Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

section 42

• 24-06-2011 10:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭

a farmer rang me the last day wondering would i cull a few deer for him that are destroying a few acres of oats he has.i explained about the section 42 to him and gave him the contact details of the local ranger.my question is how do i go about culling the deer as last years deer licence has expired and i haven't recieved this coming season's one yet,that is if the farmer gets his section 42

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

staghunter wrote: »
    a farmer rang me the last day wondering would i cull a few deer for him that are destroying a few acres of oats he has.i explained about the section 42 to him and gave him the contact details of the local ranger.my question is how do i go about culling the deer as last years deer licence has expired and i haven't recieved this coming season's one yet,that is if the farmer gets his section 42

You will be named on the section 42 as the nominated stalker and the section is a license to hunt deer out of season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

good question....
    I`d say ring your local ranger and he should have an answer for ya...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    You will be named on the section 42 as the nominated stalker and the section is a license to hunt deer out of season.

cheers poulo6.5 that makes sense.never thought it would be that simple:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

staghunter wrote: »
    cheers poulo6.5 that makes sense.never thought it would be that simple:o
    Simple answer but the process is not - from when the section 42 application is received, the NPWS are taking up to 6 weeks to issue the permit, that is unless you can get the go ahead earlier from the local ranger.

Guys I know who get Sec 42's every year say it is getting much harder is some areas to get them, they are looking for cull returns from the farmer for any previous permits issued before they will look at the application and the permit is for male only deer where previously it didn't state male/female, I agree with the male only at the this time of the year.

I hear the whole sec 42 process is under review by NPWS as they think they are been abused to allow guys extend their shooting season rather than for genuine reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

i agree with you about lads abusing them and males only is good idea.to be honest there isn't much demand on section 42 around me, this fella that asked me wouldn't usually have oats i haven't seen the oats but he reckons there doing alot of damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

I agree with fallow01. But if you talk to your local ranger he will probably be aware of the area you are in and the problem you are having and will probably give you the go ahead over the phone. If there is need for it.
    It's worth giving him a call anyway just to let him know that you will be shooting in that area might save some hassle in the long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

This Month I have got a few prickets on 2 of my section 42's.
    The Farmer is happy; he has Deer coming out from the woods to eat his Barley.
    The Ranger is aware that there is a lot of deer in the area and that I was not very active hunting last winter on the same permission.

I have seen Mostly Does on the same range, in a Ratio of 3-1.
    There are fawns at foot with the Does, but since they are in the Hay/Silage Fields and Barley Fields it is almost impossible to see them.

In fact Deer stalking is very difficult in Summer as the grass/Barley is so tall not even a 25" Bipod can get above it.

I think Section 42's can be necessary.
    It is very difficult to convince a farmer who has 300 acres of Barley that the deer walking through it, sleeping in it, and playing in it are not doing any harm.
    You have to submit returns on your section 42's same as your regular stalking, so I have no problem with them.
    It's always better to have an animal dispatched Humanely than for it to die of starvation or disease.
    The Farmer only wants them off his land in Summer, and like all animals, if you shoot 1 or 2 in the same place they get the message and move off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fallow01

Tackleberry sounds familiar with the farmers concerns and what has to be done. Outside of my views on taking Hind's/Doe's at this time of the year. Unlike your genuine reasons I am concerned about the amount of sec 42's for the wrong reasons, one of my farmers told me he and other farmers in the area are been canvassed regularly for sec 42's in recent years from complete strangers. One thing looking for deer shooting during the open season but out of season.... other than these I agree sec 42's are necessary

I bought a set of Stoney Point Rapid Pivot Bipod Standing for $19 in the states last year, best buy in a long time! there light weight, quiet and extend between 36"-64" for a sitting/kneeling or standing shot - great in Barley or high cover

http://www.stoneypoint.com/products/bp_rapid_pivot_bp_standing.html

I'd also like to point out my sections are for my permissions.

I did hear of another guy canvassing my permissions. Needless to say I was not impressed, and had to put a serious effort in, 3 days a week stalking, twice a day in 2 separate locations miles apart.

All Deer were eaten by friends, family and boards.ie members.
    I concede that if a fawn was in standing Barley you would not see if it was with the Doe.

Utmost due care is always needed, prickets can look very like does and vise versa.
    I've left 5 deer off recently as I could not positively id had they a Mickey as they were in standing Barley and not all prickets have definitive antler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭dermot218

I'd also like to point out my sections are for my permissions.

I did hear of another guy canvassing my permissions. Needless to say I was not impressed, and had to put a serious effort in, 3 days a week stalking, twice a day in 2 separate locations miles apart.

All Deer were eaten by friends, family and boards.ie members.
    I concede that if a fawn was in standing Barley you would not see if it was with the Doe.

Utmost due care is always needed, prickets can look very like does and vise versa.
    I've left 5 deer off recently as I could not positively id had they a Mickey as they were in standing Barley and not all prickets have definitive antler.
    i had the same problem myelf a guy asked a farmer on 1 of my permissions cud he shoot deer.told the famer hed wipe out the deer 4 him if he wanted with a section 42 clearly in it 4 the money .lucky 4 me he was told where 2 go

I've only a few days left on my sections. Having a Barbie today, if I can find someone in the midlands lo loan me a barbie big enough to roast a hind quarters

Then Tomorrow-Wed I'll be out stalking again.
    I must check out the Trail cam to see if there are any more pics "not of me" on it.
    Jaysus, they are a hard yoke to read have they captured a picture without taking another pic of ya :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I've only a few days left on my sections. Having a Barbie today, if I can find someone in the midlands lo loan me a barbie big enough to roast a hind quarters

I must check out the Trail cam to see if there are any more pics "not of me" on it.
    Jaysus, they are a hard yoke to read have they captured a picture without taking another pic of ya :D

Bone out the haunch, rub with seasoning, inside and out, put on tinfoil, add olive oil, red wine, vegetables and orange slices and wrap the tinfoil up around it. Leave it in the coals, rather than on the grill. You can thank me later. ;)

i cud of got a half barrell barbie 4 u 4 a few days if i had know in advance im in midlands area if u want one made let me know

Bone out the haunch, rub with seasoning, inside and out, put on tinfoil, add olive oil, red wine, vegetables and orange slices and wrap the tinfoil up around it. Leave it in the coals, rather than on the grill. You can thank me later. ;)

IWM, I don't want to bone out the haunch as it is Sunday the Kitchen Table is not available down home at the moment.

Also, not a fan of Aluminium foil and the fact that it can rip easily.
    I also have ~20-25kg that I want to try roast on the bone as it is much easier handle on the bone.

My friend is trying to source me a Gas powered barbie should I decide to do it that way.
    Oh decisions Decisions, either way I have to empty my Fridge so I can get another deer or two this week.
    I know there are loads of deer on this section, so 5 or 6 deer this summer should keep the farmer happy. And then Roll on Septermber.

We have Dev110 almost trained up on the basics, he has seen 3 deer from Farm to Fork in the past few weeks :D
    I told him the next one he does all the knife work :D
    I also have to thank Deise Mise for his tips on Knife Sharpening.
    I'm not there yet, But I'm getting there :D

dermot218 wrote: »
    i cud of got a half barrell barbie 4 u 4 a few days if i had know in advance im in midlands area if u want one made let me know

You just gave me a deadly ideal, I think my brother in-law has something like that.
    If it is not suitable I'd be interested in your idea!

(just a tip, the moderators on here hate txt speak)

thanks for the tip its a bad habit i picked up from txting

I inherited a barbecue today!

I remembered the sister had one cast aside since buying a state of the art 4 burner Gas one
    165731.jpg

As soon as I can afford it I will buy a gas powered one.
    I never picked up the trail cam, I'll do that tomorrow.

That and washing out the fridge and preparing for Round two :D