Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forms of ID

• 22-06-2011 4:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭

not sure where else to put this, so sorry if its in the wrong place.:o

So I'm heading out to Cork City tomorrow night to celebrate the end of the Leaving Cert. The particular place that we're heading requires two forms of ID to get in. I've got my drivers licence, but my passport is out of date and the photo on it was taken when I was 12, so I assume that won't do??
    I've got a jockeys licence with my photo on, but no Date Of Birth, and a Firearms Cert with my DOB but no photo, so I assume these won't do either.
    Is their anything else that qualifies as a form of ID??
    I don't have time to get an age card, unorganised as always!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Is the place called the Mardyke?

****ing posh place with overzealous grinning yuppies everywhere.

Dress like a yuppie, talk like one, bring whatever forms of ID you have and certainly don't let on you're a jockey with a gun. You wouldn't be their clientelle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

s-cogan wrote: »
    but my passport is out of date and the photo on it was taken when I was 12, so I assume that won't do??

Why wouldnt it? The bouncers will be checking your date of birth not the date it expires. It should be fine.
    I carry my old passport when heading out too caus id be afraid to lose my current one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

No, Gorbys. Thats where the lads said they were going today anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Bring a parent to certify you are who you say you are.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Why wouldnt it? The bouncers will be checking your date of birth not the date it expires. It should be fine.
    I carry my old passport when heading out too caus id be afraid to lose my current one.

Well the photo is also 6 years out of date(still looks like me though:P). And I don't wanna get laughed at by the bouncers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Never heard of a place needing to see 2 ID's before...

Do they only accept drivers, with passports in the pockets?

BizzyC wrote: »

I hadn't thought of it that way, but more than one person has said to me that 2 forms of ID are required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

BizzyC wrote: »

I've heard of it alright in the Mardyke. but I think they just didn't like my wellies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Bring the auld passport and your driving license and I'd say you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I miss having to worry about stuff like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

miss the years when this was a problem, although nothing beats the buzz when someone lets you in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Irish_wolf

My adive would be to bring any card you have with your name and photo or your name and date of birth that they can cross refernece, some places require more than one form of id just incase you are trying to get in on your brother/sisters id.

It once took me over 4 forms of id to get into a club once. Problem is I'm twenty but everyone says I look about 16. The bouncer wouldnt believe that it was actually my garda age card so I took out my student card with my photo and name. He said no. So i took out my blood donor card with my name on it, you cant give blood til you're 18, I think. Still wouldn't let me in. So i took out most of the cards in my wallet with various names photos and birthdates on it and he eventually let me in :cool:

Sometimes they have it in their head that you're not getting in no matter what and yet I've seen girls get in with just a laser card, even though I knew they were only 16/17 at the time.. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Just bring your jockeys cert and stand on a stool and shoot him with your firearms cert!

Alright lads thanks for all the advice.
    I'll bring the entire wallet-full and hope for the best.:)
    Sound lads.

Just bring your jockeys cert and stand on a stool and shoot him with your firearms cert!

Amateur jockey, not actually that small. 5'11''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

s-cogan wrote: »
    Alright lads thanks for all the advice.
    I'll bring the entire wallet-full and hope for the best.:)
    Sound lads.

Dont get too drunk now :p

Locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Dont get too drunk now :p

Locked.

Heh

Don't get locked either.