Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should the president take a pay cut?

• 23-06-2011 10:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭

I was stumbling around the internet today and came across this article, I have had the discussion before with friends about our president and the point of having one so overly paid.

What do you think? Should we be cutting some wages of these people especially now that we are voting new ones in?

And what do you think of the likes of the CEO of Dublin Airport earning over 700k!!!!!

Want to know why Ireland is in such dire financial trouble? Well it may have to with the incredible salaries that government workers of almost all stripes earn compared to their U.S. counterparts.

Here is a comparison:

Remember we are comparing a country with 320 million people and fifty states to one of 4.5 million people or the size of the state of Maine.

1. President of the United States $400,000
    President of Ireland $433,000

2. Secretary of State , America $191,300
    Irish Foreign Minister $270,000

3. Senator, America $174,000
    Member of Parliament, Ireland $136,000

4. Top Department head U.S. government $150,000
    Top civil servant Ireland $400,000

5.Salary CEO head of Pacific Gas and Electric serving 15 million people $1.1 million
    Salary ESB serving 4.5 million people $1.1 million

6. U.S. Secretary of Heath and Human services $131,000
    CEO Health Service Executive Ireland $422,00

7. CEO of Dublin Airport Authority: $748,000
    CEO New York Port Authority (handling La Guardia, Kennedy, Newark) $286,000

Any wonder the Irish are in trouble?

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Irish-president-earns-more-than-Obama-111512719.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

I think we shouldn't have a president, its a complete waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Amhran Nua wrote: »

We shouldn't have a taoiseach either, even more of a waste of money

At least if we had a monkey doing the same job he might have the courage to throw a few random objects at Sarkozy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Giovanni Trapattoni gets paid about €2 million a year.

But then again, you can't put a price on having a Leslie Nielsen lookalike as the manager of your national football team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Even though it's a constitutional prerequisite?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

The post should be abolished, and the money saved should instead be invested in large speakers in all public places across the country, through which this song would be played incessantly.

Giovanni Trapattoni gets paid about €2 million a year.

But then again, you can't put a price on having a Leslie Nielsen lookalike as the manager of your national football team.

And his wages aren't covered by the taxpayer. An added bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i wouldnt mind her taking my load, fine piece she is

orourkeda wrote: »
    Even though it's a constitutional prerequisite?
    So are blasphemy laws, and we should get rid of them too.

... Blasphemy!!

(down with that sort of thing)

If you feel so strongly about it perhaps you should seek constitutional reform. Do away with all the other laws you dont like.

orourkeda wrote: »
    If you feel so strongly about it perhaps you should seek constitutional reform.
    I'm not sure if you have sigs turned on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Get rid of parliament altogether. Money saver right there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭f3qh5g0z6vc7ob

I agree get rid of them all! But what about things like 700k to be a CEO of the airport! Or the ESB! Its all a joke!

I'd keep the CEO, pay him around 20k a year. Give the 700k to the hardest working engineer at the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,793 ✭✭✭Worztron

I think we should no longer have a president.

But as we are to have yet another cushy number for the bigwigs, they should get expenses but no salary. All those that become president are way to rich to begin with - let them live off their vast money reserves. If by some miracle a non millionaire becomes president, then they should get a salary equal to the average industrial wage.

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Robinson takes a pension of about three grand a week for her stint as president.

Not bad for someone who walked out of the position early. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

No she doesn't, Mary Robinson has taken a voluntary pay cut. And she has done more for the reputation of Ireland than some other public officials on an even larger salary.

She also uses her own money to fund the Mary Robonson Foundation - Climate Justice

http://www.mrfcj.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

The present one is on over 250 k and hubby is in the seanad 100 k plus free gaff as well spongers:eek: