Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice-Counterfeit Clubs

• 24-06-2011 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭

Hi guys. Just looking for some advice on how to proceed? Arranged to meet a guy who'd advertised a Ping K15 on donedeal yesterday. Club looked perfect and he seemed ok so I gave him €180 and said goodluck and thanks. I phoned Ping to registe the club today and they told me that all K15 serial numbers end in D9. This one didn't...obviously I was shocked as the club looks identical to the real thing. Went to Nevada bobs in Limerick to compare and it's definitely fake. Minor little differences in the shaft and head. The headcover is the real giveaway. After numerous texts and phone calls to the seller I still hadn't heard from him so I threatened to go to the Guards. He then contacted me. Said he bought the club from an ad himself and had no idea it was fake. He is refusing to refund me and says I should take my gripe to the guy he bought it from. What should I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

dines08 wrote: »
    Hi guys. Just looking for some advice on how to proceed? Arranged to meet a guy who'd advertised a Ping K15 on donedeal yesterday. Club looked perfect and he seemed ok so I gave him �180 and said goodluck and thanks. I phoned Ping to registe the club today and they told me that all K15 serial numbers end in D9. This one didn't...obviously I was shocked as the club looks identical to the real thing. Went to Nevada bobs in Limerick to compare and it's definitely fake. Minor little differences in the shaft and head. The headcover is the real giveaway. After numerous texts and phone calls to the seller I still hadn't heard from him so I threatened to go to the Guards. He then contacted me. Said he bought the club from an ad himself and had no idea it was fake. He is refusing to refund me and says I should take my gripe to the guy he bought it from. What should I do?

Report the f**ker, sounds fishy to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Ya I'm leaning that way. I don't believe him that he didn't know it was a fake. I've been in contact with donedeal. They advised me to go to the police so that's what I'll do I'd say. Long drawn out process. He didn't even buy it himself. He swapped it for second hand clubs. He got aggressive with me when I threatened him with the police. I told him in the eyes of the law there is only one person in the wrong here. Gutted and depressed over the whole situation... I'm very wary and never thought I'd be caught. I'd challenge anybody to pick it out as fake though. It's almost identical

Give him one last chance, if he refuses shop him. If he went to lengths to swap clubs for it why is he trying to offload it?

Dodgy as f**k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭plumber77

I'd report the guy for sure.It's obvious you're not gonna inflict the same dose on someone else so you've effectively handed him 180 for nothing.Sooner the better too.A buddy of mine bought a fake a whike back and it took him 6mths before someone pointed it out to him.too late for any comebackclub was nigh on identical to the real deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sector

Shop him to who? As I understand it private sales, which I believe is what we are talking about are not subject to any sales of goods act or similar so unsure what authority you can impress upon him. If you can find one pls enlighten me as it would be useful to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭kja1888

AFAIK, if he advertised a Ping club then thats what he should have sold you. If it's not a Ping club (regardless of what make/fake it actually is) then he has defrauded you. If he still won't refund your money then you really have no option than to involve the Gardai, especially if he is aware it's not a genuine Ping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

f22 wrote: »

Clearly you didn't read what was actually contained in your link:
    By law, you are not a consumer if you:

Receive goods as a gift
    Buy goods for commercial purposes (i.e. you will be using the goods for commercial and not private use)
    Buy goods for private use that are normally used for business purposes
    Buy goods from an individual who is not in business (i.e. you buy a car from an individual whose normal business is not selling cars)

Who's to say the individual doesn't sell for a living, ie: like an eBay power seller? The boundaries of sale have broadened greatly since 1980