily take it for free and refurbish it

Edit - Cheaper than a skip? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

JuneBug29 wrote: »
    Ever hear of jumbletown.ie?

During the Celtic Tiger malarkey, the stuff people gave away on there was crazy. Once gave a away a six month old reclining sofa as it was impossible to sell. Second hand goods were not popular during that time, not good enough for some I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Not seen that site before.

I want the TV :D Can someone collect it for me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

What annoys me is free listings asking for offers or a price in the text. I just report them every time.

Here's an example of "free" stuff
    http://www.adverts.ie/games/loads-of-pc-games-for-sale/681336

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

then
    dscn2276.jpg

now
    dscn2905y.jpg

Why did you go and ruin a perfectly good unicycle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Like I can totally understand

Lost me there Benji

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

"Free" must be open to interpretation in some cases:pac:.

http://www.adverts.ie/car-parts-accessories/honda-civic-parts/218653

honda civic parts

Asking price: Free
    Q. Are all these parts free?
    A. nope make me an offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

For the same reason that people give stuff with a monetary value to charity shops. It's clutter. Sure it could probably be sold for a small amount eventually but it's more hassle than it's worth. if you advertise it for free, the vultures will be at your door instantaneously.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Ok.

Your time is also worth something (exactly how much is up to you), so that should be factored into the equation.

I might give something away that was worth 40 euro if getting rid of it was going to cost me more (in time, effort, stress, physical space, etc) than I deemed an acceptable tradeoff.

then
    dscn2276.jpg

now
    dscn2905y.jpg

Looks awesome!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

it's more annoying when people charge for crap, or charge far too much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭katiebelle

Its always the same people who take the free stuff, they must be logged in all day just refreshing and refreshing. I have been watching it for a few weeks now as I have a load of stuff I would like to get rid off. After seeing the same people grabbing and I really mean grabbing anything that comes up I am a bit slow to post my stuff for free now. Whats very funny is how sometimes people really get excited over rubbish and are desperate to get their hands on it LOL

Have you ever looked at the wanted ads ?? People are trying to do up and furnish houses for free on there. What they are asking for to be given away for free is crazy but hey you know they may get lucky and good luck to them lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

katiebelle wrote: »
    Its always the same people who take the free stuff, they must be logged in all day just refreshing and refreshing. I have been watching it for a few weeks now as I have a load of stuff I would like to get rid off. After seeing the same people grabbing and I really mean grabbing anything that comes up I am a bit slow to post my stuff for free now. Whats very funny is how sometimes people really get excited over rubbish and are desperate to get their hands on it LOL

Have you ever looked at the wanted ads ?? People are trying to do up and furnish houses for free on there. What they are asking for to be given away for free is crazy but hey you know they may get lucky and good luck to them lol

Get an old sofa and advertise it. Before the professional grabber comes round to pick it up, stuff it with dog-sh1t and dead fish, then let him take it away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Sure don't you mostly give away stuff for free on adverts after haggling down on the price!.

katiebelle wrote: »

thats definitely market traders and "african shippers" looking at adverts.ie all day. you'd think they'd have about 5 different usernames each :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

shifting niche items takes time. Time is worth more to me than managing to get a tenner for the old 14"tv in my shed. I already spend 40 hours a week making money. I often just want shyte out of my way.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

mawk wrote: »
    shifting niche items takes time. Time is worth more to me than managing to get a tenner for the old 14"tv in my shed. I already spend 40 hours a week making money. I often just want shyte out of my way.

I'll take the Seat Ibiza then, as a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

"mountain bike stolen in blanchardstown at 5am" "free"

knackers are dumb

............................................________
    ....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
    .............................,.-”...................................“-.,
    .........................,/...............................................”:,
    .....................,?......................................................\,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:”........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
    ...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
    ...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
    ............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
    .............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
    ...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
    ................................`:,,...........................`\..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
    ...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I once seen a pack of h2 pencils for free on the site. Was really surprised to see the interest in it. The first person to reply wanted them posted for free. Ad placer wanted him to pay the euro postage. Then there were loads of people offering a euro or two and to pay for the postage. Was nuts. THe pack probably cost 3 or 4 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭KilOit

Lowest of the low refreshing that free page, i work in a Sunday market and lots of people have cars full of sh1te that they must get off sites like this, and Vultures come really early picking through the rubbish that the other vultures have collected. although you do get a gem or two, but mostly it's absolute junk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I wonder if it is either to actually give it away for naught or to game the ordering?

I once seen a pack of h2 pencils for free on the site. Was really surprised to see the interest in it. The first person to reply wanted them posted for free. Ad placer wanted him to pay the euro postage. Then there were loads of people offering a euro or two and to pay for the postage. Was nuts. THe pack probably cost 3 or 4 euro.

yeah, you see it on there when people want to ad placer to ship it them for free!!!! :rolleyes: ... greedy knows no bounds.
    KilOit wrote: »
    Lowest of the low refreshing that free page, i work in a Sunday market and lots of people have cars full of sh1te that they must get off sites like this, and Vultures come really early picking through the rubbish that the other vultures have collected. although you do get a gem or two, but mostly it's absolute junk.

Yeah, adverts and gumtree are probably their home page lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 The_Consumer

Because they're misleading arseholes lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

caused by the "vast excesses" of the celtic tiger.!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

You know your front tyre is on backwards, right? :P

(Nice bike though!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

you just keep right on drivin'

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's fun to watch the feeding frenzy when people think they are getting something for nothing.

and besides some stuff you have to pay to dispose of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

I used it a few times to give stuff for free - stuff I no longer needed and thought someone else might get use out of, esp if it's not in perfect condition and I wouldn't sell it. But the leeches turned me off using the site for free stuff. I found the same people kept asking for everything and then I saw someone try to sell an item I gave for free on the site 3 days later without even changing their name. I reported them and they just changed their name and put it up for sale again. They eventually sold it to a woman for 30 euros (it was a toddler bed).
    I've learned my lesson and I just get off my arse and give stuff to the charity shop now. Even if I just want rid of something it would annoy me to give it to these people. I very seriously doubt they would dispose of any items responsibly if they were of no use to them. I ether give stuff in working order to charity or bring it to the recycling centre. A friend of mine says charity shops are now inundated by people getting stuff from them only to sell them on too.
    The reason it really annoys me is because they are preventing people who need the items from getting them. I don't just see it as an inventive way to make a few quid and fair play etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭smugchik

I think that the OP is lost and should be on the 'stingiest' page. He/she is totally void of any understanding on why someone would want to do a good deed for someone else.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Mary28 wrote: »
    A friend of mine says charity shops are now inundated by people getting stuff from them only to sell them on too.
    That is more or less depriving a charity of funds it could have got. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭katiebelle

smugchik wrote: »
    I think that the OP is lost and should be on the 'stingiest' page. He/she is totally void of any understanding on why someone would want to do a good deed for someone else.

I don't think its anything to do with good deeds. People put stuff on there to get rid of it out of their way. Not to do a good deed for someone they don't even know. It is always the same people who take the stuff and if its any good its more than likely being sold on. So even if there were good intentions to begin with it all goes pear shaped when people profit from it.