Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stephen Roche Grand Prix 2011

• 22-06-2011 3:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭

Is this on tonight

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Is that the race around Dundrum - might wander up to it.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭scooters

Where is the start/finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭scooters

Is it just around the Meadowmount estate? Will go up for a look later on.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Yep, Meadowmount. Racing starts at 7pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Man cannot believe there is nothing on boards about this :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Carpenter wrote: »
    Man cannot believe there is nothing on boards about this :confused:

There is now!

Diarmuid wrote: »
    There is now!

LOL

I've only known about this race since '09 even though I believe it's on the go since 1987 and tonight was my first chance to see it. Thanks to Carpenter for mentioning it or I'd have missed it. Was a great evening, the weather was good and I spotted a few Boardsies - hi Caroline and Dirk.:)

DSC01534_Small.jpg

DSC01540_Small.jpg

DSC01544_Small.jpg

DSC01546_Small.jpg

DSC01547_Small.jpg

DSC01548_Small.jpg

DSC01552_Small.jpg

DSC01563_Small.jpg

DSC01566_Small.jpg

DSC01570_Small.jpg

DSC01574_Small.jpg

DSC01575_Small.jpg

DSC01576_Small.jpg

DSC01577_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

DSC01586_Small.jpg

DSC01593_Small.jpg

DSC01597_Small.jpg

DSC01599_Small.jpg

DSC01602_Small.jpg

DSC01603_Small.jpg

DSC01604_Small.jpg

DSC01609_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

AstraMonti looking nice and warm in one of the shots:D myself just behind feeling considerably warmer. First time there myself,always seem to miss it.

Hope no-one minds their inclusion above - just giving the nod to a few familiar faces.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

Is that Felix English taking the win?

Yep.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭superlav

Tough race, went off with the A1's and thought I might die in the first few laps, was barely hanging on. Pace eased a little as we caught other groups, although that's probably because I was fecked and sat at the back of caught groups for a minute to catch my breath, while the winning move went off up the road.

Someone slid out on the tight corner on the last lap as they tried to come round me on the outside, think at least one other rider couldn't avoid the guy who slipped. A bit pointless as we were the third group and nothing to sprint for.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/94259539

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Good race. A sufferfest as usual. Picked up one prime and just missed out on another one. Was disappointed to miss the break, next year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Diarmuid lots of well done man, it looked like that you were doing most of the work in front in that group. The course was fast and the headwind deadly!

Felix English was really impressive in the last two laps, he just left the rest and off he went.

Hermy you should have come and said hi, didn't notice you!

Was talking to Felix after the race a happy chap but he was telling me money is a big problem (trying to survive) is there no grant you lot can get that would help

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Hermy you should have come and said hi, didn't notice you!

Was all set to do that when the race ended but ye disappeared just then.:(:D

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mjpmclean

I got taken down on the first lap and was just behind the crash on the last lap. Not sure what was happening to those guys, I think they were braking on the outside of the corner, or either that when they went to pick up the bike to accelerate out they lost the front wheel. Either way got to the finish, so am well happy despite the cuts and bruises. Great race and great organisation by Orwell.