Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jury Duty - Colour Coded Cards?

• 22-06-2011 12:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

Hi All,

I got a summons for Jury Duty & It's coloured Green. My sister got one but her's is Red or Orange I think.

Does anyone know what this means?

I know it has something to do with the courts you've to go to like High Court, Circuit court etc.
    Would anyone have a break down of which court I'd be in?

Cheers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Green means you have been pre-approved to sit on juries.

Red means they didn't have time to check you out fully and are still going through your phone records and internet search history (the gardai do this and contact you later if there's a problem. They also get a line on any computer you habitually use in work).

You get issued a green one a couple of days before court if everything checks out.

Otherwise you turn up and present the red/orange one and they interview you etc - they do actually look more orangey than red to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Selinab85 wrote: »
    Hi All,

I got a summons for Jury Duty & It's coloured Green.

If you fail to show up John Gormley will come round and bum you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Ive been called for JD twice but never got onto the Jury :( was on one case once regarding a alleged pedophile and was dismissed by his lawyer as they are allowed get rid of two juries if the like, I think he got rid of me as I kept glaring at the 'defendant' sizing him up, to right too I would have had him strung up by the balls :pac:

cosmicfart wrote: »
    dismissed by his lawyer as they are allowed get rid of two juries if the like,

7 actually. As can the prosecution.
    I think he got rid of me as I kept glaring at the 'defendant' sizing him up, to right too I would have had him strung up by the balls :pac:

You probably just looked like a mentaller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

I'd recommend doing some of your own investigating on the case. Contact the defendant on facebook and ask a few questions.

Reloc8 wrote: »
    7 actually. As can the prosecution.

You probably just looked like a mentaller.

thanks for your constructive not so post. The guy was alleged to have abused males from 7 - 30 thats why i was struck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Selinab85 wrote: »
    Hi All,

I got a summons for Jury Duty & It's coloured Green. My sister got one but her's is Red or Orange I think.

I know it has something to do with the courts you've to go to like High Court, Circuit court etc.
    Would anyone have a break down of which court I'd be in?

Cheers :)

It's because your sister doesn't want a united Ireland.

thanks for your constructive not so post. The guy was alleged to have abused males from 7 - 30 thats why i was struck off.

From age 7 to age 30 ???

He must have been walking around with a packet of toffees, a puppy dog and a six-pack of heineken.

'Do you want to play with my puppy little boy'

'howya bud do you want to come in the bushes for a tinny. I just have to drop this young fella home...'

seriously..

Anyway I thought it was because you kept glaring at him not because you fell into his apparent victim profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Red means they didn't have time to check you out fully and are still going through your phone records and internet search history (the gardai do this and contact you later if there's a problem. They also get a line on any computer you habitually use in work).

You get issued a green one a couple of days before court if everything checks out.

Otherwise you turn up and present the red/orange one and they interview you etc - they do actually look more orangey than red to me.

That would be a hell of a lot of internet history on some cases! Am I right in thinking you can't be called for jury duty if you have a criminal record, or is it only certain crimes?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

From age 7 to age 30 ???

He must have been walking around with a packet of toffees, a puppy dog and a six-pack of heineken.

'howya bud do you want to come in the bushes for a tinny'

seriously..

Anyway I thought it was because you kept glaring at him not because you fell into his apparent victim profile.

{SNIP} Breach of sub judice rule. Please do not discuss ongoing trials and certainly do not describe the parties involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Contact the defendant and say you're a good talker and can sway the jury

Ask for 20k to get him off but settle for 10k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

he worked as a manager in a swimming pool, lots of lovely males pass through there apparently

Sounds like he passed thru a lot of lovely males!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

From age 7 to age 30 ???

'howya bud do you want to come in the bushes for a tinny. I just have to drop this young fella home...'

seriously..

I'd have thought that it was the fact the he believed the accusations befroe the trial even started.

kfallon wrote: »
    Sounds like he passed thru a lot of lovely males!

lol at least you have a SOH unlike this Reloc8 stalker

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    That would be a hell of a lot of internet history on some cases! Am I right in thinking you can't be called for jury duty if you have a criminal record, or is it only certain crimes?

you're disqualified for life if convicted and sentenced to a term of imprisonment of five years or more.

you're ineligible if you have served a term of imprisonment within the last 10 years.

Section 8 Juries Act 1976
    he worked as a manager in a swimming pool, lots of lovely males pass through there apparently

Do they by god. Wasn't he some devious fecker to to be able to force himself on them (and 30 years old some of them) in the pool/public changing rooms.

I'd have thought that it was the fact the he believed the accusations befroe the trial even started.

There's no way of knowing this unless the juror tells the judge when called - which they should do and yes they would immediately be excused.

Best thing to do instead is stand there cross-eyed with effort staring at the accused. Someone will deffo kick you out and give you the bus fare home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

Think it's only if you've served over a certain length of time in prison (6 months or so)

Do they by god. Wasn't he some devious fecker to to be able to force himself on them in the pool/public changing rooms.

ill give you 10/10 for reasoning there..... !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The OP should disagree with the rest of the jury just to be awkward
    Might get a few nights free in a swanky hotel with room service :)

Ah the Simpsons, where you can learn all of life's lessons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Mod Note

Moved to Legal Discussion. Their Chater now applies.
    You might get a better answer OP.

Back to regular poster.

What whould the guards be looking for in your phone/internet records? To see if you have discussed/looked up the case?

Tell me, when exactly were you called for jury service ? cosmicfart that is.

My previous post came up directly with yours irish-stew. I don't care when your man was apparently called for jury service.
    when why? was about 2 years ago, what difference does that make? what sort of smart retort you going to come out with next ?

None. But I now call BS on your story.
    irish-stew wrote: »
    Mod Note

Moved to Legal Discussion. Their Charter now applies.
    You might get a better answer OP.

Back to regular poster.

What whould the guards be looking for in your phone/internet records? To see if you have discussed/looked up the case?

Emmmm...to be fair...my first reply was a bit After Hours.

The colour of the summons relates to the court you're summonsed to. From memory green is Circuit and Orangey/Red is Central. Its actually written on the summons too, circuit or central that is.

Tell me, when exactly were you called for jury service ? cosmicfart that is.

when why? was about 2 years ago, what difference does that make? what sort of smart retort you going to come out with next ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

I very very much doubt they go through your internet search history.

Ah no. I know all I need to know now and I call bs :D

so thats all you do on boards then something beginning with T? get a life :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Selinab85

Lol - Em thanks for the replies :) Sure will know more on the day eh - I here ye get free lunch that seems to be the best of it :)

A friend of mine had one about some fella robbed 94e from a centra... The case lasted a wk!!

Kadongy wrote: »
    I very very much doubt they go through your internet search history.

Think that was a silly AH answer before the thread was moved. As well as the privacy issue, the paperwork and warrants, there's the sheer number of manhours needed to go through EVERY potential juror's internet cache. Never going to happen.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tom Young

This is not a legal discussion (anymore) and therefore not suitable. Not sure why it was moved from After Hours. Thanks. Tom.